Ops Selamat records 10.7% higher road accidents, 39.6% higher fatalities than last year – report

Crash accident collision

The recently-concluded road safety operation Ops Selamat – held over 15 days from July 10 in conjunction with the Hari Raya Aidilfitri season – saw a disturbing upward trend in road accidents, according to a Bernama report.

Deputy inspector-general of police Datuk Seri Noor Rashid Ibrahim said that overall, the operation recorded 20,458 incidents nationwide compared to 18,484 cases during last year’s festive season, a 10.7% increase. More worryingly, fatalities have shot up a staggering 39.6% from 244 last year to 330 in 2015. Motorcyclists still formed the bulk of the fatalities at 60.6%, with 200 deaths.

“This shows an urgent need educate people on careful driving and we should also carefully guide new drivers to be more responsible,” he said.

Noor Rashid added that the yearly death toll of at least 6,000 cases – racking up huge medical costs and billions of ringgit of vehicle damage – showed an urgent need to proactively curb road accidents. “Continuous education should be intensified…to reduce the figure by 20%,” he said.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Again, close Perodua shop will reduce happened accidents immediately.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Same L0rrrr on Aug 13, 2015 at 12:30 pm

There are so many Wira, Iswara, Saga, Waja, Tiara, Satria, Savvy running on the street which:
      1. 6 Airbag – takda
      2. VSC – takda
      3. Traction Control – takda
      4. ABS – takda
      5. EBD – takda
      6. AB – takda
      7. ASEANCAP – takda

Saga BLM only get 1 star in ASEANCAP. http://paultan.org/2013/02/01/asean-ncap-first-phase-results-released-for-eight-models-tested-ford-fiesta-and-honda-city-get-5-stars/saga-std/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
      • I meant the quantities of Perodua on the road which are lack of safety protection. Since somebody said we can’t see any Proton car on the road and Proton sale volume is less than Perodua.

• Absolute Rider on Aug 13, 2015 at 6:37 pm

Many luxury car drivers even don’t want to use indicator light during changing lanes. Don’t switch on their lights during dark and rainy days.

• K-Car Lifer on Aug 13, 2015 at 11:32 am

so what is really the point of having all these Ops during the holiday season? looks to me like more to do with generating revenue for PDRM, JPJ, etc. rather than minimizing or preventing fatal accidents. btw, Ops Selamat with more accidents and deaths? what a joke of name..

• Aero (Member) on Aug 13, 2015 at 11:44 am

This is an understatement. The full picture is far more disturbing. How many of us must die before Malaysians understand how sickening we really are on the road ? We love to complain and blame others, because it’s ALWAYS easier to ‘offload’ the guilt on someone else… but the reality is that much of the time, WE are the ones who are guilty. Don’t blame others, start with yourself, learn to be a better driver, care about others on the road, not just yourself. We’re all in this together, ultimately, only we can save ourselves. Not the police, not the government, not anyone else, progress is a collective effort, we must all play our part.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Related Dept please study in detail the statistic dont just look at the number!

It look like real police need to take over dummies further more more polices should patrol.

• Curse of JPJ on Aug 13, 2015 at 12:53 pm

Is this the curse of JPJ?

As the Ketua Pengarah JPJ said in the news

“Kita nak orang Malaysia mati 5,358 orang menjelang tahun 2020”

http://khairulryezal.blogspot.com/2014/11/kpi-ketua-pegarah-jpj-berapa-ramai.html

http://pingbusuk.org/v/1147989/video-ketua-pengarah-jpj-minta-rakyat-mati.html

• Rogenjosh on Aug 13, 2015 at 1:11 pm

If Ops is about just reporting statistics & doing nothing we also know how to do it lah!!

• Kagum on Aug 13, 2015 at 2:08 pm

COnsidering most people here drive like maniacs, Use emergancy lane as extra lane to clog up the road etc,

Still some wants to raise the speed limit ? Bad enough those who dont care about the limit in the first place cause accidents all over. If im the JpJ i would be happy to enforce fines and generate revenue. Why? Because them drivers themselves do not want to change damn it or until they die from accident.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 13, 2015 at 3:28 pm

So other than a bunch of statistics…what is PDRM, JPJ and MAA going to do about it?

I would really want to see what is the fatalities breakdown for Motorcyclist and Cars. We all know the demographics behind them.