More AES cameras at crash hotspots – Liow Tiong Lai

Additional Automated Enforcement System (AES) cameras will be installed at seven crash hotspots, according to Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai in a report by Sin Chew Daily via The Sun.

The cameras will be set up within Kampar, Perak, as well as Pagoh, Johor, and could be fitted in more areas as well. However, Liow denied claims on social media that more than 200 AES cameras will be installed throughout nationwide. He added that the AES system has never been cancelled and the existing 14 AES cameras are still in operation.

He did say that non-governmental organisations, highway authorities, and local governments have requested for these cameras to be installed at interchanges and traffic light junctions where accidents happened regularly, although did not disclose further details.

“The Transport Ministry installs AES cameras only at the request of local governments, non-governmental organisations and the public, and not according to its own whims,” he said. On a related matter, Liow stated that the AES has been incorporated into the Automated Awareness Safety System (AWAS), which also includes the Kejara demerit points programme.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 09, 2017 at 1:33 pm

Can have even more AES cameras also no point lah. Go to balai want to pay your saman, automatically the sergeant call you to the back room and ask you himself whether you want to settle.

RM50 semua selesai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
    • As long as offenders pay, so tak kesah.

• nabill2 on Jan 09, 2017 at 2:09 pm

How to believe a post from a guy that is bla bla bla. Sakit lor bang

• anonymous on Jan 09, 2017 at 3:13 pm

(in front) Har, yes, we need install AES to reduce accident.
      (at the back) Hoho, more $ coming in.

• Faiz Roslan on Jan 09, 2017 at 1:49 pm

Good initiative by the government.

if the people are too stubborn to be disciplined on the road, then tougher enforcement and monitoring are needed. for the gov, saving lives are more important, and they have to painfully implement this to send the msg across even though the majority may think gov is trying to get more money from the the ppl, which is absolutely not true. the money will be reinvested for better safety measures to keep our road safe.

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 49
    • Kunta Kinte on Jan 09, 2017 at 1:55 pm

Anybody can monitor the RM2.6 bil stolen?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jan 09, 2017 at 3:16 pm

Too much TV3 Utusan TV Al Hijrah Astro Ria and Kosmo in your head lah. – Engr. Abang Alza Pakai Topi DipEng BEng MEng PhD FIMechE

• Ah Kow on Jan 09, 2017 at 4:39 pm

Oh poor Faiz… have you been brainwashed or you are one of “them”. Your comments shows how “katak di bawah tempurung” you are. Too naive bro, too naive, don’t let the fabricated news fool you. Wake up

• If u belip this guy, then reverse psychology by Party Hard trolls r winrar.
        #PostTruth

• Sam Jamal Loo on Jan 09, 2017 at 10:29 pm

if the people are too stubborn to be disciplined on the road, looks like i need to expand my ‘afterlife package to Hell’ business. Oh ya, this afterlife package is already FOC for all purchase of brand new Pookedua pepsi cola can sport cars. Just need to hurry up to Pookedua showroom and buy their cars now so that lots of Malaysian motorists bastards can go ‘there’ faster as well as to achieve their big boss KPI for their personal 24 months bonus.

• WOI! Early afterlife package is exclusive for my Biza! And only I can sell this combo package! Jangan curi sales aku!

• YES! Moar cameras! Lay down the law on those who thinks breaking the law means show middle finger to Gov. The Gov shud mean business.

• horryooi on Jan 09, 2017 at 2:23 pm

“The Transport Ministry installs AES cameras only at the request of local governments, non-governmental organisations and the public, and not according to its own whims,” he said

All of the above is bullshit. Just want to squeeze money from the public. In Australia they installed LED Radar speed signboard to warn motorists to slow down their speed . The radar signboard detect your speed as you approach the signboard . It shows your speed on the LED signboard. That way the government is not making any money out of you and is effective and using psychology.

refer: http://voxson.com.au/traffic-led-signs/

• OutOfTheBox on Jan 10, 2017 at 10:36 am

after the car passed over 2 to 3 LED signboard warnings, the AES camera will take over when a driver failed to comply. So that confirmed breaking the law.

• Liow Tiong Lai: Worst transport minister ever

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jan 09, 2017 at 3:40 pm

How I wish there is an AES system which detects corruption and capture the culprit with evidence (photo, video, sound etc) regardless of his/her position or status.

• Hot dog on Jan 09, 2017 at 6:02 pm

Ya….all ministers car and thier familys car pass thru, the AES system immediated flash light and siren bip bip bip bip . Hahaha!

• chris on Jan 09, 2017 at 4:27 pm

does AES really deter accidents? bullshit, is a money making machine for the gov agency. you expect me to vote you MCA in again, forget it man. place 1000 AES camera for all I care. i rather pay the summon than to vote you in.

• Ariff on Jan 09, 2017 at 5:50 pm

Unlike most people here I’m going to support this. But more importantly is real enforcement and real regulation. If you saman please send a notice letter to the offender quickly. Not months later. And please do not give discounts if offender waits for more than 6 months to settle. Malaysians are a spoiled lot. We wanna drive fast, run red lights, park anywhere, use emergency lanes, weave in and out of traffic, but God forbid we have to pay summons. This is not how a civilised nation behaves. I’ve seen many ex msians driving in Australia and they change within weeks of living and driving there. Why? Because of Real enforcement, not cakap cakap like our gov – flip flop all the way sebab takut affect election. Then Theres also an effective demerit system that the oz have that keeps everyone in check. A government that cares will implement what they say and not just give promises. If its to save life and discipline us as drivers, why not?

• Hot dog on Jan 09, 2017 at 6:16 pm

You right bro…
      They not takut affect elaction only..i can 100 % tell , something they hide inside like corrup…
      Sendiri tak clean how to order peoples to follow….

• Ariff on Jan 09, 2017 at 10:59 pm

Thanks but let me just add that Just because we don’t support the current government does not mean we can break the law. We still need to be civilised and law abiding regardless.

• 100% Janji Capati on Jan 09, 2017 at 8:07 pm

If 2.6 billion oso can lesap…..

What can cameras be of use, honestly??

• no aes on Jan 10, 2017 at 1:03 pm

Distance/time = velocity
    Time= time out – time in

Then saman n immediately pay je on the spot, else cant go put the toll. No need spend rakyat money to install AES.