Proton EV coming in 2027, after mild hybrids – report

Aside from talking about new model delays, the Hong Leong Investment Bank (HLIB) research article on Proton also briefly covered the topic of electric vehicles, The Edge reported. According to the bank’s analyst Daniel Wong, the national carmaker will likely dive straight into full EVs, which will go on sale by 2027.

Wong added that Proton will only make a “minor stepping stone” to the hybrid segment, which we take to mean mild hybrids. This runs counter to what deputy CEO Roslan Abdullah said in November, which is that the company’s electrification roadmap will also include plug-in hybrids.

We’ve known that mild hybrid Protons have been on the radar for some time, as the company showcased a 1.5 litre TGDi engine with a 48-volt belt-driven starter generator (BSG) at its Centre of Excellence (COE) showroom around the same time Roslan made his announcement.

Proton has experimented with EVs in the past; it will also be selling smart EVs in Malaysia soon

This mill is already being used in the Geely Azkarra (Boyue Pro) and Okavango (Haoyue) in the Philippines and produces 190 PS and 300 Nm. We’re expecting the engine to make its debut in a new seven-seater SUV based on the Okavango, widely tipped to be called the X90. It will likely debut next year, as Proton’s focus on addressing its supply issues and backlog of orders have pushed its product timeline back.

As for the eventual EV, Proton has no shortage of donor cars to use as base, not least the Geometry range of “affordable” electric models. By 2027, Geely will also have a full lineup of EVs based on the Sustainable Electric Architecture (SEA) – including the smart #1 that Proton Edar will sell in Malaysia in the near future.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• newme on Mar 28, 2022 at 1:25 pm

Old news. We have heard of it in 2012.

https://paultan.org/2012/09/28/proton-electric-car-coming-in-2014-parliament-told/

https://paultan.org/2015/05/29/proton-electric-car-prototype-stage/

https://paultan.org/2015/09/10/proton-iriz-ev-300-km-electric-car-on-display-at-igem/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 35
    • Logical Deduction on Mar 28, 2022 at 3:13 pm

Proton was ahead of its time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
      • Jaguh Global on Mar 28, 2022 at 4:25 pm

Just make sure other EV brands selling at higher price to make yourself looks cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 21
        • Nobody forced Hyundai to price their Ioniq5 at Merc EQA level bro. Sendiri bodo jgn salahkan org lain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • Contradiction on Mar 28, 2022 at 3:19 pm

inb4
      Come out EV, complain about wastage money for small EV numbers.
      Dont come out EV, complain about Proton no EV tech.

Yes, we heard it before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
    • Celup King on Mar 28, 2022 at 3:26 pm

We are still ahead of Jepun, they dun belip in EV

https://paultan.org/2022/02/24/toyota-bz4x-ev-will-not-be-sold-in-japan-only-offered-via-subscription-mass-production-to-begin-in-april

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
      • newme on Mar 28, 2022 at 4:15 pm

Believing something doesn’t make you “ahead”. The Japanese has the tech for EV and their disbelief won’t make them inferior. They have the tech and you don’t.
        Here we have people believe all sort of things, yes all sort of things and these people are not going anywhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 22
        • Troll Hunter on Mar 28, 2022 at 5:42 pm

They have tech but don’t use is just as bad as you have brainmatter but don’t use. Go somewhere else if you looking to troll.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
          • newme on Mar 29, 2022 at 5:59 pm

They release when the tech gets reliable.
            Look at how how Proton putting half past 6 CVT to their craps decade ago for the sake of adopting new tech and it got so much complaints, now got to settle with 4AT back. Now look at Myvi, now adopting a tested and reliable CVT and everyone is praising it.

• What are you blabbering about reliability? You mean CVT usage for donkey years in Japan are unreliable? As usual your bullcrap nonsense! Who is “everyone praising it”? Your fanboys cliques? Coz I don’t recall any PaulTan reviewer doing so except in your tiny head. Please lah the reason your P2 introduce CVT when you fanboys were still hailing 4AT is simply due to 4AT are no longer produced by the OEM, so P2 are forced to come into the modern era with CVT. With P1, it was a choice due to market demand to move back to 4AT but otherwise CVT are still used by other models. You can polish your crap how many times you like but it is still crap.

• newme on Mar 30, 2022 at 10:27 am

Yeah, talk all you want. Japanese has been using CVT for years but did they have so much problem like Proton? No. Remember how people welcome 4AT on new Proton models because their CVT sucks and created so much problem. Market demand konon. Since when Proton listen to market demand? Insulting the public adalah. Ranging from scolding the public for not buying their cars to “How much you know about cars?”.

Kang dah kena.

• Celup King on Mar 28, 2022 at 5:48 pm

Proton plans are more believable than Tesla in ASEAN?
          https://paultan.org/2022/03/28/teslas-indonesia-factory-plans-cancelled-proposal-wasnt-for-ev-batteries-car-plant-in-india-next/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Bob Mal on Mar 28, 2022 at 2:03 pm

Well that means the 1.5TGDi & 1.5L(T) is to be used across all variants for the next 5 years until dumping of old EV tech here again.

• Dong Gor on Mar 28, 2022 at 2:29 pm

It’s OK la, our government can continue subsidize petrol for us.

• Logical Deduction on Mar 28, 2022 at 3:14 pm

As long as petrol is subsidised, EV won’t take off. But EV is the future, so we rakyat are sacrificing our future for our current selfishness. Sad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • Current fair electricity rate is about 1.20 MYR/kWh. Add 0.30 MYR/kWh for charging infrastructure. Cost of electricity to driver is 0.255 MYR/km.

A reasonably efficient petrol car uses 5 L/100km. The current fair price of petrol plus infrastructure is 5 MYR/L. Cost of petrol to driver is 0.25 MYR/km.

Considering EVs cost 50-100% more than equivalent petrol cars, without subsidies, petrol cars are still much cheaper to buy and operate.

• Amriji on Mar 28, 2022 at 11:05 pm

Electricity rate is at most RM 0.55/kWh. It will be free if U have Solar Net Energy Metering scheme for your home. Kiralah betul2!!!

• I mentioned fair, not the subsidized/arbitrarily suppressed rate. Same for the quoted fair petrol price. It is above the “subsidized”/arbitrarily suppressed RON97 rate.

• Hantu Raya on Mar 29, 2022 at 11:09 am

Renewables are not reliable. Nuclear is the future.

• Dong Gor on Mar 29, 2022 at 9:32 am

any new product to the market is expensive. we need to consider malaysia’s avg income and the sliding value of RM. even without tax, EV won’t be affortable to the mass for the next 5 to 10 yrs. let’s face the fact we are not a rich country and we can’t afford EV in the near term

• Rakyat Malaysia on Mar 28, 2022 at 2:34 pm

Mantap Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Proton Flying car???

• hello wake up on Mar 29, 2022 at 9:36 am

In order to make way for EV, more EV charge station & infrastructure needed. By all means even if Proton go full EV in 2027, without a proper deployment plan for EV parts, charging station etc. I doubt anyone fool enough to dive into it. Not to mention battery tech in EV still boo…

• James KWON on Mar 29, 2022 at 12:22 pm

PROTON had EV test cars since 2010. what happened to those? what happened to the PREVE REEV prototype they displayed in 2014 open day? DRB internal politic killed them all to open way for inferior Geely EV based on stolen design and tech???? all the grants what happened?

• Celup King on Mar 30, 2022 at 3:56 pm

What happen? Proton realised this:
      https://paultan.org/2022/03/29/80-of-malaysian-drivers-want-to-see-more-evs-on-the-road-but-59-will-still-buy-petrol-cars-next-bmw/

• Mark X on Apr 03, 2022 at 8:44 pm

Fuel subsidy needs to go first. Otherwise, EV & Hybrid will die.. again.

• isaac on Apr 06, 2022 at 3:59 pm

2027? must be taking the outdated tech that other car companies dun want, another rebadged. Then finally tax other foreign cars so own car looks cheaper.

Just because we take malaysian cars not because we really wanna support our own country…. simply because we have no choice. If your quality is REALLY good then of course we will support, not because buatan Malaysia. Make lousy cars some more expensive and relying on govt help still dare to scold us for not buying your bull crap product huh. Good luck to you. That’s why I personally boycott Proton.