New Volvo S90 coming to Malaysia next year – CBU first, CKD later on; T8 Twin Engine plug-in hybrid likely

VOLVO-S90-2

Volvo Car Malaysia managing director Lennart Stegland has spilled the beans regarding what is likely the company’s next new product to enter the Malaysian market, the Volvo S90.

According to him, the Swedish executive sedan will be launched sometime next year, first as a fully-imported (CBU) model, then locally-assembled (CKD) at its Swedish Motor Assemblies (SMA) plant in Shah Alam. “We are planning to bring [the S90], of course, to Malaysia,” he said. “The main idea is that this will happen next year and we are hoping that we can bring in the car as a CBU.

“Later on we will conclude our investments in Shah Alam, in our factory, because it’s a new version, a new car. Then we will have to crank it up and then we will roll out. This will happen not at the beginning of next year, and not the end of next year.”

This means that the entry of the S90 to the market will mirror the XC90’s – the seven-seater SUV was launched in Malaysia late last year in CBU form at RM453,888; the CKD version was then introduced in June this year, bringing the price down to RM403,888.

That car is only available in the most powerful 407 hp/640 Nm T8 Twin Engine plug-in hybrid spec, and hence was accorded the Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) status and the tax breaks that come with it, which explains the low price for such a vehicle.

Although it was not mention which variants will enter the market, when asked about whether the T8 Twin Engine variant would be offered, Stegland said that the S90 was built on the same Scalable Product Architecture (SPA) as the XC90, and hence was designed to accept the PHEV powertrain from the get go. “So, yes, we can assume that we’ll have the T8 Twin Engine in Malaysia as well,” he said.

Twin Engine T8 Volvo S90 Inscription White

Could an S90 T8 Twin Engine receive similarly attractive pricing as the XC90? It would appear so, and there has been precedent of a hybrid executive sedan that has been accorded bargain basement pricing – the also-EEV W212 Mercedes-Benz E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid was priced at RM348,888, making it the cheapest E-Class variant in Malaysia at the time.

Stegland also confirmed that the car that was sighted in Shah Alam – apparently right in front of the SMA plant, as it happens – was a pre-production unit used to validate the quality of the plant’s production before the CKD car is signed off.

GALLERY: Volvo S90

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• neutral on Aug 25, 2016 at 8:16 pm

“Later on we will conclude our investments in Shah Alam, in our factory, because it’s a new version, a new car. Then we will have to crank it up and then we will roll out. This will happen not at the beginning of next year, and not the end of next year.”

Meaning the middle of 2017 or not next year at all?? Confused.

• Pidgey on Aug 25, 2016 at 8:51 pm

E Class > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • bro 2.0 on Aug 26, 2016 at 8:24 pm

mercedes sales agent spotted.

• Abang Kecewa on Dec 26, 2016 at 3:00 pm

we owned E300, bad experience. Leaking from day-1. Sensors broke down. Camera got stone-chip.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 25, 2016 at 8:52 pm

Good things are coming our way soon. Volvo’s design is a fresh take on the Germans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Jimmy on Aug 25, 2016 at 11:56 pm

Is the rear light design good to you?
      Does it look elegant? Or more suitable for the young sporty?
      Do they have good aftersales service in Malaysia?

• Lee Kum Kee on Aug 26, 2016 at 1:26 pm

Expect good sale worldwide until the next G50 5 series to be introduced next year.

• tokmoh. on Aug 26, 2016 at 9:21 am

Volvo S90 > all

• Rusmah on Aug 26, 2016 at 9:31 am

Volvo built great car!
    It out perform german in overall.
    It only lose on RV, maintenance availability.

• ex-VGM staff on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:22 am

sell it at 250-280k instead of 400k. volvo doesnt have that luxury image like what it used to enjoy in the 80-90s.

build up back the reputations first. thats what important.

• lao yee on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:38 am

That really classy is all about.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 26, 2016 at 12:26 pm

better than the current e-class

• mackmack on Aug 26, 2016 at 6:01 pm

i own a xc60 currently. Happy with the car but not the after sales service. it sucks big time. federal auto if u r reading – up yours!
    yet… i am waiting for my xc90 delivery.. cant help it.. cmon 0-100 in 5.6s, 7 seats, all those gadgets etc etc