Volkswagen Malaysia confirms no price increase soon

vw-selayang-0002

Volkswagen Group Malaysia’s managing director, Armin Keller, has confirmed that his company will not be increasing the prices of its Malaysian range any time soon.

Speaking to MSN at the recent opening of its new 4S centre in Selayang, Keller said that Volkswagen is continuing to absorb losses caused by the recent devaluation of the ringgit.

He said, “of course, the current cost situation has put pressure on us in the market. We will have to look at it model by model, perhaps, but we don’t have any general plans to increase the prices of our cars as others do. At the moment, we will continue to swallow the bill.”

The ringgit devaluation has caused a stir in the market, with brands such as Honda, Toyota, Lexus and Mitsubishi all confirming price hikes for 2016. BMW, Nissan and Perodua have each said that they would consider doing the same if the situation continues to worsen.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• azrai on Dec 04, 2015 at 2:37 pm

No price increase still no one to buy maa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • VGM Pls Close Down on Dec 04, 2015 at 3:35 pm

Now those low life idiots who bought their VW and like to rev at traffic lights all keep quiet.

Last time, come to any forum say people who talk bad about VW are poor and cannot afford VW cars.

Now, everybody laught at VW owners. Stupid cars that now got ZERO RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 30
      • Lowlife on Dec 04, 2015 at 7:32 pm

Hope your mother is proud of how well she has raised you, for you to label people as low lives just because of their choice of buying a car. But know that what goes around always come around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 30
        • George Abdul on Dec 04, 2015 at 11:41 pm

Well said, the owners were being cheat too how can they be proud? Something hatred does blind our eyes and mind…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
          • SG VW on Dec 05, 2015 at 11:30 am

Not true that all VW owners feel cheated. Many are happy owners who opted to buy it for its performance and safety. A friend bought a Golf and then upgraded to a Cross Touran in 3 and half years, and he’s happy with his decision as safety is his first priority. He was in 2 accidents, and his family was kept safe in both. He said he feels safer in a VW with the way Malaysians drive so recklessly these days. So far he haven’t had any problems with his cars so far, except for all the bad publicity and VW hate bashers so far.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 33
          • Tipu 5 year Warranty on Dec 05, 2015 at 1:42 pm

VW salesman in action. Those days they come here and kutuk all other brands. Look down on every other car. Kutuk gila gila. Say people poor lah and all that and cannot afford their cars.

Now the truth is out. Not only got so many lies, don’t know what other new lies are going to crop up.

Everything also lie. Even their warranty also lie. Actually only 2 years real maufacturers warranty. The remaining 3 years is insurance warranty and so many people say claims are turned down.

So, even warranty also they lie. I would not dare commit so much money on a company that lies.

• Made in Germany???? on Dec 05, 2015 at 2:11 pm

Malaysians from day one already kena tipu. VW in Europe is considered normal class car. Same standard as Proton in Malaysia.

But in Malaysia, VGM market their cars as if it is same standard as Merc, BM and Audi. It is not.

But VGM tell Malaysians it is at par with Merc and BM and quality at par with Merc and BMW

Let me tell you, it is not. I lived in Germany 20 years. In Germany also, got very low quality goods that commands the words “Made in Germany”

Go to LIDL supermarket in germany, you can see so many Made in germany products for their people. The quality is so so low. You put in your mouth also you puke.

Yes, now you know. Not all Made in Germany products are the SAME.

I hope Malaysians wake up now and see that VW is just a normal car in Europe, don’t know why it has to be priced so high in Malaysia to fool Malaysians thinking it is a luxury product

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • His comment implies he drives something slower, haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
          • Tow Truck Best Friend. on Dec 05, 2015 at 1:52 pm

many cars slower but these cars don’t have to spend all your 21 days annual leave in the SC sorting problems and besides your annual leave, at least another 10 days in the year calling your boss to tell you are late to work cause you are waiting for the tow truck.

you still want speed? Or reliability?

• Karma Sure Bites Back on Dec 05, 2015 at 1:59 pm

I now you are upset now your VW got ZERO RV. But still you have to admit how arrogant VW owners were before. So so arrogant. Call everybody poor and no class just because we cannot afford VW

• Veedubber on Dec 04, 2015 at 10:49 pm

Think u got it all wrong boy about them speeding off from the traffic lights. Doubt that they really need to rev their twin charged TSI engines to pull away from the traffic lights. It’s just that their DSG dual clutch changes so quickly and smoothly that they will way ahead of your ancient torque converters. U will still be in 4th, while a VW will have moved into 6th or 7th at 90kmh. That’s the beauty of the VW DSG, one of the best dual clutches in the business, try it for yourself. Only those ah beng wannabes with their loud mufflers need to rev hard. VW drivers just let their superchargers do it, with minimum drama and fuss. Hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
        • Tipu 5 year Warranty on Dec 05, 2015 at 1:46 pm

another VW salesman trying hard. yes, they can speed off but later breakdown when the DSG gets hot and they still have to wait for the tow truck to come.

So, the slow tortoise will still catch up and win.

• Smlok on Dec 09, 2015 at 6:11 am

You statement is not true, a golf tsi was hardly pulled away from my 1.4 swift

• timbuktu on Dec 04, 2015 at 3:37 pm

I am still stuck with my junk VW. 7 months now trying to sell mudah, not even one phone call.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
    • Beatles on Dec 04, 2015 at 4:36 pm

Free 12 month instalment & 5 years free maintenance.
      PLUS FREE 24 HOURS CAR TOWING^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • OMG…Pls dont think of increase price lah…U can only consider reduce price and give discount kaw kaw.hahahah

• Acrix on Dec 05, 2015 at 10:00 am

They wanna make it seem like they are good by not increasing price but its because they already did early this year and another round last year if anyone remembers.
        http://paultan.org/2015/01/08/volkswagen-malaysia-price-revamp-2015/

VW has increased their price yearly without justification just to get more profit.

• ex lousy polo gti on Dec 06, 2015 at 12:29 pm

Hurry! Come and get your own VW. You ll be instantly rewarded with new extended family and very close friends consisting of VW staffs themselves! For you ll be spending most of your time at SC. Come. Get one now before they shut down their company.

• Lousy products still better don’t follow others..
    if increase. .will only increase close down possibility

• dodgeviper88 on Dec 04, 2015 at 2:56 pm

Haha they DARE to increase price? I was half expecting them to decrease price some more seeing that their US sales Nov year on year drop 25%, worse since 2008

• Big Liar Company on Dec 04, 2015 at 3:00 pm

Thick skin and shameless company. Already nama busuk gila gila overseas, also nama busuk in Malaysia maximum because of DSG lies, you dare to even come here and tell no increase in price?

Now everybody boycott VW because VGM is full of lies like their parent company VW AG. So desperate, now VW salesman wait at banks beside Maybank ATM to promote their VW cars.

Nobody wants VW cause DSG still halts and breaksdown non stop. Even people using mineral oil also, the car still judders and breaksdown. Is this German quality??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
  • Increase if you want to suicide although VW already dying.

• VGM Pls Close Down on Dec 04, 2015 at 3:33 pm

Please lah VGM, pls close down. Everybody also scared about your DSG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • 2014 Passat Rm65k on Dec 04, 2015 at 3:07 pm

My friend tried to sell his 2014 Passat, accident free and only done 20k KM, used car dealer gave him RM65k. Brand new he buy RM170k. Tak sampai 2 years.

All VW owners in Malaysia should sue VGM or take a class action suit against VGM. In 20 months car can go from RM170k to RM65k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 6
  • A Government that Cheats on Dec 04, 2015 at 3:25 pm

How can prices go up further? Already we Malaysians are paying 3X the global prices for cars.

That means car companies, which in Malaysia are all indirectly 100% owned by Government already raping the rakyat puas puas. Now still hantam somemore?

Also, 20 years the ringgit was so strong. At that time they never REDUCED prices. One year ringgit jatuh, they increase prices.

For 20 years, BOD of UMW for instance every year get 12 months bonus. This year, they should give that bonus back

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
  • Sam Lorr Orig on Dec 04, 2015 at 4:34 pm

Better buy Toyota vios, altis, camry or our signature Hilux. Our car is so reliable that you won’t see any toyota broke down at side of the road. Not like VW…puiiiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • calcutta on Dec 04, 2015 at 4:44 pm

proton should be looking at this incident and stop saying malaysian are only negatively biased towards proton. see,as long as you’re not reliable,even volkswagen get mock left and right,when it comes to money,no compassion

• ringgit is depressed against dollar. so does most other asia currency like china, jepun also performing bad. most car part come from China, japan,thi and korea, so if any car maker have to increase they car price is a bullshi* especially perodua where they use mostly local and japan part.

• Hagemony on Dec 04, 2015 at 8:40 pm

Stay away from VW. Been in and out the service centre for the past 4 years. Some up to 3 months without a car. They promise a replacement car in the media, but you never got one because almost everyone needs one. Now even I try to sell it there are no buyers. 5 years warranty approching fast. Wish me luck.

• camtakpro on Dec 04, 2015 at 9:43 pm

They should offer to buy back those 2yrs old Passat @ RM70k. And use those cars for replacement cars.

• Jobless on Dec 04, 2015 at 9:10 pm

Too bad i have to agrree wit some comments here bout VW drivers in general…most of them like to drive fast and furious as if want to show off

• camtakpro on Dec 04, 2015 at 9:44 pm

You sure? They always hog the right lane and I though another poor soul have DSG or engine issues.

• Gumdrop on Dec 05, 2015 at 12:55 am

What if VW car offer manual transmission in Malaysia?

• Samang on Dec 08, 2015 at 1:12 pm

Would love to see this wipe the smirk off one datuk’s son who drives his now cheap depreciated golf like a maniac. But then again maybe he’s just clueless about these things.