Second-gen Toyota 86 confirmed, to surface in 2018-19

toyota-gt86-rear-e1474028573812

Here’s a rare piece of good news for the driving enthusiast. It is confirmed that the Toyota 86 will live on, and a second-generation 86/GT86 is being worked on. The Mk2 86 is likely to surface in 2018-2019, Autocar reports.

“The GT86 is at the stage where it’s being decided on the next one. Then a chief engineer will be assigned and away we go,” said Toyota Europe boss Karl Schlicht. “The GT86 will carry on. The car serves a big purpose. We are not getting out of that business. Sporty cars go through their phases. It’s our intention to continue with that car,” he added, referring to strong early sales tapering off.

The rear-wheel drive coupe is powered by a naturally aspirated flat-four by development partner Subaru, which has its own version called the BRZ. That relationship is likely to continue, although it’s yet to be formalised.

toyota-gt86-e1474028265831

“Will it be with Subaru? I don’t know. But for the concept to carry on, with the low engine, we’d have to do that. There are a lot of reasons to continue with Subaru,” Schlicht said. The hachi-roku’s snout and centre of gravity is kept low by the design of Subaru’s boxer engine, and that improves handling.

We’ve been treated to concepts of the 86 in shooting brake and convertible forms, but an open top variant is unlikely. “We wouldn’t do it on the current model. That doesn’t mean dealers wouldn’t like one, but there are so many other priorities that I don’t think we’ve got spare capacity for that,” Schlicht explained.

It’s great to know that the second-gen 86 will be sitting under the reborn Toyota Supra in the Japanese giant’s sports car line-up. That car is currently in development with BMW, which is using the same underpinnings for its next Z4. “That co-operation is going well. It’s on track. It’s being done in Europe. Our version is a different car from BMW’s,” Schlicht said.

Sunny days ahead for Japanese sports car fans!

GALLERY: Toyota 86 GT Limited facelift

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• thepolygonal on Dec 07, 2016 at 3:52 pm

Good news indeed… change that steering wheel already? Put in a smart digital dashboard. Do your magic but whatever happens, keep the handbrake.

• Bashers says it like to sleep with this partner (like subaru) and that partner (BMW). Useless, so must kolos shop… oh wai…

• takNakP1 on Dec 07, 2016 at 4:21 pm

the excitement only last as long as reading this article, because Malaysia Boleh makes Malaysian Tak Boleh

• It tabouleh cuz drifters dun care about this piss poor performing car. Silvia/SX FTW!

• Mikey on Dec 07, 2016 at 4:40 pm

When Toyota Europe boss Karl Schlicht mention “strong early sales tapering off” he mean its Time to roll out a New GT86. Consumers are very demanding nowadays.

If your car/product looks dated, you are asking 4 trouble if U do not have a replacement/new product 2 offer as consumers will switch to a new design/product that looks/perform better than a older car.

• Mikey on Dec 07, 2016 at 4:49 pm

To Toyota, what is your targeted market ? If U are targeting the young/millennials, your car at “only” 200 HP is hardly impressive as a normal GTI Pug 1.6 Turbo will outrun this GT86 & its cheaper too.

If U truly want to call this GT86 a ‘performance coupe’ U should seriously Turbo charged this car or NOT launched it at all. U do Not want to be SMOKED by a smaller/cheaper car do U ?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • karam singh on Dec 07, 2016 at 9:59 pm

How old are you? 12?? Its hard to believe you do not know the reason of existence for this model. The legendary ae86 is known because of its exciting handling and not out and out acceleration. Gt86 was designed and engineered to be its replacement, providing fun motoring with its balanced chassis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Mikey on Dec 08, 2016 at 8:41 am

ks, i know what U mean & i also happen 2 own 1 eons ago. That is why U & me are called DINOSAUR if we do not CHANGED our thinking & our ways of life. If U want 2 retire into your sunset home, please go ahead.

Why do you think a Turbo charged car are better in many ways. If U want me 2 spell out in details the benefits of pressurized air into a ICE, I will gladly do just 4 U.

Have U asked any youth/Gen-Y/millennials what kind of car or engine they prefer ?? I hope Toyota employ U as their Marketing Director just 2 see if U have any ideas on how 2 market a car for the young or Gen-Y.

U dare 2 ask me “How old r U” only show how shallow minded U are. Have some decency, respect, decorum & etiquette 4 your fellow commentators as this is a forum 2 comment.

U can have a Different of opinion from others but that doesn’t mean U or me are right or wrong. It is just a difference of opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Redidiot on Dec 08, 2016 at 7:47 am

By your logic, the mx5/ miata shouldnt go on sale also lah…and also the 130 bhp (1.6L) lotus elise

• Mikey on Dec 08, 2016 at 10:19 am

Redidiot, it depends what people U are targeting. The Miata is a roadster while the Lotus is marketed as a sports car. They are an entirely different type of BEEF if U get the DRIFT.

• They didn’t called it a performance coupe. That’s why it’s not turbocharged

• transformer on Dec 07, 2016 at 6:27 pm

still NA(add Direct Injection & Dual VVT-i) engine really???? zzzzzzzzz since this car is not about speed, its all about driving experience, why not Supercharged(aka Kompressor in Merc terms) it… else would rather get Mazda Miata instead!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • The problem is, in terms of performance its poor compared to older cars. And in terms of driving experience and handling, it loses to new Miata.
      So its neither here nor there. Nobody wants it unless diehard Fujiwara fans.

• Redidiot on Dec 08, 2016 at 7:48 am

Even less power…

• freedom on Dec 08, 2016 at 7:55 am

I dont understand why they Toyota never get any improvement. Cant even make a sport car they own. Dont tell me gt86 or supra. I really hope Toyota make it by their own. Even brz will get the supercharged sti version. Toyota only got na and sticker thought it can let you fly.
    Dont only ask ppl sharing. Make it your self. Show ppl that Toyota can make a sport car like Nissan ‘370z & gtr’ Mazda ‘rx8 & miata’ Subaru ‘wrx & brz sti’ dont only keep say na engine for drifting fun. not 1 still using Nokia 3310 already, We need go on to touch screen phone. Please tune it to twin turbo charge or super charge, this is the only reason your car can drift with fun.

• passion on Dec 08, 2016 at 10:09 am

i wish the price could be lower please!

• camtakpro on Dec 08, 2016 at 12:27 pm

This car should have NA >9000rpm and >250hp to the rear.

• Bernard on Dec 18, 2016 at 10:38 pm

Not affordable at all for msians!

• Martin Stein on Sep 09, 2018 at 7:14 am

I have a 2004 solara some convertible and want to buy a new one. WHEN?