Free Bas Selangorku service launched in Shah Alam, Subang Jaya and Klang – Ampang, Kajang next?

bas-selangorku-free-bus-service-selangor

The Selangor state government has allocated a total of RM3.6 million to launch its free bus service in three townships– Subang Jaya, Shah Alam and Klang. Dubbed ‘Bas Selangorku’, the service will utilise a total of 11 Rapid KL buses with four operating in Shah Alam and Subang Jaya and the remaining three in Klang at a frequency of 15 minutes from 6 am to 10 pm daily.

“We believe that the introduction of the free service will increase the number of people using public transportation,” said Datuk Teng Chang Khim, chairman of the Selangor Investment, Industry (SME) & Commerce and Transportation committee. “The service is currently concentrated in urban areas where traffic is a problem. We will increase the number of routes in the future,” he added.

11010595_10153353272829034_8486291980576653517_o

The Shah Alam route spans a distance of 20.2 km and will see buses run from the KTM station in Section 19 to Wisma Jakel in Section 7 while the 15.5 km-long Subang Jaya route will start at Subang Jaya KTM station and run towards USJ 6 as well as Station 7 of the Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) – Sunway Line. Meanwhile, buses in Klang will depart from Wisma Tahfiz and ply a 8.5 km-long route before looping back to its point of origin.

Added conveniences on the buses include WiFi connectivity as well as wheelchair accessibility for handicapped commuters. Also, plans are being proposed to have the service extended into Kajang and Ampang in the near future. “We hope to extend the service to Ampang and Kajang within this year; as we are aware of the awful traffic congestion in these two areas,” said Teng in a report by the New Straits Times.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• azhar on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:42 am

good move by state gov…but only for local please..foreigner must use regular rapidKL bus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • Dun worry. At the entrance door will put up a sign:
      “All passengers are compulsory to show their Malaysian blue IC and are required to sing Negaraku before boarding. Also those who look like Bangla, mamak or BN supporters, even if they have IC, are prohibited from using this service. Thank you.

Majulah Selangor”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • Future Selangor MB on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:49 am

I will provide not 11 bus, but will get 1100 free buses running in all areas in selangor so that all people can enjoy free transportation. In addtion, the water bill for all will be free for landed and highrise residents by giving 100%rebate. Furthermore, i will lower all quit rent by 90% for all houses and will reduce on year by year basis until reach Rm 0. Moreover, all students in the state will enjoy free education whereby everyone will be giving free scholarship regardless or their result. And for those who earn less than rm5000 a month, they will getting a free medium cost apartment built by pkns without quota imposed. And the most exciting news is that all people in the state will have a special car rebate of 50% from the purchase price for all range of cars they bought. For all this to be realised, what you need to do is VOTE ME TO BECOME THE NEXT MB.

Ps. I am give more free items provided you vote me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 34
  • Painter on Jul 02, 2015 at 10:01 am

It’s really a cause for concern when government starts giving everything for free or deep discount.

Populist move doesn’t normally last very long. Because, when financial reality sets in, you have to go back to the old ways.

Just look at Najib’s Touch N Go rebate scheme. It’s cancelled after few years. The BR1M is taking a toll on taxpayer’s money.

What you want to teach the people is there’s cost to everything. And everybody must work hard to earn their keep.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • Anti-pati on Jul 02, 2015 at 10:29 am

Nothing wrong with providing to the rakyat as long as they can recoup it from revenue. That’s why countries like Germany, Denmark & Norway can provide free education etc – by taxes.

The problem is here in Malaysia we want free everything & NO TAXES. Where can?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • tokmoh. on Jul 02, 2015 at 10:52 am

Not necessarily, public transportation is an essential service the govt should rightfully assist.

The tax they collected should be spent on providing infrastructure. Public transportation is one of it.

Most public transport system worldwide is loss making, ticket price alone will not cover the cost. Its operation usually subsidised by govt as a public service.

• Not necessarily everything which is free is a cause for concern. The amount spent on free bus services is a small fraction of government spending, and at least we can ‘see’ it, and furthermore it is for good cause as it supposed to reduce traffic congestion (no matter how little) and help those without cars get around. In fact, there are some developed countries in the West which also provides free buses.

So long as the service is properly thought out, and for the long term (and not fishing for votes), I think we should support the free bus programme. Public spending by the government should benefit the public and subsidised or free public transportation would be one of the key areas.

• Sel kuku on Jul 03, 2015 at 3:06 am

Good for Bangla and Indon only, majority Malaysian drove one car now

• hondaman on Jul 02, 2015 at 10:17 am

should not give the service for free, at least charge a minimal of 50 sen so that people will appreciate the service

• batumudo on Jul 02, 2015 at 10:22 am

same goes to free GO KL bus which was launch back in 2012

• Lim Guan Eng on Jul 02, 2015 at 10:36 am

PR state like Penang and Selangor can have such treats for citizens, well done!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
    • Negri Sembilan had implemented free bus service for Seremban before. However, the utilization rate was very low and was later scrapped.

• Copy CAT on Jul 03, 2015 at 3:02 am

The bus for Klang only the drive alone in it,warming up the engine driving around town

• shawal on Jul 02, 2015 at 10:47 am

free bus rides to the nearest source of water~!
    bring your swimsuits and dirty dishes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • We have to distinguish between high income group and the rest of the group. Basic need such as this transportation should be made available to the latter group of people and it has nothing to do with working harder or being lazy. Being economically stable does not mean you are hardworking imho.

If you want to solve the ever impending traffic woes within Klang valley, people need to discard their cars and opt for public transport and this is a commendable effort by the Selangor government.

• BigBalls on Jul 02, 2015 at 11:30 am

Public transportation is not meant to be a money making mechanism for local, state or federal government in the first place.

Its part of the CSR on governments behalf. Except for MRT in HK which somehow raked in millions from their real estate businesses.

-BigBalls-

• Klingklang on Jul 02, 2015 at 8:20 pm

Nonody knows that it is available in klang, the empty “Bus” ply empty in an empty route for leisurely drive, typical goverment business plan. A to E,F to Z still blurr

• Dominic Chan on Nov 05, 2015 at 2:23 pm

I am a frequent bus user. I stay in Subang not Subang Jaya close to Ara Damansara comprising of the Subang Airport areas, Subang Perdana, Kg Melayu Subang, Mah Sing, Subang2 and Subang Bestari. Can you extend services for this area and we seriously need them because this area has a lot of schools and people trying to get use to public transport. Currently, RapidKL U81 and T610 serve the area…however, there are numerous problems. Firstly, U81 plies from Mah Sing and all the way to KL’s Pasar Seni and T610 plies a localized route from Subang Perdana to Mah Sing. U81 is always full when returning from KL, during peak hours, and thus many passengers from the Airport going back to Subang Perdana, Pekan Subang, Kg Melayu Subang, Subang Galaksi or Mah Sing are disadvantaged. T601, well the bus drivers have his own schedule and never on time and sometimes if he thinks there’s no passengers or lack-off passengers he decides a longer rest. We need good public transport in this area. People here are less well to do and taxis are mostly trying to snitch off passengers at desperate times. I have written many times to RapidKL but it seems they are more interested in beautifying and providing better services for more popular areas. Thank you.

• alvin lai on Nov 22, 2015 at 3:49 pm

it is wonderful .i like it .i like the free bus .

• Kevin Leong on Aug 03, 2017 at 8:12 pm

Can I get shuttle bas routes for AJ03 (Ampang Line)?

• Selangor bus cempaka always late for about 1hours or above, incredible.