Malaysia vehicle sales data for Jan 2017 by brand – Honda down 25%, Hyundai up 93.4%, VW up 58%

The first month of 2017 hasn’t been an encouraging one for the automotive industry, with sales volume decreasing by 31% from December 2016, mirroring the previous December 2015/January 2016 pattern.

Even so, January 2017 saw a slight gain with a total of 44,667 vehicles sold, compared to 44,589 in the same month last year. For a better insight on how each brand performed compared to the month prior, here’s the latest data from the Malaysian Automotive Association.

Leading the crowd is Perodua with 14,203 units sold, representing a 42.3% decrease from from December 2016. Meanwhile, Proton only suffered a 0.2% drop in sales, shifting 7,207 units in January compared to 7,223 in December 2016.

Moving on to the non-national makes, Honda remained comfortable in second place with 8,594 units, a 25% drop from the 11,461 units it sold in the last month of 2016. Other brands that saw a decrease in sales include Toyota (-20.9%), Nissan(-67.6%), Lexus (-64%) and Volvo (-82.4%).

On the other hand, Mercedes-Benz saw a 4.6% increase in vehicles sold, with 928 units, joined by Mazda with 804 units (+33.3%). Other gainers include Hyundai with 582 units (+93,4%), likely due to the introduction of the new Ioniq, and Volkswagen with 327 units (+58%).

Click on the table below to view an enlarged version.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• ikuzus on Feb 23, 2017 at 4:17 pm

suzuki:”…………”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • John Geli on Feb 23, 2017 at 5:22 pm

Proton target 2017 each month sales = 10,000 cars.

• Better Close Down Proton on Feb 23, 2017 at 10:26 pm

2015 Proton sold only 105,000 cars. Gomen got really mad and warned them to buck up.

2016, despite introducing 4 new cars, Proton could only sell 72,000

2017, looks like Proton can only sell 50,000 cars at this rate.

When will it end?

• The 4 cars launched in the second half of the 2016 year.

And if you look at Dec’16 against Jan ’17 numbers, Proton managed to more or less maintain the total units sold.

If they maintain “at this rate” as you put it, they’re going to sell more than 85,000 units for 2017. That’s definitely more than the 50,000.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Feb 23, 2017 at 8:46 pm

Proton managed to stand still…kudos

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Feb 23, 2017 at 8:48 pm

Lexus down by 20% but still better and wayyyy ahead than audi and volvo combined…kudos

• Anything but P1 on Feb 23, 2017 at 4:19 pm

No woman, no cry
    No new car, no cry
    Good job guys!
    We don’t need to buy new cars
    If you have to…
    Remember, don’t pay full price!
    Discounts, clearance comes later

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 208 Thumb down 1
    • Mikey on Feb 23, 2017 at 5:21 pm

Yes, let those old stocks be sold at Big discounts or else DON’T buy. If they play hard ball by holding onto their price, we say BYE BYE 2 show consumers have the power 2 choose what/when 2 buy or not 2 buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
      • no takata on Feb 24, 2017 at 9:31 am

As above

• Prabanathan Loo on Feb 24, 2017 at 8:01 pm

Agreed with ‘hold purchase’ decision even if i can afford it, then the brand new Myvee 1.5SE, Iriz 1.6 Exec or Persona 1.6 basic (all manual) can be get at below RM45k (RM40k for me is even better).

• In another words, P1 is holding steady while others fall. Hyundai has ioniq trump card.

Meanwhile Volvo China sold as much cars as Volvo Sweden sold their trucks (which is much much more expensive than cars).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • tokmoh. on Feb 23, 2017 at 4:22 pm

Maslan : rakyat dah tak beli proton, perodua, tapi beli Hyundai, Mercedes, VW, Mazda (walaupun naik harga like cb), mana ada rakyat terjejas?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • why is there no Ferrari in the list? Lambo has 1… anyone can comment abt this

• alldisc on Feb 23, 2017 at 9:26 pm

Look properly and one can note that Naza groups is suffering badly. Kia, peugoet and Chevrolet accumulated sales are about 500 units a month – I believe hardly at break even point. And wait. Citroen is not even in the list.

Audi and jaguar are doing poorly too. Hyundai is up by double but actual figure increase is only about 200 units. So much so for sime Darby group.

• leehoongui on Feb 23, 2017 at 4:43 pm

Wow. Dint expect Perodua to fall hard even after Bezza launch. They need new model asap. Myvi, Axia, Bezza is not enough to hold them forever. Customer is changing and moving.

Meanwhile for Proton. It is shocking to see their sale only drop 0.2%
    That is a good sign. Their car are now start to sell. No joke. New Persona is now can be seen everwhere. Good package with good price. Refine and quiet cabin too. Good job Proton.

Consumer start to buy Proton back after taste and buy other brand like japs, conti or Perodua for 10 years. It is normal. Sometime people want try other brand. If buy Proton want test Honda. Drive Honda want to test Toyota. Own toyota wanna test VW. At the end, their next product purchase would be the one that they feel the best. Owning an experience. Its no surprice seeing a BMW owner drive a Proton as a second car.

Even me after buying a RM140k toyotas, my second new car is now Suprima s. I can tell you. The driving experience is huge in difference. The ride and handling of Proton is in another world. Very solid and enjoyable. Car with a character. Thumbs

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 50
    • Not Toyota Fan on Feb 23, 2017 at 5:24 pm

Dude, that is seriously some good weed you have there. Most people I know are “once bitten, twice shy” come to P1. The horrible experience is something most do not wish to re-encounter again. Many prefer to go P2 or sacrifice by paying more for a Japanese smaller segment. Nobody, I repeat, Nobody ever said “I aspire to buy a Proton again”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 20
      • I wud, if only they had a bigger sized replacement for my Gen2 with 2L CPS engine and 6spd manual with Preve safety features.

• This is one of the lamest post I have seen.

Proton sales still as low as ever despite launching 4 new models recently. 4 models dude. 4 new models is nowhere near Perodua and Honda 1 model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
    • “Car with a character”?

Hahahahhaaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
    • Proton better than BMW / Mercedes / Audi? on Feb 23, 2017 at 6:56 pm

bro, kamu ni proton salesman ke? masih nak disgais pernah beli Toyota altis!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • Colin Wong on Feb 23, 2017 at 9:14 pm

Don’t be too fast to dismiss his comment. My wife and I drive conti cars. We also have a Persona (previous gen) at home. While failing in finishing, the handling and drive is better than an Altis that I had for 2 weeks in Melbourne which I drove around Victoria. I have not driven a Suprima but I suppose it cant be worse off.

• JasonX on Feb 23, 2017 at 9:40 pm

Another way to see this is…..proton sales does not matter got promo or no promo… cos few people cares. The only people who buy don’t even know the difference between a good deal and a bad one.

• camtakpro on Feb 23, 2017 at 9:41 pm

That’s the Proton problem. You need to own a Honda/Toyota/Nissan, then only you are comfortable to own Proton. Otherwise no car how to do business or go to work right?

• Mohammad Hafiz Abdul Rahim on Feb 23, 2017 at 5:03 pm

i hope we sell less new cars. we have too many cars on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Prabanathan Loo on Feb 24, 2017 at 8:09 pm

Yes, and almost all new cars sold in this country are ‘dog shit automataik’ transmission that consists of brandished 4-speed crap E-AT, CVTaik and dry clutch dual clutch that EZee to breakdown.

• C. P. MOHAN on Feb 23, 2017 at 5:16 pm

Surprised a bit because Dec/Jan are the peak sales months, because of YE-Discounts and CNY. My concern however is (Feb-May) before HR and (Jul-Nov) after HR anyway let see.

• GeneralHoho on Feb 23, 2017 at 5:33 pm

A shame KIA still like that. They introduced quite good models but priced high with less goodies.

• eddie on Feb 24, 2017 at 10:42 am

which model ? isn’t all cars in Malaysia are price high with less goodies ? give examples which model is cheap and loaded with goodies and will be the judge to that

• GeneralHoho on Feb 24, 2017 at 11:41 am

Forte, full of goodies below 100K, even for the highest spec.

• dickvandyke on Feb 23, 2017 at 5:37 pm

Wow, Ford only sold 44 passenger cars. Thats less than Porsche sales for January. Ford better come in direct. Sime Darby not doing a good job. I have yet to see a new Ford registered passenger car in more than 6 months.

• waters on Feb 24, 2017 at 8:36 am

That’s because Ford cars su*k. They produce crap after their partnership with Mazda ended. If it wasn’t for the Ranger, can bungkus already. Also, there is virtually no reason to buy a Ford when you can get a Mazda 2, Honda Civic or a BMW 318i (or even a Passat) for the same price as their Fiesta, Focus and Mondeo respectively.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Malaysian Driver on Feb 24, 2017 at 10:12 am

Reason for Ford’s abysmall performance in passenger cars :

1) powershift dry clutch , almost single handlely kill the brand in Malaysia.

2) inefficient stocks availability. Back in 2010-2012, owners have to wait for a long time just to get simple parts replaced. Though things has improved since then, words of mouth had had done it’s damaged.

3) Consumer ‘s mentality which equates Ford = always break down, no spare parts , expensive maintenance.

Sime Darby has to wake up, the era where Fiesta and Focus sold in droves is long gone. The facelifted Focus, is by every account, a better car then the 10th gen Civic (minus the interior space), but compare the sales figure between these two, you know what I mean. Mention the word “Ford Focus” to any car buyers, they will immediately being scared away saying “powershift dry clutch” even though the facelifted Focus now uses a slushbox to move the 180 horses beneath it’s hood. I have driven both the 10gen turbo Civic
      and the facelifted Focus. The Focus, trumped Civic in all the driving departments minus it’s practicality.

Just like VW, they only know how to sell cars but not knowing how to maintain customer’s satisfaction. After sales services could kill your sales, if you screw it up, and VW, Ford, and other conti brands are paying the price in Malaysia.

• Mikey on Feb 23, 2017 at 5:51 pm

Despite a slowdown, there is still a Chap who bought a Lambo. He/She Must be immune to slow down. Maybe he got a windfall from Arab donor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Proton breakdown 7200 units: of which 3000 is Suzuki. Actual figure delivered is only 1500 while remaining is sold to dealers but not delivered to buyers and sits at dealers yard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • When? on Feb 23, 2017 at 7:56 pm

Proton’s sales are for the most part steady but they can’t remain within that figure alone before it gets stagnant. If they want to see the curve rise to their favor, they should quickly work on an enhaced, facelifted Iriz. That way, they’ll have 4 main models making up the bulk of sales (Iriz, Persona, Saga, Ertiga) and maybe we’ll see their sales reach more than 8000 per month. The question is, when will Proton pull the trigger on that?

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Feb 24, 2017 at 8:12 am

Wrong, Proton needs a decent size SUV & replacement for C class Preve.

• When? on Feb 26, 2017 at 1:43 am

I mean yeah, a facelifted Preve would be a nice addition to the lineup but the price point of around 75-85k it’ll be a tough sell, same thing with the SUV. I doubt sales would be in the thousands with either the Preve or the SUV, maybe 600-700 sold at best. Hence why the best route for them right now is catering to the entry level market with the 4 main models previously mentioned with some sprinkling of support from their higher segment cars. With Myvi sales dropping hard after the Bezza and Persona launch, the Alza’s lack of demand and the fact that Perodua is unlikely to release a new model until 2018, now is the perfect time for P1 to release their facelifted Iriz to provide some much needed backbone to their product line since for the most part only the Persona and Saga are making big numbers.

• Mr. Mao Huh Tang on Feb 23, 2017 at 8:39 pm

Dont just looking at car sales figures.

The crux of the matter is that more and more ppl are borrowing money from bank for hire purchase of their car. More will be on hutang, while the economy nose-diving.

• Good news, it means malaysian is getting better at managing their financial.
    It would be better if government can limit the maximum financing to 7 years.

• sick&tired on Feb 23, 2017 at 11:13 pm

naza is a bloody disgrace! in total, they only sold 488 cars (Kia+Peugeot+Chevrolet). What a bunch of jokers!

• Mr. Loba Loba on Feb 24, 2017 at 12:46 am

Someone got a new Lamborghini last month…

• thepolygonal on Feb 24, 2017 at 9:42 am

I see.. people tend to buy and try something new nowadays… I guess the Ioniq plays a huge role in that increased Hyundai sales.

Proton / Perodua, cepatlah hybrid atau terus electric… people are looking to try these now.

Give us a kurang dari RM 60k hybrid.

• Chan yik hang on Feb 24, 2017 at 12:07 pm

if 60k can buy a new hybrid car. Other brand can balik kampung already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Helix_olo on Feb 24, 2017 at 9:45 am

proton sales not effected means proton buyers is NOT from private registration