Perodua exports 310 units of Myvi, Alza 1.5 to Brunei

2016-perodua-export-to-brunei-alza-1

Ever-expanding its export portfolio, Perodua has announced that it will be exporting a total of 310 units of the Perodua Myvi 1.5 SE and the Perodua Alza 1.5 SE variants to Brunei. Perodua’s president and CEO, Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh was in the Kingdom to officiate proceedings.

“This is a major step forward for Perodua to strengthen our brand presence in the region as we strive to become a player in the ASEAN auto market in the years to come,” said the Perodua chief.

“Both the Myvi 1.5 SE and the Alza 1.5 SE made a debut at the Brunei Motoring BN – Auto Show 2016 here today, and their on-the-road prices will be unveiled at our showroom,” said the managing director of GHK Motors, Pehin Kapitan Lela Diraja Dato Paduk Goh King Chin. GHK Motors is one of Perodua’s distributors in the Kingdom.

2016-perodua-export-to-brunei-1

Brunei is said to have a population of 417,784 people. In 2015, its total industry volume of vehicles sold last year was 14,243 units. It should also be noted that this is not the first time that Perodua has exported its vehicles to the sovereign state. The Malaysian car maker first shipped its Perodua Kancil to the Kingdom in 1996 – to date, a total of 2,300 vehicles have been exported there.

“We believe that there is demand for these models in this country as the acceptance of compact vehicles is gradually growing,” Aminar concluded. Brunei is the sixth market that Perodua currently ships its vehicles to, following Indonesia, Singapore, Fiji, Mauritius and Sri Lanka.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• hailthepurist on Apr 07, 2016 at 4:59 pm

rebadge too, but better business strategy..

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 07, 2016 at 5:11 pm

Even Perodua, which is doing so well also can only export 310 units to Brunei.

But Proton has grand plans of exporting hundreds of thousands of units globally. Proton, are you serious?

This is why in 3 years you have Rm2.5 billion debts, every day losing RM1 million etc and begging the Government for RM1.5 billion.

have some realistic ideas Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 07, 2016 at 5:19 pm

Before Perodua start exporting to the world, please practice the saying charity begins at home.

Can Perodua firstly equip all their cars with ABS and VSC please? The shocking thing about Perodua, ABS pun tak ada. In Europe and US and Australia, ABS and VSC is compulsory.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • Lucky for brunei only very very few pipu wan early afterlife. They appreciate life more than MY pipu

• policeman on Apr 07, 2016 at 6:58 pm

You want Perodua to add ABS and VSC so that the price goes up and you can ramble on about Najib/Azalina not keeping their promise.

I see you game.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 07, 2016 at 7:15 pm

Good quality everyone buy. Perodua is the best example. For those who are addicted to VSC, go buy the Iriz then. Proton need your support!

• Yes. Im addicted to safety for me and my famili. U jelly?

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 08, 2016 at 2:45 pm

Can see you also addicted to tow truck and garage coffee time. Enjoy!

• I agree, charity begins at home. Proton at home country also no one wants to buy tapi ada hati nak export.

• Dinar Saudi on Apr 07, 2016 at 6:13 pm

It reads “Daihatsu exports not Perodua”… Perodua enriches the Japanase and does zero

• Very proud of P2 juz export 310 units

• Tamau itu macam on Apr 07, 2016 at 6:16 pm

So, Proton…What are you gonna do??

• Jobless on Apr 07, 2016 at 7:56 pm

Wow, expot 300+ cars to tiny market and tiny country oso P2 need to let the whole world knw?

• Aero (Member) on Apr 07, 2016 at 8:27 pm

To put things into perspective, Perodua sells as many as 18,000 units monthly in Malaysia… 310 units, monthly or annually is really nothing much. But at least they’re exporting some units at all, anything is better than nothing.

Perodua should consider building a third plant in Myanmar or Vietnam, like Tan Chong Motor. They could also build one in Bangladesh, they could work together with Proton. In the past, Proton dealers in the U.K. helped sell Perodua cars too. Thanks to Proton, Perodua managed to find their mark there. Similarly, in Mauritius, a local dealer sells both Peroduas and Protons side-by-side, and lately, sales of the Axia and Prevé have picked up there.

Hope to hear more export news from Perodua.

• Raghu on Apr 07, 2016 at 8:35 pm

Perodua better catching up fast with Proton, they soon selling to Bangladesh.

• lim12345 on Apr 07, 2016 at 8:56 pm

GHK in brunei everyone know the after sale service suck. Always no parts. Ha ha.. Perodua really don check before export. This is no good for a brand. Hope they improve the after sale service.

• Same L0rr on Apr 08, 2016 at 8:08 am

Good quality everyone buy. Perodua is the best example. For those who are addicted to VSC, go buy the Iriz then. Proton need your support!

• Why are they exporting these? For what? Recycling? Over there the road sweeping mak cik earn more than our fresh grads. Who would buy P2?

• Hentamajela on Apr 14, 2016 at 11:00 am

Kata kereta nasional tapi untuk eksport pakai lambang daihatsu….siapa yg bapak menipu sekarang ni….same lorr bapak segala pipu….puiiii….ker org malaysia dah bengap….