B10 diesel implementation to take place in 2016 – MPIC

biodiesel1

The Ministry of Plantation Industries and Commodities (MPIC) aims to implement the usage of B10 biodiesel within this year, according to its minister Datuk Seri Mah Siew Keong in a Bernama report.

“We have met carmakers, petrol station operators and I think we will have a few more meetings,” Mah said, adding that the ministry will study and address the concerns raised at the meetings. He said that the implementation of B10 is significant as it will help reduce the stockpile of palm oil in the country, and increase the price of crude palm oil.

This comes after the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) said that it has no qualms with the implementation of B10 biodiesel, but only if its principals are able to provide warranty for their vehicles.

“Until today, they haven’t set a date as to when it is going to be implemented, because they are (still) listening to all the stakeholders, whether it is from MAA members, from the bus and lorry operator associations, other ministries and from the oil companies. And I think, we indicated to the government that we’re not ready,” she said.

Aishah said that the association does not require the support of the government, but rather the support of its principals. “We must be able to have warranty on the vehicles before we can implement. Alternative pumps, that’s what we are asking for, they must have both B7 and B10 pumps throughout the whole country at all stations,” she explained.

Malaysia Automotive Institute CEO Madani Sahari spoke to Bloomberg TV Malaysia, saying that ongoing discussions with stakeholders should hopefully resolve the issue. “The next step is to get the stakeholders to reconvene, and to agree on the fundamentals; from a testing and methodology standpoint, and what we can agree upon in terms of expected deliverables.”

So far there have been conflicting statements from the MAA and the Malaysian Biodiesel Asssociation (MBA), respectively: the former said that biodiesel of the B10 blend proportion and higher could cause engine damage, while the latter said there is no such issue.

The MAA sent a letter to the Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI), claiming the usage of biodiesel in grades higher than B7 may result in fatty-acid methyl ester (FAME) mixing with the motor oil, causing the oil to thin and possibly leading to sludging in the engine.

The sale of B10 diesel was supposed to have begun in June, but this was then delayed until further notice. At a Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) briefing last week, MAA president Datuk Aishah Ahmad said that no date has yet been set as to when the programme will officially be implemented, because the government was listening to all stakeholders.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• chiakc on Jul 27, 2016 at 6:23 pm

please prove B10 does not affect engine efficiency, and does not impact gas mileage. and do make sure car manufacturers does not use B10 usage as excuse to refuse warranty claim. then I support B10. oh, please make sure B10 is cheaper than normal fuel.

• BNGov bodo piang! flip flop here and there everytime some random car brand complain about B10 when across Selat Melaka, their cars r running B20 no problemo.

He shud be like Pinoy Harry and just show the piang piang to those who dun comply. Otherwise, they can balik-u-know-where. Others r waiting eagerly to fill the gap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 19
    • guest on Jul 27, 2016 at 8:45 pm

This John is so shallow. Shameful to have a retard commenting here daily.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 27, 2016 at 8:54 pm

We need the FBI and DOJ of USA to help us with this matter because local brains are not too clever and cannot figure this problem out

• FBI cant even pull out a real terrorist from their rear hole, instead they bully poor coloured pipu. Is this the justice we been looking for?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Quote “He said that the implementation of B10 is significant as it will help reduce the stockpile of palm oil in the country, and increase the price of crude palm oil.” .. So Mr Minister, the implementation is actually beneficial to small but powerful palm oil lobbyists and towkays..? Meaning more deforestation and environmental impact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • MY palm oil r sustainable via RSPO. Dun just see French rightwing overlords propaganda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
  • Car companies can just pull out their diesel models from M’sia if they are forced to. Anyhow , diesel models are just low volume sellers. Large commercial trucks are different, if you forced Scania , Volvo, Hino and Nissan Diesel to pull out, then what we going to use then ?? Ask Proton make trucks that can use high concentration biodisel ?? Or ask john to create his own truck company to make high concentration biodiesel engines ??
    Indonesia has a population/market of 8 times of ours, they can demand of course. Losing Indon market is painful, but M’sia market ??? Nobody give a damn.

• guest on Jul 27, 2016 at 8:49 pm

Indonesia sells both bio and pure diesel lah. Key word: option. Can’t use B20 in Indonesia, then pump pure diesel.

• huhahihi on Jul 27, 2016 at 8:01 pm

Really, what can we expect from the govt jokers and MAA??

hot air?

• tong sampah on Jul 27, 2016 at 8:50 pm

these stupid minister will further contribute to the reduce of crude requirement and further deep the international crude price…Bravo!

• superbird #43 on Jul 27, 2016 at 9:54 pm

bio attracts algae, worsen fuel economy and emissions and proven to cause failure to injection pump and injectors.
    people have to change the diesel fuel filter more often if they pumped bio.
    so for me, if it aint broke dont fix it.
    i’ll just go to any pump stations that still sell petroleum diesel to but fuel and call it a day.

cheers….

• If just cuz bio ingredients is organic thats why u imply it attracts algae then diesel being organic as well will oso attract algae. What topkek logic u have there?

• IGP mom on Jul 28, 2016 at 9:03 am

They can implement, but I guarantee consumers will take the risk, principals/car manufacturers will not provide guarantee, the price itself won’t be cheap. In the end, waste of millions of money implementing but no one will use it.

The ones who will be using these diesel will be junk vehicles waiting to sue when they break.

• Whatever. In due time all vehicles will be electric, even long haul trucks. So make your palm oil money while you can.