Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Are Malaysian Bloggers Inferior to Singaporean Bloggers?

Apparently, Malaysian bloggers who only have bad press media and gloat about mediocre USD100 Adsense earnings are inferior to Singaporean bloggers who get to write for real publications, get offered endorsements and get paid for it!

Its evident from the facts. Mr brown, Miyagi are writing for Today; Wendy is writing for The New Paper, Maxim, endorsing LocalBrand; and most interestingly, commercial entities are APPROACHING the Bloggercon organizers for sponsorship, instead of the other way round.

All these are happening while Malaysian bloggers are still gloating over how they got their first cheques from Google Adsense.

I don’t know why I felt like cracking open Kenny’s coconuts when I read that. But after a while, I’ve cooled down. Always had this temper control problem, losing temper for no proper reason.

This Adsense issue has been played over and over again. Kenny, Adsense is actually serious money. It is not just USD100 after a few months of collecting a few cents of income a day. It depends on the topic of your blog of course.

What do you guys think?

32 Comments »

1. lilian said,

July 6, 2005 @ 5:03 pm

I got no trackback but here is my thoughts on the issue:
    http://chanlilian.net/archives/2005/07/_kenny_gloating.html

2. simon said,

July 6, 2005 @ 5:11 pm

i suppose its a matter of perspective. How many malaysian bloggers gloat? All? A few? Do none of singaporean gloat? How do we quantify it?

3. wired-head said,

July 6, 2005 @ 5:21 pm

The trend is slow here… just ask around.. who reads blogs.. well only ppl who blogs reads them.. and usually the personal stories ’bout their lives. Not many people refer to blog as an informative tool.. *sigh*

4. Kenny Sia said,

July 6, 2005 @ 5:30 pm

Oh come on, don’t misunderstand my intentions.

What I meant was that publications and commercial entities in Singapore are game enough to approach bloggers to work for them for their benefit.

You don’t see that in Malaysia do you?

I never said Malaysian bloggers are not as good as Singaporean bloggers. You took it the wrong way.

5. Paul said,

July 6, 2005 @ 5:35 pm

yeah, but i was ticked off at your reference to adsense and the use of the word ‘gloating’.

6. Kenny Sia said,

July 6, 2005 @ 6:14 pm

I apologise you felt that way. I meant no malice.

I was merely lamenting the fact that when it comes to earning revenues from their blogs, we did not fare as well as our Singaporean counterparts. I’m lamenting the fact that we are not taken as seriously by prints and businesses in our country.

I’m Malaysian and I still have Google Adsense on my website. Its impossible that I attack myself.

Sorry that message conveyed wasn’t obvious.

7. wil@theblackjournal said,

July 6, 2005 @ 6:24 pm

IMO, USD100 is pathetic but then as the saying goes, “A waterfall starts with a drop of water”. We’ll get there ;)

8. IB said,

July 6, 2005 @ 7:39 pm

IMHO, Kenny “Xia” used to be funny. Now he is going the way of the XX blog. Not funny, shallow, kind of boring and desperate for attention. So over it.

9. Kenny Sia said,

July 6, 2005 @ 8:46 pm

!!!

Knife -> Heart

10. Wingz said,

July 6, 2005 @ 9:26 pm

OMG OMG I SMELL GUN POWDER !!!!

11. cccp said,

July 6, 2005 @ 9:51 pm

is blogging all about endoursement and earning money? maybe malaysian are the more matured bloggers.

12. Wingz said,

July 6, 2005 @ 9:56 pm

3 cheers for cccp !!!! HIP HIP HOORAY !!!!

13. IB said,

July 6, 2005 @ 10:11 pm

Well Kenny, you shouldn’t be offended as you obviously are her admirer. Surely if someone says you are like someone you admire, shouldn’t you be pleased? Just like to point out that little contradiction in your reaction.

14. Mellissa said,

July 6, 2005 @ 10:28 pm

When you said you felt like “cracking open Kenny’s coconuts” I really read that the wrong way until I realised Kenny technically wouldn’t have coconuts. I don’t know what’s wrong with me tonight o_O

15. Cj said,

July 7, 2005 @ 1:23 am

I feel the need to defend Kenny (and his coconuts)…

IB: He doesn’t sound too offended by your comment, but anyone would be upset to see his blog being referred to words like “not funny, shallow, kind of boring and desperate for attention”. The hurting point is in those words, not exactly the similar comparison to XiaXue. Plus, your baseless accusation that sprung out from nowhere is certain not ‘humble opinion’, how’s that for contradiction? By the way, it’s your own loss to not understand what others are finding humorous of. And do you want to claim that you don’t crave for attention to your blog? For Kennysia.com popularity level, if he’s still ‘desperate for attention’, then I guess you’ll probably consider killing 1 or 2 person just to get 5 more comments in your blog.

cccp: You got it all mixed up, the topic is about Malaysian bloggers who ‘gloated’ about their first google check, and Singaporean bloggers are already 1 or 2 steps ahead. Both sides are happy to receive money that comes from blogging and question of maturity is out of the context. Yeah sure you can be all politically correct and sing the song about blogging is not about making money and signing endorsement deals but, would many bloggers, Malaysian or Singaporean, pass up the chance to earn extra (and sometimes serious) cash from just maintaining an online journal? Would you?

Get your facts right before trying to whore your own blog by posting uninformed comments.

16. Kenny Sia said,

July 7, 2005 @ 1:31 am

Once again, I never said that Malaysian bloggers are not mature.

The culture. The culture. The culture.

17. Paul said,

July 7, 2005 @ 1:40 am

Kenny: You’re right, I misunderstood.

18. IB said,

July 7, 2005 @ 9:04 am

Cj,

How do you think my opinion is not “humble”? At any rate it still is my opinion. Kenny used to be funny - now it seems all he blogs about is other bloggers, blogging and just recording “what I did today, I ate here, I ate there”. A baseless accusation is one with no base - my base is Kenny’s blog - which if you look at the last few entries is just that. I’m pretty bored with the XX lovefest - which you can hardly deny is going on.

As for the other, if I pandered to the audience I’m sure I could increase my readership exponentially. I’m not desperate for comments or readership, I blog when I feel like it and with what I feel like - even if it’s only a silly song. I don’t need 50 comments saying “haha you’re so funny” or “you want to date me?”. pish.

Wrt the “he’s popular so must not be an attention whore” thing - you never heard of celebrities (i.e. Paris Hilton) meh? They have a million times more attention than KS, but are still the biggest attention whores ever.

19. IB said,

July 7, 2005 @ 9:06 am

For the record also - the reason I include my website when I post comments is because I think anonymous postings are chicken shit. Not because I want to attract readers.

20. Kenny Sia said,

July 7, 2005 @ 11:36 am

Sorry. I shall not blog about my trip overseas and about my daily life then.

21. IB said,

July 7, 2005 @ 12:16 pm

*rolls eyes* yesh. Do what you like. 1 less reader (me) going to make abso-forkin-lutely no difference to your site. But seriously, I suggest you find a spine. Besides which that is not what I was saying. Blogging about daily life is fine so long as it’s not just a litany of facts. I mean, check out waiterrant.blogspot.com. That guy blogs about his daily life, but he reflects on them too.

22. KP said,

July 7, 2005 @ 2:29 pm

IB, I’m a regular blog reader but don’t have my one of my own. That, however, does not mean I am spineless nor should not make comments. Reading yours, I am struck by a thought: “Who are you to define what should go in anyone’s blog?”
    Reflect on that, will you?

23. Paul said,

July 7, 2005 @ 2:40 pm

I LOVE waiterrant.

24. IB said,

July 7, 2005 @ 3:47 pm

KP, no-one. But who are you to do the same? All I’m saying to Kenny is he needs to learn how to blog (and do everything else) for his own self-satisfaction and not for readership or so everyone “likes” him - that way his blog will go back to being interesting. Not trying to dictate what he should blog about - which is exactly what I said in my last comment.

KP, you’re free to find my blog badly written, boring or inconsequential. And you’re free to comment on it. I don’t care, one way or the other. And I’m definitely not going to cry about some person, I don’t know, saying things about me, true or not. If that were the case, I’d be lying on the floor comatose with depression.

People who offer constructive criticism, however, I welcome with open arms. Not some cryptic “well, look at your blog, you shouldn’t do this..” What ABOUT my blog? Vagarities are just another way of pretending you have a valid point when you don’t really.

25. Dan said,

July 7, 2005 @ 4:34 pm

ib you’re contradicting yourself!

“blog for his own self-satisfaction and not for readership” —–> when he wrote about his travels, wasn’t he writing for himself?

26. IB said,

July 7, 2005 @ 5:19 pm

The “Bloglitics” rubbish and the latest whiney post complaining about other people not “liking” him is what I was referring to. If he were blogging for himself he wouldn’t take it to heart if people didn’t like his blog.

While I don’t have a problem with him writing about his travels and lovefest with other bloggers I still have a right to consider it “boring”. You can call me boring too if you want.

27. IB said,

July 7, 2005 @ 5:23 pm

Btw, before anyone else also say. I think my blog may be considered “Not funny, shallow, kind of boring” too. I still like it the way it is though, and frankly don’t give a shit what 99.9% of people might think (or not) of it.

28. Mark said,

July 7, 2005 @ 10:31 pm

IB, then y u hammering KS’s blog for? Even Paul has apologized for any misunderstanding.

If you don’t like his bloglitics post, then don’t read after the first line lah!

29. KP said,

July 8, 2005 @ 1:13 am

and frankly don’t give a shit what 99.9% of people might think (or not) of it

Let’s see now… 8 comments and counting..
    Is this like, emm, advertising? .. or dare I say comment-whoring? WTF man, chill out.

30. IB said,

July 8, 2005 @ 9:43 am

Never heard of boredom at work, is it? I mean, someone raise a question as to my intention, I am not reasonably expected to answer?

If I was blog-whoring, I can easily write a blog post about it and ping it to PPS. That would be much more effective than commenting here.

And btw, Mark “If you don’t like his bloglitics post, then don’t read after the first line lah!” This is retarded. This is exactly what I already said - but not reading it doesn’t mean I cannot comment about how it is now, in my opinion, boring, no?

31. minishorts said,

July 18, 2005 @ 12:06 pm

OMFGKNNCB this IB woman is everywhere right? so super sexually deprived!

I’m going to right this wrong from now on. Fear not… I’m here to save the day…

Just gimme a few hours for lunch and then some time for myself and I’ll get on to it immediately.

*ta*

32. ba11z said,

September 30, 2005 @ 6:06 pm

wtfla lol

previous post: Proton Gas-Electric Car?
next post: World’s Most Economical Car

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Don't have an account?

If you do not have an account on paultan.org, please click here to register. Note that first time commenters will have to be approved before your comment appears.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

What are you waiting for? Register now!