UMW Toyota issues two separate recalls for Toyota Prius, Lexus CT200h – around 9,000 vehicles involved

05-Prius-Exteriorb1

Following Toyota’s global recall of 1.4 million Toyota Prius, Prius Plug-in Hybrid and the Lexus CT200h for a problem with their curtain shield airbag modules, UMW Toyota has announced a recall for the Prius and CT200h that were sold in the Malaysian market.

There are actually two separate recalls (or special service campaigns) that have been announced for the vehicles. The first one covers the curtain shield airbag issue, which involves 3,500 units of the Prius and around 1,700 units of the CT200h. Affected Prius models are those produced between April 2009 and April 2012, while the CT200h units were produced between December 2010 and April 2012.

In these two models, curtain shield airbags are located in the left and right side roof rails. Each curtain shield airbag inflator is composed of compressed gas in one chamber and propellant in another; these chambers are welded together.

The company says that some inflators could have a small crack in the welded area, and if the crack spreads over time, the welded portion could separate. If an inflator separates, the curtain shield airbag could partially deploy and the inflator could be ejected into the vehicle interior. If an occupant is present in the vehicle, there is an increased risk of injury.

To rectify the issue, the cars will be fitted with retention brackets on the curtain shield airbag inflators. These retention brackets serve as protectors to prevent the inflator chambers from being ejected into the cabin. The company says the corrective work will take approximately two to four hours, subject to the work schedule at the service centre.

lexus ct200h

The second recall is for the evaporative fuel emission control (or charcoal canister), again involving both models.The number of units affected are around 6,000 units of Prius (produced between April 2009 and November 2013) and 3,000 units of the CT200h (produced between December 2010 and December 2013).

The recall for this two models relates to an evaporative fuel emissions control unit (canister) mounted in the fuel tank. There is a possibility that cracks could develop in the coating of the emissions channel due to improper shaping of portions of the channel. As a result of this condition, the cracks could expand over time and, eventually, fuel may leak from these cracks when the car has a full tank of fuel.

Rectification work will see the faulty fuel suction plate sub-assembly being replaced. The work will take approximately two to three hours, again subject to the work schedule at the service centre.

Owners of the affected vehicles will be notified and requested to bring their cars to an authorised Toyota or Lexus service centre for the necessary remedies to be carried out. Owners will not be charged anything for the labour and parts involved as UMW Toyota Motor will bear all costs.

Owners who do not receive any notification can obtain clarification by calling the Toyota and Lexus free-phone at 1800-8-TOYOTA (869682) or 1800-8-LEXUS (53987). They can also visit authorised Toyota or Lexus service centres for assistance.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 30, 2016 at 10:19 am

UMW Toyota is a disgrace. Wait until your Global HQ issue a recall. You sell cars costing RM250k, the least you should do is test the car sold in the last 10 years.

Don’t wait until Japan HQ find the defect, UMW Toyota should have found the defect on their own. You mean you just sell expensive cars but don’t to testing and research after you sell the cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • its the manufacturer’s responsibility to find the faults as the engineers / design team is within their departments and they know the components best. Distributors dont have facilities like mother company.

• Yes yes. Global toyota is lousy. Only ur UMW toyotas r godlike, right? Topkek salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
      • Kunta Kinte on Jun 30, 2016 at 1:11 pm

You have a problem understanding what i said? Twist facts like your BN leader pandai lah. Stupid lapdog

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • Go back to ur hardsell. Ur boss is screaming for u to get more customers since its month end and 2nd quarter ending, otherwise u makan maggi again.

• Albert Yong on Jun 30, 2016 at 3:45 pm

Hahaha… Padan muka john. Act like lansi, sendiri kena

• Burong on Jun 30, 2016 at 11:01 am

I quickly sold off my 200h after saw forum of few self arson hybrid vehicle of such maker.

Hope this can clear the fear of most owner after the replacement.

But declare total destruction maybe a good thing? I have no experience, maybe can claim full amount of the insured, better than sold off at so much depreciation.

Safety is still my main objective, letting it to burn down my awning when the car is parked inside is something I can’t imagine. So temporary advice for the hybrid owner, get the car parked outside in open space, don’t get the car parked especially inside your house compartment.

• Heng Lee on Jun 30, 2016 at 11:05 am

‘ If an occupant is present in the vehicle, there is an increased risk of injury.’

So a Toyota is only save if there’s no occupant present in the car?

• A toyota is only safe when its in the showroom

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
      • Lee Heng on Jun 30, 2016 at 1:12 pm

Same like Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • Nope. P1 still safer cuz airbags wun explode and kirr u. Now pipu even sked to sit inside toyota show cars

• Same L00 on Jun 30, 2016 at 3:44 pm

Look at the popular Proton models on the road: Saga, Iswara, Wira, Waja, Persona…

No airbags where got explode? Drivers die drivers own problem lar.

• viosfan on Jul 01, 2016 at 4:37 am

Meanwhile godcar Vios dun have VSC until year 4040

• sagafan on Jul 01, 2016 at 10:02 am

Thai Vios already have VSC la bodo. Only Saga won’t have VSC until doomsday

• Lembu Jinni on Jun 30, 2016 at 1:02 pm

Who/Which organization invented the airbag? Why until now there’s No other safety system to replace the airbag yet?

• Ligor Queen on Jun 30, 2016 at 1:07 pm

the downside of airbag module is a must utilizing tiny explosive device gas propellant to rapidly inflate the airbag, this module has a shelf life!

• I called Lexus but was told not sure when replacement will arrive. So cannot replace the faulty parts. What is the point of issuing statement like above when UMW doesnt have the parts?

• Held them liable if anything happens to the car passengers. Ask them sign and officially chop on the part unavailability and no alternative offered except waiting without estimated delivery time… They have to step up and take ownership on their mistakes…

• Robert Lee Brown jr on Nov 11, 2022 at 1:39 pm

I have a 2003toyotacorolla ce evaporative emission system vent control I bad,I can gas but don’t c a leak,is its a recall on it?