Proton Savvy R3?

Nice? Hehe. That red and white stripe that gives the R3 identity looks really good on the Savvy. Looks like the same Advanti Racing rims as the Proton Satria R3 too.

Click for larger image.

More updates here.

Related Proton Savvy posts:

Tiara Replacement Model Available For Booking
Tiara Replacement Model On The Road
Tiara Replacement Model Again
New Tiara Replacement Model Spyshots
Tiara Replacement Model Ads in Newspapers
Proton Sassy – The Name for the Tiara Replacement Model
Proton Savvy: Proton Renames The Sassy Tiara Replacement Model to Savvy
Proton Savvy Launch this 8th June
Possible Proton Savvy Interior Shots
Proton Savvy Photos
Proton Savvy Quality Control TUV Audit
Proton Savvy Launch at 5pm today!
Proton Press Release on the Savvy
Proton Savvy R3 ?
Proton Savvy R3 Concept at Proton Edar Mutiara
Proton Savvy Automatic to get Renault’s Quickshift 5

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• budin b. semeon on Jun 10, 2005 at 1:00 am

fantasticcccc

• crash on Jun 10, 2005 at 1:04 am

Bodykit sudah ada…

• jamaluddin bin mat tahir on Apr 21, 2010 at 4:52 pm

berapa harga bodykit R3 SAVVY dan boleh beli di alamat mana boss

• eAthena-Seir3n on Jun 10, 2005 at 1:05 am

Not bad! I'd say this is a good Spec R3 by Proton.

But you know , their quality control dept. is to blame for all the trust taken away from Proton.

(Surprisingly , a few of my friends that owns Wira's turned Proton away. But a Saga (1992) owner praised Proton . He said he repaired his Pwr Window a few times but other parts were quite ok. I guess miracles do happen.)

• napps on Jun 10, 2005 at 1:13 am

this is what i call a car….u can't do this to a myvi, coz it'll look stupid!

• the old protons were real workhorses.

• cloudz on Jun 10, 2005 at 1:44 am

how can u say MyVi with bodykit would be stupid?

hav u seen the trd bodykit? it looks Cooler than this(if it is black too)..

• eAthena-Seir3n on Jun 10, 2005 at 2:00 am

Hahaha , the Myvi's TRD Kit will blow alot of minds …. Loved it. Anyways now looking for ways to enhance my Myvi when it arrives , FFI ( For Flamers Information ) I booked mine RIGHT AFTER I saw the Savvy , Actually ,no comparison should be done between them. Coz Savvy is Competing with…………………….Kelisa.

And my friend that took me to College with his Saga today just overran a few Wira's …. and some Camry's and Accord's too. Hahaha , he goin at 130km/h at the MRR2 though. Lol.

• wow i didn't know the savvy can look this good! the wonders of car modification.. :)

• deutsche volks on Jun 10, 2005 at 3:29 am

issit just the bodykit that were change or it come with diff engine set?..ive heard the normal version only have drum brakes at the back..so is this 1 both front and back cross drill brake disc?..we''ll see

• tommy on Jun 10, 2005 at 3:42 am

since i saw the savvy,it realy disapoint me,i never see the car ugly like this ,but except the savvy r3,it looks sporty,something like peugeot205,last time hot hatch,maybe this will win some customer from myvi

• kevin on Jun 10, 2005 at 4:39 am

well i would say the car looks good.but why do they have to copy from the previous models.can't they create something without the waja and gen 2 looks.anyway lets wait and see when this baby get on the road.

• karheng on Jun 10, 2005 at 4:43 am

wow..this car does look good!

Wonder how it looks like with an air scoop on the bonnett?

• Accord Kia on Jun 10, 2005 at 4:53 am

to eAthena-Seir3n ,

dont try to drive so fast on MRR2, there got alot of speed track and pls dont race with Honda Accord because proton always be the loser.

• i don`t know either i should book this car or proton satria….both almost the same price

• akari on Jun 10, 2005 at 5:46 am

any special for this car's exterior? just add a sticker, change a rim, add a spoiler… any car also can modify ler… even i saw datsun with these once

• Cool..honesty speaking, Myvi never go this cool after install bodykit….really look sporty

• hey guys,beside looks,we stil need reliable.

n proton is losing it.

• akari: modify cars to look good is also an art. rims must be matching, spoiler matching, etc.

• Ex-Proton Owner on Jun 10, 2005 at 5:24 pm

Those who aren't open to others point of view, please DO NOT READ, those who can…read on.

Ummm…I think the Savvy looks butt ugly. No offence, just my personal opinion. The longer I look at it, the uglier it gets, specially the hood and the arse area. Bodykit and rims help…a little, in some strange way (It's like putting make-up on a butt ugly chick).

Myvi looks way better. And with the TRD bodykit…sweetness. If I had to choose, It'll be Myvi over the Savvy.

Seeing a couple of brand new gen 2's breakdown, Waja's interior falling to pieces has also greatly affected my judgement of Proton's reliability.

• Albert on Jun 10, 2005 at 5:36 pm

Good mng guys, well tumbs up fr SAVVY R3, look good with the modification. I do agreed with some of u that MY-VI may look stupid if done such modification.

Well Proton, u should come out more creative like this type of modification or design. To the R & D or advisor jangan "syoq" sendiri je… Learn from peoples comments cause they are the one who will be driving the car.

Beside that, SOLID RED already old fashion! Black and Blue just nice but try to come out with more exotic colors ok! DARE TO DARE so why not?

I'hve tested the car SAVVY, not bad, better performance than MY-VI, by the way..SAVVY to me is not MY-VI competitor but more within the range of KELISA, ATOS, KANCIL, PICANTO and others within the cc class. So if people trying to compare with MY-VI they are not so bright in cars la.

Sorry to say…

Go Proton

• Hello!! any 1 knew where got olive green color of Myvi Display at any K.L Perdua showroom. thank’s for your help.

• Harry on Jun 10, 2005 at 6:08 pm

Albert is an idiot. Then why on earth Proton's ADVERTISEMENT – Fuiyoh!Lucky i did not booked the other car. Isnt that shows proton admittting that myvi is savvy's direct competitor? If not then, proton's marketing people is damn stupid leh.

• try selling the savvy first…when savvy till now cannot sell, why R3 ??

the showroom near my office was full of ppl on the launch day, 2nd day ALMOST empty, today worst.

WORDS travel… so, Perodua showroom still pack with shoppers.

• cool looking savvy R3. I personally think savvy is made to accomodate some modifications to look great just like renaulth clio and citroen saxo.

• The competition is between national cars (Myvi/savvy) and non national (picanto, getz, jazz, aveo, spark etc)… get it.

• teikkin on Jun 10, 2005 at 7:59 pm

No i don't get it. The competition must first be between the national cars first ( MyVi vs Savvy ) then only can we compete with imported cars/ quality cars…

• I agree with Albert that Savvy is within range of car like Kelisa.. Myvi is more like a city car for leisure but Savvy is for driving with performance. With Lotus engineered suspension and a strong but compact body, this would be great to race on road. And it is better to ferry only 1 passenger, as rear seat ceiling is really low, people who taller than 5'8" has to tilt his/her head to sit. As for Myvi, this is more suitable for small family or working class who just want comfort and easy ride.

Conclusion,

Savvy: stylish, good for driving fast

Myvi : comfort, good for driving for leaisure

• Ex-Proton Owner on Jun 11, 2005 at 12:43 am

Why not compare Myvi to Savvy? They launched Savvy in a hurry…why? Could it be due to Myvi being launced??? As for price and cc, its hard to say which category they belong in. However, they are not that far apart. One thing is for sure, that they are after the same target market. So…not compare them???Why not??? It's not like you're comparing a Ferrari to a Ford Ranger…geez!

Went to get a second look at the Savvy again today, noticed that proton still can't get the gaps between the body and the doors right. Saw some protruding rubber comming out of the rear door. They didn't change the sucky door lock (that thing you pull up when u want to unlock the door from the inside). Engine wise, seems pretty clean, haven't tested yet. Interior reasonable ok, think the Myvi has better and tougher interior panels.

Why am I so fussy?…well, people forced (non-local cars are way more pricey due to government crap) into paying thousands of dolars for a mediocre product always gets me.

But then…you can ignore everything I said la…I'm not so bright about cars what…i've only bought, sold, driven, and raced a few of them…proton being 2 of them. Maybe you should ask the engineer of Proton …who probably drives a Honda Civic..

GO PROTON…yah…go back to the DRAWING BOARD!

• impatient on Jun 11, 2005 at 3:10 am

Enough of Myvi and Savvy. Perhaps it's time to move on to SRM ;-)

• jamaluddin bin mat tahir on Apr 21, 2010 at 4:53 pm

berapa harga bodykits r3 dan boleh dapat dimana…

• eAthena-Seir3n on Jun 11, 2005 at 4:47 am

HooHoo , Accord Kia , which model you own?

My dad drives a 2005 2.4 iVTEC Model , Quite powerful but … No place to speed , unless on highways.

And MRR2…My friend usually drives 120-120 but if i am driving i go 90-100 . That road is way too familiar to us. But we keep within limits hehehe. (No speeding at peak hrs)

• This question was posted on the yahoo.com.my

“Should the government protect Proton from foreign competition?”

more than 65% respondence agree to “No protection please. Proton needs to compete globally or sink ”

Having to raise my children, I know we to let them learn by themselves.

Our son Proton is now 30 years old, still studying in the University, and when there was a big bully push him around, father have to make a trip to the school to inform the teacher , and look for the bully.

Poor old father is now 65+ and one will imagine how long will father still need to do this.

Our son Proton graduated and started working is a big firm, at now age 40, married and have child of his own, his manager scolded our son proton and make him do the report again, poor old father, now at age 75+, DO YOU THINK HE NEED TO GO TO THE OFFICE TO SCOLD THE MANAGER.

GROW UP PROTON

• SexyThng on Jun 13, 2005 at 11:40 am

it is shocking that some of you see this car as beautiful. to be honest this car looks like crap. fitting on some rims and recaro seats and momo wheel wont do it anygood either. it just looks like a souped up kancils you see on the road everyday.

that goes on to show how successful proton and the government is at preventing any foreign competition for proton. and in the wake deprive most malaysians of better cars while ripping us off with cheap crap like these. we are like frogs in a well.

• Stronger body in its' class. Compare to the good old Datsun 120Y?

• Accord Kia on Jun 14, 2005 at 5:11 pm

to eAthena-Seir3n,

i got the same type model. i really like the outlook, damn cool.

• agong on Jun 18, 2005 at 9:01 am

my friend in U.K told me that Myvi over there only sell RM20k-RM30k,even proton car r extreamely cheap over there,y malaysia here sell so expensive? y ha? can anybody can pass this message to mahathir or adullah/najib or raffidah?

damn m’sia minister!!!oh ya , i forgot that proton company main holder is under maharthir & his son,right?

• Read the Business Time yesterday .

MyVi booking already surpass 33,000 units. Already 33,000 people are sure that MyVi is better then Savvy.

Proton…. start thinking.

• maestro on Jun 22, 2005 at 11:33 pm

edw… myvi came out 2 weeks before savvy.. there are 27million ppl in malaysia… of course la 33,000 units booked… my question is.. why the f*** are ppl so stupid that they would book a car that would be delivered in 6 – 8 months.. and even that – no promises… i would say.. MYVI buyers who are prepared to wait for a car that long.. is a bit retarded… right or not edw???? if u dispute that, i'll slap your face…

if they take back their money.. write letters and etc… get back 500 bucks booking fee.. go book savvy… or wait till July 2005 and book an auto matic savvy.. they get it in 2 weeks to 1 month… i am estimating.. check with the dealers.. that is more realistic…

again.. i stress… to wait 6 – 8 months for your pathetic MINI MPV.. is a decision only a spastic can comprehend…

SAVVY.. the better option.. and definitely the smarter…..

• Bamboo on Jun 23, 2005 at 7:47 am

alo maestro,i think these people are willing to wait 5-6 months rather than paying 7-9 years of bank loan for a proton sawi.you dare to buy sawi?i dn`t believe proton can provide ur car within next month.maybe 30-40 car/month ok la kot..

• allan on Jun 28, 2005 at 9:18 pm

savvy is built for the european market.the engine used is suitable for tax break and lower insurance premium in the u.k..it is presumably a 1 engine vehicle like the ford ka, audi a4 and fiat ciquento.people who prefer a sporty car will choose the savvy but those for soft driving car will choose the myvi.the question is ,why is it reviewer from u.k. and australia do not like the myvi variation with 4 speed auto box but people here like it with 3 speed auto with overdrive

• mitsubishi wira on Jul 04, 2005 at 6:00 pm

Mr Allan, you definately 'makan gaji' with proton.So far no body buy any single savvy.Why use renault engine when in rational Malaysian don't like renault brand since 1960's until now. Renault is a good brand in their own country or in europe but not in asia.

• smart as myvi on Jul 05, 2005 at 12:15 am

Alo, f****ing maestro, why so supportive about savvy, u salesman jual sawi ah ? Remember when u're a kid, ur mother keep telling u not to eat 'junk food'! Now i would like to remind u all not to buy this 'junk car' named sawwy or u will feel 'totally stupid` for the rest of your life.Mr maestro, don't tell ur mother that u already booked that crapping sawwy, otherwise u'll get a big slap ( twice ) ha..ha….ha…..

• speed on Jul 21, 2010 at 2:12 pm

oi…
      if u wan to compare savvy n myvi,y don u test drive it first…
      savvy are more faster than myvi…
      savvy suspension are better than myvi..
      i already drive those car..
      myvi at 160km/h,shacking like hell but savvy still maintain at tht speed..
      myvi top speed only at 165km/h but savvy can go until 180km/h…
      myvi only nice at bodykit but other part,its worse…
      y dont u drive myvi n i drive savvy…
      lets have a test who is better??ok?
      r u dare?

• Ex-Proton Owner on Jul 05, 2005 at 5:48 pm

dear maestro…sounds like ur the retard. You're talking about thousands of dollars here. If you'd rather spend on a crummy product that u can get quick instead of waiting awhile for something better…then…dude…seems like theres plenty empty space up there in your head!

U must be a proton salesman.

Don't be slapping people la, keep ur hands to urself and go jerkoff!!!

• nice guy on Jul 05, 2005 at 9:53 pm

Pls, don't go around and slapping people la ! Not nice like that. U want to be smart then buy myvi, if u're stupid and like to be conned by proton, then go and buy savvy. T.Q.

• tiker on Jul 09, 2005 at 12:19 am

pls, dont called someone stupid also…

not nice like that…. TQ

• where can i buy the bodykit for this car, how much it will coz plzzzzzzzzz!

• RELINQUISHED on Oct 28, 2005 at 2:08 am

PLZZZ LAH,YOU ALL KEEP ON INSULTING EACH OTHER LIKE U,R THE ONE WHO'S LOSING THE MONEY BUYING THIS CAR……TRY TO KEEP U'R OWN MOUTH SHUT OTHER THAN INSULTING OTER'S.TO PROTON,U'R GUYS SHOULD TRY TO UPGRADE THE PERFOMANCE OF U'R PRODUCT IN ORDER TO GAIN BACK PEOPLE TRUST LIKE THE OLD DAYS……TQ

• Adam Sulaiman on Nov 02, 2005 at 10:38 am

I got savvy with green-appel colour, everybody said it’s nice look.

One thing I want to tell you,

Once I drived savvy, I feel like continental car.

More fantastic !!!! fuel consumption like Japanes car.

Now’s a day fuel’s price quite exspensive,

It’s good for less budget’s life.

• daniel on Dec 07, 2005 at 11:06 pm

yuuuukkkkk!!!!!!!!!!… go honda……

• alifbata on Dec 07, 2005 at 11:11 pm

hi guys!!!!!!… i'm looking for a new car that have better performance than BMW 5 series.which is i owned at thgis moment….pls call me at 013-3603630 ( ijat )

• i've my own car savvy. savvy car make be enjoy and save the petrol… try test drive and you can get the answer… love savvy

• hello guys, i want tell to u all, i have test drived savvy before then, its performent is fantastic interm in speeding, cornering, hendling and valuable. when im speeding from 0 to 100 km is exactly same as poton test. so from 100 i go to drop gear 3 to take corner witout breaking. so imagine how this small car can take corner with such speed. and from that part i trust with this model. and savvy also got positive comments from uk auto magazine compare with previos model like waja(impian) and gent 2. thank to TUV body to ensure savvy quality same like international standart car. for MYVI fan dont worry this model is good for comfertable, space and long distance driving. for savvy its good for performance, economical fuel consumption and fun to drieve. but savvy interior ist bad than myvi quality. both of this model are made by national car maker, so why we must argue between them. most importantly, proton boleh! produa boleh MALAYSIA BOLEH ! more information log on www.autocar.co.uk

• Kakushi on Dec 12, 2005 at 7:14 am

allo every 1. actually I wanna tel y'all that my uncle in Japan said that Myvi is a based model from Daihatsu Sirion. so I have seen Daihatsu Sirion and Myvi. but why Myvi had a big f****n' bumper. it so ugly you know. even one of my son said, it looks like a FROG!!! But compare to Savvy, although it had a poor design, I still love it coz the Renault Clio engine doesn't dissapoint you. 0 to 100 km/h at 12.6 sec. Amazing! But the dashboard does not nice at all. I love Savvy in blue colour with white rim. That's look terrific. to ulie, thanks for the comment. really help me. to all malaysians who wanted a cheap but cool superminis car, why don't try savvy? "THE PROTON SAVVY, IT'S TOUGHER THAN YOU THINK!"

• NeoAsna on Dec 12, 2005 at 8:32 am

hey guys~! just wanna say… wat ta hell.. dat you all are talking about… y argue about savvy and myvi..they both are national cars… y not support them instead…actually foreign car is lot more better than ours…but the price makes buyer think twice to buy them..then my point is.. if you all are looking for well-known-high-quality car …just buy foreign car laa… if you can afford them..or just suport local cars… thats all tangkiu… Malaysia Boleh~!! Savvy Boleh~!! Myvi Boleh….blah… Ong ong kedek kedek~~ (frg's sound or any animal that sound like it)

p/s: savvy look better though :) and this r3 model is quite impressive, shows its garangness to all and Myvi is looked like a frog indeed… if you are frog lovers…then myvi should suit you…hehehehe….and uhm ulie… thats a good point…

• ben halen on Dec 14, 2005 at 12:53 am

about the renault D4F engine…

You seems not mentioned anything about the ECU (electronic control unit) so as the R3's in their webpage. But when i navigate the web, i found that similar engine model in renault twingo has this part and can be remapped to boost the horsepower…

i hope that you can provide some valuable information to me.

• KAKIMOTO on Jan 08, 2006 at 12:34 am

Savvy is one of a kind… a car with it's own personality within its existance. i watched a Europe Automotive critics programme laughing and joking about Savvy… that was a humiliation to me, to Malaysia. Yes, Proton did have bad reputation of being deep low in quality. But how many out there on the road that you can see and did yourself ever take a ride, borrow or own any of them? Remember, our country is a developing country and as far as everyone should realize that our leaders dare to take the risk to ask help from Japan to loan us their piece of mind to let us copy their automotive engineering and design. yes, we were slow but we did our best to learn and we struggle to develope our own engine and body design. Technology my fellow readers, is hard to obtain… lucky are those modern countires who seems to own these so called modern technologies… they sell thier ideas, only a little bit of it. For 20 years we been tied up to Mitsubishi and it was the good years where most of us enjoy a growing economy and most have jobs and earns well. We efford to buy a car for our family and we initially feels like can't believe our eyes when the 1st proton saga 1.3 sedan roll out into the stage… I believe everyone of you did remember the moment. That was the results of our determination to catch up with the rest of developing countries and in the same time for the beterment of our living standard. Look, we never get any IMF, we survive 1998 … what? Well, these things are very much related and we all should realize the fact that we should be proud of Savvy… why proton's product low in quality..? Ask yourself, your attitude, your mind set and your life style… how you perform your work, how you make decision and what do you think about tomorrow… we are Malaysian, remember. Admit that we tend to take things for granted, act only when worst happen and such… see how you people drive on the road… you maybe a gentleman, or ladies… but when you hold that steering wheel… you may be a devil end up with curse from other drivers, summons or end up dead on the road…. this is our culture and life style. Proton is the mother company… and inside is the CEO,Director, Managers, executives, Supervisors and workers… RNB, purchasing, engineering, manufacturing, logistics, Finance, human resaource, auditors etc… there is BLACK SHEEP everywhere… and that is why… "TIDAK APA" attitude that everyone is having…. how about the auto parts supplier… most of them are malaysian… you maybe the niece, nephiew, grandsun, sun, daughter, relative to any of them…. we only look at profit… never the quality. thats why…. think about it.

• KAKIMOTO on Jan 08, 2006 at 12:56 am

Again! Talking about SAVVY… you guys should test-driven it. I did and I am very much surprise with the two different model standard manual & AMT… no wonder some would say it is the 1st LOTUS model!! interior design, safety features, handling and it’s exterior body durability is European standard. At 4th gear and at the seep of 80km/h, I can easily overtake a car in front without shift down to 3rd gear amazingly. At the shard corner somewhere near the USJ Carrefour heading to GLENMARIE… at 100km/h on also 4th gear… the car stick to the ground while zooming in-between the Honda city 1.5, a wira 1.5 and a Volvo S40 at the same corner! The main point is,

1. PRICE

2. FUEL ECONOMY

3. SAFETY

4. COMFORT

5. ENGINE CAPABILITY

6. SPACE

7. LOOKS

8. RESALE VALUE

Above are the points you should look for in a new car you want to buy…

• KAKIMOTO on Jan 08, 2006 at 1:10 am

Look at Honda City… 88hp with only 1500 CC displacement is causing you nearly 90K.

Toyota VIOS… 110hp, small interior space & exterior looks, all autos… you better think twice.

KIA & Hyundai… resale value, spare parts, noisy engine, limited performance parts

Nissan SENTRA… the only saloon model exist in Malaysia for you to buy, resale value… you check it out for yourself.

Suzuki SWIFT … you must be joking! After years later, you regret that you ever own one.

Above are mostly the good examples of cars you see on the road. After all, we all owing the bank… paying the installment reaching the height of RM800 to RM1500 a month… you are wasting money… better buy a house or invest.

Have you ever been to Korea? Check it out… most cars on the road is either KIA or HYUNDAI only! Japan… they rule the world, man. Even General Motors loose face!!!

Savvy in the other hand… is a mystery you are yet to discover… you’ll never know till you try. So far, compared to MYVI, Savvy is also having zero complaints from buyers… some more; it is your 1st LOTUS if you get one.

• dinbagak (Member) on Sep 12, 2008 at 2:13 pm

helo
    i’m just to finding out. is it better to buy savvy? because i want to know if i’m using savvy for 8 years, and want to trade in with other car. is it savvy have value to be trade in at that time? because i m scared if the situation being similar to proton tiara. the value goes down

• mustangKL (Member) on Feb 22, 2009 at 9:31 am

ni lah kereta paling gagah ….

• savvy-170kmh-standard engine=so powerful!!!

• aladibsavvy711 on Apr 17, 2009 at 7:59 am

savvy…

=good performance

=comfort to drive

=powerfull (below 1.3 class)

=sporty

=fuel saving

want to know some more…

go to nearest dealer n buy 1 for ur own…enjoy your drive…

• aladibsavvy711 on Apr 17, 2009 at 8:04 am

but one thing………

savvy spare parts quart expensive…

proton…do somethings!!!!

• endof2009 on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:19 am

lol… reading all of the comments above tickles me a lot!

now we know where SAVVY and MYVI stands right??? ;)

• paper_doll on May 31, 2010 at 1:45 pm

savvy can go for long journey?

• Helo,anyone…can proton savvy use aditive oil in my engine oil…?

• madeline tan on Dec 08, 2010 at 10:32 am

I bought this car Cheap,the parts is killing me,cost me almost 10.000 dollars.M nt driving BMW.the parts is call electrical parts.I need to do fast lookin ard for cheap part,but seems to be expensive…Disappointed with the Quote that Proton Quote me.