Selangor government to begin free bus services in Shah Alam, Subang Jaya and Klang this July

express-bus-coach-1

The Selangor government is set to begin its free bus service in Shah Alam, Subang Jaya and Klang this coming July. The public service is expected to help alleviate ever-worsening traffic conditions and provide transport alternatives to around 24,000 residents in three of the aforementioned townships.

Datuk Teng Chang Khim, chairman of the Selangor Investment, Industry (SME) & Commerce and Transportation committee, told The Star that said project was expected to cost RM3.6 million annually – a total of RM1.2 million for each 10-km route.

Each of the three proposed routes, one in each township, has been designed by the Shah Alam City Council (MBSA), Klang Municipal Council and Subang Jaya Municipal Council (MPSJ) and has been submitted to the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) for approvals. “The routes planned by MPSJ will also run along the new Kelana Jaya LRT extension,” added Teng.

A “reputable” firm, to be announced at the programme’s launch, has been chosen to supply the state government with a total of 10 buses for the service. The Selangor government will pay a lump sum to the service provider for the rental, services and maintenance of the buses. When initiated, all three town councils will begin operations simultaneously to facilitate (if any) changes regarding the service.

petaling-jaya-one-way-loop

Currently, there are two free bus services in operation – the Petaling Jaya (PJ) City Bus and a similar service in Shah Alam. The latter, according to MBSA, runs only three times a day at 7.30 am, 11.30 am and 4.30 pm with a total of 25 stops that run from the Shah Alam city bus station in Section 14 to stops in Sections 2, 7, 11, 16, 17 and 18.

The PJ City Bus service, on the other hand, was launched on May 14 last year and runs a 28.2-km route – locations include the bus terminal along Jalan PJS 3/11, Kampung Dato Harun KTM station, Asia Jaya LRT station, Sections 14, 16 and 17 as well as Universiti Malaya Medical Centre and PJ Old Town. The service operated from 6 am to 9 pm daily and caters to about 9,000 passengers daily.

Said free bus service has been welcomed by many, with Selangor Wanita MCA chief, Ong Chong Swen, and Juan Lee, USJ 6 Rukun Tetangga deputy chairman, among those in favour of such a facility. However, doubts surrounding the actual response to such a service have surfaced, especially when taking into account the relatively low ridership on the PJ City Bus service.

In response, Teng commented, “…it is difficult for people who have been driving all the while to start using public transportation, but more people are aware of it and are starting to use the services.” He remains adamant that such a response was merely a “hiccup” at the initial phase.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Bravo and Keep it Up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • carlies on Jun 01, 2015 at 9:44 pm

We no need free bus service!

What we really need is a REGULAR, RELIABLE AND SCHEDULED BUS SERVICE.

The free bus service doesn’t ease the traffic jam condition on the road and people won’t just simply change their travelling mode by taking the free buses which is not coming on time and irregular services.

Again free bus doesn’t change anything but a better service please!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 01, 2015 at 1:18 pm

As with most cases, the 10 busses will be bought for RM10 million. Eventhough each bus is RM200k, RM800k will go into UMNO pocket.

But you say Selangor is PKR? yes it is but everybody in the Government machinery is still UMNO crony. MB office also you can see all the UMNO fat cronies there waiting for contracts and giving contracts to fellow UMNO cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 42
    • got any proof of that? as far as my concern when pakatan took over selangor they straight away slash ed alam flora which u claim is UMNO crony and yet this new appointed contractor that replaced alam flora(i assume crony to pakatan) is not do they job properly compared to alam flora. cakap sila guna akal bukan guna perasaan. this hatred perception is just in your blood until the day u die. and why everything must related to UMNO not Barisan Nasional? are you racist or what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
      • Anti-pati on Jun 01, 2015 at 4:20 pm

Yep, they slashed Alam Flora – and made a mess out of the collection of garbage. No wonder why Selangor leads the way in the number of Dengue cases in the country.

As for the busses, hope it’ll be a sustainable service rather than the typical “hot hot chicken excrement” application

• Sentero on Jun 01, 2015 at 6:36 pm

Get your facts right. The main reason is Selangor’s landfill all are located quite far. In Kuala Langat and also Batang Kali. Just imagine u collect the waste from Shah Alam and throw until to Kuala Langat and also Batang Kali. The cost will be bomb and making things worse the operator charge exhorbitant rate with diesel rate gone up and bla… bla… So, to make sure it is properly collected maybe reducing your household waste through recycle is a good start…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • brown kid on Jun 02, 2015 at 2:20 am

still it getting worst… no need other facts there duh~

• Monkeybar on Jun 03, 2015 at 1:57 am

Please correct your grammar before you choose to reply someone harshly… It comes back at you… You piece of crap…

• Some fail to understand differences between federal and state gov.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 01, 2015 at 1:31 pm

This bus will run for a few months. then, as usual, it will stop. Then the 10 busses will be bangbus bros.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 01, 2015 at 1:31 pm

This bus looks like Volvo. Got bad RV. Low RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • applegreen on Jun 01, 2015 at 4:06 pm

bad RV but still better than ‘sportivo’. Pity to you toyota didnt make bus

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 01, 2015 at 1:35 pm

I would like to propose to the Selangor Government, all those who use this bus service will get good discounts on ladies undergarments from Parkson Subang Parade.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • So this bus will serve Malaysian only or any banggala also can ride?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • At the bus entrance will be a sign that says:
      “All passengers are compulsory to show their Malaysian blue IC and are required to sing Negaraku before boarding. Also those who look like Bangla or mamak, even if they have IC, are prohibited from using this service. Thank you.

Majulah Selangor”

• ramly on Jun 02, 2015 at 10:27 pm

wow how racist your statement…if that so people who look like chinese and is chinese must show their ic and speak malay fluently…. if not u must be from project ic fengtau version…

• shawal on Jun 01, 2015 at 3:30 pm

bagi salah…tak bagi salah…..

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 01, 2015 at 3:38 pm

I think its a good move by the S’gor govt to offer free bus rides in high density areas and we’re already getting free water from them too.

• BasMiniWilayah on Jun 01, 2015 at 3:52 pm

A good move. Let’s see what happens before we give comments.

• typical Malaysian…always complaining…free pun complain…have to pay lagi la complain…

• C. P. MOHAN on Jun 01, 2015 at 4:52 pm

It is just fabulous. Suggestion: compliment the existing LRT and other transport systems and also the up-coming MRT with FREE FEEDER BUS SERVICE.

• akula on Jun 01, 2015 at 4:58 pm

free things is not sustainable in the long run .. we should encourage people to contribute rather than keep asking for free things…

yes gov should help low income group, but don’t advertise or tell all over the world…later not just rohingya will flood our country

small contribution by rakyat like helping someone on the street, sharing seat on public transport, car pooling.. these small things should be advertised and prioritized.. only than we can move to be developed nation

• nationalism on Jun 01, 2015 at 7:59 pm

Then compel users to present their MyKad to enable free bus services. No MyKad then have to pay. I think this can subsidize this kind of service which benefits the citizens by making the foreigners pay and reducing the number of them in hogging the public transport

• ismail on Jun 01, 2015 at 5:05 pm

although a bn supporter, i applaud the selangor state gov for this. credit where credit it due, no matter the politicians. i think it is a good move by the pr gov.

• Shahul Hameed on Jul 02, 2015 at 5:55 pm

so stop supporting the BN so that we can get more services where actually the rakyat di utamakan!

• In the gospel words of PR macais:
    “How much does it cost?”,
    “How much per bus?”,
    “How much for each item, tyres, switches?”,
    “What u mean reputable firm, wheres the tender for it?”,
    “why no transparency?”,
    “How much songlaped?”,
    “Contract awarded to which crony datuk?”,
    “Why must outsource?”,
    “Why only subang, shah alam, klang. Puchong people din pay assessment & land tax kah?”
    “Wheres the route layout?”
    “Why so much secrecy, got gag order kah?”
    “Why? Why? Why?”

• Ultra2Disk on Jun 01, 2015 at 6:15 pm

Nice list over there, and yes, that is a standard PR questioning protocol.

• karipap basah on Jun 01, 2015 at 6:41 pm

I have reservation about the bus services…

Imagine the damn poor service even passengers had to pay for it.

Now, think about the service if it is free??

• NotaBangla on Jun 01, 2015 at 6:47 pm

Where is the transparency? This bus co. must be a PKR crony

• Alicescat on Jun 02, 2015 at 11:43 am

So much negativity here. I would like to give the Selangor Government the benefit of the doubt, for now. This free service programme may just work if only you could give yourselves a chance to think positively. Just like I did the Umno/BN government. Gave them a chance, that is, for many years but they blew it. So I decided to give the other fellows the chance to proof themselves.

• Sherinzz on Jun 07, 2015 at 12:41 pm

The bus services also need to include at the new Alam Impian area, since there is no public transport there. the scheduled at 7.30am & 4.30pm is not the peak hours. The bus should runs as early at 6.30am-7.30am & 5.30pm-7.00pm

• Shahul Hameed on Jul 02, 2015 at 5:53 pm

i love the pj bus service, i wish they will add some more routes say to SS2, kelang jaya, Taman Tun (oops wilayah territory) from old town bus terminal. also they should run on yellow bus lanes separated with dividers or with fine of RM1000 kompoun for obstructing green bus in its lane. unfortunately the traffic is still bad despite the one way system. i hope they make jalan othman one way and build overhead bridges in assunta and jalan gasing/templar roundabouts to ease traffic.