2024 Mazda CX-5 facelift launched in Malaysia – 2.0, 2.5, 2.5T and 2.2D, priced from RM147k to RM192k

Bermaz Auto has launched the updated 2024 Mazda CX-5 in Malaysia, and this market will continue to receive petrol- and diesel-powered versions, across five variants.

The 2024 CX-5 line-up begins with the 2.0G 2WD Mid, priced from RM146,879.20, joined by the 2.0G 2WD High from RM163,879.20. Stepping up to the larger naturally aspirated engine brings the 2.5G 2WD High, from RM177,370.40. Next is the the turbodiesel 2.2D 2WD High, from RM182,732.80, topping out with the turbocharged petrol 2.5G AWD High, from RM191,170.40.

All prices quoted are on-the-road without insurance for metallic paint finishes, and include accessories comprised of the Activ-e window film and LED-illuminated sill plates, packaged at RM2,410, while leather seats are optioned at RM2,900 for the base 2.0G 2WD Mid (all others come with leather seats as standard). Premium paint options are an additional RM3,300.

2024 Mazda CX-5 facelift pricelist, Peninsular Malaysia – click to enlarge

In terms of updates for the facelift, the 2024 CX-5 gets a restyled front fascia that has been made more three-dimensional, with a revised grille and front bumper that gets a smaller central air intake. The 2.0G 2WD Mid gains advanced keyless entry, while variants 2.0G 2WD High and above receive shift paddles behind the steering wheel and signature LED headlamps.

Rolling stock on the 2024 CX-5 facelift starts with 17-inch alloy wheels on tyres measuring 225/65R17 on the 2.0G 2WD Mid and High variants, before growing to 19-inch wheels on the 2.5G 2WD High, 2.2D 2WD High and the 2.5T 4WD High variants.

For the 2.5G 2WD High and above, the driver and front passenger seats gain seat ventilation. This variant level is also where the range gets the seven-inch TFT LCD multi-info instrument display, whereas the two 2.0G variants get the 4.6-inch display; the base Mid gets the standard display, while the High gets a multi-info display of the same dimension.

2024 Mazda CX-5 specifications – click to enlarge

For seating, the front seats in the 2.0G 2WD Mid are fabric and manually adjusted (six-way for the driver, four-way for the front passenger), while variants 2.0G High and onwards step up to leather and 10-way power adjustment with two-position memory for the driver, and a six-way power adjustable front passenger seat.

The variants are more closely matched in terms of infotainment, where all get an eight-inch capacitive touchscreen, Android Auto and wireless Apple CarPlay, six speakers, four USB ports, wireless device charger and the 2.0G 2WD High onwards receive a 360-degree camera system (the base 2.0G 2WD Mid gets by with a reversing camera).

Variants from the 2.0G 2WD High onwards receive the suite of advanced driver assistance systems, which includes adaptive front lighting, high beam control, blind spot monitoring, rear cross traffic alert, lane departure warning system, lane keeping assist, driver attention alert, smart city brake support, smart brake support, radar cruise control, and cruising and traffic support.

For exterior colours, the 2024 Mazda CX-5 facelift is offered in Malaysia in Jet Black, Snowflake White Pearl, Machine Gray, Deep Crystal Blue, Soul Red Crystal, Polymetal Gray and Platinum Quartz. This model is covered by a five-year, 100,000 km manufacturer’s warranty, with the free maintenance package offered for the same duration and mileage.

2024 Mazda CX-5 2.5T AWD High in Malaysia

2024 Mazda CX-5 2.0G 2WD High in Malaysia

2024 Mazda CX-5 facelift – official images

GALLERY: Mazda CX-5 facelift

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Logic? on Jan 29, 2024 at 8:11 pm

Audio system screen very small unlike those competitors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
    • jdmcarlover07 on Jan 30, 2024 at 2:22 am

Mazda always like to skimp on the infotainment touchscreen size because this is the same old touchscreen that has used since the 2015 CX-5

• Bermaz makes Mazda vehicles for exporting to Thailand that do have the bigger infotainment screen, so looks like we’re getting the shaft because they can get away with it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • anonymous on Jan 30, 2024 at 9:24 am

i wonder if there is a way to complain to the parent company in Japan about how Bermaz needs to go. i hate them so much…like they can fully spec Kia’s but not the Mazdas? make it make sense please…

• Apalah on Jan 30, 2024 at 4:11 pm

How’s this for sense..

The kias aren’t selling so much.
          But the mazdas are.

• anonymous on Jan 29, 2024 at 8:17 pm

come on now even Honda gives the upgraded bose speakers on the highest trim of the CR-V. what on earth Bermaz?! 2 years late and after seeing the countless requests you simply ignore it? at the very least make it a paid extra? bukan suruh bagi free pun (even though at almost 200k it should be illegal for a any car to only be equipped with 6 speakers). don’t even get me started with the infotainment system. why not give us the upgraded 10.25” screen with the new Mazda connect like the CX-30 and 3? 2 years late…at least you could throw us a car that’s fully loaded. so underwhelming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
  • ROTI CANAI on Jan 29, 2024 at 9:14 pm

a bit too late?

• Peppa on Jan 29, 2024 at 9:51 pm

Apparently you can get ventilated seats in the mid trim but larger 10.25” Mazda Connect is nowhere to be seen in this facelift. What is bermaz smoking?

• msia driver on Jan 30, 2024 at 1:54 am

The design so outdated and boring, better buy CRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • Mazdull on Jan 30, 2024 at 7:59 pm

Mazda definitely under delivers, but have u seen the crv inside? The design of the crv looks like it was the same time as the previous gen crv – and if u check the honeycomb mesh, it moves around and feels like you added it yourself, have a feel in the showroom to see what i mean. If you think the crv is a better bet, you probably have matured taste

• But still definitely can’t beat CRV, when comes interior, exterior, performance and handling, if you look properly. Not saying CX5 facelift not good but just that CX5 facelift looks dated inside and performance also can’t beat CRV.

• msia driver on Feb 01, 2024 at 2:24 am

Sry maybe offence you, I did went to showroom check the CRV indeed still > outdated cx5…

• jdmcarlover07 on Jan 30, 2024 at 2:20 am

Bermaz always like to skimp on the infotainment screen to their cars. Always bringing the 8 inch touchscreen that they’ve been using since the 2015 CX-5 to the new Mazda cars today. I mean look at the Kia models, they able to provide the full-size touchscreen (10.25″). They just can’t be asked to fit a bigger one!

• anonymous on Jan 30, 2024 at 8:17 am

the 6 speaker count for a 200k car is simply a joke. Bermaz always offering Malaysians less for more (money). hate them so much. we don’t even get the 10.25” infotainment screen either. what’s worse is that this car is so overdue here and yet they still under-spec it. there’s no defending this (even though i love Mazdas). i can only imagine what the cx-60 will be priced like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Chery Pop on Jan 31, 2024 at 10:00 am

You should test out the Sony sound system in the Chery Omoda. Beats the Bose any day. Sounds too good

• Ponzi on Jan 30, 2024 at 8:19 am

Same old, same old boring look with premium price

• Azmir on Jan 30, 2024 at 8:39 am

Mazda need to change to all new, not facelift.
    This facelift should come 1-2 years ago before all new CRV, Tesla and many china cars came.

• old driver opt NA on Jan 30, 2024 at 9:54 am

Cheapest spec with leather seat add on rm150k+ not bad, all the essentials features were there. But if wan the signature premium soul red color need to paid extra 20k to buy high spec. As compared to rivals H and T, u get an “ordinary” 2.0 NA and 6 AT gearbox rather than the 1.5T and CVT, a well solid suspension rather than the Tcross torsion beam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • samurai on Jan 30, 2024 at 1:02 pm

The most expensive part in the car is the body, by upgraded other accessories are peanut, Mazda’s trying to cheat consumers and making high profit.

• Paul Banks on Jan 30, 2024 at 4:08 pm

What’s new? Nothing new

• I would buy 1 if the same spec (not the front and rear lights) are in the pre-facelift before. Too late now!

Btw, the 2.5T, TCS (traction control) cant be turned off? TCS Off switch is not there in the picture. 2.0 got it. That is weird.

• Mason on Feb 02, 2024 at 11:14 am

I agree on majority comments here. The facelift is not impressive n late 2 yrs. I believe smart SUV buyer will choose other SUV brand compare to this cx5 facelift which is really outdated. Except those hardcord mazda fans.