Free bus service extended to Sepang and Selayang

selangor smart bus

Beginning from next month, the free Selangor Smart Bus service will be extended to Sepang and Selayang, The Star reports. The new routes extend the free bus service’s area of coverage, which began last July in Subang Jaya, Shah Alam and Klang. In January, it was announced that the service – known as Bas Selangorku when it was first introduced – would be extended to Ampang and Kajang.

Service on the Sepang route is set to begin in the third week of May. Two buses, which can each carry 40 passengers, will be used for the 58.4 km-long route, which will begin from KL International Airport (KLIA) and head on to KLIA 2, ERL Salak Tinggi, Sungai Pelek and Tanjung Sepat, with the interval between buses being around one and a half hours.

According to Sepang municipal council president, Datuk Puasa Md Taib, the state government had provided RM600,000 towards the management of the free bus service. “There is a need for such a service, but we will only be providing two buses currently for the route. If the response is good, then we will write to the state government to ask for more buses,” he said.

In Selayang, the free bus service will begin running from May 1, and will have a single 30 km-long route. The service will start from Selayang Stadium in Bandar Baru Selayang and end at Putra Terminal in Gombak, passing by the Gombak police station, Hospital Selayang, Selayang Baru, Batu Caves, Greenwood and International Islamic University Malaysia along the way.

“We have proposed to have four buses with a 30-minute interval between journeys,” Selayang municipal council president Suliman Abd Rahman said. Around 20,000 passengers, mostly students and senior citizens, are expected to use the free bus service on that route.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kapchai on Apr 28, 2016 at 4:21 pm

What about Puchong? High population area should be given priority and also connect to LRT

• Puchong pipu hi keras. Dun wan share with Banglas & labourers. Thats why I say put LRT station there waste money

• idealtech on Apr 28, 2016 at 4:30 pm

There you go, keep it up Selangor. Free WiFi, Anak Selangor, Soft Loan for SMEs, n hope more to come.

• In b4 siapa dapat contra…. oh wai… different Gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:42 pm

john, you are still giving stupid comments. Come on bro, BN don’t pay you well enough to be a cybertrooper?

• Ehh, not much more than what u get paid by DAP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
        • Gargantia on Apr 28, 2016 at 8:39 pm

Buddy Muniandy, john still read Utusan… and don’t get pay by any of them either… But I still won’t support the one that force me to pay GST !

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 29, 2016 at 8:48 am

read utusan and sleep whole day. ha ha ha ha

• tokmoh. on Apr 28, 2016 at 6:37 pm

Sarawak? Oh Sarawak? Adenan said Selangor and Penang no free bus? Say what?

We Malayans think you people stay on tree, you marah. Your turn, Sarawak, where’s your free bus?

• They get free 1000 km hiway, u pulak jeles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Free 1000km highway??? Since independence 1957, how long is it??? This idea came from DSAI and not Taib Mahmud??? Ada paham ka Mr. John!!!!

• Susukotak on Apr 28, 2016 at 7:27 pm

Selayang route will be attractive. Especially to patient for Salayang Hospital.