Proton EV in 2025 – all-new model being co-developed with Geely, not a rebadge of existing car: Roslan

National carmaker Proton is expecting to release its electric vehicle model in 2025, and this will be an all-new model that is co-developed by Proton and Geely, and it will not be a rebadged version of an existing model, Proton deputy CEO Roslan Abdullah has said.

The upcoming, fully electric model from this joint development may spawn both a Geely version as well as a Proton version. This has completed its design and prototype stages, and it is currently undergoing testing, Roslan said. As for the segment of the EV, “We will let you know closer to the time of its launch,” the deputy CEO said, also not revealing the upcoming model’s bodystyle.

There will likely be a staggered release of announcements regarding Proton’s EV model, and the deputy CEO cites the smart brand’s introduction as an example, where announcements were made for the start of production, opening of bookings, and the like.

In this EV model’s joint development with Geely, Proton is contributing to the model’s R&D with input for its use in the Malaysian environment, Roslan said. Given the co-development between the two companies, there could be both a Geely version as well as a Proton version, the former being for other markets.

Regardless of the brand, all versions of the upcoming co-developed EV will initially be manufactured in China because manufacturing this model in Malaysia will require new facilities, said Roslan.

“The Malaysian government wants to expedite the release of this EV model, and the government currently still offers tax exemptions on fully imported (CBU) EVs, and at the same time we are planning for CKD local assembly,” Roslan added.

On the subject of China-based EV manufacturers which are offering products that are increasingly competitively priced in Malaysia, Proton is still evaluating pricing for this upcoming EV model.

“There needs to be a balance between battery range and price. There are many aspects which need evaluation, but we will offer the model at the best possible price. Our EV will be focused on affordability as well as functionality and practicality,” the Proton deputy CEO said.

The latest news from the national carmaker comes after its CEO, Li Chunrong stated that the carmaker is set to launch its own-brand EV “very soon”, echoing what Proton chairman Datuk Seri Syed Faisal Albar said during the launch of the Proton S70 last November. This is a step on from its previous target of releasing its EV by 2027.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Autobahn on Mar 28, 2024 at 5:54 am

The “magic” about china/proton ev world is that they can make instant ev cars. Unlike established car manufacturers like audi/porsche/bmw/tesla, we know they are on to something through their prototype being displayed during annual autoshow, and took them 5-6 years of development before we can see the prototype being tested on the nurburgring and black forest. They also tested their cars under severe condition in norway (freezing) and desert (hot) for hundreds of thousands km.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • call me by your name on Mar 28, 2024 at 6:15 am

S670?

• fudgemesideways on Mar 28, 2024 at 8:12 am

News that is at least 2 years late.

• @NotBruceWayne on Mar 28, 2024 at 8:17 am

Please no weird designs! take inspiration from good looking cars for God’s sake.

• I wish they at least keep the “continental vibe” like Proton always do but this time up to date design

• Sohai on Mar 28, 2024 at 8:56 am

Proton years of bumper tech experience surely will contribute immensely in the EV project

• Late To The Game on Mar 28, 2024 at 9:18 am

Nyet again. Panda vs Seagull.

• please lah on Mar 28, 2024 at 9:22 am

Which part will Proton be developing? The grill, bumper, maybe the compass that faces Mecca?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 31
    • Proton Power on Mar 29, 2024 at 2:29 pm

Grill, bumper of course we will design. This time we will do more lah bro. You ingat we proton engineer apa? U ingat we minum teh hari hari kah? We put in many efforts every day 24 X 7. This time will be big involvement from our R&D engineers. We will design the fuel cap and tire cap.

• Peppa on Mar 29, 2024 at 2:36 pm

If you think it is cool to mock against Islam then you should leave this country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 14
      • Peppa Tambi Snake man on Mar 30, 2024 at 9:42 am

Peppa defending Islam??? Dah lah tambi. Dulu kuat sokong Israel tapi nak pura pura defend Islam pulak lepas semua orang dah tahu niat sebenar kamu tu. Nak pura pura sokong Islam pulak sekarang ni. Dah lah bro. Kami tak bodoh. Wayang kelingtong ni dah tak laku.
        Modi India kuat sokong Israel dan kuat musnahkan Masjid di India bro

• waste on Mar 29, 2024 at 2:41 pm

may should design a compass that directs to taipei or delhi so that the long-time british waste can finally go back?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
      • Waste on Mar 29, 2024 at 11:11 pm

Waste Collector

• Waste Collector on Mar 29, 2024 at 11:15 pm

Hello you forgot to mention China. They are the root of all evils producing all these infidels in Malaysia. These terrible communists poisoning our Malay leader’s mind and conspiring with them to rob our nations money. Alamah why these communists bail out our Proton ahh? Should let GOD’s will let Proton die a natural death.

• Pro-Palestine on Apr 06, 2024 at 9:34 am

I love communism. Anything India and the West hates, I know it must be good and I will support it.

• Dari kepulauan Riau on Mar 30, 2024 at 10:52 am

Says the Dutch waste hehe #maling

• Squid on Apr 01, 2024 at 8:18 am

U are an ass…

• ROTI CANAI on Mar 28, 2024 at 9:36 am

So a lesser version for us then

• YB Kinte Kunta on Mar 28, 2024 at 9:49 am

Co developed,or not..everyone knows it is a Chinanised car. Protong still has to pay royalties for their engines and gearboxes.
    Right time,Proton tukarnama to Geely M Bhd.
    Nothing to hide. U r just an assembler of Xi Xin Ping’s car.
    Even my cucu who is internet savvy,knows P1 is plucked from insolvency to survival mode.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • BoredM on Mar 28, 2024 at 10:36 am

Better not use the recycle images of roslan, we’re bored ady. looks like he’s tired too

• Codeveloped front grill on Mar 28, 2024 at 11:21 am

Well done Proton.

• By the time you developed..other EV companies are already way ahead of you..lol

• Autocar uk has an article about upcoming RHD market Geely Galaxy EVs

• U mean to say u ask Geely don’t forget to put in Proton name as contributor when they develop new EV is it?

• alibaba on Mar 28, 2024 at 1:01 pm

lol, seriously, how he get that position in Proton?

• kckfen on Mar 28, 2024 at 1:33 pm

Here is few things Geely and Proton must consider for Malaysia market, must use LFP battery, range need to be at least 400km. And most important of all get your Android Auto and Apple Car Play in your car. Price below Rm100k.

• Frankc on Mar 28, 2024 at 1:45 pm

Hope see proton EV using geely modular platform just like Volvo did. Of course it will be of different market segment. A challenge foresee now is will it be cost effective to keep proton competitive considering proton’s msian market size

• Bob Mal on Mar 29, 2024 at 4:37 pm

Wishful thinking considering that none of the Geely + Proton cars x50,x70,x90 or S50 uses the Volvo platform.

The EX30 & Smart1 shares the same platform and we know how much those cost so unlikely they will be offered to Proton for Rm100k or less.

• President Xi on Mar 29, 2024 at 9:01 pm

Your delusional B40s thought their progees are rebadged Volvo

• Sembang Kencang on Mar 28, 2024 at 2:01 pm

Whatever Proton. Stick to the Miti deadline year-end 2025 or better close shop.

• More BS on Mar 28, 2024 at 3:32 pm

Must be the door trims by proton. Anything else from Geely. What an achievement! Proton must be proud to design the door trims for the new EVs!

• We are more confident if proton rebages from geely

• EV enthusiast on Mar 28, 2024 at 4:26 pm

It will not be a rebadge of existing model, it will be a rebadge of a new model.

• Raykat will say “Aaah, another grill engineering from Proton”.

• i lold on Mar 29, 2024 at 5:41 am

baca boleh, pircaya jangan

• fudgemesideways on Mar 29, 2024 at 8:23 am

Lembab ah bang. Bukan ape. Tapi lembab.

• Phuddi sung lee on Mar 29, 2024 at 8:35 am

Oh mind blowing,as expected always late to play small role in Ev mkt,byd specially penetrate now to almost capture mkt ,and this white elephant have lousy plans for CMG yr,that time Ev tech would be at next level and this poton always late and dead at end , indirectly burden on us as we have to spoon feed it even they always show that poton as its own feet (absolute lie)

• Alfred on Mar 29, 2024 at 8:48 am

It is OK bro, I am good. With Petrol car also got issues, now want to build EV?

• Bob Mal on Mar 29, 2024 at 8:52 am

Well obviously since Geely only releases a battery powered car the Geometry and that car is sold in Saudi for SAR145,000 while their latest Geely Coolray/X50 (with updated 4Cyl TGDi) only cost SAR75,000 so who can afford that car even if it arrives here better get the Samrt1?

• Wong fei Hong on Mar 29, 2024 at 9:02 am

Geely Panda Knight?

• Smithsonsen Tang Tiek Tok on Mar 29, 2024 at 6:04 pm

Mesti mau bagi teh tarik hook banyak banyak lagi mau towing hook pasang sekali dan atas bumbung bagi roof rack dan carrier satu kali. Bateri kasi Energizer boleh consider.

• What is this Roslan talking about? All Proton models are co developed with Geely. Their grille designs are state of the art, ensuring maximum airflow. Without the grille from Proton, there wont be x70, x50, x90.

• Will it still a failure? on Mar 30, 2024 at 3:07 pm

dulu Proton manyak makan petrol

skarang proton manyak makan eletrik

Feel like a Sampan or feel like HANBRAKE not release?

• Borntodrive on Mar 31, 2024 at 4:40 am

Use iriz chassis. Small n agile n gd handling

• OEM je on Apr 01, 2024 at 11:22 am

no shame in admitting you’re just good at OEM manufacturing, Proton. Everyone knew and accepts this, even if you don’t.

• Semua org bangsat on Apr 14, 2024 at 4:26 pm

Bangsat2 semua yg komen kt sini. Yes this means you. Mari bangsat bersama2.