BMW M3, X3 and VW Tiguan police cars in Malaysia only for two week testing, not purchased – PDRM

This just in. The Royal Malaysia Police (PDRM) has issued an official statement regarding the viral High Performance Police escort cars, stating that the five supplied vehicles it received on October 7 were only for proof of concept or evaluation purposes.

It emphasised that the quintet – a BMW M3, two units of BMW X3 and two Volkswagen Tiguan – was not purchased, but supplied by BMW Malaysia and Volkswagen Passenger Car Malaysia to be evaluated over a period of two weeks.

“PDRM understands the government’s financial constraints,” the statement read, and assured it did not buy the expensive cars with public money. The G80 BMW M3 is priced from RM665k in Malaysia.

The trial, which will be conducted by PDRM’s KNDKA, traffic (JSPT) and escort divisions (CCP), will determine if these high-performance vehicles are suitable for official police duties.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• (Dude) on Oct 08, 2021 at 8:36 pm

All cover up only, just like ex-PM name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 09, 2021 at 12:14 am

Looks like after the backlash from social media, BMW Malaysia & VPCM CEOs are clamming shut and not taking responsibility for making such offers to PDRM.

Shame on you guys! Know how to milk credit when there is good publicity but shun it when there are bad ones!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 1
      • IGP Mom on Oct 09, 2021 at 10:26 am

For sure PDRM will get backlash from Rakyat. Rakyat alr lost thrust and confidence in corrupted and incompetent PDRM. Deswai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 12
        • Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 09, 2021 at 3:01 pm

Kesian PDRM, totally innocent but kena drag into this by BMW & VW. Its okay we all forgive them but we will think 3-4X before buying a Beemer or Vdub from now on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
      • equality on Oct 09, 2021 at 11:43 am

So BMW and VW are colluding with the malaysian police to enable them to give preferential treatment of VIPs when compared to general rakyats.

Should we support such companies?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
      • batmeng on Oct 09, 2021 at 12:51 pm

PDRM should be the protector of the rakyat.

not becoming the servant of the VIP few.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 10
        • Ya Mentri on Oct 10, 2021 at 8:46 am

The people’s representative must represent the people and any threat to them is a threat to democracy. Insufficient protection would constitute an attack on the people’s inalienable democratic right to be governed by leaders of their choice. And these leaders must be protected by every possible means no matter how much we might regret the necessity for doing so. In that case, the PDRM is actually protecting the people’s inalienable democratic right as they should be, yes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
    • John Doe on Oct 09, 2021 at 12:59 am

So Matthew H Thong wrote another piece to highlight his incompetence? Next time it is better you get your facts right before rushing to sensationalise everything. Paultan seriously needs to set some standards his coffee shop writers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 17
      • It’s utter garbage if you consider this as journalism. In truth, PaulTan is just a blogsite and the writers are paid to write, most AFAIK do not have journalistic education nor journalism background. Sensationalism sells so an article or two or three or more of late to stoke the fanboyism, partisanship, hatred & anger, trolls and all manner of divisive negativity is the special order of these day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Turn M on Oct 09, 2021 at 8:19 am

You mean me?

• minimi on Oct 08, 2021 at 9:19 pm

Of course technically they did not buy the evaluation cars.

But the act of them even asking those 2 manufacturers for test cars are a clear proof that they have the intention of buying those expensive cars for VIP escort purposes.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 10
    • Lets See on Oct 09, 2021 at 9:29 am

Because why have nice things, eh?

• minimi on Oct 09, 2021 at 12:58 pm

no, not that.

because why when there is a trust deficit among the rakyat, PDRM is planning and priortizing things to protect the rich few VIPs?

a clear sign that the rakyat is not a priority for the police force.

and shamefully manufacturers looking forward to making money from this blatant inequality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
        • Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 09, 2021 at 5:00 pm

Kesian PDRM, totally innocent but kena drag into this by BMW & VW. Its okay we all forgive them but we will think 3-4X before buying a Beemer or Vdub from now on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
        • Ya Mentri on Oct 10, 2021 at 1:40 am

The people’s representative must represent the people and any threat to them is a threat to democracy. Insufficient protection would constitute an attack on the people’s inalienable democratic right to be governed by leaders of their choice. And these leaders must be protected by every possible means no matter how much we might regret the necessity for doing so. In that case, the PDRM is actually protecting the people’s inalienable democratic right as they should be, yes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • Jojojee on Oct 08, 2021 at 11:12 pm

Lol try to cover up..then why even bother putting the decals..for syiok sendiri, want to be acah acah Dubai police? Sohai better go catch criminals..they once said want to find Jho low sampai lubang cacing LMAO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
    • Catch who? on Oct 09, 2021 at 8:24 am

Catch? Tangkap? That’s not what our popo’s are for! Squeeze the pipits, serve the helangs! Flex “rezeki” they didn’t earn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 11
      • Spin Too Much on Oct 09, 2021 at 3:05 pm

No they are for raiding ex-PMs house and threatening his entire family.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • Dredd on Oct 09, 2021 at 8:39 am

For all intents and purposes, during that evaluation period these are full fledged police cars and should be used as such hence the decals, sirens and other police gears fitted. Upon returning them, all of these will be stripped from the cars and returned back to civilian form. Not using public money, Dredd agrees.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
  • We shall see…. Please don’t waste tax payors money. In fact our VIP can just be ecsorted using Proton Wira. They are not important to us, in fact they are all useless.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 1
  • John Doe on Oct 09, 2021 at 12:59 am

So Matthew H Thong wrote another piece to highlight his incompetence? Next time it is better you get your facts right before rushing to sensationalise everything. Paultan seriously needs to set some standards his coffee shop writers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 29
  • it did not buy the expensive cars with public money….
    Err…isn’t our civil force funded by public money?
    If not public money, whose money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Copy Paste on Oct 09, 2021 at 8:35 am

Copy paste: “five supplied vehicles it received on October 7 were only for proof of concept or evaluation purposes… was not purchased, but supplied by BMW Malaysia and Volkswagen Passenger Car Malaysia”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Hollywood on Oct 09, 2021 at 7:57 am

Just get the hilux, add the kangaroo bar and light bar.

500nm can handle.
    Durable, comfortable and Powerful

A better escort. See further ahead
    Sit so low in M3 how to escort?
    The 4 door M3 is no best premium too, it’s just more sporty.
    5 series, E class, Lexus ES are more premium for Escort.
    Ninja King even Better.

• simon on Oct 09, 2021 at 10:12 am

yeah la, test only.

you won’t test a car unless you got interest to buy right??????

macam those people who go showroom test drive car for fun? waste salesman time?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Accord Is Here on Oct 09, 2021 at 10:54 am

Two weeks???? Then what’s next??? U no need to test it if you know you won’t purchase at 1st place. All these excuses might be good for kindergarten kids

• peter on Oct 09, 2021 at 3:48 pm

Lame excuse…why want to test drive if you have no intention to buy? Think BNW & Volkswagen Co. got nothing better to do?
    So if tested suitable then you going to buy, is it?

• macampondan on Oct 09, 2021 at 7:44 pm

testing .. all cars are fully fitted, paint job and with full car registered.

I wonder… how true is that

• Actually i see the test is to see if rakyat backlash or not. If no complain next time will test Bentley ferrari. Now after see the reaction must U turn the car. BMW and VW could have said this is part of donation to police since police still have to pay to replace or need more car. Corporate company who make good profit do good to police to enhance ties appreciate their hard work.

• John Tan on Oct 10, 2021 at 8:48 am

Hahaha, If Tiguan bcome police car, criminal rate will get higher. The police will have his car on the roadside more fequently waiting for tow truck.
    I had two Passat and one Tiguan, i experienced alot. Now driving New Camry.

• Aduyai on Oct 10, 2021 at 10:49 am

I dont think we need such cars as our MPV or escort cars at this moment. VIP escort cars does not have to be a supercar or super suv, their purpose is to escort at ‘safe’ speed and this can be done by normal sedan like whats being done now.

What the police actually needs right now is more mpv to add and replace the old wira. I bet some rural areas still have kancil as ocs car. Its sad to see some station ‘borrowed’ the waja from other station.

The preve should have been bought or supplied in numbers to replace the wira and waja but that was not done. Same goes for the Civic, that was not done either. Newer car is bought too late and too little in numbers causing only bigger station or IPK to get them and the outgoing waja being handed to smaller station.

Above all, the maintenance aspect must be improve. It does not make sense to wait 1 week for a set of Waja absorbers when replacement can be done in an hour at any workshop. What the police need to do is learn from our army on how to get their land fleet running efficiently.

Its also baffling to see that when civilian customer vehicle is sent for servicing or repair, it will be completed and the vehicle will leave the service center asap. But when gov vehicle is sent for repairs, we can see it parked at the service center for weeks. What is happening here? On my way to work i will drive pass a Toyota sc and i can see gov ambulance and vans parked there for weeks. Then few fire trucks being parked for almost 2 month at a heavy vehicle repair center.

• Dr Strange on Oct 10, 2021 at 11:11 pm

Personal accidents no need to be accountable.
      Govt accidents someone needs to be accountable. Investigations must be done & dusted for Treasury to issue payments for repairs.

• klguy on Oct 10, 2021 at 6:23 pm

that car looks more like a 4 series than a 3 series

• Poo-lish on Oct 10, 2021 at 10:26 pm

LOL @ tegas, adil dan ….

• Alibinasi on Oct 11, 2021 at 8:03 am

Does any car test drive include harsh drift,
    Repaint job and putting police logo and stickers?

• Dong Gor on Oct 11, 2021 at 10:52 am

Test car go showroom lar. No need to use Polis painting and all, more environment friendly dude. BTW, test what ar? car stability ke, reliability ke, or Rakyat intelligence?

• Better use Tesla 3 rather than m3