SST: Volkswagen Malaysia reveals new price list – CKD prices cheaper by up to RM3.6k, CBU prices increase

Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) has announced the revised prices of all its Volkswagen models following the implementation of the sales and service tax (SST) on September 1. With the exception of CBU models, the new prices of Volkswagen cars are now lower than previous prices with 6% goods and services tax (GST).

The new SST inclusive prices however won’t come into effect immediately, as the company had last week announced a price protection scheme (PPS) that will keep prices at zero-rated GST rates, the offer valid for all models registered by November 15.

The PPS is applicable to all Volkswagen models sold in Malaysia, both locally-assembled and imported, but the company had added that there was a determined allocation of stock for each model, so customers are urged to not delay in placing a booking to take advantage of the offer.

Click to enlarge.

The company said the new tax structure has allowed it to be more competitive with its prices, with a reduction ranging from 1.5% (for the Tiguan Comfortline) to 2.6% (for the Vento Highline) compared against the previous tax structure with GST.

As for CBU models, the prices for a number of units have gone up as a result of SST, including that of the Golf 1.4 TSI R-Line, GTI and R, the increase ranging from RM6.4k to RM8.4k. There’s of course the PPS to still get them at tax holiday prices, but you’ll have to be really quick about it.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• passion on Sep 03, 2018 at 7:52 pm

Kudos to VW to extend tax holiday till Nov 15.

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 04, 2018 at 10:43 am

Thank you PH Government for reducing our car prices. Wow, what a great time to buy cars

• lets wait until year end prices~!

• nope..i dont think there will be massive discounts like u expect. even there ism u as a consumer will automatically have an ‘old’ car…the discounts will be balanced with your depreciation value :)

n besides like so many other brands, they all have already cleared their stock, and just enough to support the 0% gst deals.

dont have your hopes too high up, n best buy now, VW or any other car for that matter..car prices wont drop further. Mahathir wont allow that..just my 2 cents.

• Oh Wai! Car prices Gone Down, not UP!!! on Sep 04, 2018 at 11:01 am

I think Malaysians are very happy car prices have gone down. This is the best news to Malaysians

• Golf R cheaper than Civic Type R

• Harga kereta tak akan turun 30%

• I want manual 1.4 GTi engine

• How about RECOND car??

• Dsg ok?

• Karam singh on Sep 04, 2018 at 4:23 pm

Can’t wait for tan chong prices. It was the first to claim with SST new car prices will be higher than with GST. Strong MCA support. I must say.