No Audi TT RS?

AutoExpress has some insider news on the new rumoured Audi TT RS, or rather the lack of such a model. AutoExpress says the S line upgrade for the Audi TT is as good as it gets for the new TT, and no Audi TT RS will be developed because it would clash with the upcoming Audi R8.

So if you want the TT to look fast as well as go fast, get the 3.2 V6 version and slap on the S line bodykit, but if that isn’t hot enough for you, better be prepared to fork out more cash for the Audi R8.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• maxtek (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 12:54 am

NO!!!!! I've been waiting for the RS and now there won't be one?! Stupid looking R8 doesn't even fit to be a TTRS wannabe!!!

Anyway, me 1st to post!!!

• redragon (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 1:59 am

maybe that's all the chassis could handle. 3.2 quattro s-tronic good enough lah.

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 2:52 am

yea, if priced close no potential buyer will go for the audi TT. might as well go for an R8. simply because r8 is designed to be a driver's car. audi tt would appeal to girl buyers or metrosexual guys simply coz audi tt is just for looks even though performance is alot better than the old one.

i think most audi tt sales will be the fwd version.

• szw (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 5:09 am

crap, such a nice car don get da green light.

• AMG (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 6:48 am

Ash……… I wait for the RS so long…… But i feel interest with the R8.. Which is the road version of the Audi Le Mans Concept…..

• gtaste (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 10:39 am

I call BS! Mark my words. Here are my 3 reasons and the second and third ones are more compelling reasons that this will not happen

1. Autoexpress is not the most realible source!

2. R8 is Lambo Gallardo caliber. That means the R8 is target at the price range of 120k to 200k USD market. There is no overlap showing RS TT with rumored 5 cylinder forced induction or uprated 2.0T would eat into the pie! Remember RS4 with 4.2 v8 DI is based at USD 66k and it will be 75k nicely loaded. RS TT is taking less exotic engine(Golf 5 cylinder or exisitng 2.0T) by increasing boost so concensus among audi fans is rumored to be around USD 55k to 70K.

3. RS TT is a smaller car than R8 weight wise or power/weigh ration wise. RSTT with quattro is still basedon FWD platform(cheap..er) and R8 is based on premium lambo chasis. So when it comes to driving dynamic, they will not overlap.