CaknaKPKT app lets Malaysians lodge complaints of damaged roads, faulty traffic lights via smartphones

A new (and much welcomed) smartphone app has been created by the Ministry of Urban Wellbeing, Housing and Local Government (KPKT). Named CaknaKPKT, the Android-only app allows the public to file complaints to the local authorities through their mobile phones.

Interestingly, complaints that can be made include damaged roads, faulty traffic lights, parking lots (which also comes under construction) and signboards, so it’s undoubtedly designed for motorists as well. Such a system was first announced by the Works ministry in 2014.

To elaborate, this means that if you see potholes on the road or a malfunctioning traffic light for that matter, you can snap a picture, fill in a simple description of the complaint and send it out instantly. The app utilises the smartphone’s GPS, so that means the precise location of the complaint can be pinpointed.

CaknaKPKT-05

According to the ministry, in addition to providing the public with a user-friendly channel to file complaints, it states that monitoring and complaint management is more effective through a single, easily-accessible system. The complaints are monitored by the relevant local authorities and government departments.

The app, which is currently in Bahasa Malaysia, will require some registration before it can be used. And as mentioned, it’s exclusively for Android users. So far, reviews of the app on the Google Play store have been positive.

So folks, what do you think of this app? Let us know in the comments section.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• I wish to have an app that can log grafts complain instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Tidur Tidur Abang on Nov 20, 2015 at 2:58 pm

This app probably created by the Minister’s son in law or kakak saudara mertua. And as usual, his is using his capacity to market the app using the Ministry. This is how Malaysia works.

Also, no app can help when there is tidak apa attitude. One example is this, control tower personnel, after eating nasi lemak, fell asleep and this resulted in the MH plane going missing.

How many times have you seen on busses and lorries messages that say, SMS SPAD, SMS JPJ, SMS etc etc. have you ever tried smsing or calling the number?

Nobody picks up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 15
      • George Abdul on Nov 20, 2015 at 3:30 pm

Just wondering, how if any “immigrant / expat” wish to share the road incident then ?? Why don’t just implant when English and Bahasa in the same time?? another crony company that care for one race??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 13
      • TestaOwner on Nov 24, 2015 at 9:09 am

Personally, I have wrote into SPAD before and they did respond. There were follow up as well. As for actions taken, I’ll give them the benefit of the doubt.

• Semua OK! on Nov 20, 2015 at 3:47 pm

No need the app lah. Your tuan stole RM2.6 billion also, his whole party never do anything to him. And the 2 million UMNO memebers also say OK. Semua OK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • Fortune teller on Nov 20, 2015 at 2:37 pm

Next actions (either/or):
    1) Outsource repair works to cronies with super high prices (cronies ma, kena makan)
    2) Ask for more budget to ‘tackle’ each complaints

It’s a circus out there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Raymond Lee on Nov 20, 2015 at 3:00 pm

I think you need to be fair regardless of political different view. At least that’s a channel of complain for people convenience. It’s good to be have better than nothing whether if this really works efficiently during implementation is another story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
      • Fortune teller on Nov 20, 2015 at 3:23 pm

Correct me if I’m wrong, Raymond, but I believe there is/are existing channels of complaints for these issues currently. Yes they may not be as convenient as a click of an app, but how much harder can opening your browser be compared to that?

So yes, whilst I agree that efficiency in tackling each complaints are for all to see, but honestly it’s just another means of distraction to the real thing.

I may be wrong, but really, watch where this goes :)

Cheers mate!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
      • RM10 Million APP on Nov 20, 2015 at 3:43 pm

what if the Ministry is paying RM10 million for this app? And the app creator is some distant cousin of the minister?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Mari Curi Duit Yatim on Nov 20, 2015 at 3:11 pm

Potholes has been there so long. Everybody complain also, nothing is done. Many of us got our tyres ripped apart. You complain so much also, the JKR, DBKL and MBPJ tak layan you.

They don’t care at all. They rather spend their time songlapping money or sleeping in the comfy Government departments. They also see their big boss Songlap, so, they also follow la

Big boss can songlap RM2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions. All this money can be used to mend potholes and faulty roads and potholes.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM84 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor and given a Tunship. All this money can be used to give us not only toll free roads but normal roads without potholes.

What about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials? Now got even Songlap from anak yatim and orphans.

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

This is why we have so many potholes. Authorites too busy songlapping

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • Brains on Nov 20, 2015 at 5:20 pm

Kelakar …… funny …..
      What else …. do you know that apps is build in house ….. please find the real story …. jangan fitnah jer
      Pity with you ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • Fortune teller on Nov 20, 2015 at 7:04 pm

Pity me?

Pity you for not being able to read proper English!
        Orang cakap tentang tackling the complaints, you cakap tentang app development.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Shaekey on Nov 20, 2015 at 2:49 pm

Excellent initiative. Now that it’s easier to provide better information within the complaint, let’s hope there will be action taken on the complaints.

• PDW7257 on Nov 20, 2015 at 3:52 pm

So far, yours is the ONLY compliment on this post! Most of the rest are only b***hing on the isse. Nothing constructive unfortunately.

• MitchelJohn on Nov 20, 2015 at 2:54 pm

Like any apps created or done by the government, I’d like to ask the budget to create this app.

If it cost millions like the white elephant social website, then we can see where this is going already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Mr Fakta on Nov 20, 2015 at 3:00 pm

We have a lot of channel to complain already. Is the ACTION and RESPONSE that is real important.

• FIST (Member) on Nov 20, 2015 at 3:22 pm

They should also include the raring for each local council

• Bolehland 2.0 on Nov 20, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Its nasi lemak managed app. You can create as many as complaints you want. The only going to take action on next election as usual…. Huhu.. Example slong the way in pasir gudang jb highway there is a lot of potholes and uneven road n so on, no action taken. Even they close they potholes, it vil be a new pothole at the same place in a week… This is nasi lemak managed corrupted country for godsake! Nothing can be done…. Our gomen oni gud at sucking its own ppl money n use it for their own benefit….

• malaysianpublic on Nov 20, 2015 at 4:33 pm

Had never try this b4, look at this, sounds positive. Hope the apps do not cost that much. And hopefully there is improvement in feedback/respond. that would be good if those complaints are transparent, which everyone can see the status.

• macroemdia on Nov 20, 2015 at 5:00 pm

no social functionality and can’t view other issues on same spot complain by others… so no accountability and transparency.

But hey it works. Good that its mobile, so we can file issue/complain as we are on the move. Really hopes they respond to show to rakyat la.

On hindsight, you could work with WAZE or similiar apps to add functionality to submit to this app. Final question is what is the price of this APP? 2billion ka?

• darkermarker on Nov 20, 2015 at 9:02 pm

No need this blardy apps lah. Just gimmick and waste of money.

The authority blind izit, lazy bum izit????

They are couped-up in jail and donno what outside world izit??

Please do go out to the field and monitor. see with you your God-given eyes la…Use your ears, use you BRAINS. Listen and attend to complaint from Taxpayers..

Everything oso need to be told?? Told to do this? if so, the authority makan gaji buta kah??…..

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 21, 2015 at 7:46 am

I bet this app won’t last long. It will be flooded with complaints from all over since nothing is being maintained by the ministry. I have a long list of roads I would like to see repaired and I bet thousands more will have other places to report. Plus how quick will they respond to complaints?

• jclark on Nov 21, 2015 at 9:49 am

after report what will happen? nothing rite…

just to post to social media? syiok sendiri?

• Very clever these government servants. They don’t take the trouble to repaire or do Maintenance but introduce apps after apps to log on etc. All very well except getting the job done.
    We already have all the complain dept in all the government offices , why do we need more ? Do the people working in the relevant authorities drive at all ? They don’t notice ? They cannot take action on their own ?
    It’s the same as SPAD hotline. Do we need to complain about speeding buses or trucks ? Dont they drive on the road ?