Increased number of road accidents reported on North-South Expressway in 2014, but fewer fatalities

highway

The total number of accidents on the North-South Expressway (PLUS) increased in 2014 compared to the year before. A total of 12,109 accidents were recorded in 2014 compared to 11,052 in 2013, making for an increase of 1,057 road-going mishaps.

The number of fatal accidents, however, have gone down. Last year, there were 396 deaths as a result of road accidents, down slightly from the 418 deaths recorded in 2013.

Out of the total number of accidents, 2014 saw an increase of road mishaps involving motorcycles all along the North-South Expressway. Motorcycle accidents totalled 2,163 in 2013, climbing to 2,419 in 2014, an increase of 256 incidents. However, there was a drop in fatalities involving motorcycle accidents in 2014 – there were 195 deaths last year compared to 205 in 2013.

Earlier this year, Ops Selamat was held in conjunction with the Hari Raya season. In general, an upward trend was seen in terms of total number of accidents during that 15-day period – 20,458 accidents occurred nationwide in 2015 compared to 18,458 during the same time, last year. The number of fatalities also escalated from 244 in 2014 to 330 in 2015.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• UMW still no VSC and 2 airbags on Sep 30, 2015 at 1:45 pm

Fatalities can be lesser if VSC and more airbags are compulsory. But since our Government owns most of the car companies, they refuse to give more safety spec. Government does not mind people dying, so long as they can untung lebih and make more money.

And yet, the Red Shirts go and protest not knowing that their very own cars got minimal safety equipment because Government wants to make more untung.

In the US, most Toyotas basic already got 10 airbags. in Malaysia, Government UMW gives us 2 airbags and charge us 3x more in price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • rally_fan (Member) on Sep 30, 2015 at 2:25 pm

yes, it would be great and ideal if all cars have more safety features..and why try and politicise this topic?? To me.. its still better to tackle the root cause and prevent accidents from happening in the first place. It could be better driver and rider training, improved road design and maintenance..A bigger focus on heavy vehicles and their drivers… better enforcement of the law that is focused on safety as a KPI rather than the number of summonses given out. In the long run, i believe these are the steps that need to be taken seriously, or continue to see accident rates climb.. also, we need to take these numbers into account knowing that there are more vehicles on the road in 2015 compared to 2014 and it will only worsen.

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 01, 2015 at 11:55 am

you hit the tree with 100km/h, you think your pathetic VSC and 7 airbags will keep you alive? Dream on!
        ASEAN NCAP only crash the car at 60km/h, wake up!
        It is always the drivers attitude problem. When you can’t afford safer Toyota cars, you blame Toyota not safe enough. Want so many safety features, get a Proton lar.
        The only problem with Proton is, you can’t even sure the airbags/vsc/abs will working during emergency. It is a Proton anyway.

• Alson P on Sep 30, 2015 at 3:02 pm

But people who earn rm900 every month don’t need safety features.. they need cheap car like Axia standard e price tag rm24k+.. still 4-star asean NCAP..

• Well we all generally slow down on the highway where there is an AES is placed or under overhead bridges for possible shooters. Would take years to educate people on road ethics.

• just try to drive at PLUS and u can see all those Ah Beng speeding like mad even in heavy rain tinking their Vios Potong Wish r Ferraris trying to show off and no one will be surprised why Malaysia has one of the highest road fatalities in Earth..no VSC EBD can save them