GALLERY: Kia Sorento – new UM vs previous-gen XM

Kia Sorento new vs old 1

Launched just last month, the 2016 Kia Sorento is a welcome entry into the seven-seater SUV market – the new UM-generation model is offered with plenty of equipment at competitive prices. But that was also the case with the previous-gen XM, so how do these two stack up against each other? We’ve pitted these two back-to-back in a full photo gallery so you can see and judge for yourself.

The old car was not exactly terrible to look at – particularly in facelifted form, as seen here – but the new car certainly brings the game to the next level. The sleek twin projector headlights, three-dimensional “tiger nose” grille and more intricate detailing in the broader two-piece tail lights provide the UM with a confidence and sophistication that was missing in its predecessor.

Its cleaner, more assertive look is accentuated by the sheer size of the new Sorento – it measures a massive 4,780 mm long, 1,890 mm wide and 1,685 mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2,780 mm. This makes it some 95 mm longer and 5 mm wider (plus an 80 mm longer wheelbase) than the already-substantial outgoing model – although it is slightly lower, by 15 mm.

Kia Sorento new vs old 2

There are a few things that count against the UM, however. Those of you with an eye for detail will notice that it’s missing the XM’s panoramic sliding sunroof; it’s a touch impractical in our climate, but it would have been nice to have nevertheless. The 19-inch chrome wheels on this top-spec 2.4 HS variant are also rather ostentatious – we’d much rather have the classier two-tone Y-spoke items on the mid-range 2.4 MS model.

Inside, the differences between the two are even greater, with the new car introducing acres of soft-touch plastic (with faux dashboard topstitching, no less) that banish memories of the hard, scratchy stuff you’ll find on the old Sorento. You’ll also find a more organic design in here, with more upmarket touches – including a sportier three-spoke steering wheel – than in the utilitarian cabin of before.

Despite those differences, those familiar with the XM will feel right at home here, sharing items like the fully-digital Supervision seven-inch TFT LCD speedometer and multi-info display, as well as the transmission tunnel layout with the gearlever on the right and dual cupholders (with a sliding lid) on the left. A new addition on the new Sorento is the electronic parking brake and an auto brake hold function.

Kia_Sorento_Old_Ext-12Kia_Sorento_New_Ext-12

Previous-gen Kia Sorento XM (top) vs new Sorento UM (bottom)

At the rear of the cabin, the second-row air vents have moved from the B-pillar to the rear of the armrest console, while the fan speed controller for the third row is now a rotary knob. Handy levers have also sprouted along the sides of the cargo area to fold the second-row seats from the rear.

Meanwhile, the tailgate is now powered on the 2.4 MS and up, and gains handsfree operation on this 2.4 HS. The latter opens the tailgate if it senses the key in close proximity to the rear of the car (à la new Hyundai Sonata), rather than having users kick under the rear bumper, as is the case with most other systems.

Under the bonnet, these two are identical, so both are powered by a 2.4 litre Theta II CVVT four-cylinder petrol engine, mated to a six-speed automatic transmission and all-wheel drive. The new car actually makes slightly less power than before, at 172 PS (down 4 PS) at 6,000 rpm and 224 Nm (down 3 Nm) at 4,000 rpm.

Previous-gen Kia Sorento XM (left) vs new Sorento UM (right)

There’s also a 200 PS/441 Nm 2.2 litre CRDi turbodiesel offered on the new Sorento, but that’s only offered on the base-spec 2.2 LS, lacking the high level of equipment seen on this car.

With all that aside, let’s talk pricing – the new Kia Sorento 2.4 HS seen here is priced at RM175,888 on-the-road with insurance. That’s a huge near-RM20k jump from the RM156,800 that Naza Kia asked for the previous-gen model, although the increase in equipment, as well as the considerable improvement in looks and perceived quality goes some way towards making that up.

So, what do you think of the new 2016 Kia Sorento, and would you prefer this over the previous-generation model? Sound off in the comments section after the jump.

GALLERY: New Kia Sorento UM
GALLERY: Old Kia Sorento XM

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Same L00 on Jun 21, 2016 at 2:10 pm

Kimchi quality is better now, just when you wanna sell it, the price quite bad. If for long term (10~20 yrs) driving, still ok lar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
    • Same same ma on Jun 21, 2016 at 2:21 pm

toyota also same same ma, shiok sendiri je…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
      • Kunta Kinte on Jun 21, 2016 at 3:33 pm

what a waste of money. Go buy a 7 seater X5, 3 year old car for Rm190k. More worth it.

BMW is BMW. You go about, people also look up to you. You drive a Kia or a Hyundai, people laugh at you. Now at RM176k, some more people laugh at you. They say, “Look at the fool, paid RM176k for a Korean junk”

Anyway, if you are still adamant to buy this Korean toilet paper, wait 2 years time, this car will be RM70k. That is how much Korean RV depreciate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 73
        • kesian on Jun 21, 2016 at 5:49 pm

but branded just for show off? kesian la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
        • Mr Kia on Dec 17, 2016 at 7:45 pm

From your statement it seems you just suitable to drive an bmx. clueless comments plus naive thinking.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 21, 2016 at 3:55 pm

Now nobody is buying kimchi. 10 years ago, Hyundai and Kia was sold cheaper, so, people thought it was a good deal.

But in Malaysia, the bodoh distributors of Hyundai (GLC Sime Darby) and Kia (Naza GLC) got arrogant and decided to price their cars either SAME or higher than Japanese cars. This is how our BODOHs think. Typical Proton mentality who thinks they build Rolls Royce quality and prestige.

So now, 10 years later, buyers are keeping away from kimchi because they cost more than cars like HRV, CRV, X Trail and CX5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 46
      • syawal on Jun 21, 2016 at 6:33 pm

Move over Sorento…
        Fortuner tops inside out

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 38
        • Flying Wasabi on Jun 21, 2016 at 11:59 pm

This is a global car that recieves praises all around the world and a very safe car too…

It’s ride well, handles well coz it’s based on monocouqe chassis not ladder frame like Fortuner…

Fortuner is just a roofed version of the Hilux truck…

Diff. class…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
        • Kelvin Kong on Jun 23, 2016 at 12:52 am

….then Hyundai Santa Fe.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 25, 2016 at 1:22 pm

Consider a used Santa Fe.

Great value for money

• Tong Sampah on Jun 22, 2016 at 9:41 am

You know AP king wont bother for the services…suicide price for Kia as well..

If Kia dont break off with AP king, dont expect anything happened to surprise the market..

• low specs on Jun 21, 2016 at 2:11 pm

diesel turbo is the lowest specs and missing all the high specs equipmets? the marketing department is sleeping

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
    • Yeap, the diesel is the variant to go to. the petrol is too underpowered for this heavy SUV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • I really wish they had a fourth variant, which is HSD. I would definitely buy that variant, given the advantage of torque and economy of the oil burner.
    The car looks fantastic, improving from the already somewhat handsome facelift of the previous generation. The space is a massive plus point for the typical target market here: the family mover and the contractor’s workhorse both need space for their own specific reasons.
    Maybe NazaKia will add one later, or amend the variant to still have two, but both the diesel and petrol as HS models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Motorhead on Jun 21, 2016 at 2:52 pm

What is Naza Kia thinking by marketing their diesel only with low base-spec? I prefer this over the Hyundai Sorento, but put off with the only choice of base spec. Wake up Naza!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • You meant Hyundai Forester, right?

• Motorhead on Jun 22, 2016 at 2:31 pm

LOL… just realised i put in Hyundai Sorento…I mean i prefer this over Hyundai Santa Fe.

• Disappointing Sorento on Jun 21, 2016 at 3:07 pm

I’ve taken a looked at this and decide not to buy, here are my take on the Malaysian version of Sorento. Basically everything that Naza has touched has turned out to be for the worst for the case:
    1) Do not get the HS, get the MS if you have to buy this. There’s zero integration between the digital instrument cluster and the aftermarket cheapo head unit. Playing back any music just shows USB on your instrument cluster. Save your money and get the MS. Also MS do not have gaudy Chrome rim.
    2) Sound insulation is a disappointment. Why did they bring in such an excellent quality car and decided to remove some of the sound insulation. I ask that you shut the doors and listen for the sales person chatter outside. It would ring loud and clear.
    3) The head unit. Gasp. Is just confounding what Naza decides is a good fit for such a high quality car. Huge disappointment.The CIVIC with Carplay and AndroidAuto is a better unit.

The rest of the car is solid. Again, don’t waste your money on the HS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • hahaha on Jun 21, 2016 at 3:10 pm

they should have a high spec diesel just like the santa fe.

• Interior looks dated!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Ex-Kia on Jun 21, 2016 at 4:24 pm

Peminat D MSIA yg berminat membeli kia di MSIA…Kena amik perhatian sbelum membeli. After Sale SerVice totally ver very POOR . You have to wait up to 3 Months b4 get repair. So hati hati. I sudah kena.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Anil Rabindranath on Jun 21, 2016 at 4:56 pm

HSD Please, Can we request a diesel version with all the goods found in HS and bring back the Panoramic Roof? Then I’m sold!

• Been checking out this car since 2015. Supposed to go for Accord but decided to go for SUV since family getting bigger.

I tested MS model.
    My comments:

Pro : Design (in n out) – looks premium, good sound insulation, good value for money (when comparing with other SUVs)
    Con : very few color options and no panoramic roof

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • jpass on Jun 21, 2016 at 8:48 pm

A spacious 7-seaters brand new SUV is very limited choice in this boleh-land. Japanese brands do not offer any car closer to this spec/package with +/- same price (the closest one is 2.7L petrol ladder frame SUV that is going to burn your pocket for it’s unfriendly roadtax). Let alone depreciation & less reputable brandname, this Sorento (MS model) seems quite practical for a growing family that is seeking for a real 7-seaters SUV. With the same price, probably can get a 3~4 years recon Japanese MPV, but at least this one is brand new and a proper soft-roader SUV+space (better for recent getting extreme weathered urban city road with high chance to get stucked in unpredictable floods). Just my 2 cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Sammy Loo on Jun 22, 2016 at 1:05 am

learning the footsteps of Fortuner, petrol high spec and diesel low spec

however the Fortuner will be selling much better than this junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • I would seriously consider getting one if not for the dodgy aftersales service by Naza Kia.

• Give Jaguar its XF grill back. Lol

• Vicky on Feb 02, 2017 at 11:22 pm

Went to Kia showroom. Only sorento LS available. But the unit equipped with upgraded head unit display with reverse and front camera. Planned to buy the LS & upgrade the head unit display, leather seats and spare tyre holder. The salesman said it would cost around 8k in total. Maybe I should wait for the official updated diesel specs. Also check out fortuner and outlander. The verdict: sorento has the most practical interior especially the 3rd row compared to those 2 except the absence of 3rd row aircond venta. Exterior also great looking but need to upgrade the rims to at least 18′ for it to look balanced.