Suzuki Jimny 5-Door previewed in Singapore – 340 mm longer wheelbase than 3-door version; same 1.5L NA

Here are some live photos of the all-new Suzuki Jimny 5-Door, which was previewed at the recent Singapore Motorshow. The longer version of the compact off-roader first made its global debut last January and provides more practicality than the three-door version that we have here.

Measuring 3,985 mm long, 1,645 mm wide and 1,720 mm tall with a wheelbase of 2,590 mm, the Jimny 5-Door is 505 mm longer overall than the three-door version, while its wheelbase gains 340 mm. This allows for two more doors and additional legroom for rear passengers, with the rear bench continuing to be in a 50:50 split.

The Jimny’s dashboard layout is identical regardless of the number of doors, and so is the placement of the controls. Also unchanged is the engine, with the K15B 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated inline-four petrol unit rated at 105 PS (103 hp or 77 kW) and 134 Nm of torque.

A five-speed manual and four-speed automatic are the available transmission pairings for the engine, with the left-hand drive preview car seen here being fitted with the latter. Suzuki’s AllGrip Pro 4WD system is standard with a transfer case for selectable low-range.

Would you want a five-door version of the Jimny in Malaysia? The current three-door version we have here retails for RM174,900 OTR without insurance, so we can expect to pay more for the five-door version should it ever come our way.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ben Yap on Jan 15, 2024 at 5:25 pm

LOL… the price for a tin kosong underpowered car.

• EV user on Jan 16, 2024 at 12:04 am

Wait for GWM tank 300. No doubt Jimny is a capable off roader, just not worth the price.. unless you have money to burn.

• Sohai on Jan 16, 2024 at 8:48 am

Many people want this car, just couldn’t understand why a car like this cost nearly rm200k.
    This shouldn’t cost more than a Hilux.
    1.5L 4at. The pricing should be closer to Aruz

• In japan, the cost of this car is between 70 – 90 MYR. Naza eastern group basically adding another 100K to maximum profits

• My old triton 2.5 diesel has 4 speed auto and it is sufficient and reliable. Enough for everyday use. Already 15 years old and still no problems. Got it for about RM90k. Lots of power. I dunno how much trucks cost these days but due to our depreciating currency it should cost 30-50% more.

• Louis on Jan 16, 2024 at 10:10 pm

Why Suzuki Jimny not come to Puerto Rico or U.S. ?

• Every local car manufacturer hates Suzuki, they use many tactics and forced Suzuki from selling there

• ROTI CANAI on Apr 27, 2024 at 9:54 pm

blame obama/biden and general motors

• Jimmy, just stay there.. Dont come over here..