Child seat ruling may not be enforced in 2019 – Loke

The ruling on the mandatory use of child seats, which was supposed to be introduced in 2019, may not be enforced after all, according to transport minister Anthony Loke. As reported by the The Star, Loke said the Pakatan Harapan government was not bound to implement the ruling, which was made by the previous Barisan Nasional government.

“The announcement by the previous government on this matter may not be necessarily be implemented or enforced. The ministry needs to relook at the ruling and determine its practicality,” said Loke after visiting the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (Miros) in Kajang.

When the idea was first mooted, former transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai said car owners travelling with young children would be compelled to have child seats in their vehicles by 2019. He also cited parents’ lackadaisical attitude towards the use of child seat usage, and that public awareness must be prioritised and improved before any sort of enforcement can commence.

Well, whether or not the ruling comes into play, it shouldn’t deter yourself – more so if you are a parent – from going the extra mile in ensuring the safety and wellbeing of your children. Too many innocent lives have been lost from this negligence, and it’s them who are at stake, not the amount of money you have left in your bank account.

We at paultan.org strongly believe that under no condition should a child (or any individual for that matter) ever be left unsecured in a moving vehicle. Kids who weigh under 25 kg (weight is a more accurate measure than age) must be placed in a child seat (Group 0+, 1 and 2, fitted in a rear-facing position for as long a period as possible), and those under 36 kg should be secured with seat belts, together with either a booster seat or booster cushion (Group 3). These are absolute necessities, not optional.

Also, it’s crucial that they be seated in the back, and not at the front. This is to position your kids away from the front airbags in case an accident happens. You should only ever place a child seat or booster seat in the front if your car has a front passenger airbag off switch (not all cars come with this feature), but treat this as your last resort.

Of course, never hold your child on your lap when sitting in front, or worse, driving. Your arms alone won’t be enough in restraining your child in a collision, plus you would also be subjecting them to the full force of the deploying airbag. This could potentially cause the child a broken neck, a fractured skull and other severe injuries. Lest you forget, you too, will be in harm’s way.

Once again, folks, there’s no guarantee that using a child seat would save a child’s life in the event of an accident, but the chances of survival are immensely higher, that’s for sure. Let us all be a bit more proactive when it comes to the safety of our children, shall we? For a better insight into child safety seats, watch the video below.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Are they too trying to secure distributorship before implementing?

• Rajoo Selvam on Jul 19, 2018 at 6:02 pm

I think Loke is trying to clena the PDRM and JPJ officers first. Because you can have all the laws in the world, if the police office or JPJ officer lets an offender go after giving duit kopi, then no point at all.

High time we clean up JPJ and PDRM. All this duit kopi culture should go. New Government now. No more dedak please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 34
      • Eujin Low on Jul 19, 2018 at 9:00 pm

Ironically those parents riding kapchai, they wear helmet but not their own vulnerable toddlers. #MalaysianLivesMatter

• rightwinger on Jul 20, 2018 at 8:06 am

your head! cleaning up PDRM is not his job.

• kingslayer on Jul 20, 2018 at 10:45 am

typical ‘mahacai’ as they being called right now. I do not agree to the word though.

But, new Malaysia should call a spade a spade. Back tracking on safety matters should not happen, acceleration is must. PH Gov (why on earth need to mention PH Gov, just the GOV is not enough maa???) should review (asyik2 kaji, asyik2 review shj) on the pricing matters. Price of the safety equipment is the biggest stumbling block apart of educating & promoting safety.

• Missy Sasha on Jul 21, 2018 at 8:42 am

MY pipu r like kids. Spoonfeedings too long. We need to be told what to do to save our own lives. But when buy a phone priced RM500 and above, we dont need to kaji.

• Accidents dont wait until 2019.

• Pakulupapito on Jul 19, 2018 at 5:30 pm

If you can buy a phone priced RM500 and above, there are no reason for you not buying a car seat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
  • Hmm Much Hmmm on Jul 19, 2018 at 5:35 pm

To put it very plainly. Such common sense or lack of it to make use of child seats. The kids’ lives lie on the hands of their ‘smart’ parents and guardians

• Leafable on Jul 19, 2018 at 5:41 pm

More children will get kill. Education is too late for adults. Enforcement is the only way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • chiakc on Jul 19, 2018 at 5:42 pm

dear minister, i beg to differ. any good intended policy should carry on

rule by law and better enforcement will chances us for good

thanks you minister

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • It doesn’t matter, if you love your kids just do it. Why parents need an enforcer to tell us the safety of our kids???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • MY pipu r like kids. They need to be told what to do cuz they cannot think for themselves or their famili. Deswai they went for diktator who tells them what to do for 22 years.

• I have 3 kids, but I have 5 seats in total: 1 up to 12 years old full size booster seat, 1 up to 4 years old child seat, 1 up to 9 months baby seat, and 2 booster only seat on 2 different cars. I do not understand why parents could spend hundreds or even thousands for car installment, but can’t even have 1 child seat bought for their precious one.

• rightwinger on Jul 20, 2018 at 8:10 am

its called natural selection. parents who are dumb enough to do like you said, run the risk of losing their offsprings and if they do lose their child , then good, because no one to inherit dumb genetics.

• Akmal on Jul 19, 2018 at 6:34 pm

Most of childseat are bulky. Myvi can fit three kids, with car seat only 2 kids can seat. If you bring your children on the bus, do you need car seat??? When was kid there was no childseat, back in the 80s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
    • dodgeviper88 on Jul 19, 2018 at 6:51 pm

80s also no handphone, why you use now?

• Pakulupapito on Jul 19, 2018 at 7:25 pm

Wow, just wow. If family planning was followed right, when the 3rd child was born, the eldest should be already old enough to use booster seat which can be place in the middle. You talk about the 80’s? How many vehicle on the road back then? How fast drive do they drive?…….Just wanna ask, how much is your phone?

• No excuse for child to use car seats. Kemalangan tidak berbau…

• statement with him sitting on his brain.

• Bernard on Jul 19, 2018 at 7:14 pm

Children should be allowed to be free in a car. No need any restraints. Let them do what they want . Agree with Loke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • PEOPLE CAN SPEND THOUNSANDS FOR SPORT RIMS AND TYRES.. BUT OOME TO CAR SEATS, THERE ARE VARIOUS EXCUSES TO NEGLECT IT.

• tokmoh. on Jul 19, 2018 at 7:47 pm

Need to study what more? It’s so straightforward what, just do it la.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jul 19, 2018 at 8:47 pm

Why defer? Is the cost of child seat more important than the life of a baby or child?

Just enforce it. M’sian need to be forced to change, if you just leave it to them to decide, it’s the besok lusa.

Just like the rear seat belt. Already enforced but in reality, how many actually wear rear seat belts.

• Benjamin Ong on Jul 19, 2018 at 11:40 pm

chao chee bye lo.. good thing they don wan to implement, then now they say manifesto wan reduce car price, but introduce high SST to cars.. wtf man this is really a joke. Seriously PH i support u but please do something better. This not implement is really bullshit, safety issue but dont want to implement. So more babies mati?

• FireAce on Jul 20, 2018 at 1:09 am

This is the first minister that I feel is “STUPID” after PH took over the government. “Not bound to implement”? “Need to study practicality”?

Let me (a no so smart person) tell you how to get this done. I’m sure ministry can comes out with much better idea.
    1. Make it a law. Stipulate only heavy kejara points deduction (no fines or minimal fines) if get caught so it will not add financial burden to the poor. Money that can be used to buy the car seat. other punishments, use the same kejara points punishment if someone hit the limit.
    2. Give grace period, 1 year, 2 years, x years. Take your pick
    3. Make it SOP to all traffic/JPJ to advice driver when stopped/during road block and spotted children in car without car seat (depends on traffic conditions). Words will get around.
    4. Work out the supply chain for child car seat during grace period. No tax, import from china (reputable one), income tax deduction, rebate price with new car, compulsory for new car dealers to offer as optional accessories, buy car seat and show proof to jpj to redeem kejara points, etc
    5. Enforce it. Even with kopi duit culture, after kena few times, ppl will realized it’s cheaper to just buy car seat.

We will hit unknown obstacles along the way, but not a reason not to start now.

• Selfish on Jul 20, 2018 at 1:29 am

Parents here are too lazy. I hear “my child wont sit in a seat” all the time (funny how every developed country in the world trains their kids). I see kids EVERY day standing up in seats and NEVER wearing seat belts It only takes a short time to train a child, but parents in Malaysia are too lazy to spend even a week of training to save their kids life. There is no other answer than parents laziness and selfishness.

• PollyCracker on Jul 20, 2018 at 4:39 am

That’s the problem with people who wish to make populist decisions, and foregoing sensible solutions. Mana boleh maju bro ? One small myvii carrying a bus load of kids front and back.

• carseat on Jul 20, 2018 at 7:32 am

life is cheap nowaday.

• hondaman on Jul 20, 2018 at 11:22 am

Aiyohhh Ah Loke, never compromised on safety. It is mandatory in advanced countries to install child seat if you have small children. I know 2020 has been differed but please be firm!!

• Disappointing.

• Disappointing

• Chris on Jul 20, 2018 at 2:14 pm

If a PH Minister says no need, then i believe him. Anyway my children like crawling all over inside the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Yang mahal on Jul 21, 2018 at 2:15 pm

New government, new Malaysia, new brainless