BMW Driver Training is back, open for registration

Looking to hone your driving skills? The BMW Driver Training programme is back in town, again happening at the Sepang International Circuit. As usual, the course is split into two tiers – Advanced Driver Training lays down the basics of driving safety and securely, while Intensive Driver Training transitions higher-skilled drivers towards the art of performance driving.

The single-day Advanced Driver Training course takes place this weekend on June 10 to 12, from 9:30 am to 7:00 pm, while the Intensive Driver Training will be held over the course of two days on June 18 and 19 and June 25 and 26, from 8:30 am to 6:15 pm.

Lessons taught at the Advanced Driver Training are pretty straightforward – you’ll start with a 60-minute theory class covering the basic tenets of car safety and control, then learn how to adjust the seats and steering wheel to your optimum seating position – an often overlooked but essential part of driving safely.

Then comes the fun part – you will take part in a series of challenges, including emergency and targeted braking exercises combined with evasive steering manoeuvres, as well as understeer and oversteer control. At the end of the day, the lessons learnt will be put to the test as you race the clock, gymkhana-style, on a slalom course.

The more taxing Intensive Driver Training course will see participants learning basic professional driving skills, such as driving lines and braking, apex and acceleration points. You’ll also learn how to trail brake while cornering, take part in double lane change exercises, master the infamous J-turn and try your hand at oversteer and half-circle drifts.

As on the Advanced course, the Intensive programme will also end on a time attack run, but this time across a series of corners on the Sepang circuit itself. Do note that to participate in the Intensive Driver Training programme, you will have to have completed the Advanced Driver Training course first.

Interested? You can register and find out more details regarding BMW Driver Training here.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Ghost on Jun 08, 2016 at 7:13 pm

Is this open for any car owners or must be owner of bmw only? How much the price?

• aqeef on Jun 08, 2016 at 8:13 pm

click on the link bro. then open the desired programme they got all the prices. ;)

• Does it teach how to do a wheelie on my Gen 2?

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 09, 2016 at 9:18 am

OMG. john oh john, still writing rubbish. We learn to be safer on the roads, not to do wheelie. Grow up please.

• eVaz88 on Jun 09, 2016 at 11:07 am

Do u think BMW teach how to drive safely? So many BMW driver out there drive like shit, tailgating people and speeding more than 160 km/h around highway. All BMW owner is driving like shit

• eVaz88 on Jun 09, 2016 at 11:07 am

Do u think BMW teach how to drive safely? So many BMW driver out there drive like shit, tailgating people and speeding more than 160 km/h around highway. All BMW owner is driving like they rushing to hell

• House of Vtec on Jun 09, 2016 at 11:09 am

Does this programme teach me how to korner baring ?

Can it make my bmw got piew piew piew sounds like vtec or not ?

• Hall Aim on Jun 08, 2016 at 8:10 pm

Do they teach the owner how to use signal as well?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • Hall Aim on Jun 08, 2016 at 8:11 pm

Do they teach how to use signal as well?

• Don't be a SPI on Jun 08, 2016 at 8:53 pm

Teach them how to park properly first. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Alamak on Jun 08, 2016 at 9:16 pm

They teach BMW driver how to tailgate people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Show them where is the signal light and parking!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Jay Law on Jun 08, 2016 at 11:11 pm

just HOPE you didnt buy one of these cars

• Jocelyn Wong on Jun 09, 2016 at 1:46 am

We like to register for the Intensive Driving Training

• Choo Kai Seng on Jun 09, 2016 at 2:16 am

I’m interested,open for public?

• atiqjuwaidi on Jun 09, 2016 at 10:09 am

So they will teach vios owner how to turn off the eye burner rear fog lights?

• Bring back Bangle on Jun 09, 2016 at 10:39 am

MB gives the course for its owners for free and you even can try the AMG cars.

• Banyak Masuk Workshop on Jun 09, 2016 at 11:07 am

Prerequisite :

You need to be a wanker.

• amir khan on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:47 am

want to know more reg the driving training