Toyota Allion and Premio facelift unveiled in Japan

alon1606_05

The Japanese-market Toyota Allion, along with the more luxurious Toyota Premio twin, has been facelifted again, marking the second such “minor change” since the second-generation models were launched in 2007. These cars are based on the European Avensis but are smaller in size to fit inside the Japanese compact car class, slotting between the Corolla Axio and Camry.

Both cars gain a heavily-revised front fascia with sharper headlights (bi-beam LED units on top models and optional on others), a larger grille and a sportier front bumper, unifying their front end designs for the first time. The only difference between the two is the grille pattern, with horizontal chrome bars on the Premio and a mesh grille on the Allion.

Toyota Allion (left) and Premio (right)

The rear ends remain unique to each model, both receiving darker LED tail lights. The Allion’s one-piece lamps gain a new “six-eye” pattern, while the Premio’s two-piece units get C-shaped graphics that make the rear end particularly reminiscent of the previous-gen XV40 Camry facelift sold here.

Interior changes include a revised centre console and gearlever, a new three-spoke steering wheel (as seen on the facelifted XV50 Camry) and a redesigned instrument cluster with a new 4.2-inch TFT LCD colour multi-info display. New brown leather upholstery and beige interior colour scheme options have also been added.

alon1606_02

Safety kit has also been given an upgrade, with all but the base Allion A15 and A18 and Premio 1.5F and 1.8X models getting Toyota Safety Sense C as standard. The package includes the Pre-collision System (PCS), Lane Departure Alert (LDA) and Automatic High Beam (AHB). Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) is also standard, while side and curtain airbags are available as an option.

Engine choices include 109 PS/136 Nm 1.5 litre VVT-i, 143 PS/173 Nm 1.8 litre Valvematic and 152 PS/193 Nm 2.0 litre Valvematic mills, mated to a Super CVT-i transmission. Four-wheel drive is available on the 1.8 litre models, although outputs are downgraded to 131 PS and 161 Nm.

GALLERY: Toyota Allion facelift

GALLERY: Toyota Premio facelift

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Aaron on Jul 11, 2016 at 9:45 pm

The rear of the Premio looks almost exactly like the Toyota Camry XV40 Facelift rear

• I really salute Toyota. Keep selling the 20 years old technology

• Albert on Jul 12, 2016 at 10:17 am

Oh Johnnny, Toyota use 20 year old tech,still make US dollars 17 Billions last year.
        Your beloved Protong use 30 year technology ,and cause taxpayers Rm 2.75 Billion bailout/buyout money,lately.Besides that,they have been sucking taxpayers close to rm 12 Billion the last 2 decades. You still bangga with P1 ,kah?
        Shambolic,only Protong fanboys salute you.

• bodor on Jul 12, 2016 at 10:25 am

jgn basir… sikap recycle tu baik

• Muhammad on Jul 11, 2016 at 10:21 pm

Excellent Japan made cars compared to the lousy junk Proton preve. The 15 yo Toyota Altis which had clocked over 300k km still drives better with more refinement, much better nvh, smoother transmission, more power and efficient than the 2016 Proton Preve. Proton cars really stinks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 17
    • Not to mention the 300k milage car used the same engine and transmission as the 10k milage toyota…wow…if you know what I mean.

• Aren’t you a basher with poor sense of direction? At least, bash lah at articles about Proton. This suddenly bringing in something unrelated here for what?

• ahtai on Jul 12, 2016 at 2:04 am

better than haval h2

• loler on Jul 12, 2016 at 1:17 pm

More power? Altis 2.0l can’t even get 205Nm torquey, cannot get flat max torque summore.

Dun let me start with preve 6 airbags across range. you can’t get it on altis tin milo variant

Lol

• karam singh on Jul 12, 2016 at 7:57 am

The difference between Toyota and Honda. Honda line up consists of jazz/fit, city, civic, accord, legend while Toyota has yaris, vios, corolla, premio, camry, mark x, crown and then the Lexus series of IS, ES, GS and LS.

Honda is way behind toyota not only in the sedan segment but also MPV.

• Haiya, no one visiting your Toyota showroom is it? Have so much time being online making foolish comparisons to justify your Toyota is better than Honda. Everyone knows Toyota is good but only OUTSIDE of Malaysia. Here, your employer UMW is the one to blame for the declining sales. And with sales team like you, I don’t see the decline will end.

• Karam Singh Walia on Jul 12, 2016 at 8:53 am

Yet, Toyota sales in Malaysia is still declining and playing catch up to Honda. Care to explain why is the case, karam?

• karam singh on Jul 12, 2016 at 7:16 pm

Only in Malaysia. Toyota sales worldwide is way beyond reach of Honda. No 1 in Japan. No 1 in USA. No.1 in Australia
        No 1 in thailand. No 1 in arab countries. Honda is not even 2nd in japan

• I agree with you, karam. And both of them are ahead of Proton, which is still using outdated jepunis platform

• vecko on Jul 12, 2016 at 1:29 pm

Outdated? Hello. Not all is based on your overlord jepunis platform. Preve exora are saga are not, at least

• Ben Yap on Jul 12, 2016 at 9:22 am

when toyota want to release turbo version? should have those glorious days like the toyota MR2.

• ss427 on Jul 12, 2016 at 9:24 am

Toyota needs to replace these 2 cars, not another round of facelift. The design looks old.
    You can see the original 2007-2010 Allion and Premio in SG, and some were used as taxis as well.
    Specs is poor. Even the top spec 2L Allion comes with rear drums!
    The 2 cars are actually built off the Wish chassis, which in turn is a stretched G9 Corolla (ZZE 12x series) chassis.

Its a 16 yr old platform. The base 1.5L engine is shared with the Vios 1NZ-FE…also 16 yrs old.

• Vinnie on Jul 12, 2016 at 9:59 am

Seriously, Toyota needs to get better designers.

• marieta on Jul 12, 2016 at 10:44 am

I have to say for most Toyota’s cars. While their exterior looks ok and dated, their interior looks so 90’s and cheap like china made car (apparently coz chinese copied from them)…this include the luxury margin like Lexus too…I really hope they can do better.

• All toyota model are 90’s right? Same mechanical only change the look. Make up here and there.

• Monbode gurushankar on Dec 15, 2017 at 9:27 am

Hi like a toyota premio G survivor. But manual