Peugeot 207CC announced

207cc1.jpg

Peugeot’s 206CC revolutionalised the convertible market, bringing the coupe-cabriolet concept not just to the high-end luxury market, but in a price range that was comfortable for everyone, well, almost everyone anyway. It achieved sales figures of 500,000 units worldwide in the past 6 years since it’s introduction in 2001. It’s successor, the Peugeot 207CC was first shown to us as a preview in the form of the Peugeot 207 EPURE Concept, which was basically a 207CC body with an electric powertrain. Today Peugeot announces details and specifications of the new Peugeot 207CC.

More details after the jump.

207cc12.jpg

The Peugeot 207CC is a 2+2 vehicle, though the rear two seats are hardly usable – even in hatchback form the rear seats are reserved only for tiny people. With a length of 4037mm, a width of 1075mm, and a wheelbase of 2540mm, the car is actually 75mm shorter than the hatchback variant.

There are two petrol engine options and one turbodiesel engine option. The two petrol engines are pretty much the same ones as the units in the new 2nd generation BMW MINI Cooper, though Peugeot’s turbocharged unit makes less power. The normally aspirated 1.6 litre petrol engine option is the EP6 – featuring variable valve timing, and a throttle butterfly-less intake (Valvetronic), resulting in a near flat turbocharger-like torque curve with 88% of peak torque available from only 2,000rpm, where it goes up and peaks at 160Nm at 4,250rpm. Peak horsepower is 120hp at 6,000rpm.

The higher end petrol unit is the EP6DT. While Peugeot’s press release says the new Peugeot 207CC’s engine has variable valve timing, I am pretty sure it does not have this feature, as the unit in the BMW MINI Cooper does not have it as well. Must be a mistake on Peugeot’s PR part. What it does have is gasoline direct injection and a twin scroll turbocharger, giving it 150hp at 5,800rpm and 240Nm of torque from a remarkably low 1,400rpm, remaining flat for most of the powerband.

The diesel option is the DV6TED4, a 1.6 litre 16 valve HDi engine with a Diesel Particulate Filter. The oil burner makes 110hp at 4,000rpm and 240Nm of torque at 1,750rpm. It also has an overboost function to boost torque to 260Nm. All three engines (2 petrol and one diesel) can be equipped with a 5-speed manual gearbox, but the 1.6 litre normally aspirated model can be spcified with a Porsche System Tiptronic 4-speed auto, similiar to the one we get in the Naza 206 Bestari.

The Peugeot 207CC’s folding roof is improved, now there is no more manual release handles, the operation is fully automatic. The roof drops in about 25 seconds, and coming up takes the same time. When the roof is down and stowed away, boot space is 187 litres, but when the top is up, boot space enlarges to 449 litres, pretty darn big for such a small car!

The 207 CC will go on sale in March next year, and prices are still unavailable, to be be announced nearer the sale date.

207cc6.jpg

207cc2.jpg

207cc8.jpg

207cc3.jpg

207cc5.jpg

207cc4.jpg

207cc11.jpg

207cc7.jpg

207cc9.jpg

207cc10.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tbcheese (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 11:29 am

They should've just removed the rear seats. On the other hand, the boot looks better compared to the 206CC.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 12:25 pm

one of the totally pointless cars for us here in msia…

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 12:49 pm

Nice leather covered dash!

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 2:49 pm

yup looks much better than 206CC, and yea, i think even a Hobbit wont fit into the rear seats! :-)

but its still a "chic" car and is really overpriced here… better pay xtra and get THE "chic" car, Mini!

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 2:51 pm

oh yea… issit just me or is the peugeot cars headlights getting bigger and bigger?

• normal_user (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 4:14 pm

ooh so yummy. Hope for Naza to bring this car here and price below 90K, sure goreng pisang panas. Its better to have this than the Mini on Malaysian roads. Too much Mini on our roads aledy, people see also bored.

• linuzri (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 4:40 pm

i think the back seat is for children or babies.

• Gus-Gus (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 5:01 pm

Looking forward to the 207CC arriving.

I don't know how big a Hobbit is but two 5ft 2in tall adults can sit at the back of the 206CC. A bit cramped but it's OK for short distances. At a push, I've even got four full-sized adults into the 206CC – again for short distances of no more than 10 miles.

The 206CC is a surprisingly useful car here in Malaysia – it can transport an unexpectedly large amount, even flat-packed cupboards from Ikea. The 207CC is slightly bigger so it will be able to fit in even more.

A cool car that really not only looks good but is versatile. A "cooler" option than a sedate MPV.

• Hikaru (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 5:06 pm

Just check out Motortrader, Peugeot owners club and the excellent 206 cc UK owners club and you will find that Peugeot's lower (relatively speaking) cost of production has it's draw backs as the roof of this car rattles when going through portholes or less than smooth road or the roof leaks etc. etc. No problem with the roof hydraulics but just that it isn't that polished as everyone things.

How do i know? I did some research as i was considering getting a 2nd hand one which is much more affordable these days.

What's this gotta do with the new 207cc? Just hope they smooth out the existing 206 cc's problem and hopefully when they bring in 207cc in M'sia, and after a few years the 2nd price would be affordable and i can afford a 2nd car. *grins*

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 6:39 pm

waah… can transport stuff around like MPV? u sure or not….. if lidat i retract my statement lar.. hehehe

actually in term of seating, squeezing sure no probs one, sumtimes 4 adult can sit at the back of kancil also… but in term of long distance suffer, so no much point there..

anyway there's no way this thing is gona be priced lower than 90k, or no one will buy jazz/swift/yaris/3!!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 7:16 pm

Great, nice car, but too small for my taste, I prefer Volvo C70 or the luxury BMW 6-Series if I really need a convertible.

Anyway, just imagine Satria Neo convertible, hahaha~

• Mayonaise (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 7:23 pm

Goodness, this car really DOES look good… I hope the quality's improved too…

• ed0r (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 8:06 pm

let's calculate the % of the headlights' size out of its body size? Heheh j/k

yea the car looks nice, nice and attractive interior. The passenger seats at the back… it just suits a golf set i guess. Or as for chics or aunties, it fits their tupperwares and other MLM's files and stuff heheh.

This car is too small for 4 persons. C'mon laa people, it's not a cheap kancil for you to 'harass' its exclusivity and style by fitting all four adults in it.

Again, your money, your car up to you whatever you like to do with it. Later :p

• RM (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 9:00 pm

Looks really fabulous but ultimately pointless in post NAP Malaysia. The 207 in whatever form would seriously outprice the model its replacing which isn't exactly affordable to begin with. Only a serious Pug lover with the dough to care less of residual value should bother about whether it'll ever come to our shores. For the mere mortal lets hope that PSA-Peugeot licenses the model to NAZA in 2007 (and not in 2014) or even better, takes control of Proton.

• Ricc (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 9:09 pm

I din own a 206.. But it seems like the car having problem??

Can any1 tell me wuts the problem wif 206??

• aesthari (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 11:14 pm

The 206cc looks nicer, but 449 litres of storage in the 207cc? That's a WOW, maybe Peugeot can just remove the rear seats and increase storage; even kids will be cramped up in the rear.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 1:34 am

another useless car frm french..but still better than 206cc xcept the front look…yucks..

• honda_driver (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 7:25 pm

hmm.. it looks almost identical to the 206cc. seems like only the lights have been changed with some minor body panel tweaks. not taking into consideration dimension changes of course, only on a purely aesthetic discussion.

• intermilan (Member) on Dec 09, 2006 at 3:58 am

the 207cc do not revolutionise from 206cc but rather evolves from the previous model. the changes made are a lot if you know your Pug.

From previous literature review, the pictures and explainations by Paul, there will be very few 206cc parts that are transfered to the 207cc.

This not a mere facelift gimmick. similar like what potong did with the satria.

It will be introduced to M'sia sooner or later. but the minimum price is gonna be around rm150-170K for sure. For info, the big sister i.e. 307cc is priced around rm240K (don't care to remember it correctly, hehe..).

• AmiR (Member) on Dec 10, 2006 at 9:19 pm

where is NAZA?….. wat they gonna call this thing?…NAZA BIJAK?…

• S Candy on Feb 28, 2010 at 12:15 am

For 206cc, the maintenance on the 4th year onwards is pretty high… problems stated to arise such as starter, aircond, thermostate…. It's tiring servicing the car – for the pocket and for the time. Should improve for Malaysia hot climate.

• Suetty C on Apr 11, 2010 at 5:11 pm

206cc really has lots of problem. Seems that every year or few months a new problem pops up with my car. This is the 4th car I own and it has proven to be a thorn in my side. Seriously, have not had so many problems with ONE car in all my years driving. Really did not expect these problems with a “foreign” car. Yes, it’s the starter, the air cond, the steering wheel pump, the fuel filter, the jerky ride, the gearbox, hell…. one by one. And bringing the car in repeatedly to the workshop is such a pain, because problem was mis-diagnosed , spare part not arrived yet, HQ refused to allow claim…
    Okay, so maybe it was a good car. But after bringing it in to Malaysia, dunno what kinda whacked up job they’re doing with after-sales service, just makes this car so not worth it. Wish I could wake up from the nightmare sitting on my porch