Petaling Jaya one-way loop enters Phase 2 expansion

petaling-jaya-one-way-loop

The one-way loop in Petaling Jaya, which came into effect last year, is now expected to enter the second phase of development, as The Star understands. The loop which comprises of four arterial routes – Jalan Barat, Jalan Timur, Jalan Utara and Jalan Sultan – will now undergo works in four separate periods that are expected to last over the period of 18 months, according to Bukit Gasing assemblyman, Rajiv Rishyakaran.

From March till the middle of July this year, the western half of Jalan Utara, Jalan Timur and parts of Jalan Sultan will be subject to development works in accordance to the “Proposed Construction Work Programme”. From then on, the second phase will involve Jalan Barat, sections of Persiaran Barat, the eastern half of Jalan Utara and Jalan Sultan. Work is scheduled to begin in July and end in November.

The third phase is slated to begin in December and end in the middle of April 2016. During this period, roads such as Jalan Yong Shook Lin and parts of Jalan Barat will be involved. Finally, the last phase of development works are expected to begin right after April 2016 and end by August 31 – road furniture such as bus stops and safety railings will be established during this phase.

A formal request has been submitted by Rishyakaran and Petaling Jaya City Council (MBPJ) councillor, Ang Ming Ern, to shorten the development period proposed in the original tender to minimise traffic congestion.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Those who live or work in that are have no right to complain becoz it is a PR (marketing) project, unlike Kidex which is a BN crony project.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • …in that *area* have… Spelling mistake

• MBPJ, please come clean! on Mar 18, 2015 at 3:19 pm

PJ now has the worst roads. All the roads are full of potholes. Go on Jalan 222, the roads are full of potholes and uneven till can destroy your suspension. They got time to do this one way system and spend tons of money but all other roads in PJ are full of potholes.

MBPJ spent berpuluh puluh millions to do this one way thing. All they did was really put some cones and change a few sign boards. So, how did the bill come to berpuluh puluh million to make a one way system?

It is obvious someone, somewhere makan a lot of money. Who really makan the money?

Anyway, the one way system is such a high risk because cars are swerving left and right to go to their respective roads. Everyday, got so many near accidents. Infact, every few minutes got near major accidents.

The fools in MBPJ, besides siphoning money, can you all use your brains and think how to prevent cars changing on a 6 lanes raod (2 major roads combined), changing from the last lane on the left to the last lane on the right in a few seconds?

We the PJ residents are perplexed by how the MBPJ can spends berpuluh million ringgit and all they did was to put some cones and change a few road signs. I too want to be contractor here. Easy money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
      • If you voted for PR you have no right to complain. So shut up or I will gag order you! Dun forget, PR has an army of lawyers that can bankrupt your seven generations!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • they will find a way to blame this on the government. mark my word

• policeman on Mar 18, 2015 at 1:13 pm

Is this idea from PR?
    Such a numbskullic idea must be from them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • almighty lim guan eng on Mar 18, 2015 at 1:41 pm

This is due to poor city planning by previous BN gomen. Nothing to do with PR. Please stop fitnah PR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 16
      • kl fella on Mar 18, 2015 at 2:18 pm

I find that coming from federal highway is much easier now, but i got lost when i first used the roads there.. after a few rounds and get a hang of it, i think it improves traffic flow incredibly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • nabill (Member) on Mar 18, 2015 at 2:00 pm

actually this ting kinda works , yes its stil congested and few bottlenecks here and there , but dare i say it , its better than last time , specially if ur frm federal highway heading to pj….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Can we just look/comment/accept/reject a project to ease traffics for our convenient as just a PROJECT without relating it to whether it is BN or PR’s. What matter most to me is a good road system that goes with a good traffic-enforcement to nab traffic offenders.

• BS Lee on Mar 18, 2015 at 3:37 pm

Did anyone realise its likely that it cost a lot more money and funding to maintain our roads and terrain comparable to some other developed nation we can easily think of? Our high humidity, rain, floods, natural disaster, pollution, traffic treading on it every minute will rot it all sooner than in another better nation. And where’s all that extra funding to come from? For those reasons, we lag…lack of maintenance culture is the least of our worries.

• I tend to agree on this “Our high humidity, rain, floods, natural disaster, pollution..will rot it all sooner than in another better nation.” But looking at the old buildings left by the British, they seem to last forever with or without regular maintenance. Does this then boils down to “Quality”. And with regard to roads, could over-loaded vehicles be the cause but how often do they traverse that particular road?

• lived in PJ for a good 20yrs plus now.. can I just nominate MPBJ as the worst city council in the whole wide world.. eh waiitt.. the whole bloody universe!!!!!! terrible road maintenance(if theres any).. cant even manage the traffic lights.. never ending road works.. poor lighting.. and this tops it all.. 1 way loop traffic system konon.. Everytime I use the loop system.. I wish I can loop a noose to the babi who came up with this stupid idea in the first place

• 1senworth on Mar 21, 2015 at 11:28 pm

all this reminds of a familiar saying – “… the lunatics have taken over the asylum..”, but in this case may also cost ‘berpuluh-puluh millions’ in the process…?

• Datuk Faiz on Mar 18, 2015 at 6:12 pm

The traffic actually improved in this one way loop system, but the road condition is worsen. May I nominate myself to be the contractor for the road laying works?

• You can. To be PR crony please come this room and do remember the briefcase with untraceable USDs, please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 18, 2015 at 10:11 pm

i volunteer myself due to my experience in building jambatans and sungais in malaysia…but these mbpj jokers too high and mighty to listen to me