PJ one-way loop system to be completed in August

petaling-jaya-one-way-loop

The Petaling Jaya one-way loop will be completed in August this year, according to the Petaling Jaya City Council (MBPJ). At this moment in time, the first phase of the loop is 95% completed, while 80% of the second phase has been completed, The Malay Mail reports. Meanwhile, motorists and pedestrians will have to cope with the conditions of the roads and sidewalks until then.

The third phase will have covered walkways built in Jalan Selangor and sections of Jalan Utara. Petaling Jaya City Council public relations officer, Zainun Zakaria noted that the council was optimistic that the entire project would be finished by the end of August.

Since the project began in October 2014, the council has received scores of complaints regarding the poor condition of the roads, sidewalks and the confusion that the loop is causing.

In relation to the poor road conditions, over the past year, Ismail said that eight stop-work orders have since been issued to contractors who did not perform road repairs properly. That said, the construction needed to be carried out nonetheless as the council wanted to complete the project as soon as possible.

PJ Traffic Jam

A new system has been implemented where patrols will be conducted every two days, to look out for any potholes, according to Ismail Shafie, engineering department director of MBPJ. He noted that traffic congestion could not be avoided due to the project.

Illegally parked vehicles are also partly responsible for the traffic congestion.“There are many buses and cars parked illegally along the stretch of these projects that are also contributing to the traffic problem,” Ismail said.

To assist pedestrians, the council will create temporary walkways along paths currently under construction. “There are six pedestrian crossings at traffic lights and three pedestrian bridges that can be used to cross the road,” Ismail said, adding that temporary lights are also in place as well.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• the road is like warzone…& confusing…

and alot of section left side wana go right side, right side wana go left side…just imagine ‘X’ cross

hmm strange…alot of roads in malaysia has the ‘X’ cross

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • MBPJ - King Of Corruption on Jan 29, 2016 at 10:40 am

Hello MBPJ, sort out New Town lah. Every minute, so many near accidents. It is taking years. Now nearly 2 years. then korek here and korek there. Pavement beside the former Sunway College also korek…for what? The pavement was okey. Just because you want to give the contract to some crony to get millions you ask him to korek the pavement.

Everyday so many near accidents. No proper lanes. Two lanes just merge into one suddenly.

How come it takes 2 years?

Oh btw MBPJ, in Damansara Utama, so many car park places are reserved with cones by car workshops. Although no red line reservation, they put cones, tayar or even tong sampah.

I complained to your officers, they laugh at me. That afternoon I saw a particular car workshop who reserve a few bays using tayar lama, eating luch with a few MBPJ enforcement officers.

Come on lah MBPJ. You all so corrupted until now, even parking bays shop owners can reserve with old tayar and tong sampah.

This new town thing also, cost berpuluh puluh million and taking 2 years. What nonsense? To make one way, does not need berpuluh million lah

Please clean up your image MBPJ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
      • Champion of Corruption (MPPJ aka MBPJ) on Jan 29, 2016 at 10:54 am

MBPJ is so corrupted, they dig up the road opposite Pizza Hut, it took them 1 month to redo the road.

Don’t blame the contractors. Blame your own people. All pretend to do tenders but in actual fact, all the contracotrs are all the cucu, moyang, abang saudara, adik saudara, kakakr ipar, abang ipar of the Officers in the MBPJ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • 8 Stop Orders? on Jan 29, 2016 at 11:49 am

8 Stop Orders? This would only mean corruption and contract given to some unworthy RM2 company crony contractor.

The whole PJ suffer because of crony practice. The budget for this is over RM20 or RM30 million. Does it take so much of money to make a one way system?

Why is it taking 2 years?

Any problem in Mayor big mansion house (bigger than MB even) in Jalan Tinggi, the next day it is rectified, but here, it takes 2 years?

Why double standards? The PJ Major should be given a PKNS flat to stay in and not a big mansion bigger than evena Menteri house.

• MBPJ bullshit city council! on Jan 29, 2016 at 11:30 am

I can attest to you that MBPJ is a bullshit city council. This “looping” system is a hastily implemented without proper consultation and assesement back in October 2014.

Since then, the road condition is best described as “warzone”, as if there were 155mm artilleries pounding the road everyday, with craters and potholes to spice up your driving thrill! For the past 15 months, THERE IS NEVER A DAY THOSE STRETCH OF ROADS ARE WITHOUT A SINGLE POTHOLE. Padestrians are forced to risk their life by crossing the 4 lane road with speeding cars coming at them, and to date there is still no proper traffic light (save the one infront of Asia Jaya LRT station) or pedestrian bridge install, seriously, what the heck MBPJ is thinking? The merging lane beside the taman jaya lake and the other one just before the turn in to section 14 Jaya Mall are so confusing and dangerous, with cars criss-crossing left and right, and mind you it had claimed motorcylists life to date. What did MPBJ do about it? especially to the family of the deceased victim?

The “temporarily” signboard, which has been there for 15 months (such a long period by the definition of “temporarily”, by MBPJ standard) is just plain pathetic, with unclear instructions and small wordings to confuse the road users even more, eslecially if you are not familiar with PJ traffic. To date, I have yet to see a permenant, clear blue signborads wuth white wordings being erected. Get you fxxking ass buckle up and do something MBPJ!

About the constructions, there have been UNCEASINGS projects going on forever, 7 days a week and 24 hours a day. The sewage project created a massive jam, then come another TNB work with their tractors and machinary to make another mess, then, another contractor come back in and dig a massive hole to crrate another mess, it just go on FOREVER! NEVER STOP! My tyres had been punctured twice caused by 3 inch long screw left by the contractors, who’ going to pay my bill?

With Khalid Ibrahim gone, Azmin’s petboys are so eager to use the state 3 billion funds. Suddenly, contractors flocked in to PJ area to repave the roads. Good that it may sound, but some of the pavement were done with very bad workmanship to aggravated the problem further. I believe this loop system open a massive songlap opportunity for the former PJ mayor and the current Azmin petboys, which they have been eagerly wanting to dip their hands in the state fund reserve. Since its implemenatation, it has bring no traffic alleviation, in fact, making it worse than before and bring countless misery to PJ folks. It’s implementation is best describe as “disasterous”. Seriusoly, MACC, you should look into this.

A very frustrated and angry PJ folk.

• MACC cannot touch Azmin, MBPJ, Selangor, Party Hard. Otherwise Bersih will demo infront of MACC opis again.

• Mann Bell on Jan 29, 2016 at 11:39 am

dear mbpj, please re-draw lines on the road. as u know, malaysians dont use indicator lights to change lane, and without lines on the road, it’s even worst!

• potholes wannabe on Jan 29, 2016 at 12:09 pm

The potholes problem not only in PJ or damansara we in puchong, usj and subang also got a same problem too…driving like go through war zone. no wonder my car absorber mounting and engine mounting kong so fast fast one. and the repair job they are doing not do in proper way it’s not like perfect job more like “blowjob’!!

• MBPJ is selangor so is under Party Hard. So jangan persoal otherwise u r BN lapdog cybertrooper

• Jom John Balik Tidur on Jan 29, 2016 at 3:00 pm

Masih belum bangun lagi bang? Jom la, balik tidur. Apa lagi. Kerajaan nanti tolong.

• jinking joe on Jan 29, 2016 at 1:15 pm

Pj road is like rally staging. Full of pot holes and confusing road. Not for human to live.

• unknown warrior on Jan 29, 2016 at 1:53 pm

1) You unearth the pavement, but cannot complete within a week…Look at the roads at Crystal crown area…. 3 F#@king months…you unearth it..DO NOTHING.

2) If you cannot complete the 1 lane, don’t unearth 2 lanes and make the road ONE lane. Stupid idiots.

3) Plan…if you don’t know…Don’t even bother doing the project in the beginning. Let the residents decide.

4) Do you even examine the site road quality repaired ?…holes, bumps, rocks….
    What contractor you have?…still want to ask them to complete?… Put a fine print…if don’t do it good… FINE them back. Do you do proper quality road contracts?…STUPID idiots.

• Salah Najib ka salah Parti Takde Harapan