Honda BR-V seven-seater SUV previewed in Malaysia

honda-br-v-preview-miecc-lead

It’s been more than a year since the Honda BR-V first made its debut, and it has since made its way to neighbouring markets like Indonesia and Thailand. Now, the seven-seater SUV has landed on Malaysian shores as part of a preview at the Mines International Exhibition & Convention Centre (MIECC).

The BR-V’s arrival has been heralded for some time now, with a recent sighting of the model on our roads recently confirming it. No indication on when the car’s official launch will happen, but expect it to be soon.

Anyways, the BR-V’s design should be familiar to many by now but here’s a refresher anyway. Essentially a crossover variation of the Mobilio MPV, the BR-V measures 4,455 mm long, 1,735 mm wide and 1,650 mm tall, with a 2,660 mm-long wheelbase. It also comes with a ground clearance of just over 200 mm.

While it may be based on the Mobilio, the BR-V gets its own design cues, including a redesigned Solid Wing Face grille, projector headlamps (with DRLs), hood and fog lamps. Down the sides, the Mobilio’s creases continue to be evident here, accompanied by 16-inch alloys. Meanwhile at the rear, there are new taillights, with finishing touches include faux skid plates at the front and back, a reverse camera, along with roof rails.

honda_brv-4

Inside, the BR-V retains the Mobilio’s dashboard layout, with trapezoidal-shaped air-con vents, triple-section instrument binnacle and centre stack. The latter hosts the BR-V’s double-DIN headunit (with the usual media inputs) and a manual air-con system. The car seen here appears to be the high-spec version, judging from the leather seats found in the cabin.

Of course, the seven seats are the main draw of the BR-V, all of which come with three-point safety belts. The ones in the second (60:40 split-folding) and third row (50:50 split-folding) can be easily tilted and tumbled to allow for up to 539 litres of boot space.

Honda also claims the BR-V’s last-row accommodation is the best in its class for those who prefer to carry human cargo. Rear air-conditioning ensures that those in the back remain comfortable as well.

honda_brv-26

Powering the BR-V is a 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC engine as seen on the Jazz and City, which outputs 120 PS and 145 Nm of torque, with drive being directed to the front wheels via an Earth Dreams CVT.

Safety-wise, the BR-V has managed to achieve a five-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating for models fitted with electronic stability control (ESC). When tested, the model scored 14.79 points out of a possible 16 points in adult occupant protection with a 72% compliance in terms of child occupant protection.

Prices remain a mystery for now but as the BR-V is positioned below the HR-V, it should provide some indication as to how much you will have to fork out. The general public will also be able to view the BR-V at various roadshows nationwide, and you can get more information, as well as register your interest, here. You can also read our first review of the SUV, here.

Headlamps equipped with DRL | All-New BR-V

The All-New BR-V headlamps are equipped with daytime running lights so you can drive clearly day and night. You can check it out now at the Malaysia Auto Show 2016!

Posted by Honda Malaysia on Thursday, 10 November 2016

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• lilytan on Nov 10, 2016 at 2:55 pm

Saw one SG registered car in johor recently. Not a looker. Reminds me of the Freek with its unbalance proportion. Designed for third world country so dont expect much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 27
    • Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 10, 2016 at 4:37 pm

If this car is prices below HRV, then it will be close to Exora price. Habis la Exora. Who will want to buy a car that catches fire going up to Genting when people can add a bit more and buy this Honda?

Now nobody got confidence in Proton and Exora. Owner of burning Exora complain to Proton, instead of feeling sorry for the owner, Proton blamed him for the fire. they said it was his fault that car caught fire.

I rather get a good Honda than an Exora cause Honda Malaysia won’t blame me if car catches fire.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 104
      • Maserati on Nov 10, 2016 at 7:31 pm

Still got ppl buy Exora? New Exora is as rare as Suprima S which is as rare as Maserati and Ferrari. Buy a Proton = Buying problems and sadness. If you like sadness and problems then by all means buy a Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 68
        • wonka on Nov 11, 2016 at 2:36 am

Habis la BRV with 7 pipu inside cannot climb genting, so underpower

And you sure it has no takata airbags inside?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 15
          • Sama L00 on Nov 11, 2016 at 5:21 pm

Nowadays only hardcore fans buy Proton, they buy it because they wanna support Proton. It is same spirit like wishing Malaysia get World Cup – hopeless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 55
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on Nov 10, 2016 at 7:31 pm

Your wife in that exora issit…no wonder you are so mad…whats her name…kuntaik issit…what a lovely name…you two make a lovely couple…kudos…bravo…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 31
      • Hot Cat not Hot Dog on Nov 12, 2016 at 11:02 am

My wife 2010 exora with 300 000 km dy.
        Winding perfect.. door lock perfect….no noise dashboard …suspension good. . Alarm good ..no towing experience… 5_ 6 time up hill..
        But my 3 years old bmw towing 2 times dy ..fxxx !!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 11
      • Honla Kaki on Nov 12, 2016 at 10:57 pm

this car, interm of space, no match to Exora …

unless otherwise, all the pessengers are midget under 160 cm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • Molaqar on Nov 15, 2016 at 2:58 pm

Stupid Exora. Still waiting for my “recall” for almost 6 hours. Keep on saying still ordering parts from KL. My car cabin now smell like petrol inside, complain during service but nothing done. I jaga my car carefully and always service on time at Proton service center also still a lousy car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • Jeffrey Read on Nov 25, 2016 at 8:32 pm

If your car is reeking with petrol fumes, that because your fuel system is not rigged properly. Strongly recommended to have to entire fuel line removed and properly assembled, you surely don’t want to be caught in a flash fire inside your car!

• Adlan on Nov 26, 2016 at 6:57 pm

What about Honda with Takata airbags issues?

• Just saw a mercedes car catches fire on a flat road. LOL. That irony. Once basher, always a basher.

• dont blame proton because of fire..not 100% proton car is perfect..we got Accord and camry got a break problem..

• temakol on Dec 18, 2016 at 12:37 pm

buy from grey importer, we can save a lot than buying through this so called honda.

• orang biasa on Nov 10, 2016 at 3:00 pm

for this “thumb up” not meaningful 1 lah Menteri… if no more AP & “gila” import tax… then “thumb up” will be meaningful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • manual air-con system with 1.5 engine?
    Bye br-v.. :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
  • Beng Hwa on Nov 10, 2016 at 3:02 pm

With the arrival of Honda BRV here ending the life lines and life span of Toyota Avanza or Rush or possibly Innova.. Looks like Honda really understands our domestic demands and supplies.Long live Honda Malaysia,may UMW rot longer with their greedy desires.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 27
  • there he is on Nov 10, 2016 at 3:12 pm

that interior cheap like whatttt. memang indo car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • timothy on Nov 10, 2016 at 3:24 pm

Unfortunately, All Malaysians see is the Big Ass H emblem in front and buy its cars no matter whatever they offer in their models under the hood. All blinded by Honda’s powerful H Brand and VTEC turbo:(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 11
    • krisnadi Imam on Nov 10, 2016 at 4:20 pm

The interior felt cheap, driver seat is too low with no seat height adjustment. seat cushion is very thin and not so comfortable.

It has nothing for the money it asked for aside than its looks…

I’m not recommending it over Honda Mobilio… but with Toyota Rush as its competitor, either one sold, its the customer that loses :(

• seman on Nov 10, 2016 at 4:15 pm

why the front interior must be closed? don’t waste your time and cost, just launch the suv as the minister was already there

• Eugene Liew on Nov 10, 2016 at 4:33 pm

BRV is a nice car and hopefully it’s price won’t exceed rm90k for high specs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • dingle on Nov 10, 2016 at 4:57 pm

Wait for Proton Ertiga better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • interesting to see the specs and price of the lowest variant….
    honda malaysia could possibly have another winner here…

• Lobangman on Nov 10, 2016 at 5:59 pm

Yay an alternative 7 seater to livina or alza. Heard recent hondas assembled in Melaka, the quality going down masuk longkang. Is it true?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • if we comparing for price range and type, i think toyota sientta, rush and nissan grand livina is the correct one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • slipkorn on Feb 02, 2017 at 10:27 am

exactly, for me sienta is better where it meant for people transporting in short journey with kiddo/baby,…
        power door is big advantages….
        you know how malaysian park their car, how malaysian open door car, slumped into beside car..hahahah
        This SUV BR-V?? SUV?? Really????
        What is this advantages??
        With 90K, plenty options available, if you a Honda hard-core fan (only malaysian is Honda hard-fan) then Honda buat kereta lembu letak lambang “H” pun org beli…

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Nov 10, 2016 at 6:47 pm

Why no Manual version here? Where can kill Avanza like that. All aunty use Manual one la to ferry children from school. Auto high maintenance unlike manual which is a good reliable workhorse.

• Underpowered kuda on Nov 10, 2016 at 7:06 pm

Can naik genting with 4 adults?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Bernard on Nov 11, 2016 at 9:15 am

Honda is confusing the public…

• Honda Shait on Nov 11, 2016 at 9:54 am

Designing a car side profile apparently is not Honda forte. Hideous to the max like Honda City and Jazz

• Ben Yap on Nov 11, 2016 at 3:21 pm

this car is better than the sienta and alza.

• damon on Nov 14, 2016 at 11:44 am

please compare specs to specs, honda always short change their customers in terms of specs, also, compare after service pricing, honda, suck you till you dry

• everything is good until i see the back of it
    just damn hate the ‘unibrow’ looking rear light trend!

• passion on Nov 14, 2016 at 11:04 am

super fugly but it will sell.

• I) when will it be officially launch in Malaysia?
    ii) when can we see and feel and test drive the real car (since front seats/deskboard was not shown)?
    iii) what would be the expected price? (hopefully not expensive than Livina / below 95K for high spec)

• passion on Nov 17, 2016 at 11:38 am

it all depends on price. loan needs to go thru.very important.

• Only 1.5 litre and want to carry 7 seater inside SUV body, seriously? They should just make full WAGON for the 7 seater. Very poor design. But maybe this design is someone who want car can carry more than 5 people yet don’t want big as WAGON or MPV. My Mitsubishi ASX 2012 is a 2.0 litre with 17-inch wheels and it’s a 5 seater! So glad my money well spended. I would expect the price will be below current ASX, 70k at most.

• uacal on Jan 05, 2017 at 7:10 pm

aiya so backward, lastime Roll Royce engine 3 lit, kick 74 horse onni, modern engine small but power worr.. same like hanphone, you still using 33 10sen orr

• I have a Toyota Wish 1.8 2009. Should I trade for this BRV, performance wise?

• MalaysianAlwaysCheatedByCarManufacturer on Jan 26, 2017 at 11:39 am

No, big no..u will regret…believe me, it’s nothing, just sell look and “H”….