Toyota Corolla Altis facelift now on sale, from RM121k

Details and prices having been revealed since last month, the new facelifted Toyota Corolla Altis has finally gone on sale. The ubiquitous C-segment sedan gains a new look and massively improved standard safety kit.

First up, the prices, which start at RM120,900 for the 1.8E, rising up to RM123,900 for the 1.8G and RM138,900 for the top-of-the-range 2.0V – the same prices as before. All prices are on-the-road inclusive of insurance and a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

Exterior-wise, there’s a redesigned front end – reshaped headlights flank a slimmer grille, with a thicker chrome trim. The front bumper has also been reprofiled and gets a wider air intake for a more aggressive look. Meanwhile, the rear of the car receives new LED tail light graphics and a thinner chrome rear garnish.

Inside, the Corolla Altis gains a mildly-restyled dashboard with round corner air vents, a new centre console and new air-con controls. The multifunction controls on the steering wheel have also been revised, while the instrument cluster has been given new graphics.

Standard kit includes automatic halogen headlights, 16-inch alloy wheels, front and rear fog lights, keyless entry, push button start, single-zone auto air-con, an acoustic windscreen, a leather-wrapped multifunction steering wheel, fabric seats, 60:40 split-folding rear seats and a standard radio/CD/USB head unit.

The 1.8G gains auto-folding door mirrors, leather upholstery, Bluetooth connectivity and an Optitron instrument cluster with a 4.2-inch colour multi-info display. Step up to the 2.0G and one gains LED projector headlights, 17-inch alloys, sports seats with eight-way power adjustment for the driver’s seat, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, cruise control and steering wheel paddle shifters.

Safety-wise, all models now get seven airbags (including one for the driver’s knees), ABS with EBD and brake assist, Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) and ISOFIX rear child seat anchors. That is a huge jump from the outgoing model, which had two airbags as standard; only the 2.0V received VSC, and you had to pay an extra RM3,900 for the Additional Safety Package to get seven airbags.

Mechanicals remain mostly unchanged – you get a choice of either a 1.8 litre 2ZR-FE Dual VVT-i four-cylinder petrol engine producing 139 PS at 6,400 rpm and 173 Nm at 4,000 rpm, or a 2.0 litre 3ZR-FR unit churning out 145 PS at 6,200 rpm and 187 Nm at 3,600 rpm. Both mills are mated to a CVT with a seven-speed virtual ratio function and a new Sport mode. The suspension has been retuned for a more refined ride.

Options include a RM6,137 Value Package that adds a DVD-AVX infotainment system, a reverse camera, a digital video recorder, illuminated scuff plates and Toyota Premium Security and Solar window tint, along with a RM1,272 upgrade to a navigation system with smartphone connectivity, HDMI, WiFi and an Internet browser. There’s also an aerokit that costs RM2,438, or RM3,710 when bundled with the navigation system.

Browse full specifications and equipment of the facelifted Toyota Corolla Altis on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Toyota Corolla Altis 1.8G facelift

GALLERY: Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0V facelift

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• paparadzi (Member) on Dec 09, 2016 at 4:28 pm

Looks quite good, but I’d rather have an ioniq.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 149 Thumb down 15
    • Doc Sin on Dec 09, 2016 at 5:51 pm

Get a Mazda 3 instead, really, save yourself some money and wait for the 2017 facelifted model with G-Vectoring. I’m not a Mazda salesman, just saying, it’s got more power (162hp), and a proper 6 speed gearbox.

and come on, Toyota, you call that an interior?
      Really, I mean, like dude, really?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 189 Thumb down 17
      • Nosushi on Dec 09, 2016 at 10:44 pm

205nm torque at 2000rpm preve is more addictive. Can buy 1 preve 1.6 n/a and 1 preve turbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 28
        • Sam Jamal Loo on Dec 11, 2016 at 2:58 pm

More appropriate is: 1 Preve turbo (now RM68k) and 1 Preve n/a manual (now RM55k) with one unit of Altis price. Or baseline Persona manual at RM46k (if dunwan another Preve) is not bad to consider.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
        • Sam Jamal Loo on Dec 11, 2016 at 3:02 pm

More appropriate is: 1 Preve turbo (now RM68k) and 1 Preve n/a manual (now RM55k) with one unit of Altis price. Or baseline Persona manual at RM46k (just in case if Preve n/a phased out) is not bad to consider.

• Ex VGM staff on Dec 10, 2016 at 11:16 am

The dashboard is a retro theme. From the early corolla models. Like
        KE20 and KE30. Perhaps you were not born yet at that time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
      • Sammy Loo on Dec 13, 2016 at 1:53 am

While Mazda 3 is good on handling, the Altis is targeting another group of people. It all depends on what the buyer is looking for. In terms of refinement and comfort ride, Altis wins both the Civic and Mazda 3. For handling the Mazda 3 is definitely better and for power will be the Civic Turbo.

All sushi cars are good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • Same L0rr on Dec 13, 2016 at 8:56 am

Buy this altis no regret.. it is Toyota bro.. Good RV & reliable!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Dec 10, 2016 at 5:24 am

Beautiful…now the front looks more prominent…very elegant indeed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 22
    • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 10, 2016 at 11:18 am

According to Malaysian Government statistics, just having VSC alone can prevent 45% of all accidents and deaths in Malaysia in a given year.

This was recently announced when the Government said by 2019 all cars must have VSC.

UMW Toyota just recently in 2016 gave VSC for all their VIOS, ALTIS and CAMRY despite all these cars having VSC the past 16 years globally.

UMW Toyota decided to give VSC because they had no choice. Their sales were near ZERO for Camry, Altis and Vios was also suffering badly because the City was so highly specced.

I can only wonder. If UMW Toyota had given VSC in their Vios, Altis and Camry 16 years ago, like how all global Altis and Camry had, how many hundreds of thousands of accidents and deaths could have been prevented.

Somemore, past 16 years, Toyota was No 1 non national selling car in Malaysia.

How many lives could we have saved?

You dare to buy from a company more interested in UNTUNG than the safety of Malaysians?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 14
      • What’s the fuss with vsc in toyota when proton has been with only 2 seat belts and no airbag even in perdana all these years until recently?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
        • Iomacaveman on Dec 12, 2016 at 5:21 pm

No airbags in perdana? Which cave you come out from?

• geekfiredog on Dec 12, 2016 at 7:04 pm

Ioma is correct that the previous generation Perdana (from Mitsubishi Galant) from the 90’s to late 2000’s has no airbag installed. Only the Honda Accord version of Perdana launched last year (for government) and this year (for public) has airbag installed

• karam singh on Dec 13, 2016 at 9:59 am

all these years until recently. tell me, does perdana 1997 has airbag? or the v6 model of year 2004?

stupid.

• Badaboom on Dec 13, 2016 at 7:02 pm

I think the guy actually has a point regarding the lack of VSC in altis and camrys.

VSC is an active safety feature, whereas seatbelts is passive safety. In other words, seatbelts do not reduce the probability of getting into an accident, but VSC does.

He’s also questioning why toyota (malaysia) cars at that price points won’t include this feature when other global markets have it as standard – why do u think this is?

So yeah, i think u’re deliberately being off the point. I also think u’re a typical proton basher & a little butt hurt in trying to defend umw.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 09, 2016 at 4:34 pm

OMG RM121k for a small C segment car. Malaysians still cannot forget that for the last so many years, UMW was selling RM139k their Altis and with just 2 airbags. And their lower Altis never even had VSC and was sold over RM120k.

Only when sales of Altis went ZERO and everybody started buying Civic, UMW had no choice but to give us VSC and more airbags.

What an unethical company. You dare to buy from an unethical company who had disregard for Malaysian safety for the past 20 years?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 286 Thumb down 76
    • karam singh on Dec 09, 2016 at 6:52 pm

Conclusion – dont buy used old Corolla that comes without VSC & less airbags.
      Price RV gonna drop much coz they older model dont have all that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • actually 121k not expensive at all, maybe for u thats a lot. A cheap and low quality proton or perodua without tax already cost more than 50k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 35
      • Haih.. you prefer to get con by this company, it is your choice. Don’t accuse others not able to afford it while they are smart already not to be con again. For how much RM T sell this Altis before all the gadget come in previously if you remember?

• kzm (Member) on Dec 09, 2016 at 8:03 pm

small C segment?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • old horse on Dec 10, 2016 at 11:02 am

you want ethical from GLC? we are not in dreamland but robberland (from bolehland)..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Why complain? Malaysian cars are cheap. RM121k is small money. Work hard and you can enjoy safer cars. Be proud that Malaysian cars are cheap. Oh Wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
      • Oh wai, yep. Cuz at 110k u can get a better car. Thankq Najib for more choices!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Proton has been running on the principle “biasalah, proton memang cam ni” until now only want to give vsc and airbags when people don’t buy them. Talk about ethics. Too bad, perple still don’t buy them.

• Michelin on Dec 09, 2016 at 4:34 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 190
    • karam singh on Dec 09, 2016 at 7:03 pm

Lol, u should look at its tail pipe.
      Hideous
      either put on some chrome tips or dont show it at all
      Proper – get rear aircond vent, proper interior (hideous looking security lock led-on the driver side) this is 2016 not year 2000 , lol
      BTW, sport button ? really ? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • Unfortunately, Malaysians are overly obsessed with the BIG H Brand with their 6 airbag Civic with 1.5 liter Vtec turbo engine:) Bro, many Ah Bengs lined up like crazy at Bandar Sunway to modify their beloved Civic Turbo cars. LOL
      Malaysia is a country where HONDA is the best. Sad but true among the Malaysian motoring consumers.
      Pity you friend with huge number of dislikes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 33
      • Absolutely correct comments.
        I came across some stupid Dumb AF families all over Malaysia, whereby they only buy Honda branded cars only.
        Small car is a honda city, SUV for the wife, an UGLY CR-V, Ah Beng and Ah Lian driving civic and Jazz, and the Father driving an Accord. Narrow minded and of poor taste. Where the hell are the other brands? DumbA** AF, Jakun punya orang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 09, 2016 at 4:36 pm

Prices need to come down. In US, a CBU Made Corolla (Altis) is hardly US$14,000. With discounts, you can get the car for US$12k even.

At this price, even the McDonalds worker can buy this car off the rack without loan with just 4 moths pay.

In Malaysia, even a doctor or lawyer need to take loan to buy at RM120k.

By the way, where is the 30% price reduction for cars promised to us?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 215 Thumb down 118
    • kzm (Member) on Dec 09, 2016 at 8:05 pm

tell me where in ASEAN u get those price..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Nocheap on Dec 09, 2016 at 10:47 pm

So why not many McD workers in USA buy brand new cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • TROLL on Dec 11, 2016 at 1:05 pm

Since i can buy a nice 2nd hand car for a couple of thousands, why buy a new one? Cost of living is high :)

• Miss Nancy on Dec 12, 2016 at 12:19 pm

Totally agreed with you. Sometimes they purposely created those character such as that kunta fellow but one thing we all dont like is to bring politic to carblog. They dont care anyway. Marketing with no ethic.

• kzm (Member) on Dec 12, 2016 at 1:16 pm

I believed paultan.org team want to be open n unbiased but some pipu here does not appreciate that by commenting nonsense.

• Top spec Altis at RM139k.

The Camry 2.0GX is RM160k.

Obviously the Camry is better value at only RM21k difference. If a buyer can afford an Altis (because he/she is not in the Vios class), can surely top up for the Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 26
    • Noh Jib on Dec 09, 2016 at 7:44 pm

Yeap stretch the budget further and get the Mazda 6 2.5l (sarcasm)

• Driving School CEO on Dec 09, 2016 at 8:28 pm

Since already can afford camry GX, might as well top up to camry hybrid
      Since already can afford camry hybrid, surely can top up for C250
      Since already can afford mercedes, might as well one shot go for dream car in the end from altis top up until LaFerrari FXXK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
    • johorian on Dec 10, 2016 at 11:03 am

buy accord close care..

• Some women drivers prefer smaller cars to drive even though they can afford a Camry. Not everyone is like you dude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • actually..my father had an altis , and yes..absolutely its a comfortable car , i showed the camry n he hate it…he bought an accord too before buying the altis , n said to me that he need a smaller car which suits him well..so i think now its depends on someone’s taste..people now like to comment that this car bad or bla bla bla…saying its too horrible..not worth it…but they actually dont feel it…beauty is in the one of the beholder…he like, he have money , he buy…simple…just sharing what i thought..cheers

• Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 09, 2016 at 4:41 pm

I just came out from Nissan showroom. A brand New Nissan Teana with 6 airbags, VSC and big screen DVD and Reverse Camera is RM123k OTR. This is after discounts. All pondans who will dispute this figure please call Nissan PJ and ask yourself.

Why would I buy a small C segment junk car for RM121k when I can get a huge 2.0 Sedan from Nissan?

UMW is so sneaky, they are charging extra RM6k for DVD and Reverse Camera?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 269 Thumb down 22
    • Jimmy on Dec 09, 2016 at 6:12 pm

I repeated this point a couple of times already. I still see people buying Altis and Civic, pitiful la these people. Teana is a much better car than any one of them.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 24
      • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 10, 2016 at 11:27 am

Don’t forget also, in the Teana, leather seat, Bluetooth, hdmi, wifi, smartphone connectivity, cruise contral all standard.

In Altis, all this must pay extra ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
      • teana for old person

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
    • Albert on Dec 09, 2016 at 9:25 pm

Kunta,
      UMW…THE CHAMPION PRICE HIKE SPECIALIST IN BOLEHLAND
      Price MAXIMISATION strategy with bare tulang specs.
      The car distributor with little morals apart from profits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • camtakpro on Dec 14, 2016 at 2:33 pm

Sorry bro. UMWT no price hike and some more facelift + free airbags & VSC.

Because their price already hiked so much that they can even give discount and still profit like shit.

Pity those fools pay RM3900 for VSC bulat bulat cheat by UMWT and now got no refund and even more RV reduction for their older Altis.

Pro tips: Continue not buying Altis. Soon will have DVD-AVN + reverse camera + in-car cam recorder across all models.

Pro tips 2: Even with all those above, continue not buying Altis. Soon will have cruise control and & rear aircon vent across all models.

Pro tips 3: Even with all those above. And because you saving up so much by not buying Altis, you end up able to afford something better. lol

• Kuntil on Dec 10, 2016 at 12:08 pm

Bro, i spent time and effort to go to the showroom snd enquire on this deal. Guess what. Noweher close to what u claimed. Showed the salesman your comment and he said impossble to get that price. Such an idiot i am to listen to a whiny online troll like you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Pec r on Dec 11, 2016 at 11:24 am

Which showroom ya…the one here all said no such price

• wluqman on Dec 09, 2016 at 4:42 pm

I know that “digital clock” is your trademark toyota, but damn its ugly.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 6
    • Kelvin on Dec 09, 2016 at 11:02 pm

Not just the clock the entire dashboard look like shit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • camtakpro on Dec 14, 2016 at 2:35 pm

Similar feeling on the dashboard, felt like low spec Honda City. Weird, odd and empty.

• Tiger88 on Dec 09, 2016 at 4:43 pm

shameless only to introduced again n again face-lift with more plactic .don’t knw what else to do to compete with others

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • This is the first time this model is facelifted. Obviously you don’t know anything about cars. Carmakers will introduced an all new model at one time, and within 2-3 years will launch the facelift model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Aero (Member) on Dec 09, 2016 at 4:47 pm

Wow ! This red colour looks… ‘different’ ! For some reason, this reminds me of those pink coloured Corollas that Mary Kay uses… you know, the ones near Digital Mall in PJ ? If you’ve ever seen one, I’m sure you know what I mean … a very ‘unusual’ colour, right ? haha

Red is not a colour you’d expect to see on a Corolla Altis (or Camry). I believe this is the very first time UMW Toyota has given us red paint on their Altis. Please correct me if I’m wrong.

Anyway, I strongly commend UMWT for making 7 airbags and VSC standard in the new Altis (and Camry too). It’s a good move, and it will serve them well in the coming years.

Now that the ‘safety gap’ between UMWT and Honda Malaysia has narrowed… what will happen next ? Will HMSB bring in Honda Sensing sooner than expected ? We’ll see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
    • camtakpro on Dec 14, 2016 at 2:44 pm

I believe the red paint code name is 3R3. It is available long time already in other country. It is so boring even Camry in Malaysia doesn’t have this – this color looks good on it.

There is also a similar red paint for Nissan which looks superb on Sylphy and Teana but not available here.

The most horrible red is the one currently available on Honda City wtf Hero Red.

• passion on Dec 09, 2016 at 4:47 pm

o dear. i wish prices could be lower please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Honda Sucks on Dec 09, 2016 at 4:50 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 129
  • CarLover on Dec 09, 2016 at 4:50 pm

looks cheapo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 6
  • Honda Sucks on Dec 09, 2016 at 4:51 pm

Best in comfort, safety and reliability. Much love

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 95
  • Mikey on Dec 09, 2016 at 4:51 pm

Frankly speaking, if i have a choice B4 i bought the pre-facelift Altis 3 years ago, I would have bought the Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid.

The Ioniq looks better/sportier especially with the 17-inch wheels while my Altis(1.8G) have only a 16-inch wheels.

I’m NOT even going to mention the Top spec Ioniq that cost only RM 111 k that come with all those Premium features that will shame even the 2.0V spec car.

I’m not saying the Altis is a bad car. It has served me & my family well & it has perform up to my expectation but for the price of 121 – 139k, i think the Ioniq is more value for your hard earn $$$.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 6
    • DANIEL on Dec 09, 2016 at 11:39 pm

Yes,Ioniq seems like God send until the DCT gearbox broke down and your new car has to be towed to the workshop to wait months for spares. The Germans(VW) and even the Japanese(Honda Fit) has issues with DCT. You think the Koreans can beat them? Think again. Also have to keep car for life unless you are prepare to lose big time in Korean and Hybrid resale value. Even the Japanese Hybrid Toyota Prius has bad resale value in M’sia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
    • Bro, Malaysians are extremely obsessed with HONDA and brand cautious. Not many appreciate Hyundai vehicles here in bolehland. They think you are an idiot for buying Korean branded cars due to low resale value.
      Most of them are blinded by Honda’s Brand image and powerful marketing strategies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • Civic 1.5 T on Dec 09, 2016 at 4:53 pm

Why go for this when civic already at a whole new level in every aspect

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 14
  • mEGANE on Dec 09, 2016 at 4:54 pm

Haha , pity those suckers who buy this . Look at the interior quality and design . So drab and cheap looking , this would have looked ok in 2011 .

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 6
  • Huh?? Buy Civic better unless toyota give $30K discount la

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 6
  • Jonn Dol on Dec 09, 2016 at 5:00 pm

The center console looks seriously empty (dull).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
  • Rich and Famous on Dec 09, 2016 at 5:08 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 125
    • U r right thats why i see more BMW F30 than altis and Camry.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 7
  • Kinte bin kunta on Dec 09, 2016 at 5:09 pm

Who wants to buy corolla? Still not turbocharged, outdated engine and CVT transmission which is not at all enjoyable to drive. What suspension this car has? Not too sure. Multilink suspension is the best you can get and the Jetta has that. I would rather buy a Civic or a Jetta than this corolla.. You see very few corollas on the road these days. Sales are really bad and the corolla is not selling well.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 20
  • nottoyotafans on Dec 09, 2016 at 5:14 pm

still overpriced with boring interior design.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 2
  • We want Langkawi car prices on Dec 09, 2016 at 5:16 pm

MEANING ALL THESE WHILE THEY WANT TO SAVE COST AND SUCK THEIR CUSTOMERS? Current Corolla and Camry owners, do you feel cheated?

VIOS 1.5J (AT)
    RM79,800 Peninsula price
    RM66,641 Langkawi price
    You are paying RM13,159 or 16.49% more to the government, to UMW Toyota marked up Peninsular price, its dealers and Sam Loo.

ALTIS 2.0V
    RM138,900 Peninsula price.
    RM90,405 Langkawi price.
    You are paying RM48,495 or 34.91% more to the government, to UMW Toyota marked up Peninsular price, its dealers and Sam Loo.

ALTIS 1.8G
    RM123,900 Peninsula price.
    RM83,595 Langkawi price.
    You are paying RM40,305 or 32.53% more to the government, to UMW Toyota marked up Peninsular price, its dealers and Sam Loo.

ALTIS 1.8E
    RM120,900 Peninsula price
    RM80,591 Langkawi price
    You are paying RM40,309 or 33.34% more to the government, to UMW Toyota marked up Peninsular price, its dealers and Sam Loo.

CAMRY 2.0E CKD
    RM152,900 Peninsula price.
    RM105,720 Langkawi price.
    You are paying RM47,180 or 44.63% more to the government, to UMW Toyota marked up Peninsular price, its dealers and Sam Loo.

CAMRY 2.0GX CKD
    RM159,900 Peninsula price.
    RM110,720 Langkawi price.
    You are paying RM49,880 or 45.34% more to the government, to UMW Toyota marked up Peninsular price, its dealers and Sam Loo.

CAMRY 2.5 HYBRID CKD
    RM164,900 Peninsula price.
    RM156,219 Langkawi price.
    You are paying RM8,681 or 5.56% more to the government, to UMW Toyota marked up Peninsular price, its dealers and Sam Loo.

CAMRY 2.5 HYBRID CKD
    RM174,900 Peninsula price.
    RM165,668 Langkawi price.
    You are paying RM9,232 or 5.57% more to the government, to UMW Toyota marked up Peninsular price, its dealers and Sam Loo.

I HIGHLY doubt that they MARKUP the price on its hybrid Camry. How could the Camry Hybrid be RM50,000 more than the Camry 2.0? Meaning they’re still making FAT profit margins!

Anyway you pay less tax for Honda Accord 2.0 base VTi is cheaper by RM8,100 which also have VSC and TC.

HONDA ACCORD 2.0 VTi CKD
    RM144,800 Peninsula price.
    RM109,610 Langkawi price.
    You are paying RM35,190 or 32.10% more to the government, to Honda Malaysia and its dealers.

HONDA ACCORD 2.0 VTi-L CKD
    RM153,800 Peninsula price.
    RM117,650 Langkawi price.
    You are paying RM36,150 or 30.73% more to the government, to Honda Malaysia and its dealers.

HONDA ACCORD 2.4 VTi-L CKD
    RM172,800 Peninsula price.
    RM129,390 Langkawi price.

You are paying RM43,410 or 33.55% more to the government, to Honda Malaysia and its dealers.
    QUESTION… Why is that the base Camry is RM3,890 cheaper than the base Accord in Langkawi?

CAMRY 2.0E CKD – RM105,720
    HONDA ACCORD 2.0 VTi CKD – RM109,610

But in Peninsula the base Camry is RM8,100 more expensive than the base Accord
    CAMRY 2.0E CKD – RM152,900
    HONDA ACCORD 2.0 VTi CKD – RM144,800

So UMW Toyota is caught OVERCHARGING its customers again?

Are we being OVERCHARGED by car manufacturers?

STOP BUYING NEW CARS!
    The fact that they’re slowly reducing their car prices meaning they’re on panic mode.

Good! This is working.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 17
    • Hot dog on Dec 10, 2016 at 9:56 am

Bro.. …i sokong you !

• Camry 2.5 Hybrid is a local assemble hybrid car with tax redemption by the government, same goes to Hyundai Ionic.

• Frankly it is a good looking car but not so on the interior and pricing.Yeah STOP praising UMW for giving 7 Airbags, VSC bla bla…they are doing this because the sales has dwindled.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 4
  • Doc Sin on Dec 09, 2016 at 5:21 pm

Get a Mazda 3 instead, really, save yourself some money and wait for the 2017 facelifted model with G-Vectoring. I’m not a Mazda salesman, just saying, it’s got more power (162hp), and a proper 6 speed gearbox.

and come on, Toyota, you call that an interior?
    Really, I mean, like dude, really?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
  • Almighty Snack Bar on Dec 09, 2016 at 5:22 pm

At last, Toyota woke up after years of self denial. Thank you Toyota. Now we don’t have to get Honda for full safety features anymore. Hail Toyota. BS BQ QC of Honda BS Malaysia. Horrible cars with bullshit quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 41
  • Neubay on Dec 09, 2016 at 5:23 pm

Better get a German car than a corolla. German cars are very solid, safe and powerful. I prefer the Jetta than a corolla. Toyota cars lack features and very expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 15
    • camtakpro on Dec 14, 2016 at 2:41 pm

No doubt continental feels good and they are very safe as most of the time in service centre.

Alternative: get 1 continental during massive discount. The discount saved get a Saga for backup.

Japanese C/D segments, or even B segments, are slowly reaching to a point of neither here nor there. So why not just buy one that is ‘there’, and another backup that is ‘here’.

• I’d go for Civic & Ioniq looks way stylish, got a new technology in terms of safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 4
  • Not worth the price. Reverse camera to pay for extra? Civic is brand new car while this is just a facelife. Rm120k for full spec ok la, rm138k + options sorry la…UMW is killing Toyota brand in malaysia. Sure the japanese guys are pening in Japan.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
  • if you’re feeling nostalgic with the old taxi interior, then, go ahead, the corolla might be your thing….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • SyoikBudget Malaysia on Dec 09, 2016 at 5:56 pm

Enjoy the interior luxuries, especially the plastic and plasticky dashboard of Altis….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
    • Noh Jib on Dec 09, 2016 at 7:48 pm

Yeap reminiscent of the plastic baskets we see at pasar malam . Hahaha .OMG UMW . Korean car was like this 10 years ago .

• H.Civic on Dec 09, 2016 at 6:00 pm

My civic still look better than corolla.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
  • Ben Yap on Dec 09, 2016 at 6:02 pm

still too expensive.

i can get a civic 1.5T with better specs for RM125K…. smaller capacity, better performance….

want to give a better deal, give it wholeheartedly. don’t give but still not willing.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 4
  • tkhengong on Dec 09, 2016 at 6:35 pm

Was at Toyota to collect my Fortuner after service. Checked out this facelift Altis and I must admit it looked very premium in the flesh compared to the old. But, will wait for CH-R!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • Patek on Dec 09, 2016 at 7:50 pm

That digital watch reminds me of 1980 Casio watches that kids adored .

• Lpost on Dec 09, 2016 at 7:59 pm

Still using ‘punai handbrake’, what a shame.

• camtakpro on Dec 09, 2016 at 9:12 pm

So will UMWT refund those being con by the RM3900 safety package?

Meanwhile Perodua says increase price due to currency exchange rate. Wow, this Altis not only remain at the same price, they even add in VSC and more air bags.

So in 2018 Perodua will offer top-up RM3900 for safety package and then will mention in the press that people prefer not to have safety.

tl;dr; All these price increase drama are clearly fueled by sales & greed, not currency exchange.

• smartguy on Dec 09, 2016 at 9:21 pm

any retard will buy this over new civic??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • That 2.0V spec no DRL ???

• Wahahahanoha on Dec 09, 2016 at 10:28 pm

Since the dvd avn/avx , reverse cam thingy is optional across the range. Is there any picture of the original headunit? Tried searching over for one at toyota malaysia’s website and there isnt any either(all shown with optional package).. Too shameful to show off ei?

• Kelvin on Dec 09, 2016 at 11:07 pm

The ugly plasticky interior spoilt everything.

• Umw pls revise ur pricing..damn expnsive..pls consider buyer rather ur pockets

• idealtech on Dec 10, 2016 at 9:17 am

This ultraman rear eyed car must cease its production. That dash is hideous. Bezza or Persona both of then have way way better dash. Buy this corolla is no different with that pasar malam Hilux

• idealtech on Dec 10, 2016 at 9:18 am

This ultraman rear eyed car must cease its production. That dash is hideous. Bezza or Persona both of them have way way better dash. Buy this corolla is no different with that pasar malam Hilux

• john is otak batu on Dec 13, 2016 at 10:17 am

pasar malam using hilux? oi.. mabuk kaa.. hahaha

pasar malam using either vanette or liteace. or delica. why they need 4×4 for pasar malam duties? stupid.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 10, 2016 at 10:20 am

Don’t get a new sushi.

Go straight to a kimchi showroom to book an elantra instead.

Can’t wait for you to show up at my showroom within a year and beg me to trade it in for you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • old horse on Dec 10, 2016 at 10:59 am

for once, whatever lift from UMW also cannot lift sales…LOL..

• Gunter on Dec 10, 2016 at 12:02 pm

This is actually quite a looker from toyota. Surprising

• Kinte bin kunta on Dec 10, 2016 at 3:01 pm

These days no one buys the Altis. The civic or the Jetta is a better C segment car. The Altis is outdated with NA engine and CVT transmission which doesn’t at all feel good. No wonder sales are dwindling.

• karam singh on Dec 13, 2016 at 10:05 am

in what way does Altis engine is outdated?

SOHC?

carburettor?

8 valve? 3 speed auto??

no u moron. it is not outdated. only no turbo. but that is only in malaysia. in 2003 toyota caldina has a turbocharger. at that time no honda cars have a turbocharger at all. not city, not jazz, not civic, not integra, not nsx, not accord. even 1992 toyota celica has turbo as a standard feature. on the toyota starlet.

• wow.. How I wish to be an all 100% genuine T supporter like this. But meh.. if My pipu still did’t realize how much UMW con before from this Altis alone, I don’t know what to say.

• Nissan Teana or Mazda 3 is much better option compared to this overpriced garbage.

• C. P. MOHAN on Dec 10, 2016 at 5:51 pm

It is not the taxes we pay to purchase a car but also the other added ownership cost like toll, license, road-tax, servicing, repairs, insurance and fuel. Not against such expense but hope to see more EFFECTIVE USAGE.

• Neinnnnn! on Dec 10, 2016 at 9:42 pm

I rather buy top spec Perdana than this overprice garbage eventhough im not a Proton fan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
    • Civic Pls on Dec 12, 2016 at 7:17 pm

Perdana interior failed…. 90s interior??? Better go for civic looks better..

• Someone here said it retro looking.

• camtakpro on Dec 14, 2016 at 2:51 pm

Retro looking should be analogue clock with analogue dials, round aircond vents with some chrome highlights.

Square, triangle or trapezoid are not retro shapes. So is hard black plastic.

• New wave on Dec 10, 2016 at 10:04 pm

People’s perception of Toyota has really changed these days. I couldn’t agree more. Why choose the Altis when you can get better cars such as the latest civic or Jetta with your hard earned money and better driving pleasure. Seriously I don’t expect to see Toyota achieving its sales target for this outdated overpriced car. Safety wise it’s fine now, but it loses out considerably in other very important areas. I don’t expect to see this ‘new’ Altis on our roads. Today I see only the latest civic, Mazda 3 and Jetta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Annoynimouse on Dec 11, 2016 at 10:04 am

In this segment, I’ll only consider Civic, Mazda 3, or perhaps the VW Jetta. Hard to choose the Corolla. It does look better than the previous Altis, but that’s only because the Altis was downright ugly.

• Civic Pls on Dec 12, 2016 at 7:18 pm

Mazda 3 or Civic lol… mazda interior space not so good….

• ex-VGM staff on Dec 13, 2016 at 10:01 am

do you know that you can buy a 3 years old Jetta for 50-60k? that is so value for money. go buy.

• Bernard on Dec 12, 2016 at 11:43 am

Looks like a ‘Ah Beng/Ah Lian’ car!

But you cant go wrong with a Toyota. Its the best car brand in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Taknaktoyota on Dec 12, 2016 at 11:12 pm

Best brand? If so, why still got stiff competition with other brands?

• Bernard, do yourself a favour. Go and ask any used car dealer, they are having so many unsold Altis and Camry in their yards, I guess only their vios is the only model which is selling well, but isn’t the city too? I bet customer’s sentiment is right. Altis and Camry is simply just not the hot selling cars anymore. If Japanese cars are concerned, I’ll go for the civic or wait for the new Mazda 3, hope it will be a turbocharged skyactiv. I will also seriously consider the Jetta, its superior in terms of technology and safety and yes the CKD models here assembled since 2014 are reliable cars. Just my 2 cents.

• Gear lever knob not included. Looks like an add-on option.

• vengeful_revenge on Dec 23, 2016 at 2:37 pm

To those Korean fans, your products can no longer sell nowadays since raptor & I stopped feeding strategies to Korean cars company. They failed to market Korean cars since 2014 and worst at 2015 and bottom now, relied on throwing very cheap price but still can’t sell better than Japanese. Under my help back then, Korean managed to fight Japanese head on in 2011-2013 where Elantra 1.8 priced at RM112-115k range.

Korean cars are considered more advanced than P1, that’s why the new Cerato is priced at Japanese C-segment price range now. Altis have to follow the new ruling too, that is why priced so high for being CBU from Thailand. Civic gets to retain price because it’s CKD local.

Altis in overall is good car, despite being priced higher it could still outsell Korean cars.

• Chikukunya on Jul 14, 2017 at 12:15 pm

I bought this car. I regret. Well it is better than my wira I bought at 49k many years ago but I didnt feel like a fool bcos wira was the best at that price. This altis is a substandard car. I felt cheated and stupid buying this.

• Chikukunya on Jul 14, 2017 at 12:13 pm

Pay rm121k for a car that you cannot manually off the lights.

• jackson on Feb 02, 2018 at 12:16 am

How come we don’t get the Corolla SE that comes with the 6-speed manual?