Honda Malaysia recall – Takata passenger airbag inflator replacement availability to reach 55% soon

honda-malaysia-tech-with-airbag-inflator

Honda Malaysia has released an update over the status of airbag availability with regards to the ongoing Takata airbag inflator recall – stock availability of front passenger airbag inflators is targeted to be increased 55% by the end of the month, a month earlier than the expected timeframe announced previously – and that figure is expected to be increased further to 70% by December.

With that development, the company has urged affected customers to replace their passenger airbag inflators immediately, and has encouraged them to make an appointment at any of the Honda Service Central Hubs or authorised Honda service centres in order for the replacements to be carried out systematically and avoid any setbacks.

So far, Honda Malaysia has managed to replace over 62,300 inflators out of the approximately 125,000 affected as of November 23, translating to a completion ratio of 50%. The company has also announced that it is taking immediate action to replace the additional 147,894 units of passenger airbag inflators in a separate recall announced in June.

Honda-Airbag-Hub

Meanwhile, Honda Malaysia has continued to urge affected customers to replace their front driver airbag inflators immediately, as stock availability is at 100%. The company has confirmed that all Honda Service Central Hubs and authorised Honda service centres have sufficient stock to perform the replacement, and that it has so far replaced around 175,000 driver’s side inflators out of the approximately 264,000 affected, resulting in a 66% completion ratio.

Finally, Honda Malaysia has expanded the locations of its Mobile Hubs at shopping centres from 11 to 18 from now until December 25, including Aeon Metro Prima in Kepong, Aeon Shah Alam, Tesco Extra Cheras and Giant Superstore Bandar Puteri in Puchong. The full list of locations, including Honda Family Road Trip road shows and Honda Service Central Hubs, can be found at productrecall.honda.com.my.

You can check your Honda’s update status by calling 1-800-88-2020 or by visiting any authorised Honda dealer. You can also use the company’s online VIN checker to see if your vehicle is affected

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Badrol Hisham Ibrahim on Nov 25, 2016 at 2:47 pm

Been waiting for front passenger emplacement airbag for more than a month now. Still no news, even their customer service also don’t know.

Try give them a call and the machine will tell you that airbag replacement is mandatory yet their still have no replacement part. Even worst, the replacement also from Takata.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Nov 25, 2016 at 3:02 pm

But honda is the best very premium…fanboys say so…you cannot dispute them

• But bashers says jepunis overlords cannot be persoaled.
      They r perfect one!

If ur din get replaced, its cuz ur not fast enuff.
      If u din get contact, its cuz u din try hard enuff to call.
      If u din wait ur turn, its cuz u have no enuff patience.
      If u din get it replaced, its cuz u din sacrifice enuff of ur precious time to get it replaced.
      If u din survive, its cuz of ur fault due to above.

So dun blame our jepunis lords, its u who choose to buy our milo tins. They din point a samurai at u and force to buy the car, right?

• sohhai on Nov 25, 2016 at 3:43 pm

I got both driver and passenger’s airbag replaced with no fuss. Thank you Honda Malaysia and good luck to Toyota and Nissan owners who are >1 year late into the recall

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • honda and toyota also have problem..thing is they malu to share out…of course la..dude..jipun car maaaa.. i own 2015 honda city and 2014 toyota camry.. city me drive to work daily…camry for my wife at home and use if we out to long journey. after 3 months old city..1 good afternoon out of lucnh with my staff ride on my city…unfortunately after lunch my city cannot start at all..twist the key like nothing happen to start the engine.. battery checked ok..fuel ok..engine checked ok..no sign of oil leaking or other leaking..the car just wont start…. call towing..then we all naik teksi back to office.. luckily still warranty..after 2weeks in sc. yet still have others minor issue but no big deal as long wont suddenly cannot start engine or stall at halfway. And 5 months back..my wife call and said the camry breakdown while waiting traffic light…the car just wont start at all..and is lunch hour and rush hour time…sure will problem for others if the car breakdown at middle of the road..so i ask her call towing as fast as possible…then my camry sit at sc for 3 weeks since they need to full checklist of the problem. both car with similar problem…melted wiring and burn mark at fuse box. i not condemn honda and toyota product..every car have problem only how lucky u are and when the problem strike in…nothing malu la to share ur car problem..at least others will aware of the problems..hey.. my boss drive bmw 2014 5 series… and i said to him..wahh..good la bmw…less problem..then he said..u are wrong..my bmw already 3 time towing..1st overheated…second oil leak and third engine cannot start…no mater what car..all buy at ur own risk..there no perfect car in the world unless u drive kereta sorong. what a joke he telling me..but i agreed with him.

• But bashers expect P1 to be perfect, otherwise it is worse than jepunis takata quality, & will kena bash.

• Campro bising no problem. Trash it here and there. Long journey from day till late night. Turbocharged summore. Lol

• If Toyota also affected, how about their subsidiary Perodua? on Nov 25, 2016 at 8:17 pm

Wouldn’t Toyota subsidiary, Perodua also uses the same the supplier as Toyota? It would be a good idea if someone validate this.

• If nobody persoal celup jepunis, why u so pandai pandai persoal? U P1 staff ke?

• transformer on Nov 25, 2016 at 8:29 pm

as a Grand Livina L10(2nd hand) owner, i read ETCM Recall Notice from paultan.org, been to changed Takata Inflator, just 30 minutes, done.

Since then, whenever i met any L10 owner(came into my shop) i will pro-actively tell everyone of them about this Takata Recall. Almost ALL L10 never heard of it, this is unacceptable! Edaran Tan Chong should buck up! Where as Honda Malaysia did great job with their City airbag recall. (i wished Carlos-Ghosn will read my msg)

Since, ETCM done bad job announcing this recall, I had even wrote an email to paultan to request for a particular spot(banner) in this blog so reader know and can inform any L10 friends and family owners. (maybe paul has changed his email address)

Please spread this Nissan recall news to everyone…. (it saves life….)

• azrai on Nov 28, 2016 at 8:28 am

So you are voluntary doing Tan Chong’s responsibilities then, while his grandchildren busy making more money using Grab.