2024 Volkswagen Touareg R-Line 3.0 TSI V6 facelift in Malaysia – first CKD out of Europe, priced at RM472k

It’s been more than a decade, but the Volkswagen Touareg is back in Malaysia. The facelifted third-generation flagship SUV, first introduced back in 2018, arrives in CKD locally-assembled 3.0 TSI V6 form and sits at the top of Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia’s (VPCM) lineup.

Built at the Hicom plant in Pekan, Pahang (for the first time outside of Europe) and available in a single R-Line variant, this massive five-seater crossover is priced at a heady RM472,272 on-the-road without insurance. While certainly not cheap, it’s RM130,000 less expensive than the Porsche Cayenne, which is also locally assembled at the Inokom factory in Kulim, Kedah.

This figure, by the way, includes the Volkswagen Assurance Package (VAP), consisting of a five-year, unlimited-mileage extended warranty and a five-year maintenance package. With the standard two-year warranty, the price drops to RM454,272.

Under the bonnet lies a 3.0 litre turbocharged V6, the same one found in the Porsche Cayenne, which is also based on the MLB Evo platform. Here, it produces 340 PS and 450 Nm of torque – 13 PS and 50 Nm less than the Porsche – sent to all four wheels via the 4Motion all-wheel-drive system and an eight-speed automatic transmission. So equipped, the car will get from zero to 100 km/h in six seconds flat (three tenths of a second slower than the Cayenne) on its way to an electronically-limited top speed of 250 km/h.

The Touareg rides on self-levelling air suspension all around, which can adapt the ride height (by up to 70 mm upwards) to match the terrain and can also be lowered by up to 40 mm at the rear for easier cargo loading and unloading. The car is capable of wading up to 550 mm of water.

This third-generation version is longer, wider and slightly lower than the old model, measuring 4,878 mm long, 1,984 mm wide and 1,702 mm tall, with a 2,894 mm wheelbase. Despite the increased dimensions, the car is 106 kg lighter than before, thanks to a mixed-material construction featuring 48% aluminium and 52% high-tech steels.

On the outside, the Touareg retains the angular design language that has characterised Volkswagen models of late, with a large and wide front grille – integrated with the headlights – giving the car greater road presence.

The facelift, revealed to the world last May, adds IQ.Light HD LED matrix headlights with a whopping 38,432 micro LEDs, including 19,200 on either side for the high beam. These are joined together by a light strip that runs across the grille – a graphic repeated in the also-new full-width taillights with L-shaped graphics. The rear VW logo is now illuminated in red to match – a feature previously reserved for China and the US.

On the R-Line model, you get a massive lower grille with gaping air intakes for the twin front radiators, plus a large rear diffuser with twin (thankfully real) trapezoidal exhaust exits. Locally, the car rides on 20-inch “Braga” two-tone alloy wheels with a five V-spoke design.

Inside the swanky SUV, you get the latest version of the Touareg’s Innovision Cockpit infotainment system, consisting of a 12.3-inch digital instrument display and a ginormous 15-inch centre touchscreen, the latter integrating the air-con controls and wireless Apple CarPlay and Android Auto. A Qi wireless charger is standard, as is a 13-speaker, 730-watt Dynaudio Consequence sound system.

Elsewhere, you get power-adjustable, heated and cooled front seats with memory, along with a power-adjustable flat-bottomed steering wheel with haptic touch buttons and a sliding and reclining second row. The car features no less than five USB-C ports that deliver up to 45 watts of power each. Behind, you’ll find a generous 810-litre boot, expandable to 1,800 litres with the 40:20:40-split rear seats folded.

The rest of the kit list includes keyless entry, push-button start, four-zone automatic climate control, 30-colour ambient lighting, a 360-degree camera system and a hands-free powered tailgate. Despite the price, you don’t get a sunroof or a head-up display, but you do weirdly have night vision, a first for a Volkswagen in Malaysia.

Safety-wise, the Touareg is fully featured with driver assists as part of the IQ.Drive suite. These include autonomous emergency braking, adaptive cruise control with stop and go, lane centring assist, blind spot monitoring, front and rear cross traffic alert with auto braking, park assist, a driver attention monitor and a tyre pressure monitoring system.

Last but not least, the Touareg is available in five colours – Lapiz Blue, Silicon Grey, Grenadilla Black, Oryx White and Dolomite Silver.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Wan Azizah on Mar 12, 2024 at 3:13 pm

My dream car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
    • MB Sanusi on Mar 12, 2024 at 4:02 pm

Me too! Owh yea Bebeyy peewit Takbirrr

• Dah Menang Semua on Mar 13, 2024 at 9:28 am

A: I’ve gotten the GLE (520K)
        B: I’ve gotten the Cayenne (600K)
        C: I’ve gotten the Touareg (470K)
        A & B: U’re damn f*cking rich man
        C: Why U say so?
        A: The resale will down to 80K in 8years
        B: Effectively 50-60K depreciation annually

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Vw vs Merc who you pick? on Mar 12, 2024 at 3:16 pm

Top 10% more for GLE period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Jason on Mar 12, 2024 at 3:45 pm

I think GLE450 will be around RM 550k

• mercftw on Mar 12, 2024 at 9:15 pm

never even thought of gle, only the S are genuine merc class. any lower are made for those wannabes, with all those cheap plastics and photocopy designs, mehh.
      but this 470k vw is tough, dont even think its gonna be comparable to its competition.

• Poshare on Mar 12, 2024 at 3:40 pm

Same price as Macan. Noooice!

• djdjd on Mar 12, 2024 at 4:02 pm

yeah with base macan which has gutless 4 cylinder on Porsche, macan s is the one you want to get unless you are badge snob

• ssssLk on Mar 12, 2024 at 9:17 pm

totally diff class and ckd vs cbu?
        how genius of you even thought of comparing them.

• Unker on Mar 12, 2024 at 3:53 pm

The price too close to X5 and GLE..

#baikbeli X5 or GLE..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • Peppa on Mar 12, 2024 at 6:11 pm

As far as i recall. You can’t get a fully loaded GLE and X5 in Malaysia. This Touareg is loaded and comparable with overseas model. Not to mention this Touareg also came with a large v6 not vacuum-sounding 4 cylinder

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • Unker on Mar 13, 2024 at 9:58 am

Heylo, both GLE & X5 comes with 3.0 twin turbo Inline 6, ard 380hp, and the specs is up there, not kosong..plus MIL approved if balik kg with mesedis/BMW..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • CKD or SKD? – just how much of the car is made and assembled in Malaysia?

• 4GR-FSE on Mar 12, 2024 at 4:29 pm

Save your money and get a recond Toyota Landcruiser.
    4.6 V8 or 3.3 V6 twinturbo. It can outlast any car on this planet.
    By the time the Landcruiser has only reach 1/4 of its life span, the Touarag is already at the scrap metal junkyard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
  • proton of proton on Mar 12, 2024 at 4:45 pm

better than BMW X5 intern of $$$

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Ur moms car on Mar 12, 2024 at 5:49 pm

Its a great addition for the line up

Vw should introduce more affordable models like vitrus, polo mk5, t roc to boast more sales

• 4GR-FSE on Mar 13, 2024 at 11:15 am

No one buy… what for..
      VW is not doing charity by just selling a few cars here..
      I was a VW owner, glad that I have sold my car..

• ROTI CANAI on Mar 12, 2024 at 8:42 pm

better buy tesla model y or even better byd singa laut

• Peppa on Mar 12, 2024 at 9:04 pm

Now when are they gonna update the Tiguan? I mean the current Tiguan in Malaysia is so lacking in many ways just like the Mazda CX-5

• Hisham on Mar 12, 2024 at 9:49 pm

Now I prefer EV than ICE car. Thinking of BYD Seal

• Katheryne Wong on Mar 13, 2024 at 12:59 am

Price too expensive, sales will be slow, better wait for 2nd hand version, saves lots of money.

• It is worth every money since it is v6 of course it is very expensive

• Pro-Palestine on Mar 13, 2024 at 12:54 pm

This VW toureg is pretty much dead on arrival. How to compete with better specs EV like Chery and Jaecoo? No chance of survival. European recession is getting serious

• VW GTI MK7.5 User on Mar 15, 2024 at 8:27 am

It is nice and we know who the target audiences for this car are but I am sad at how expensive their cars are now. At least, the Tiguan is pretty good for now. I hope they launch more affordable cars in the near future.