Proton Iriz export plans currently in development, first markets likely Indonesia and Thailand, LHD in pipeline

Proton_Iriz_Review_ 003

At the launch of Proton’s exports to Chile, chief executive officer Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah said that export plans for the Proton Iriz are currently in the pipeline, and that left-hand drive models are still in development.

This was expanded upon by chief technical officer Abdul Rashid Musa, who told paultan.org that it would be “logical” that the national carmaker would introduce the Iriz in regional markets like Indonesia and Thailand first, followed by Australia.

News regarding the Iriz’ export plans have been coming out for a long time, ever since the car was unveiled in September 2014. In November of that year, it was spotted at the Thailand International Motor Expo, with the words “Coming Soon” plastered on the side windows; however, we haven’t heard of any developments for the Thai market since then.

Proton_Iriz_Review_ 009

The month after, it was reported that the Iriz was due to arrive in Australia in mid-2015 with the possibility of it gaining the Satria badge instead (Iriz R3 badged as the Satria GTi, perhaps?). Fast forward to October 2015, and a report came in about the Iriz undergoing type approval in Indonesia, with a planned launch by the end of that year. It was said that the B-segment hatch would go on sale there in five variants, including a hitherto unmentioned 1.3 Premium CVT model.

Do note that exports to the European markets are only expected to commence after Proton’s new engines – which will incorporate direct-injection technology in both naturally-aspirated (GDI) and turbocharged (TGDI) forms – go into production by end-2017. These mills will meet the more stringent European emissions regulations, including the upcoming Euro 6c coming into effect in 2018.

Abdul Harith also mentioned that Proton was planning to export 7,000 cars this year, including to the new markets of Chile and Bangladesh – up from last year’s figure of around 5,000 units.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• George Abdul on Mar 01, 2016 at 12:21 pm

Good let the foreign review about this car and the different better the local market… and watch Proton are telling the truth or “self-praise” again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Lelong on Mar 01, 2016 at 2:36 pm

Sell it cheap below market price to clear old stocks.

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 02, 2016 at 1:53 pm

For every Proton sold abroad, 2 Malaysian Proton buyers have to subsidize the loss. Why not you just go Thailand buy the car and bring it back?

• Same L0rrr on Mar 02, 2016 at 9:12 am

Hopefully after this no sendiri cakap sendiri syiok!

• HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Mar 02, 2016 at 11:06 pm

Gila apa proton export 5000 keta 2015???

Jgn kelentong la woiiii…..

• Nak develop apa lagi? You got stocks melambak at yard. Why don’t just clear some? Because overseas don’t accept Malaysian lousy spec?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
    • iomasark on Mar 01, 2016 at 7:56 pm

When myvi will have VSC?

• Tak payah lah nak vsc vsc. Baru berjinak ngan vsc, sorak satu kampung. Your saga, persona pun takda. Melambak Saga BLM 1-star kat atas jalan.

• applegreen on Mar 01, 2016 at 12:24 pm

by the time this car reach australia, it will be outdated. People looking for fresh design and technology. Current iriz doesnt meet requirement for the aussies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 31
    • DonkeyKong on Mar 01, 2016 at 1:50 pm

Looks like someone who has never been to Australia is trying to give a nonsensical opinion about Australia..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • you dont know kah? proton sold 400 preve last year in australia tau!!

if the cheaper iriz comes confirm can sell more. maybe 500 units.

• Albert on Mar 01, 2016 at 3:07 pm

Tokok johnnie,
        Do u know the Protong dealerships in Down Under are on the verge of capsizing?They are losing money.
        I have been there a dozen times.There are Sushi,Kimchi,European…every damn car under the blue skies,all on display in huge yards that can accommodate 200-500 units at a single location.I saw a 7 year old proton(Satria) once in the woods/orchard.
        Each of the Proton dealers can only sell 5-10 cars a month,but u must remember labour costs go by the hour and very high.(besides rental).
        Mighty Holden and Toyota are closing their factories by Christmas 2016.
        To make money,u need to sell 5000 units a year in Kangaroo Land,not 500 units,Mr .Plottong.
        John,please do your homework before talking kok.Tony abbot would describe u as SHAMBOLIC.

• Crack smoker on pipe dreams on Mar 01, 2016 at 4:03 pm

Whoohoo! John & Donkey, come join me & go Australia to C if they”lick” our cars or not..

• U must have come out from cave cuz dunno who is current Aussie PM. U r the definition of SHAMBOLIC

• Albert on Mar 01, 2016 at 4:44 pm

Tokok John,I did not say the current Aussie PM.Tony Abbot was replaced recently only.Shambolic Jonnie,recalcitrantly ignorant.

• OMG…Ur sales here also decreasing…how u going to sell oversea…Lagi Rugi lah…SH….puihhh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • Firdaus on Mar 01, 2016 at 1:17 pm

This car was supposed to be a model designed to be marketed worldwide as with their global small car strategy.so I would expect it to have the lhd version completed the same time as the rhd version.

Now only designing lhd.by the time the lhd version comes out, this model needs to be phased out.

Proton, Proton, Proton, better u close shop and your holding company just concerntrate on Lotus.At least that way, u can make money.If Lotus also cannot make money, then better find a good rope and hang yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • Nissan on Mar 01, 2016 at 1:31 pm

This joke was once called the global small car that will turn the table, now only plan for export and yet LHD still in the pipeline ….. Proton had no vision in becoming global market player only satisfy with Kampong sales fighting P2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • ss427 on Mar 01, 2016 at 1:43 pm

Notice Potong didnt mentioned exports to SG? Why? Becos the POS Iriz will flop spectacularly just like the Preve.
    Ok let me give u some credit ok? Your Preve sold a grand total of ZERO UNITS FROM 2013 to 2015. Prob your Iriz will sell one unit for the next 5 yrs in SG… if Proton can even hang on for 5 yrs in SG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • karam singh on Mar 01, 2016 at 2:50 pm

proton has no class in singapore, where a vios and persona is sold at more or less the same price either with COE or without.

• If axia already cost RM230,000, what more for a higher spec Iriz? If P1 try to sell there but make no sales then u turn around and laugh at P1. U bodo ke bangang?

• alldisc on Mar 01, 2016 at 3:00 pm

i suggest proton to enter india, go ask Tata and see whether it is interested to rebadge Iriz as Indica or Zica.

sell basic spec 1.3 manual (enough for price sensitive India market) without sport rim and fancy accesories. since it is very very difficult for proton to penetrate the biggest RHD market in the world (1 billion ppl)the best thing is to JV with a local partner just like what Suzuki is doing with Maruti – a huge success there.

• Selling in india wud cannibalise Swift sales so tabouleh. And amongst paki, india, bangla, better sell in bangla cuz paki will use cheap car for bomb. So P1 dun wan that.

• Mahcha on Mar 01, 2016 at 5:50 pm

Aero cakap jangan.

• who needs the Singapore market la? her population is only 5.5 mil,.small country,.might as well focus on countries like Chile,.. bigger population at 18mil,.

• Concentrate on developing markets such as Latin Americans/chile,India,bangla,african,indonesia etc with less law & regulations would be successful export plan.No need to set high goal for well developed kaukoksian or europe as high purchaching power countries make them look for renown brand to wow the neighbors.

• bijan on Mar 01, 2016 at 6:51 pm

*************facepalm**********after reading this article….

• skatax on Mar 01, 2016 at 7:29 pm

Proton, please don’t forget to sell in Burkina Faso as well. I remember back then you bragged on being able to get a buyer there.

• Alifzz on Mar 01, 2016 at 8:27 pm

Actually the best strategy to sell at developing country is putting Tun M picture next to Proton model, then people will buy it coz Tun M is the CEO

• Aero (Member) on Mar 02, 2016 at 12:18 am

I believe the reason why Proton couldn’t export the Iriz to Thailand as planned is because of the Thai government’s new policy on ‘green engines’ (CO2 150 g/km or less). In fact, Dr. M brought up this issue up in one of the many paultan.org interview videos. As for Australia, I’m guessing Proton wants to wait until their collaboration with LG is complete. They plan to add next generation safety tech like lane watch, blind-spot warning, city stop/ AEB, sign recognition etc. for the Iriz. This will help them score the full 5-star ANCAP rating.

Contrary to the media reports, Proton has been exporting the Iriz to Brunei for some time now. Yes, Brunei is a small market, but still…