Lotus Europa S

Lotus has finally announced the Lotus Europa S, after spyshots of it being seen around Europe and in Malaysia being test driven along Proton models like the Savvy and the SRM. Alot of speculation has been going on about the name of the new car as well as whether Proton will be offering a re-badge of it.

The Lotus Europa is a 2 seater coupe positioned above the Elise and Exige. The theme for the car is ‘business class’. Much more sophisticated and the lines are smoother and understated rather than the bold sporty styling of the Elise.

The Lotus Europa is only 995kg of course with it being a Lotus. Weight reduction! The car is a mid-engine, and features a 2.0 litre turbocharged engine producing 200 hp at 5400rpm and 263 Nm torque at 4200rpm. 90% of the maximum torque is available from only 2000rpm so acceleration from low engine speeds is great. 0-100km/h takes 5.5 seconds and top speed is 225km/h.

The Lotus Europa S will start production in Lotus’ Manufacturing Facility in Hethel, Norfolk in the UK.

Will Proton rebadge this? No indication yet!

Will we get a Proton-badged Lotus Europa?
Proton Ultimate – Lotus Europa

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 4g lovers on Dec 07, 2005 at 6:11 pm

apsal makin lama maikn x lawa plak aku tgk kete nie, cam overdone jerk.!

• rikeys on Dec 07, 2005 at 6:18 pm

Err … don't think so

would anyone wanna pay RM200k for a Proton badge?

even at RM200k for a Lotus also not flying off the factory also…

• Now producing 200bhp ,

lotus elise before it is 120bhp only.

if not lightweight , gth the elise.

• SEE FU on Dec 07, 2005 at 6:49 pm

Awesome! Lotus design……

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!! Cheers :P

• muthu on Dec 07, 2005 at 6:50 pm

in malaysia ……. who's going to buy this car? with the road condition….. lubang sana lubang sini….. balik kampung…… anak banyak…… harga mahal……. i think malaysian prefer MPV……… savecost….

• alo mutu, use this car as a weekend toy la…hantam h.way KL – PENANG – JP – KL again…work days, just use cubchai..relaxxx…

• NO la….

if sell as Lotus… can sell ever where, worldwide !

if re-badge to Proton… Malaysia can sell, but worldwide ZERO sales.

:S

• accord kia on Dec 07, 2005 at 7:10 pm

the front look not so nice leh…still prefer the previous model

• muthu on Dec 07, 2005 at 7:11 pm

alo hazu

malaysian bayak duit ke? rm200++…… aiyo beli rumah lagi bagus la…… makan angin cuti cuti malaysia lagi bagus……. kalu menang main kuda atau loteri(4D) tak pa la….

ahak ahak ahak……..

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Dec 07, 2005 at 8:22 pm

sedar pun diri takde duit..

not so many those can afford sport car.. it's not in malaysia only too.. even tot in UK.. not every people can afford it.. no matter how.. only those have much money to spend and those god damn love sports car.

lotus still had a very BIG name btw ..

see there.. almost influence DoubleEye lamp shape as gen2 .

BTW.. i feel it also look OVERDONE.. :(

• No many will go for Proton worth RM 200k. Even Japanese cars don't sell well above RM 200K. People rather go for continental ……

1. RM 100k continental cars are preferred (85%)

Continental is always the best in quality control !

• Homer Simpson on Dec 07, 2005 at 8:37 pm

the rims looks like some cheap-ass JRD rims!

• Traliccio on Dec 07, 2005 at 8:38 pm

The rear of the car look like Egyptian firaun to me…

• important question is, does it come with cup holders?

• I think they should scrap that design. Go with something more Esprit like. You know bigger engine turbocharged lightweight but not buttercup light lah kinda like 1100kg or so. Looks too tame to me anyways i've always preferred the Esprit look, too bad about the fate of the car. Being compared to a Ferrari brings no joy in the sales department, just look at how many NSXs are sold a year heh.

• zerocool on Dec 07, 2005 at 10:01 pm

does it comes with glove box too ?

• YAU MOU GAUâ&e on Dec 07, 2005 at 10:05 pm

The rear looks OK… but the head lamp.. fugly… They should re design the front. The side profile looks good too…

• honestly, as a sports car, i have to critic on its design.

To me, the design of this thing is un-cohesive, un-mature lines and curves. Its not good looking. The Elise, Exige looked tons better. This Europa design is a bit too mixbag…… i'd go for a TT, Integra, Elise, 2005 MX-5 and so on, but not this thing.

• YAU MOU GAUâ&e on Dec 07, 2005 at 10:10 pm

Bob,

Maybe some guy from Poton designed it. We might never know…

• It is a beautiful car.

• takumi_trueno on Dec 07, 2005 at 11:34 pm

haiya…dont kutuk2 lg maa… why our malysian product most of u make negative impressions… we must support our product like japan.. so we can go far… i hope politician in proton will end coz da politician in proton can make the proton lingkup… dont protect vendor who sell bodypart high cost which make proton profit margin less.. find other vendor who r cheaper n more quality…

• superman on Dec 07, 2005 at 11:40 pm

Need cupholders if goin to be Business Class. But then again I'd probly spill my Starbucks latte when I jump in the drivers seat.

A Esprit replacement is earmarked for 2007/8 intro. Full Size sports car Big engine, big power, big price.

This car is more MRS MX5 rival. Not as hard core as Exige Elise.

• benunited on Dec 07, 2005 at 11:44 pm

wau, what a beauty!! 5/10 :-p

• mcm cheap sportrim je.. promosi proton 20th sambung lagi tak?

• promosi 20th proton sambung lg ke?

• fariq on Dec 08, 2005 at 12:02 am

the rims looks like it came from the satria GTi.. design is ok . but i dont really like the rear-end .. it does not have the lasting look like the elise/exige

• Look nice but still prefer the Bond's car, Esprit.

• iQbaL on Dec 08, 2005 at 12:27 am

the looks for me, is oooo-kay la….

• cloudz on Dec 08, 2005 at 12:27 am

personally..it looks like a proton to me..

• qualop on Dec 08, 2005 at 12:29 am

the rear remind me somewhat of the lotus circuit car and the side looks like the last Esprit. the original europa was not really a beautiful car. with a weigth of only 995Kg the performance should be really great.

I've never like the back on the previous shots… now it start to like it… sharp and edgy… it has a strong look….

• qualop on Dec 08, 2005 at 12:42 am

By comparaision, the weight of a BMW Z4 2.0 is 1295 kg

• fussy design.

• kancil_driver on Dec 08, 2005 at 1:14 am

yep, looks very much p1

• E-nabill on Dec 08, 2005 at 1:15 am

dono y the front tyres look so skinny to me….n who actually said its gona be sold for 200k???? its nt even mentioned…perhaps uve mistaked the 200bhp for RM?? . anyway…it wil probably be quite Affordable in the UK….i tink thats the main market nt here,although it was tested here…anyway,Brother's will have the skirting in no time!!

• Jazzy on Dec 08, 2005 at 1:46 am

I have just seen this piece of machine – up close and personal. I'd say it looks much better than the pictures. I'd say that the pics posted here does not do a fair justification of the real thing itself.

Its a job well done.

• honda_driver on Dec 08, 2005 at 2:08 am

its a sports car lah. the guy who will buy the MPV only, or maybe can't afford or not willing to splurge over RM200k or maybe even RM400k will never ever buy a sports car, whether japanese, or european..etc.

Same goes to the people who say no one buys 2 door cars. just because you are not in the market for "different" cars, doesnt mean other people wont buy them. Thats why there are mpvs, pickup, 4 door, 2 door, etc. etc. different cars for different people.

cloudz, its looks like a proton, because lotus designed the gen2, hence the similarity of the headlights, and dashboard. notice that small shelf that runs from the drivers side to the passenger side? and the lack of a glove box? exactly what the gen2 has… good or bad, i dunno. but i personally think its good for a no frills lotus sports car, but bad for a family passenger sedan.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Dec 08, 2005 at 2:12 am

N1 Jazzy.. I think the car looks nice when I saw the (Rumoured) Proton design.. Which turned out to be this..

But honestly.. This is not VERY nice, just in the nice section. And I think the car is too high up.. Should lower it to give it a more sporty look.

Or bump a kit on it and it'll look good.. Rear end not so promising though.

• Jazzy on Dec 08, 2005 at 2:26 am

eRis: It is very low from my point of view…I could run back and have another look at it again – which will just reveal the same thing : it's as low as an elise. I mean, put aside a few mm differences in dimensional sizes… it certainly look (in terms of size) just slightly bigger than an elise.

What I like about her is the design of the rear window which allow passer by to see the engine itself. Something sweet. I think the rear end has got a designer's touch. The two stripes. It probably could look much bare without them.

• cloudz on Dec 08, 2005 at 2:56 am

lol guys dun misunderstood..i say it looks like proton onli la..

it look nice la..i know what features does a sport car have..dun compare to other class would be a good idea ^_^

• Teratai potong on Dec 08, 2005 at 3:19 am

80s old skool styling, designed by half-baked kampong grads.

• gegaoff on Dec 08, 2005 at 5:30 am

well, seems not only me that think the RIm look cheap and ugly. :D

POTONG production?

anyway, not good for the exterior design…

cheers…

• big hairy flaps on Dec 08, 2005 at 6:30 am

Gear stick looks like Gen 2's…………………..

• Ihateproton on Dec 08, 2005 at 7:09 am

below a ton, 0-100 in 5.5sec, 225km/h

nowhere else but Britain…

Does anyone know where this engine comes from?

the 1.8 Lotus uses is from Toyota..

• Moses on Dec 08, 2005 at 8:51 am

I find the design appearling and approriately conservative, looking at the market segment that Lotus wishes to target it at.

But they could've been more creative with the lamps…headlamps look like they were taken off an Integra DC5, and the taillamps off a Lambo.

• damion on Dec 08, 2005 at 10:11 am

reading from some of the comments above…

i found it funny but, i never knew sports cars were compared to the word "practical"?

especially when i read abt the "balik kampung" part… lol..

anyways, jokes aside..

from a first glance from the side… it does look like it has the monocoque of the elise.. albeit difference in dimensions.. suggests a very low Cd reading..

platform should be the same as the elise n exige as the chances of redeveloping another platform for this model sounds rather absurd for lotus at a time like this..

however, problem here might lie with the fact that it's using a 2.0 turbocharged engine, lightweight chassis..

the controls might be a bit on the twitchy side so i guess newbie FR drivers are not recommended for this car.. unless you don't drive around with WOT most of the time but, who am i kidding?

don't tell me you buy sports car just to drive at 90kmh right? wait, i take that back… some tortoises i know really does that…

released figures suggested 200hp @ 5400rpm and 263 Nm torque at 4200rpm…

and with 90% of the torque available from 2000rpm, a light pressure turbo is rather evident…

but then, big question would be "whose engine is this" like what Ihateproton said..

my speculation for the engine could be a in-house built engine.. and the only engine made by Lotus by far would be the "Campro" series..

possible? or not?

your take.. :)

• iamamonkeysoareyou on Dec 08, 2005 at 11:09 am

it is not a Campro.

• E-nabill on Dec 08, 2005 at 12:39 pm

its the turbo charged 1.8 vvti celica engine….definatly

• honda_driver on Dec 08, 2005 at 3:55 pm

enabil, its a 2.0 litre, so how can it be a "1.8" celica engine? my bet is on something much further away, probably from a certain other "roadster" sold in europe i think.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Dec 08, 2005 at 3:58 pm

Really.. is it very low already? From what I can see.. the car has a lot of clearance.. Heck, even our Modded Wira's are sometimes lower than this *Lol*

Now that I took another look at the pictures.. I can feel that if this is priced between 150k-180k… It may as well be selling like hot cakes, But it's not really possible, is it?

• Like the back part, the front is nice but could made better.

• Sharfox on Dec 08, 2005 at 5:46 pm

Hi all,

Some infos I got from the webbie. These are for those who still have no idea bout this superbly carved machine.

– The Europa will have the Opel/Vauxhall four-cylinder 2-litre turbo engine which puts out 147 kW in standard trim.

– However, some versions of the Lotus Europa may get the 176 kW Opel OPC motor, which could give the sub-1 000 kg car 0 to 100 km/h acceleration in the 5 seconds bracket, with a top speed of 250 km/h plus.

– Lengthening and widening the chassis will also allow the mid-engined car to have reclining front seats and more luggage space, as well as room for two occasional passengers in the back.

There U go. Opel's engine Bros.

• Nameless on Dec 08, 2005 at 6:25 pm

Proton Look Lotus, Sayang Lotus Got undertake by Proton,come out this Loser Material of product, or else Lotus do well previously, now Became Lotus Potong! Please lah,sport rim dun use Waja one lah,go ask neighbour country like TATA they will advise u more pretty sport Rim lah, Copy CAT!

• albagmane on Dec 08, 2005 at 7:07 pm

gosh… it looks errrrrrrrrr (shivering)…!!!

• LOOKS GREAT!!!!!

• Michael Chua on Dec 08, 2005 at 7:35 pm

Lovely ;)

• Hameed Koyakuti on Dec 08, 2005 at 7:48 pm

Gen3 wannabe……….

• From rear looks very ugly… other side view seems not bad… whatever… tak mampu nak beli…

• JACKIE CHAN on Dec 08, 2005 at 9:16 pm

Freshman x2, when will you have money to "RENT" it!! not to own it.

Sad…….love ELISE and EUROPA SSS…

• lIkE ThE dEsIgN………..

• iamamonkeysoareyou on Dec 08, 2005 at 11:39 pm

There would be newer rims.

• koolspyda on Dec 09, 2005 at 1:50 am

It's a 2.0L GM engine. If you have been following the lotus enthusiast forums; they speculate the the "original" design came from Proton. Looks like proton may just dish out. (even when they had tested 2 units locally )

http://www.elisetalk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=…

[quote]The car is a Proton. It's been photographed before in many older threads/mags, often mistook as an Elise replacement. Proton bailed at the last minute and left Lotus holding the bag. Being resourceful, Lotus is going to try to sell it, but note that little appearance-wise has changed since the earliest spy photos. I suspect Lotus won't/can't sink more $ into the car. Whether Lotus can make money from selling this is unclear, as it's unknown what resources they invested during the development for Proton.

Let's say that it slides into the Opel/Vauxhall slot. What motivation is there to buy it? The engine is the same as the cars that it "replaces". The underpinnings are the same. The interior is 90% Elise/Exige. The styling is less controversial, and the ingress/egress marginally improved (note the sill is just as wide as before, but not as high). There is very little progression or advancement of this car over the Opel/Vauxhall IMHO. Is that enough to distinquish itself and generate demand?[/qoute]

• koolspyda on Dec 09, 2005 at 1:59 am

GM = Opel Vauxhall engine

This was suppose to be in Vauxhall VX220 category. not MX5 /MRS.

its a sports coupe not cabriolet.

did you guys read the "gen2" lights comment from the lotus enthusiast? ;)

elise mk11 (1.8L VVTi-L) = wow factor , styling & go faster bits like SC, turbo etc

europa (2.0L GM Ecotec) = ?????

• Kitty82 on Dec 09, 2005 at 2:28 am

yummy……i like! i like! jus please don put the proton badge on it…

• over-do ….. extremely over do ……

• its me on Dec 09, 2005 at 5:22 am

the meter panel for the lotus europa looks like the one in the new enhanced iswara!!!take a look closer!

• koolspyda on Dec 09, 2005 at 5:58 am

::[quote]the meter panel for the lotus europa looks like the one in the new enhanced iswara[/quote/

weeelll at least, the abundence in second han bins.

Protom "my first lotus" !!

• koolspyda on Dec 09, 2005 at 6:01 am

they should have stick to this!!

• narrowband on Dec 09, 2005 at 6:15 am

Think Proton should focus on practicality.

• Maybe Lotus goes "My first Proton" lolololol

• Looks stunning from the side.

• wow…there is the difference between lotus and proton

• SureRock on Dec 09, 2005 at 10:02 pm

if it is rebadged to potong and sell around 100k i dont mind at all….i got my first sport car then…slightly expensive then 2nd hand rx7

• koolspyda on Dec 10, 2005 at 12:46 am

iswara speedometers? Satria GTi styled wheels? Gen2 styled front lights……

lotus got to be more inmaginative then that!!!!! .

why ? why? lotus? the concept M250 lotus was such a stunner. the new concept Esprit is also sooo super……..

• koolspyda on Dec 10, 2005 at 12:56 am

interesting…

note from Lotus CEO Kim Ogaard-Nielsen about the new Lotus!

[Quote]

Hi Mark,

Trust you are well despite the cold snap. I was just a quick swing

around the US last week and it certainly felt a bit fresh in both Detroit and

Chicago. Not a lot better here!

At the LOG I said that we would be aligned from the end of next year

(2006) as I was aware of this last oddity in our line-up. (The car is really

good looking and drives well too.) The problem is that we will have to go

for an alternative engine if we are to bring this car to the US. This does not rule out bringing the car to the US BUT a decision to this has not yet been made and for that sake is not in our current product plan. Some of the decisions were made before my time and unfortunately not possible to "rewind".

Moving forward however we will be aligned, as I promised!

Fort Worth is in my calendar but before that I plan to spend the upcoming Holidays in sunny Florida.

Best regards,

Kim[/quote]

• magic on Dec 10, 2005 at 10:00 am

check this shit out! MALAYSIAN 1st sport car!

• honda_driver on Dec 10, 2005 at 5:09 pm

""iswara speedometers? Satria GTi styled wheels? Gen2 styled front lights……

lotus got to be more inmaginative then that!!!!! ."

koolspyda, its the other way around lah. Lotus designed those parts, and the Gen2 for Proton. Proton wanted lotus to inject some of their design cues into proton cars. and proton is not copying lotus, they own lotus, thats the difference.

• Prometheus on Dec 11, 2005 at 1:05 am

nice… I would buy it if the price is right.. Buy it as a 3rd car.. Hopefully Lotus technology and rebadged as proton in Malaysia, so that the price will be lower.. That would be great!

• willie on Dec 12, 2005 at 1:44 am

last time someone say it's PM5. now it's lotus europa S

huh ??

• Sazza_M from Scotlan on Dec 12, 2005 at 5:41 am

I'm a major Lotus fan and LOVE the new Lotus Europa S.

Damn shame it comes out in 2007 though, but the new Lotus Circuit Car comes out next year mid-2006 so we have that to look forward to.

Nice rear and it looks epic! I'm sure it will go faster than the Exige and Elise put together.

• Ujang on Dec 12, 2005 at 7:03 am

YO LAH, NICE CAR.

• Martin on Dec 12, 2005 at 4:25 pm

Lotus Europa = Polished Turd

So good even David Blunkett appreciates those "elegant" lines.

• Agree… cheers

• Yeah NICE CAR….

• Batman on Dec 16, 2005 at 11:38 pm

Yeah NICE CAR

• kingsampah on Dec 17, 2005 at 2:17 am

very nice car indeed..but to those basher..everything related with proton will do no good…just imagine if this Europa come out with Ferrari or Porsche badge…sure got praise like hell punya…

• kingsampah on Dec 17, 2005 at 2:23 am

when it comes to proton…everybody suddenly become profesional in critisizing car…but funny…sport car need practical??..balik kampung words associate with sports cars?..FC high?…WTF…dont these ppl feel ashame when put comment like pro..(overdone la..not practical la..curve not good la..)..but in fact they know nothing about car….

• koolspyda on Dec 22, 2005 at 12:31 am

>>>&gt ;http://www.elisetalk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=17698

FYI note from Lotus CEO Kim Ogaard-Nielsen ( gwai lo ) about the new Lotus

>>>&gt ;http://www.elisetalk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=17740

[quote]Hi Mark,

Trust you are well despite the cold snap. I was just a quick swing

around the US last week and it certainly felt a bit fresh in both Detroit and

Chicago. Not a lot better here!

At the LOG I said that we would be aligned from the end of next year

(2006) as I was aware of this last oddity in our line-up. (The car is really

good looking and drives well too.) The problem is that we will have to go

for an alternative engine if we are to bring this car to the US. This does not rule out bringing the car to the US BUT a decision to this has not yet been made and for that sake is not in our current product plan. Some of the decisions were made before my time and unfortunately not possible to "rewind".

Moving forward however we will be aligned, as I promised!

Fort Worth is in my calendar but before that I plan to spend the upcoming Holidays in sunny Florida.

Best regards,

Kim[/quote]