VIDEO: Coulthard and Merc C-Class Coupe on Sepang

At last week’s launch of the Mercedes-Benz C-Class Coupe, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia enlisted the help of former Formula 1 driver David Coulthard to set a time on the newly resurfaced Sepang International Circuit with the C 300. DC’s 2:55:07 served as the benchmark for the journos who attended the launch, and three of them appear in the video above.

They timed our media colleagues, and Anthony Lim (I wasn’t there) said that the two Malaysians were just shades off DC’s time. Our friend Yap Kam Foo from the Chinese edition of Top Gear Malaysia was the best non-pro, coming in at just a second off DC’s time, but the ex-McLaren and Red Bull driver probably wasn’t driving as if a championship was at stake.

Of the three C205 variants that were launched, it’s the C 300 seen here that’s best on track. The range-topper is also powered by the same M 274 2.0 litre turbo four-cylinder engine as the C 200 and C 250, but it gets the most power (245 PS) and torque (370 Nm from 1,300 to 4,000 rpm), and is the fastest from 0-100 km/h – 6.0 seconds flat, although that’s actually a tenth slower than the C 300 sedan.

The C-Class Coupe has 15 mm lower ride height than the sedan and C 250/C 300 variants are equipped with sports suspension in Malaysia. Lovely multi-spoke 19-inch rims are fitted on the two higher variants, too, while the C 200 gets star-spoke 18-inch items that don’t look undersized or basic by any means. AMG Line is standard across the board.

Check out our launch report and review of the C 300 Coupe to find out more about this two-door take on the W205 C-Class. How do they shape up side-by-side? C300 Coupe vs sedan gallery here.

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz C 300 Coupe AMG Line

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• If Coulthard had driven this on a cement track like what a basher said, he wud curse that basher in his native Scottish language.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Gomen no money to maintain mah. Cement the starting point for drag racing no harm woot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Nobody drag races on cement, not pros, not vin diesel, not even redneck southern Muricans that u ape. Oh, maybe only just u, cuz u wanna impress ah lians with smoke from wheel spin on cement road.

• I can build few more tracks with my billions! If I want to

• johndoe on May 26, 2016 at 7:43 pm

2.55 is insulting to the Mercedes car. A factory built suprima can go 2.3x to low 2.40s

• applegreen on May 27, 2016 at 8:58 am

i believe our flying sikh can do it around 2:54, faster than coulthard

• “…everybody was just shades off DC’s time..”
    So this is a testament of how easy the car is to drive fast. Everybody could drive like Coulthard.

This is how you should “sell” this car. Nobody cares about a certain Yap Kam Foo was just a second away. Mercedes would be disappointed that the event didn’t serve its purpose.