Bermaz introduces new five-year/100,000 km warranty on all Mazda models except BT-50 pick-up truck

Alongside the new Mazda CX-9, official distributor Bermaz has quietly introduced a new five-year/100,000 km warranty, up from the previous three-year coverage, although the mileage limit remains the same. This applies to all Mazda models excluding the BT-50 pick-up truck, which retains the same warranty as before.

This finally puts Mazda on par with most mainstream manufacturers in terms of warranty coverage, although it should be pointed out that its mileage limit is still below the likes of Proton and Perodua, which have a 150,000 km limit. Honda, Toyota and Nissan, on the other hand, all offer unlimited-mileage warranties, with Nissan having a class-leading seven-year coverage.

Aside from the extended warranty, Bermaz also provides a three-year/60,000 km free service package on all models (again except the BT-50), the same as before.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• For its price, they shud gip 7 year unlimited km warranty like ETCM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • TOH AH LEH on Feb 27, 2017 at 2:07 pm

I agree for the warranty period was extended for 5 years,my CX5 year 2014,hope to hear from you.

• Jimmy on Feb 27, 2017 at 2:48 pm

What about cars purchased last year? Do their warranty gets automatically refreshed?

• Skooter on Feb 27, 2017 at 2:52 pm

Bermaz is smart to do this. The Skyactiv engine and transmission is super reliable that the extra 2 years in warranty will cost them almost nothing since hardly any cars break down. On the other hand they will make more money from owners servicing their cars at their service centers instead of going outside to do it once warranty is over.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • dear bermaz please reduce your car prices ok

• RicoT on Feb 27, 2017 at 3:56 pm

The Q-85 battery is under 5 years/100,000km or 1 year/20,000km warranty? Many GS Battery comes with the car failed just slightly after 1 year, and the wiper is defective to begin with, been screeching since I got my car. Bermaz now axed the 3 years/60,000km Goodwill Extended Warranty for battery and wipers, starting 1 Feb 2017. New/old SkyActiv owners who didn’t managed to claim their battery before then, prepare to fork out RM800 for battery change almost every 1 or 2 years.

• Vincent on Feb 27, 2017 at 7:05 pm

You can get battery from Ideal Battery (FB) for RM500. Brand Varta from Johnson control

• Not Toyota Fan on Feb 27, 2017 at 4:21 pm

Bermaz should also re look into its battery warranty. As of 1 Feb 2017, one year or 20,000 km warranty, and all cars previously purchased with battery 3 years warranty is now null & void without any by your leave to existing owners. Such ungentelmanly business ethics. FYI, the replacement battery costs RM700 at Bermaz service centre. Specific battery (Q85) for the i-stop function.

• alldisc on Feb 28, 2017 at 9:49 am

Then you should be a Toyota fan. Traction battery warranty for Toyota hybrid car is 8 years – UMW announced this in 2015.

• cucuk on Feb 27, 2017 at 4:53 pm

Mazda HQ, yet to approve my mazda 6 dashboard melting claim. keep on delay and delay.

• Ben Yap on Feb 27, 2017 at 5:06 pm

for the prices they charge, even lifetime warranty also i won’t buy.

• Gaviny on Feb 27, 2017 at 6:22 pm

Their prices raised but commensurate with interior improvements and now longer warranty period. Haven’t seen any car maker do this , mostly just increase price even if locally made national car.

And I checked , even if you buy a 2016 year of make you are entitled for this , they go by date of registering not year of make . That’s really fair

• Wayne on Feb 27, 2017 at 6:56 pm

Does this include car purchased at 2016? lol

• Y U Fuk on Feb 27, 2017 at 9:49 pm

Mazda in Malaysia is highly over priced for what it is. So Bermaz the distributor is trying the ‘old warranty trick’. Question is, what makes Mazda a better vehicle than Honda, Nissan or Toyota ? Right now in Malaysia, people struggle to even get car loan approved, leave alone the cost of running the car over 5 years. Catch 22: If Mazda opens more 3S centre’s, they will have opportunities to sell more cars, which means more CKD models offered at lower prices. In a nut shell Bermaz needs to fork out capital and invest in the future, not try and get rich arse over end. Speculate to accumulate !!!!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 27, 2017 at 10:51 pm

only 3 years service…tipu

• L. Garcia on Feb 28, 2017 at 1:17 am

I had to pay for the 7 year 120,000 mile warranty on my 2016 mazda3 5 door. And they still do a bad job when i take it in for service/diagnostics

• alldisc on Feb 28, 2017 at 9:45 am

Bermaz is clever. They know average mileage for Malaysian drivers. 3 years normally done 100k. So warranty finish already.

• Tan Soon Huat on Apr 21, 2017 at 12:35 pm

Mazda BT50 Jerking until now couldn’t soft problem
    seen I complaint at 5000KM 1st service, and now the
    Battery problem just 18 month used cost RM 600+/-
    to replace it , They management said that’s already
    over guaranty is no allow to claim

May be I will send some message to Mazda Japan
    Tell them what kind of Distributor between Malaysia
    and Other country

• Aminah on Oct 04, 2018 at 1:25 pm

Bermaz is SOO clever. My cx5 only 70k for 31 months. No more free service already coz your book says 70K or 42 months which ever come early. Cheating!

• Julian on Mar 08, 2019 at 11:44 am

This is a joke right ?

The Mazda brand can’t even last 2 years without showing signs of wear and tear.