Proton 1-Tank Adventure Sabah leg – 17.4 km/l best FC

The Proton 1-Tank Adventure 2019, which kicked off with the opening round in Peninsular Malaysia over the Malaysia Day weekend, reached Sabah last weekend for the second round.

Participants from the Land Below the Wind went on a scenic 525 km journey from Kota Kinabalu to the northernmost tip of Borneo in Kudat, before heading to Kundasang at the foot of Mount Kinabalu and returning to the state capital.

From the coastal city that is KK, the roads leading inland includes steep sections. Despite the longer distance covered this year (last year’s route was 420 km), tougher driving conditions (terrain and heavy traffic) and the need to maintain a high average speed, the 2019 Proton Iriz, Persona and Saga delivered impressive results while winning praises on handling, comfort and safety features from the participants.

As expected, the FC tally wasn’t as low as the figures from the first leg. The best results achieved, verified by scrutineers from the Malaysia Speed Festival (MSF), were 6.06 litres per 100 km (16.5 km/l) for the Iriz, an event best 5.75 litres per 100 km (17.4 km/l) for the Saga and 5.81 litres 100 km (17.2 km/l) for the Persona. The best theoretical maximum range achieved, based on the cars’ 40 litre fuel tanks, was 601 km.

The organisers say that the results were impressive because a strict time limit was set at each checkpoint to ensure that participants keep to a minimum average speed – for safety reasons, and to ensure that the figures were obtained under real-world driving conditions.

As with the first leg, the Sabah round of the 1-Tank Adventure also gave an opportunity for Proton to demonstrate the attributes of its cars, and for the owners to get to know their cars better. Proton says that the dynamic driving exercise saw the majority of participants pushing a car to its dynamic limits for the first time ever.

“I love my Proton Saga as it is easy to drive and park and has been very reliable, but having tested the new Iriz over the last two days, I think I may have a new favourite Proton model. I really like the way it looks and drives because it feels secure yet fun. I also love the intelligent infotainment system, while the fuel economy is truly surprising. I would not hesitate to recommend this car to anyone as I think it’s very impressive,” said Queennera Francine Francis Kitingan, a DJ from Kupi FM.

“The Sabah leg of this year’s 1-Tank Adventure was very challenging but we were confident of everyone completing the course safely. The participants also had an opportunity to test their cars in driving conditions that would allow them to experience the safety equipment and dynamic abilities of their cars, which proved that our cars offer the best value and driving experience among all vehicles in their class,” said Proton CEO Li Chunrong.

To recap the results from the first leg, which our Hafriz Shah joined, click here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Tahniah P1! This shows the real capabilities of P1 PIES cars. No fake P2 FC figures that only can get in Mars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
    • Spank on Sep 26, 2019 at 7:06 pm

Long distance drive of cos safe more. U try drive in city. I take example of my old model iswara 1.3 manual, year made 2002. City drive full tank, about rm90+ full tank, only manage 350-380km. But when i drive long distance, tat rm90 full tank fuel easily 550km-600km, full highway with speed 90-100kmh. Thats my own experience. I usually count through milleage meter and trip meter, i turn trip meter to 0 after fill in full tank.

• Different Terrain on Sep 30, 2019 at 2:28 pm

You couldn’t possibly drive constant 90km-100kmh in Sabah. The longest highway stretch in here is probably around 50km. That’s only considering the “highway” are a mix between 2 – 3 lanes and a few rare places with 4 lanes on one side of the road. And this “highway” also filled with traffic lights at every 500m – 1km especially the one closest to town. All that “highway” roads is not even close to the places they’ve driven to.

• Abdul Hakim Rehman on Sep 26, 2019 at 7:17 pm

Lucky Geely has saved Proton from leakages. In 6 months, Li Chunrong managed to plug all leakages what local CEOs could not do.

Leakages is far worse than FC figures being fake. Cost the rakyat billions of ringgit.

• Just go on fuelly.com and check perodua and proton cars. The 1.0L axia bezza does 16-17km/L tank AVG, whereas the 1.3L saga only logs 13-14km/L.

• Chee cheong fun on Sep 26, 2019 at 7:47 pm

Proton cars are well-knowned for their game over low RV. You buy Saga for RM39,800, then you use it for 2 years. After 2 years, the RV will drop 80% from the original price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • Iriz is a gas guzzler. I got both cars, Iriz and Myvi. Iriz takes 2X more minyak

• Michael Gomez on Sep 26, 2019 at 8:08 pm

too much of bantuan kerajaan has clouded your mind bro. lol…talking about Mars….lol

• Engineer on Sep 27, 2019 at 2:45 pm

So many butthurted Perodua salesmen cannot accept realit. So sad for them.

• panjang on Sep 26, 2019 at 5:15 pm

Now it makes sense as the Iriz supposed to deliver lower figure. How does the challenge in peninsula returned best figure from Iriz?

Cars with no butt in theory should consumed higher fuel than car with butt when driven over long distance which is normally includes cruising. Its due to air turbulance.

• Daniel Tan on Sep 26, 2019 at 7:50 pm

All Campro engines drink petrol like a 7000cc American Muscle car.

I think even the Corvette is more economical than a Campro engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Avenger on Sep 27, 2019 at 4:08 pm

Brain matter gone, only left muscles in that brain if you can continue with that lie and expect us to believe it, Kunta.

• Christian Wong on Sep 26, 2019 at 8:10 pm

Do you know why Myvi sales figures are 10X that of Iriz? The rakyat knows better which is the best FC car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Ben Yap on Sep 26, 2019 at 5:26 pm

My civic 1.5 turbo can do 20.1km/l. it’s more powerful and yet better fuel economy. people should just top up a bit to get a civic turbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
    • So, you want to be a troll too?

• Cheung on Sep 26, 2019 at 6:36 pm

@ Ben, you said people should just top up a bit to get a civic turbo.
      then you must be kidding me
      the price of civic is so far higher
      LOL
      funny

• Orealy? Carbase.my showed it is 17.2km/L and that is on paper. You mau tipu siapa bro? And your “a bit” can buy another 2 Saga wei!

• Pak Toh on Sep 26, 2019 at 6:46 pm

Please support abit, ppl also need some face.

• ibnu bakrin on Sep 26, 2019 at 9:03 pm

I’ve been driving Wira SE 2004 & Gen2 2011. The best mileage/ltr for both are around 10.5km/l & 11.6km/l respectively. Wira SE don’t have a meter panel to calculate this while Gen2 have the meter panel. I am conduct many test using Gen2. While the fuel meter almost reach 1 bar, I will fuel up until full, i reset the odometer and i reset the meter panel. After cruising around 330km, the fuel meter almost reach 1 bar, I refuel until full, then I know how many liter I fuel for current 330km. I test this method several times, several occasion, the result is same, around 11.6km/ltr (8.6ltr/100km). The problem is the meter panel shows around 6.8ltr/100km = 14.7km/ltr. So what method did them used to get an actual FC?

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 26, 2019 at 9:46 pm

Here we go again. Get your popcorn ready.

• Hentamajela on Sep 26, 2019 at 9:54 pm

Perodua jimat minyak tak nak buat ker….kalau buat komform fail punya…mcm vw tipu pelanggan….

• PIES user on Sep 27, 2019 at 8:41 am

FC no concern…i’m more concern on the engine reliability…
    In Sabah maybe they did not use aircond…haha

• Saga baru on Sep 27, 2019 at 1:02 pm

Why not use extreme Kimanis Keningau road?

• Saga winner 2019 on Dec 14, 2019 at 12:59 pm

Our route from Kota marudu to ranau using marak parak road.. also challenging..