Proton Pick-Up Concept – production version rendered

proton pick-up theo render

First seen at the Alami Proton event last year, the Proton Pick-Up Concept has been given a revised look by concept rendering maestro, Theophilus Chin. In this exercise, Theo illustrates what a production-ready version of the concept truck might look like, while his “intention is to make it more truck-like in shape and proportion.”

To that end, Theo has adapted the following to the original Proton concept: the windscreen is more upright, with the minor window just behind the A-pillar deleted; a thicker C-pillar, which consequently adds to the truck’s wheelbase; a taller roof for increased occupant headroom; and increased dashboard-to-axle distance.

Theophilus Chin’s rendering (left), and the original concept (right)

There’s also an increased size hood, smaller grille and deeper front bumper, while the swage line from the doors has been extended forwards to the front fender and the headlamps have been changed to something more representative of mass production.

As before, there’s been no word on the Pick-Up Concept’s production feasibility so far. Why make a pick-up truck concept? “It’s very simple. Looking at how successful the Jumbuck (the Arena in Australia) was, there’s no reason for us not to look at segments where we were once profitable,” said Proton’s Head of Design Azlan Othman.

What do you think of the adaptation of the Proton Pick-Up Concept? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section below.

GALLERY: Proton Pick-Up Concept (the original, unretouched one)

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• hailthepurist on Jul 25, 2016 at 5:09 pm

make this, sell this sub-70k, then wait..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jul 25, 2016 at 9:49 pm

Spyshot, test dashboard, visit Australia, spyshot some more, ok 7 years from now can launch la this truck after another RM1.5 billion wang perlindungan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
      • Kunta Kinte on Jul 26, 2016 at 9:55 am

Proton is famous for prototypes. In the pst they will always come out with all sorts of images and prototypes. this is their modus operandi to get more money from Mustapa. Proton will tell them that they used RM500 million to research this truck and take Theo’s pix and tell Mustapa their inhouse graphics designed it for RM500 mil

• Please, Proton, put this beast into production! This beast powered by the Petronas 2.0L engine would sell like hot cakes here in Australia. Don’t miss this opportunity!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 7
    • Ollie on Jul 25, 2016 at 6:01 pm

Hey.. hey… are you alright mate? You need a doctor mate? Jumbuck was a non-seller didn’t sell anything like you would think. No one is buying a Proton anywhere in the world. Calm down mate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 44
      • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jul 25, 2016 at 9:44 pm

Vika mate go outside your Australian cave mate. Surrender to the police mate. You overstayed mate. Don’t abuse Australian visa mate. Nate mung mate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
      • Kunta Kinte on Jul 26, 2016 at 9:58 am

Proton like to lie that the jumback sold well in Australia. Truth is, it was utter failure. Why Australians want to buy that junk when they can buy so many pickups with V8 engine for cheaper?

• alldisc on Jul 25, 2016 at 8:58 pm

In a vehicle as heavy as that (will be heavier if there will be 4wd running gear) proton will need a turbodiesel. The jumbuck was ok since it is light and nicely executed.

• Nissan on Jul 25, 2016 at 10:35 pm

Proton create many jokes of the year!! Ever heard of the EV that was said to be launched in 2015/6? Even rebadge also take years, by the time this car is ready for production the industry might have move to another era and technology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Yokohama24 on Jul 26, 2016 at 8:44 am

Proton is not even doing well for normal road vehicles, what more if this pick-up goes off road? when you jatuh into the lake or sungai you will die, your power window confirm jam one. Unless you take the manual window.

• inb4 P1 xbleh design punya, but why theo’s look so like P1 punya…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Australia? Successful? Profitable?

How many unit and how much they sold in Australia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • Never exist, stupid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • Read the article before make idiotic statement.

• Beruxx on Jul 25, 2016 at 6:23 pm

Stupid dream..dream vs Vision
        Please fire the desiginer,,, he fools malaysian.

Syiook makan angin duit rakyat..boleh duduk US pakai fund rakyar..dulu duduk Itali 2 tahun tapi Preve tak laku..

• Aparaaa on Jul 25, 2016 at 10:20 pm

Never been down under haven’t you? Buy a cheap air asia ticket to Perth. You’ll meet some Jumbuck for sure. A piece of advice. Beware of what you say. It may prove one’s stupidity.

• Some? Exactly, some Jumbuck and it is successful and profitable? No wonder Proton is ailing with staff like you. There are some Iriz on Malaysian road and proton has not been profitable until now.

By the way I have not seen any Jumbuck in Aus. The only proton I have seen is an old Satria at Blue Mountain.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 26, 2016 at 10:06 am

no jumback lah. Few clowns from the Malaysian embassy got a few units free. That is all. Ford V8 and Opel/Vauxhall V8 so much better and cheaper….who wants to buy Jumbback?

• Yes, Proton Arena aka Jumbuck was one of the best selling cars in Australia for Proton.

This is because there was no competitor for the price segment they are selling at (Small UTE). So if they price it well. It would be successful.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 26, 2016 at 10:03 am

that is Proton’s biggest lie. They hardly sold any in Australia. They lie to protect their face.

• Whether good or not,not sure. But for sure the ori design not one will buy as simply very ugly. The rendered one look much better and look tempting.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 25, 2016 at 5:49 pm

This looks great, however the Jumbuck/Arena was successful due to price… which they could achieve by keeping production cost low. They took a Wira and changed the rear a bit. So development cost was low, and they could use lots of parts from the Wira.

This is a completely new car, with all new body panels, perhaps a new engine, at least a modified platform, …

Maybe the best thing would be to sell the design to some Chinese pickup maker. Have them produce it.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jul 25, 2016 at 9:46 pm

Wira aircond coldest in the world. Wira tomyam is the best car ever.

• Ok…… I guess. Can he rendered 4WD version?

• Dreaming…nothing else to post….

• Peter on Jul 25, 2016 at 5:56 pm

Proton NEVER learn. It’s not about what car type are more popular in our market, that rakyat need most, that present more opportunity. It’s about for the price Proton set & its Brand popularity no one is buying!

You just launched your 134k Perdana … can you analyse so far what kind of customer will buy that? Gov? Rich patriots?

• Samseng on Jul 25, 2016 at 6:03 pm

Ini model ada masa depan yang cerah.

• Rebadge that Honda ridgeline.
    Spend few millions change the headlights, add longer rear bumper, add fake exhaust, paint the fake exhaust, enlarge the badge, bayar tol, gas and upah driver to drive on highway and call it R&D.
    Spend more on hype marketing.
    Done.
    Proton Pickup boosts sluggish sales of Perdana.

k enough with sarcasm;
    Proton should focus on their Saga / Persona / Ertiga instead of adding more vehicles to their already piled up things to do.
    Atleast listen to the lovers and haters for once, instead of syok sendiri with design by mr azlan.

• Sgt Scoop on Jul 25, 2016 at 6:23 pm

There is one factor that pick-up drivers want above everything else; reliability. If you don’t have it, you can’t sell pick-up trucks.

• I’d rather they focus on making a decent SUV. Everybody knows the SUV market is booming, even Great Wall.

• Pijot says SUV is short term trend. Will die soon. MY pipu dun persoal whiteman overlords

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 26, 2016 at 9:56 am

We need the white man overlords to come and clean our country. Shameful Malaysia, need FBI to come and clean our own dirt.

• Now is not the time to be foolin around. Wake up P1, cash flow is your major issue now! Focus all your resources, time, effort etc on your bread n butter Saga n Pesona. Make these 2 cars your best in terms of looks, cost of ownership, durability, value added features, safety. Malaysians want Jepunis reliability, cost of ownership, resale value but with conti looks, handling and comfort. Go figure….R&D, get your priorities right. You know what Malaysians want. Just get the order right. To the top management…..Proton R&D is not your personal toy! Make the correct decision based on P1 product development process and not on personal whim and preference. People are bashing you bcoz deep down they care….but you P1 keep letting down the people who care about you. Stop foolin around and be pragmatic! With your resources and experience (by now you shud know what not to do) you can definitely be better than P2. Don’t tell us that you need jepunis overlord like P2 to watch over your shoulders to make every single decision. If P1 does the right thing by focusing on its core customer needs, the money will surely come. You can do it. Keep simple things simple. Rocket science not required. All da best P1.

• Mama jambu on Jul 25, 2016 at 7:19 pm

Proton can make aeropnlane if they could, for all I care.

….but your current (and last couple of years ago) financial situation is pretty shitty, with blardy poor sales in all departments. Don’t forget to pay back the Rm billion loan you have asked for.

No point syoik sendiri in Proton but itself can’t even ensure own survival.

• P1nomore on Jul 25, 2016 at 9:24 pm

Sack the designer Azlan Othman.!
    Feasibility study taking ages and with zero focus. Cut down the nasi lemak & teh tarik.
    Then maybe the brain cells can react faster & make swift decisions.
    Ertiga also so slow to launch after Alza monopolised the market for so many years & now Bezza.
    1.5 bil is depleting and yet P1 wants to have a share on every segment & with so many models.
    Idris Jala , where is the turnaround plan & foreign partner ??

• Jumbuck jamban on Jul 25, 2016 at 9:47 pm

Keeping talking about jumbuck but never make a replacement or improvement

• Rizuan Hamit on Jul 26, 2016 at 7:42 am

Proton cars are like litter and rubbish polluting the Malaysian roads. I pray that Proton share will dive to just 5% of the market share within these 2-3 years.

• Yokohama24 on Jul 26, 2016 at 8:31 am

This one got VSC?

• Yokohama24 on Jul 26, 2016 at 8:37 am

Design looks pretty tough, very Ford Ranger ish.
    Anyhow I doubt P1 have the capabilities to make this a tough pick up. Clearly, as we all know it, they haven’t reach that level yet. Plus what engine are they going to use to power this heavy machine? Campro Twin Turbo Intercooler?

All the best to our very own national car. Peace~

• Das Auto on Jul 26, 2016 at 9:02 am

This is a pick-up. Jumbuck is an Ute. Two different categories in Australian perspectives. Ute is a vehicle with car-like driving quality with the ability to load stuff while Pick-up to them, is just a truck. Probably make Saga version of an Ute? Saga sells well there.

• Chia seow hong on Jun 23, 2018 at 2:47 pm

Interested to know more abt proton pick up concept car