GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz C 250 AMG – RM287,888

2015-mercedes-benz-c-250-amg-ckd- 002

Revealed just last month as Mercedes-Benz Malaysia’s latest locally-assembled variant to hit the market, here is a live gallery of the Mercedes-Benz C 250 AMG.

UPDATE: The car pictured here is a CBU unit, but the CKD version will be identical to it, save for the Surround View Camera fitted here.

With prices starting from RM287,888, the C 250 AMG gets a cool RM52,000 price reduction over the RM339,888 that was initially set for the CBU version of the premium sedan, while maintaining similar levels of equipment and features. The only difference, other than the price, is the omission of the Surround View Camera feature.

As confirmed early last October (2015) in conjunction with a price reduction for all Mercedes-Benz Malaysia’s (MBM) locally-assembled C-Class variants, the C 250 AMG is instated as the new range-topping W205 variant here, bar the RM699k AMG C 63, of course.

With the CKD C 250 Exclusive officially delisted from the local line-up, the full range of locally-assembled C-Class variants that remain include the C 200 Avantgarde (RM248,888), new C 200 Exclusive (RM252,888) and the C 250 AMG Line (RM287,888).

Focusing on this C 250 AMG, the exterior of the vehicle gets the full AMG Line kit, which adds more aggressive front and rear bumpers, side skirts and a set of 18-inch five-spoke AMG design alloy wheels. Also left as before is the LED Intelligent Light System with Adaptive Highbeam Assist – itself an upgrade over the standard LED headlamps fitted on C 200 variants.

Moving inside the cabin, and C 250 AMG gets its rightful dose of AMG Line embellishments, including a three-spoke, flat-bottomed multi-function steering wheel with shift paddles, aluminium foot pedals, AMG floor mats and more.

The dashboard features an open-pore Brown Ash wood dash trim set against a predominantly-black, leather-wrapped dashboard. Contrasting white seats are seen here, and is one of the few options available. There’s also a 13-speaker/590-watt Burmester surround sound system included as standard, while you may also notice that the standard 7.0-inch display screen has been replaced by a larger 8.4-inch screen, linked to a COMAND Online multimedia system.

For power, the C 250 AMG relies on the same 211 hp/350 Nm 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbocharged petrol engine which powered the C 250 Exclusive, and is also available in the W212 E 250. A seven-speed 7G-Tronic torque converter automatic transmission sends power exclusively to the rear wheels.

An AMG-tuned sports suspension is also specified, effectively stiffening the ride for more handling agility, whilst reducing the overall ride height by 15 mm against the C 200 Exclusive’s standard comfort-minded suspension.

So, how do you think this Mercedes-Benz C-Class stacks up against the new, facelifted BMW 3 Series LCI that was just launched in Malaysia? Tell us what you think in the comments below.

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz C 250 AMG

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Compared with BMW, Mercedes offering decent specs. But, BMW cars are more fun to drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 25
    • Hans solo on Nov 16, 2015 at 12:01 pm

Agree. BMW buyers know exactly what they’re getting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
      • Same L0rrrr on Nov 16, 2015 at 4:18 pm

Looking for quality, comfort, specs and price, Lexus beat Mercedes BMW Audi. BMW maybe fun to drive but it is more fun to service and maintain a BMW. Good luck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 32
        • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Nov 16, 2015 at 4:33 pm

What kinda weed you smoking…? Price…? How to compare price…? Let’s see:

Merc C250 AMG Line = RM 289k
          Lexus IS200t F Sport = RM 385k

Who in the right mind will fork out additional 96k just for comfort alone…?

No wonder Toyota and Lexus got good RV… by jacking up the initial selling price… Caught you with your pants down didn’t I…?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 4
          • Same L0rrrr on Nov 17, 2015 at 12:36 am

I have 3 Lexus at home, getting my 4th one next month. I know much better than you , you fail kimchi driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
          • Allen lexus on Nov 17, 2015 at 1:32 am

The saying what you pay for is what you get is so true. Pay peanuts and you get a low quality car like the c250. It is no match for the quality,comfort,performance,safety and prestige of the mighty Lexus IS. 96k is pocket change to the rich so please work harder and get yourself a truly prestigious car…a Lexus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
        • Kenneth Y on Nov 16, 2015 at 9:01 pm

Dear Lexus salesperson, even if you want to push sales of your Lexus here, check your facts first before you post, otherwise you are doing more harm than good to your company!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
        • Great move!!

• Macarena on Nov 16, 2015 at 12:34 pm

Have you driven the current 3 series yet?
      It has the worst handling for a 3 series ever.

The new LCI, which has better handling is delayed because BMW salesmen are doing a lousy job selling old stock.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
      • Kabuki on Nov 16, 2015 at 3:03 pm

Or delayed because they’re ckd-ing them. Launched globally in May 2015 launched locally Nov 2015 – 6 months to update the manufacturing and get the specs in line. Not too bad lah.

• MercW205 on Nov 16, 2015 at 7:17 pm

There was a lot of complaints about the handling and steering characteristics of the F30 compared to the previous generation of E90s especially from various car reviewers when the F30 was launched in 2012. Some said that the F30 lost it charm as a drivers and precises car like the E90.

However the LCI F30 is said to address this with a better tune of the chassis and redesign of the suspension setup.

For example the LCIs now uses a 5 link setup as appose to the previous 3 link setup suspension for all corners.

• Gunner on Nov 17, 2015 at 1:45 pm

Worst handling for a 3er but still much better in drivability than a w205. Most professional reviews say this.

• Ah Pek don’t care car about drivability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • Nasi lemak 2.0 on Nov 16, 2015 at 10:54 am

With tax abolish by nasi lemak gomen, most malaysians can enjai this master piece… Juz coz nasi lemak gome, all hv to pay more for milo tins like perodua n proton… God damn nasi lemak country!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
  • Kumon on Nov 16, 2015 at 11:03 am

No contest at all.
    Aim higher Merc Benz Msia, go CKD C300 C400 AMG 4Matic!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • iiAmgPackage on Nov 16, 2015 at 1:23 pm

There’s a reason why MBM is not selling those models here in Malaysia. Some models aren’t in demand and specs aren’t even Malaysian-friendly. For example, Mercedes-Benz in America has 4MATIC, heated side mirrors/seats/steering wheel/etc, plus, the engine capacity. The C450 4MATIC is powered by a 3.0L biturbo V6 and JPJ would have to tax that engine a lot since it’s high capacity. Because of that, the car selling price would be out out reach thanks to CBU status, GST, other duties. So might as well sell the Malaysian spec, simple yet sufficient. Thats why the C250 AMG is good enough here already for those individuals who loves AMG, or want power but within price range.

• Sathia on Nov 16, 2015 at 3:48 pm

Wonder why MBM care to introduce their 1.2mil AMG GT S, S63, E63, C63 here. Hahaha & bro dun forget Bolehland is already a do-nation and will b high-income nation soon!

• MercW205 on Nov 16, 2015 at 7:09 pm

It would be better if they had offered the C300 which is still the same 2ltr turbo charged engine but with 241Bhp.

To be honest the C400 and C450AMG is really more of contender with the F30 335i and the LCI F30 340i since they are both 3l 6 cylinder units.

• iiAmgPackag on Nov 16, 2015 at 1:26 pm

Now should I cancel my Avantgarde and extend my budget to reach this?

• MercW205 on Nov 16, 2015 at 7:22 pm

Considering the additional goodies that comes with the C250 I would say the additional RM40K+ is well worth the money.

My only issue is with the sport seats which have those very large side bolsters that are sadly fixed and un-adjustable like the sport seats on the F30s. Also strangely enough the seats padding and covers texture fell harder then the C200 comfort seats. Even the back rear bench also felt the same.

• carazy on Nov 16, 2015 at 11:10 am

It just with AMG kit, but not with AMG’s heart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • Shaun on Nov 16, 2015 at 11:58 am

Cuz it’s not with AMG heart price also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • MercW205 on Nov 16, 2015 at 7:27 pm

Interestingly I was told that the this car is about 0.1 secs faster then the other line of the same model due to the aerodynamic design of the AMG kit diffuser though I have no been able to confirm this. Nevertheless the car should definitely be able to perform faster in a track race compared to the other lines due to better handling, suspension setup and better brakes as the AMG lines comes with the up-rated perforated brakes with generous dimensions.

In a track race, speed and time – engine power is not everything.

• poket on Nov 16, 2015 at 11:12 am

Boss, 1 bijik C250 AMG 290K atau mau 1 bijik Accord + CRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • DPCraft on Nov 16, 2015 at 5:40 pm

CRV 2.4 + Accord 2.4 engines = 190hp + 175hp, 222nm + 225nm = You get 365hp and 447Nm for a price tag of 328k. Put the engines on the Accord, you’ll get a car faster then this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
      • honda4poor on Nov 16, 2015 at 10:37 pm

Nobody with right mind will compare luxury and poor people cars

• either car should be great..the 3 series LCI with more power on the engine and some minor upgrades, but this amg c250 with much cheaper price with all the amg kits is a steal. depends on your personal preferences :)

• u forgot the 100k km free service for bmw. thats got to be worth at least rm 10k.

• JB_KIA on Nov 16, 2015 at 11:45 am

I think I am seeing rusty brake discs! I know discs are bound to rust but common, this is a display car laa…kasi polish laa skit duh…

• Yes….i saw it too. Please do polish them. Buruk giler.

• Ootai on Nov 16, 2015 at 1:40 pm

It’s raining everyday. Merc sales so good, they don’t bother to skirt.

• JB_KIA on Nov 17, 2015 at 12:56 am

not just rusty, the discs are badly seized too, mcm used car….

• tinmilo on Nov 16, 2015 at 12:20 pm

this car just look faster then 3 series LCI, even when parked.

• I have test drive the W205. I find the driver side foot well seem too small and cramped. I almost don’t know where to place my left foot comfortably when driving. Anybody else noticed / experienced this?

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 16, 2015 at 1:23 pm

Well this car does look like business next to the 330i M-Sport and it does come with a better interior, adaptive headlights, sound system n handling is improved with the sports sussy but it will not come close to the adaptive suspension that the 330i has. If u want a good drive then it’s the 330i but for the rest of the crowd I think this C250 AMG model will do just fine plus it’s about 20k cheaper too.

• MercW205 on Nov 16, 2015 at 4:58 pm

The car definitely has a better interior then the F30s.
      The Mercedes has an agility select suspension which is a passive system and for the case of this AMGline is tune for a sport setup lowered by 15mm.

Mercedes do have an airmatic option for the first time offered on the C class but that is miles expensive compared to the other type of adaptive suspension system out there.
      One of the issues perhaps is that the C250 is a little slower and under powered compared to the competitors in this line. The one more suited would be the C300 but even that does the century sprint in 6.1 sec at 241BHP compared to the 328i 5.9 sec which I believe comes down to the better 8 speed gearbox compared to the 7G-tronic plus setup.

• toyotamacai on Nov 16, 2015 at 10:31 pm

BMW and Merc are disease cars. Lexus is much better, high rV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
        • iiAmgPackage on Nov 22, 2015 at 1:22 am

Says the guy that never own a Lexus and any German whip. These kind of people driving P1 or P2 will always have a bad mouth for German when they don’t know the difference.

• cendol (Member) on Nov 16, 2015 at 2:08 pm

This car costs the same price as one studio apartment.

• Centric on Nov 16, 2015 at 2:47 pm

Recent market survey by a local independent firm indicates more BMW owners are considering to swap allegiances to the 3-Pointed Star for their next purchase. Is BMW really doing that bad here??

• Sammy Loo on Nov 16, 2015 at 3:54 pm

C250 at RM288k has got no keyless push start?

Even the Vios J spec has it now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • sam boo on Nov 16, 2015 at 7:16 pm

got la bro. baca la spec dulu before condemning. haiyaa jgn bikin malu laa

• MercW205 on Nov 16, 2015 at 7:33 pm

You are completely wrong.
      The C250 comes with keyless entry and keyless go. In fact it even comes with the power boot which for Toyota vios is like what is that?

• GLC4Matic on Jun 01, 2016 at 12:08 am

Got…..Malaysian are so great to doing sound effects mah xD Do that ‘di di di’ sound by themselves lah

• vavavi on Nov 16, 2015 at 10:41 pm

My vavi also got!

• MercW205 on Nov 16, 2015 at 4:34 pm

Actually the information here is no totally accurate. The C250 AMG CKDs are still in production and the first batch is set to roll out to customers sometime next month. The car at the motor show last week was in fact a CBU mockup unit built in South Africa to give customers an idea of what to expect for the CKDs coming next month. The other issue is on the specs as there is no clear indication if whether the CKDs will also get the 360 degree camera that the CBU’s have. The price spec sheet does not indicate this.

• Ainon on Nov 16, 2015 at 5:09 pm

Good move MBM. Not exactly cheap but this will force the grey importers to also adjust the prices of their W205’s accordingly, so more choice for those interested to buy this car.

• drchan on Nov 16, 2015 at 6:12 pm

the center mounted display screen has increased in size thus becoming more of an eyesore and hindrance to front view. why can’t it be folded into the dashboard when not in use just like Audi A6 for example

• MercW205 on Nov 16, 2015 at 7:05 pm

A lot of people do fee the same. The screen does some what distort the seamless curve lines of he dashboard. I suppose this is a trade of for having a command online system.

The thing of looking forward tho is that the screen resolution is much better then the ones offered on the Audio 20 with Gamin Map Pilot in the previous C250 Exclusive and what is being offered for the C200s. The LCD size is also more proportionally nicer for viewing the GPS maps too. The best of all is there is considerably less lag in the operation of the system compared to the Audio 20 system and the addition of a DVD player and full internet capability.
      Only thing is whether this CKDs units will be Apple Play/Apps ready allowing the retrofit upgrade when it becomes available.

• drlight on Nov 16, 2015 at 10:40 pm

Go to kedai abeng to make it foldable, can?

• David on Nov 16, 2015 at 10:30 pm

I went and had a look at Lexus ES250 a couple of days ago. I was completely dismayed by the interior design that totally disharmonises with its intimidating or bold facade. It felt like a Toyota Crown(maybe “clown” is more apt). The price of ES250 and C250 is relatively close, so I would rather spend my hard toiled $$$ on Merc C250. On another note, the seating position of Lexus is EXACTLY the same as Camry. I think Toyota has forgotten that people do grow up and upward crossing 1.7m but their seats are designed for dwarfs perhaps. Mercs offer almost unlimited adjustments on seating position, so far back that you can almost stretch your legs all the way which is much less fatigue for driving and less aches.

• flipper2uman (Member) on Nov 17, 2015 at 3:00 pm

Although it cost more, I still prefer CBU cars vs CKD for the build quality and the better quality materials put into the car. Sometime, it the what you “don’t see” in the CKD cars that gets down graded/replace which is the major issue. There is a major difference in the CBU Merc vs CKD and this is my opinion.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Nov 17, 2015 at 3:51 pm

You have to take into account of our local fuel quality and weather have on the effects to CBU cars…

And when it comes to parts replacements, especially those stingy owners who would skimp on official dealerships and go under the tree workshops for repairs, they’re not gonna give you CBU parts either…

• Blaster88 on Nov 17, 2015 at 8:16 pm

Huh? Which planet and hole did you crawl out from? Modern cars have ECUs that can be easily calibrated and configure with software and a laptop. Parts are the same regardless of CBU or CKD….

• Blaster88 on Nov 17, 2015 at 7:54 pm

I agree. There is a huge difference between CBU and CKD. I was fortunate to tour the BMW plant in Munich and it looks like a scene out of a terminator movie. Robotic arms and sparks flying everywhere. Hardly a soul in sight. The moral of the story is that the manufacturing process is 97% automatic and the margin for error is less that 75% within 1 mm…….that was about 3 plus yrs ago. I was told that automation has gone up to 98%…Now if you think that buatan Kulim or Pekan is equally as good….think again..

• Blaster88 on Nov 17, 2015 at 8:10 pm

The W205 certainly has a more modern and sophisticated interior. Exterior/shape is a matter of taste. For me the S class carry the shape better than the C class. The engine and gearbox are a big yawn. Moreover, at 211hp, its completely outclassed by the 330i. 44 horses less is huge! The 330i on the other hand is going through its mid life cycle….G30 should be out by 2018? 5yrs warranty and free service are big pluses…The interior looks tired/dated but if you examine closely, the material used and built quality are superior to the W205.

I guess if you want to arrive in style and be noticed, the AMG would be the car to go for….however, once you get on the road, the 330i would put a smile on your face.