Production Honda BR-V unveiled at 2015 Thai Motor Expo – seven-seat crossover goes on sale early 2016

Honda_BR-V_Thailand_Modulo-1

We’ve been waiting for this moment for some time – it was unveiled in prototype form at the 2015 Gaikindo Indonesia International Auto Show (GIIAS) in Jakarta earlier this year (we’ve even driven it in Japan last month) and now it’s finally here in production form. That’s right, we are talking about the hotly-anticipated Honda BR-V, which made its world debut at the ongoing 2015 Thai Motor Expo.

The new five- or seven-seater ‘Active Sport Crossover’ measures 4,455 mm long, 1,735 mm wide and 1,650 mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2,660 mm. That’s 161 mm longer, 35 mm narrower and 45 mm taller than the five-seater-only HR-V, with a wheelbase some 50 mm longer. Ground clearance is quoted at over 200 mm.

It does appear that the production BR-V is pretty much identical to the show car, with the same sharp projector headlights with LED positioning lights, chrome-laden grille, silver skid plates, window line kink, wraparound LED tail light cluster and black plastic cladding all around. Even the 16-inch wheel design remains unchanged.

Honda_BR-V_Thailand_Modulo-2

Not sporty enough? The Modulo bodykit adds larger skid plates, side skirts, chrome garnish on the wing mirrors, chrome side mouldings, a huge rear spoiler and Y-spoke alloy wheels of the same diameter.

Much is unchanged inside as well, with a Jazz and City-style bluff dashboard design that contrasts to the Mobilio MPV on which it’s based. However, the Brio-esque steering wheel as seen on the test vehicle in Japan has been replaced by a sportier three-spoke item taken from the FD Civic and previous-generation Jazz and City, here wrapped in leather.

Honda-BR-V-Modulo-dashboard-at-the-2015-Thailand-Motor-Expo

Automatic air-conditioning is available as an option, and second-row air vents are also fitted. Safety features include dual airbags, ABS with EBD, Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA), Hill Start Assist (HSA) and ISOFIX child seat anchors. Honda previously confirmed that the BR-V is designed to accommodate up to six airbags, so perhaps higher-end models in certain markets will receive the full lot.

For now there’s just one powertrain option – the same 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC four-cylinder petrol engine as seen on the Jazz and City, here putting out 117 hp at 6,000 rpm and 146 Nm of torque at 4,700 rpm; drive is sent to the front wheels via an Earth Dreams CVT. The BR-V is expected to go on sale early next year.

Interior pix courtesy of Indian Autos Blog

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Underpowered for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
    • Dont worry,its powered by vtec engine.not campro turbo.some people will satisfied with the power.hence,this engine more economic then campro.in this bolehland any car but proton have the reason to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
      • topkek on Dec 02, 2015 at 2:37 pm

1.5 l SOHC i-VTEC – 146 Nm of torque at 4,700 rpm
        1.6 campro turbo – 205Nm of torque at 2,000-4,000 rpm

Topkek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
        • Campro inefficient on Dec 02, 2015 at 3:24 pm

Comparing NA against turbo??
          Compare apple with apple man.

Civic 1.5L Turbo: 174hp/220nm at 1800-5000rpm
          Campro 1.6L Turbo: 138hp/205nm at 2000-4000rpm

Campro with larger capacity engine has less hp and torque at higher rpm and don’t get me started about fuel efficiency!

• vtecbocor on Dec 03, 2015 at 12:16 am

CFE can do more than 205Nm, only the gearbox limits the engine power. And dun say that Honda turbo bocor, coz it’s not even find its way here!

• Campro inefficient on Dec 03, 2015 at 9:54 am

@vtecbocor

So you think Campro got no problems?? Go read the forums of current owners and see. It just looks good on paper but in real world usage has poor pickup, turbo lags, not to mention worse fuel consumption than even 2.5L NA engines.
            Sure you can always say the engine is limited by the gearbox and other excuses. I think the Honda Vtec turbo will be here in Malaysia before Proton changes the Punch CVT. Even then are you sure the performance would be better??

Let’s not even compare with Honda engine but other turbo engines and see:
            BMW 120i M Sport 1.6L (177hp)
            Ford Kuga 1.5 GTDI Ecoboost (180hp)
            Peugeot 508 1.6L (163hp)
            Mercedes Benz B200 1.6L (156hp)
            Hyundai Veloster Turbo 1.6L (184hp)
            BMW i8 1.5L (231hp)
            Volvo S60 T4 1.6L (180hp)
            Ford Fiesta ST 1.6L (182hp)
            Mini Cooper S Countryman 1.6L (190hp)
            Volkswagen Jetta/Tiguan 1.4L (158hp)
            Peugeot 3008 1.6L (163hp)
            Mercedes Benz CLA 200 1.6L (156hp)
            Peugeot 208 GTI 1.6L (200hp)
            Volvo V40 T4 1.6L (180hp)
            Peugeot RCZ Manual 1.6L (200hp)
            Mini Cooper S Paceman 1.6L (184hp)
            Mini John Cooper Works Paceman 1.6L (218hp)
            Citroen DS4 1.6L (160hp)
            Volkswagen Beetle TSI 1.4L (158hp)
            Peugeot 408 Turbo 1.6L (163hp)
            Alfa Romeo Giulietta 1.4L (170hp)
            Volkswagen Polo GTI 1.4L (177hp)
            Mini Cooper S Coupe 1.6L (184hp)
            Mini John Cooper Works Coupe 1.6L (211hp)

All with horsepower and torque figures higher than Campro. What excuse do you have? Compare turbo with turbo Campro is severely lacking.

• Rebadge King on Dec 03, 2015 at 9:57 am

For those that say Campro is the best. Please do not buy any other cars other than Proton or you will be a big hypocrite as in your opinion that is the best engine ever created in this world.

• Honda really wanna rip Toyota 2 parts this time

• You havent test drive this model and assuming Underpowered…Why everyone in this world assuming…Think out of the box !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • farghmee on Dec 02, 2015 at 1:09 pm

what is the mass of the BRV?

• As BRV is based on the Mobilio which has a weight of 1160kg top spec so we can expect the mass to be close to this figure.

Since this is a budget MPV it is supposed to be small and cheap like its other competitors so don’t expect big capacity engines.

Let’s compare with its competitors shall we.
          Toyota Avanza 1.5L: 104hp/136nm, 1160kg,
          Perodua Alza Advanced 1.5L: 102hp/136nm, 1160kg,
          Nissan Grand Livina 1.6L: 104hp/150nm, 1245kg,
          Proton Exora 1.6L: 125hp/150nm, 1426kg,
          Proton Exora 1.6L Turbo: 138hp/205nm, 1480kg,
          Honda BRV 1.5L: 117hp/146nm, 1160kg(estimate),

Just by comparison i would say the BRV would most likely be the most powerful among its competitors in terms of power except for the Exora turbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • don’t fret..u can always plonk in 2.2 Big VTEC Turbo if u opt to

• menee on Dec 03, 2015 at 12:25 am

Free towing truck service comes with that engine?
        Sked later bocor on road

• major letdown for this honda is the engine..1.5 liter NA for an SUV this big? should put bigger engine or the 1.5 turbo..hmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • RavenAii (Member) on Dec 02, 2015 at 7:52 pm

SUV? It doesn’t even have an AWD system. Just like the bouncy Rush. Not worth be called as an SUV.

• ILOVEMSIA on Dec 02, 2015 at 11:32 am

The tiny little tyre and 1.5L engine. Underpower la confirm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Same l0rrr on Dec 02, 2015 at 11:45 am

1.5l for this mpv? Same as city and jazz? Sure no power even p2 axia can smoke this car l0rrr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • FIST (Member) on Dec 02, 2015 at 12:09 pm

Avanza fighter?

• toyota rush fighter..

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 02, 2015 at 1:00 pm

This is targeted at the Avanza. The Rush is a proper body on frame small SUV.

Either way, this would drive and ride a lot better than the body on frame Avanza. It would eat it for breakfast.

As for being underpowered, its a pretty much given fact like the similarly powered Honda Freed, but would not be any worst than the 1.5L Avanza, given the more power sapping RWD layout on the Toyota.

• sabahan on Dec 02, 2015 at 12:30 pm

everything looks ok, but it’s butt is just not my cup of tea

• Honda buat cc 1.5 utk harga bawah 100k. Utk kegunaan biasa2 jer. Mau power beli la range rover evoque yg harga hampir 400k. Ada 9gear cukup power.

• Diesel Power!!! on Dec 02, 2015 at 1:10 pm

I hv driven Avanza 1.5, Alza 1.5, Caren 1.8, Citra 2.0,Toyota Wish 1.8, Estima 2.4. Only Estima power is satisfied to carry 7ppl. If this BRV is 1.5turbo or 1.8diesel..then it will adequate to power the vehicle..

• taknaktoyota on Dec 02, 2015 at 2:39 pm

No, only alpad 3.0 V6 can satisfy you…and the story continues

• taknaktoyotahater on Dec 02, 2015 at 4:15 pm

And i dont want to continue the story..buekkk

• It;s not reaching end yet. Coz there are many much more powerful vehicles there!

• aqjang on Dec 02, 2015 at 4:18 pm

The price? estimate

• intermilan on Dec 02, 2015 at 4:37 pm

BR-V .. what a paradox.. a 7-seater vehicle that is grossly underpowered to ferry 7 people!

However, based on sales of similar vehicles past and present (Avanza, Grand Livina etc), this kind of vehicle is a guaranteed recipe of success, as lot of theirs buyers won’t give a damn. So long the price is within budget. Looking ‘good’ has becoming an edge over competitors but isn’t critical. Overall, with the right pricing (obviously, right?) BR-V shall thump its competitors mercilessly.

• Looking to seat 6 on Dec 04, 2015 at 8:05 pm

Some people might look for the extra space. Sometimes for daily use, they might only need to use it as a 5- 6 seater (for small kids?). I think that is why they do not look at these vehicles as underpowered.

• civic_EK on Dec 02, 2015 at 4:43 pm

hopefully they give 1.8l vtec like HRV

• ground clearance on Dec 02, 2015 at 5:36 pm

interested in the ground clearance, comparison please…

• Why cant they lift the car plate position to where the logo is? Looks weird man…

• BK Lim on Dec 02, 2015 at 8:38 pm

BR-V

• flipper2uman (Member) on Dec 02, 2015 at 10:37 pm

Overall Honda has created a good package in this vehicle to serve its intended target market vs its competitors out there. This car was created for the sole purpose to be a cheap mass people carrier to cater for 3rd world countries (this includes the like of Malaysia also).

1. This vehicle is not going to achieve any speed record period nor is it going to achieve and 0-100 sprint record.

2. The road in the country where his vehicle is going to be sold is mostly probably not your autobahn. They are all B roads mixed with laterite roads.

3. Fuel quality in the target country can be bad, so any wet dreams of CDI or complex turbo engines are out of the picture.

4. Vehicle maintenance must be cheap

5. Vehicle must be able to transport 7 people or more and even double up as a business vehicle to transport light goods to the market.

These are most probably some of the considerations going into building this car. It is not all about the most torque, horsepower, twin turbo, 10 airbags, and high resale value which this blog keep on spewing out ever time they comment on a car being reviewed. The developers in Honda most probably went through some of the points I mentioned before they embarked on this project.

• myvipower on Dec 03, 2015 at 12:23 am

I can buy 2 Myvis if the price is 100k, can fetch 10 people yet cheaper!

• flipper2uman (Member) on Dec 03, 2015 at 8:52 am

That is a flawed argument. First you are not comparing apples with apples. We are comparing the same category of vehicles in the target market. One could easily argue that if one buys 5 motorbikes, one could easily ferry 10 passenger and it would still be cheaper vs buying 2 Myvis. So do you see the flaw of your argument here?

1. With government protection, your foreign cars should not cost double the cost of your local car. In most cases the larger capacity car should only cost the consumer a slight premium to a baseline model.

2. The cost of maintenance two cars is always higher vs a single car. Please not that the combine usage of fuel for both cars far outstrips the usage of a single vehicle on the road. We have not factor in other charges like insurance etc.

I could go on with more points but please argue using fact/figures and logical deduction. The argument you have presented lack and critical thinking on your part.

• Same l0rrr on Dec 04, 2015 at 7:57 am

Bro i can buy 100,000 bicycles And it can carry 100,000.
          Or can jujustat buy avanza facelift from me ok?
          Sales chart don’t lie, toyota still best seller compared to honda and potong vehicles in paultan october/nov sales report.

• flipper2uman (Member) on Dec 05, 2015 at 8:57 am

Same l0rrr,

Will have to pass on the Avanza as the technology is very dated compared to your competitors.

• Legendary handling of Hondla on Dec 04, 2015 at 11:01 pm

Buruknya belakang honda ni..kesiannye pakai vtec kecil..I will sure the owner will syok sendiri dgr bunyi vtec screaming masa naik bukit dan bangga dgn “vtec”nyer then Iriz potong this syok sendiri owner then tinggal masa kat selekoh..Disitulah keta ni terhegeh-hegeh mcm crying baby bila masuk corner