Legalised Mat Rempit street racing idea gathers steam

2015-mat-rempit-5-e1444095620332a

The idea of allowing Mat Rempits to race on city streets legally under the authorities’ watch, proposed by Federal Territories Minister Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor earlier this week, appears to be gathering steam. The Star reports that Mayor Datuk Seri Mohd Amin Nordin Abd Aziz is open to the idea and wants bikers to submit proposals.

“We have just opened up a new bridge that connects Taman Metropolitan Batu to Kampung Batu Muda. We welcome them to put up a proposal for racing there. We will assist them in terms of road closures and other matters,” the mayor said.

Fortunately (if you were one of those who were shocked to hear of Tengku Adnan’s proposal), the police and the Road Safety Department (JKJR) are more cautious. Bukit Aman Internal Security and Public Order director Comm Datuk Muhammad Fuad Abu Zarim said a proper discussion with the Federal Territories Ministry needed to be held on the proposal to close roads for races.

PG01_040114_MAT REMPIT

“Not all roads can be closed for such races,” he said, adding that any decision must consider the convenience of all motorists. “It must also ensure that traffic flow in the city is not disrupted.”

JKJR director-general Abd Ghafar Yusof raised concerns about traffic jams and the safety of people gathered on the pavement if such races were held. He compared legal Mat Rempit races to last year’s inaugural KL City Grand Prix event and the problems that arose with the street race.

“Firstly, the traffic jam that can result from diverting traffic. Secondly, the audience, in terms of safety because if the races are legalised and something happens to the people around, how are they going to claim for insurance and such? It’s not a question of whether it should or should not be done, but about the pros and cons of having such races and how many people will benefit or have issues with the event,” he said.

2015-mat-rempit-tolak-motor

Earlier this week, Malay Mail Online reported on the idea that is hoped to curb illegal racing. “Probably in one week, one or two days, we will give it like the car-free day but only for Mat Moto to race at night,” Tengku Adnan told reporters, adding that he preferred to term these bikers Mat Moto rather than Mat Rempits.

“We don’t want illegal racing, but we want them to race in a specific place. If they want to race, it’s okay but we (will) give them a place where we can control with safety barriers and all. We will control the situation because we realise that this is an entertainment for them. They have no other means to entertain themselves because of high costs,” he explained.

“We will provide a suitable place and probably we will organise a fiesta, where we have food trucks selling food and other things to help them. It’s not encouraging, but you see, we want to see what the people like,” the FT minister added.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• George Abdul on Feb 24, 2016 at 10:25 am

Most experts against the proposal, So just wondering what will the Transport Minister says about this, he is the only “in-power” to make the final decision…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
    • hailthepurist on Feb 24, 2016 at 11:27 am

simply most stupid proposal..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
      • jinggo on Feb 24, 2016 at 12:49 pm

Most of the rempits are you know who. This what happens when men marry many women and the father has no time to juggle or jaga the 15 kids from various wives.

Senang kahwin lebih kerana nafsu tapi tak pandai jaga anak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 24, 2016 at 1:17 pm

Malaysia has one of the highest rape cases in the world.

Please set up a place with many blow up dolls and mannequin. The youths can climb on these dolls and pump them maximum and release frustration.

This will help lower rape cases in Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 3
        • 2 Million Otak Udang on Feb 24, 2016 at 1:28 pm

You cannot expect much from a society that condones negative behaviour.

One example is Tuan Besar. He songlap RM2.6 billion and yet, his party, with 2 million members, until now, all smile happy and condone and approve such negative behaviour.

This is also the same as corruption. All the bodohs are very happy to condone it and give suport to it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
        • Malam Jumaat on Feb 24, 2016 at 1:40 pm

This what happens when men kahwin empat and have so many kids that they themselves cannot control, guide or educate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
        • Albert on Feb 24, 2016 at 2:03 pm

Datuk Songlap,Bolehland has a new mental hospital next to tanjong Rambutan.(already full house)
          It is called Tanjung Durian Mental Hospital.
          It think taxpayers don’t mind a little extra tax to send these MENTALLY RETARDED BIPOLAR RECALCITRANT NUTS to fill up the empty wards of the new hospital.
          If his bladdy proposal is accepted,then we shall have leaglised narcotics,prostitution,money laundering,murder,kidnap,suicide bombings,detonation of dirty uranium bomb etc…never ending list.

• Hermann Tilke on Feb 24, 2016 at 4:53 pm

“We don’t want illegal racing, but we want them to race in a specific place. If they want to race, it’s okay but we (will) give them a place where we can control with safety barriers and all. We will control the situation because we realise that this is an entertainment for them.”

It’s called a race circuit.

• OMG…why waste time and money on this issue? IF u allow this to MAt rempit, why not for car racers? No ending stories…pls just penalised all these Mat rempit. What a shame. puihhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 24, 2016 at 12:41 pm

Bodoh Mayor.

Go UH or GH emergency every night, you can see about 20 Mat Rempit there with broken head, broken hand or broken leg taxing the hospital

Then the genuine old uncle, who is 90 years old, has to wait 4 hours because he has an asthma attack.

There will be so many old uncles and aunties waiting for hours to be served because of the Mat Rempits.
        Now, it will be worse cause Government has sanctioned Mat Rempits and their racing.

More will be rushing to hospitals.

Amazing, a Mayor, who is also a Datuk think this is a great idea.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 0
    • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 24, 2016 at 12:38 pm

This is what comes out of the pee brain Ministers. Like this, better legalise prostitution also. Keep one section of Kuala Lumpur as the Red Light District for prostitues and bapuks to service customers.

Very shocking coming from the Federal Minister. And now Amin Nordin, our Mayor also, have ZERO brain.

Also, at the same time, please allocate a few houses that serve ganja and drugs. Since your logic is such that it can curb illegal activities, please do so.

Our Ministers, not only Songlap money big time, but are also stupid to the core.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
      • Oh mak lu cina on Feb 24, 2016 at 6:46 pm

Yes, they did it in Singapore and it works! Here we are islam nation so become this cannot that cannot.

• UMGGOK on Feb 24, 2016 at 1:05 pm

I think govt should held a Robbers Club Konvo as well together with this mat rempit konvo to bermesra2 dengan our love minister and let them try the feel being robbed !

• RempitUmggok on Feb 24, 2016 at 2:26 pm

Not all mat rempits are robbers
        But all robbers are Mat rempit !
        LOL

• Crack smoker on pipe dreams on Feb 24, 2016 at 10:30 am

Ppl pls give up your day job & join me racing for life! Woohooo!

• Every1canTalk on Feb 24, 2016 at 10:31 am

Country lead by this kind of leader, no wonder we still far away from becoming the developed country.
    Do they pay extra road tax, income tax and other taxes to have such privilege for own occupied that roads? Phuiii……..
    If this idea work, it mean we can solve the kes rompak as well by legalised the robbers to rob from everyday midnigh 12.00am to 4.00am.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
    • OMG…u right. They should investigate the root cause of Mat rempit. To me, this is cause by family….social ill / discipline problem. We should start from the education or family.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Feb 24, 2016 at 10:32 am

Recently, the number of high blood prssuree, stroke, heart attack, sudden death cases rises up by more than 1000% arnd the country becoz of a proposal made by the DUMBEST MINSTER OF THE DUMBEST LOTS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
  • With that kind of intelligence, not surprise they will block the roads that lead to a hospital, with the reason being easier for rempit to get treatment in case of accident, no less….

The stand up comedians in Malaysia should never run out of jokes to crack.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Facebook on Feb 24, 2016 at 10:36 am

1 Malaysia minister otak… tak guna langsung…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • SkullJuJu on Feb 24, 2016 at 10:45 am

What did he expect?! Praises?

• anonymous on Feb 24, 2016 at 10:57 am

The minister is plain stupid to come out with such proposal. So far recently the things the governement has come out so far is either gain more revenue at the expense of rakyat or favoring those who are nuetral in politics to gain support from them.

• Closing the road and deny law-abiding citizen access for these parasite worms to race? Why? Are they pay more taxes? What benefit do they bring to the country?

• ben yap on Feb 24, 2016 at 11:30 am

good to legalise it as more of these people die, there will be lesser breeds.

• WaJib on Feb 24, 2016 at 11:39 am

Foreign tourist will laugh at us will those jokers doing gelagat-gelagat superman at road. Menteri pun suka syiok sendiri..

• tokmoh. on Feb 24, 2016 at 11:41 am

We need that Penang lorry driver that rammed 18 cars, he’s the hero we need!

Heard he need RM8k bail, fark, if there’s an official donation drive, I’d totally donate to him.

He will be needed once again to rid our road from rempits. Protek protek lorry driver!

• stasta on Feb 25, 2016 at 10:27 am

need someone to contact his family n get his personal bank account number.

• Bravo on Feb 24, 2016 at 11:43 am

Bravo….let them race and die in crashes.

we don’t need so many reckless motorcyclists.

• Bukan Tan Sri on Feb 24, 2016 at 11:44 am

So the message we are sending our kids is that if you do something illegal long enough then we will legalise it. Heck, the government will even glorify it. Same rules with illegal foreign workers. Stay here and work without permit long enough, we will give you work permit.

• dodgeviper88 on Feb 24, 2016 at 11:45 am

This is just stupid. With this kind of precedent we might as well legalize corruption as it is rampant in Malaysia. On the other hand, legalizing these airheads will hopefully speed up Darwinism process

• tohellwithplagiarism on Feb 24, 2016 at 11:52 am

The job of PolisRajaDiMsia is to catch opposition n tweet about it. While protecting d rakyat becomes third party cari makan security guard which resembles to legal ‘protection fees’ in nowadays housing areas. As the govt, About mat sohais, they wanna gain more votes n support from them just like bangla workers case n resulted to our dumbfked minister proposing such ‘genius’ ideas. 2.6b tarak Hal. Cartoon about our lord najib turned seditious n action taken almost immediately.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • vtec fan on Feb 24, 2016 at 12:00 pm

can i propose? for those who not qualifier as minister, please help us by tender your resignation.

• cobra on Feb 24, 2016 at 12:18 pm

Economy is already bad. By closing the roads, businesses will be affected. Moreover, how will this event benefit the country besides just a nuisance? Anything is permissible but not everything is beneficial. Everyone pls grow up and live a meaningful life.

• Bomoh on Feb 24, 2016 at 12:48 pm

I think this country already sick…..

• Nissan on Feb 24, 2016 at 12:55 pm

Please also supply gals for them to entertain if you can justify this is the right move just because they can’t afford the high cost of living.

• nabill (Member) on Feb 24, 2016 at 12:59 pm

Im i the only one thinking that this very decision is election related,securing votes from youth of certain demographic??

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 24, 2016 at 1:03 pm

If this is to set a precedent….I’m so going to bring my track car out of mothballs and terrorize the streets.

Maybe they have a pedestrian free night so us cars can race.

• Fadzli Fauzi on Feb 24, 2016 at 1:28 pm

I don’t mind. My sales of white cloth is going to go up

• power rangers on Feb 24, 2016 at 2:02 pm

Better banned all the kapchai motorbike. and make them use public transport or bicycle instead.

• choong hui ken on Feb 24, 2016 at 2:46 pm

if you wanna make the rempit track, remember make also rempit hospital to ER.. ask those rempit to be own guard and doctor.. racing line only for those selected road.. outside from it, summon them.. if crowd disturb non selected area, summon them.. time to make $.. any damage kuman kasi tanggung dgn gaji sendiri.. we not allowed him to use public fund for those repairing progress.. so if rempit wan to race at public road, make sure the road condition were very good.. no potholes or bumpy.. if got, take your own money repair and race again.. i think public will not be argue if such action were implement.. what said you.. KUMAN..

• sick&tired on Feb 24, 2016 at 3:04 pm

“They have no other means to entertain themselves because of high costs”

Just provide the mat rempit with a cheap laptop and free wifi! And unblock pornhub!

• can't stop laughing on Feb 24, 2016 at 4:45 pm

With this idea of legalising activities which were previously illegal, we can also realise ‘The Purge’. Only in Bolehland!

• transformer on Feb 24, 2016 at 4:52 pm

no parent will agree to this proposal unless they on weeds like these rempits… like parent like sons…

don’t train these rempit to become snatch thieves…

• Fendy on Feb 24, 2016 at 5:21 pm

Can be a good proposal. Must collect per motor rm 20 then money use for donation for charity or old folks home.

• These bikes are not design for racing. Stupid minister.

• tadulako on Feb 24, 2016 at 9:24 pm

malaysia minister semua “pandai-pandai”. No wonder the malaysia is sinking and going down…

• adisonz on Feb 24, 2016 at 10:22 pm

Legalised is good and it cannot be implement on street , force sepang to open for such activity , I know you can do that..

• joy of life on Feb 25, 2016 at 1:22 am

I say let’s give it to them – in Putrajaya. Let them race, every single day, 12 am to 5 am, Monday to Friday in front of PM, DPM & all the ministers houses. It will be soooo fun and they can have food trucks, a fiesta and no one will be affected. I say go for it!

• Huh-Huh-Huh? on Feb 25, 2016 at 1:46 pm

This stupid idea is the same as if you want to commit crime, i’ll legalize it and give you a place where public can enjoy and watch safely. Like if you want to rob a place, rob here on a specified schedule.

• v-tec on Feb 25, 2016 at 3:29 pm

give mat rempit a chance lah, there want to die let them be