Proton BLM Step-by-Step Build Up Teaser

Proton BLM Build Teaser

I was at the entrance of Cineleisure Mutiara Damansara this evening to watch Proton’s step by step build up teaser for the new Proton Saga replacement model, codenamed the Proton BLM. It was quite an interesting experience.

By the time I arrived the build up had already begun. There was a huge crowd around the demonstration area even though it was raining. I am guessing a baseline car such as the BLM is truly a car everyone has an interest or “stake” in, as potential owners could be any one of us – either for ourselves, our spouses or our children, etc.

The frame you see in these photos is not the actual frame of a car but a special frame prepared by the prototype shop for this teaser demonstration purpose – hence it does not have a roof. The real full monocoque frame will have the roof structure attached to it. The segments painted with yellow in the frame are specific to the crash performance of the car – these were either crumple zones or areas that absorb most of the collision energy.

The Proton assembly engineers did some work on the bare frame, starting off with things like the wheels and the handbrake lever. By the end of the day the result is what you see in these photos. The next build up date is on the 11th of January 2008 at 8pm where more stuff will be added on to the car.

Some details on the specifications of the car is revealed from the frame. We can see the design of the 14 inch alloy wheels which have Silverstone 185/60R14 tyres wrapping them. We can also see the design of the rear suspension which is of a torsion beam setup, similiar to the Proton Savvy. This is natural as the Proton BLM is essentially built on a stretched Proton Savvy platform. The compact design of a torsion beam rear suspension will benefit the boot space – a Proton staff at the teaser demo told me the boot capacity will be in the regions of more than 400 litres.

The Proton BLM will have a wheelbase of 2465mm, which is 70mm longer than the Proton Savvy’s because of the extended platform. The car is 4257mm long. Width has also been increased to 1680mm not inclusive of wing mirrors, compared to the Perodua Myvi’s 1665mm and the Viva’s 1475mm. Front and rear track is 1446mm, 26mm wider than the Savvy’s.

We also got to see the new 1.3 litre Campro engine with the IAFM module in the engine bay of the frame – in this car it was mated to a 5-speed manual transmission, but the driveshafts were not connected to the front wheels. The IAFM module is essentially a variable intake geometry system.

No official specs on the engine at the moment, but Proton managing director Syed Zainal himself noted that he had personally test driven the car and throttle response was quite spritely, unlike the lethargic feeling you get at low revs with the original Campro engine.

With all the leaked information, photos and spyshots of the Proton BLM all over the internet, how the new IAFM-equipped Campro engine drives is perhaps the car’s best guarded secret, and one of the most important things about the car.

Proton also aims to sell between 4,500 to 5,000 units of the new Proton BLM every month. The Proton BLM will be launched on the 18th of January 2007. 3,000 bookings for the car have been made since bookings opened on the 1st this month.

More parts will be added to the build-up demo frame on the 11th of January 2008 at 8pm, so expect another update after that time!

All photos from the build-up session with more detail as well as a price list after the jump.

Proton BLM Tentative Pricelist

Click the above pricelist to enlarge it. It shows the various Proton BLM variants, which right now consist of the N-Line, B-Line and the M-Line as well as tentative prices.

Proton BLM Build Teaser

An assembly line engineer fitting on the 7-spoke 14 inch alloy wheels. 14 inchers means less tyre replacement cost, and some fuel economy improvements as its logical for a 14 inch wheel and tyre to be lighter than larger ones.

Proton BLM Build Teaser

This photo is specially for certain readers – it shows Proton did not just weld on a butt to the Savvy platform, but properly re-engineered it. According to a Proton engineer, the Proton BLM has been designed to accomodate an NGV system for taxi usage without compromising too much boot space.

Proton BLM Build Teaser

Fitting the handbrake lever – nothing funky here, no pirate sword style etc.

Proton BLM Build Teaser

In the engine bay of the Proton BLM sits the new 1.3 litre Campro engine with IAFM variable intake geometry.

Proton BLM Build Teaser

The front suspension uses the usual McPherson struts, and the front wheels have disc brakes.

Proton BLM Build Teaser

The rear suspension uses a torsion beam setup, and its drum brakes for the rear wheels.

Proton BLM Build Teaser

Related Proton BLM Posts:

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 11:12 pm

Looks very interesting. Did Proton manage to make the price a deathblow to Perodua Viva with 100% govt. exemptions as it says 0.00 for Excise Duty and Sales Tax?

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 11:12 pm

This photo is specially for certain readers – it shows Proton did not just weld on a butt to the Savvy platform, but properly re-engineered it.
    ———
    1st to comment, so it is not “butt job aka kerja punggung”, but proper engineer term is “re-engineered”! Good job!

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 11:13 pm

The handbrake and the steering, look like the same with Persona.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 11:15 pm

In term of looking for exterior and interior, this pre-launch campaign demonstration offer “none”! Better waite for the launch date to see the actual car.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 11:18 pm

Front and rear track is 1446mm, 26mm wider than the Savvy’s.
    —————-
    So don’t expect this car cabin is spacious! Boot at more than 400 L is consider big.

• fadzlizuka (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 11:28 pm

wahh bigfish already 4 comment.. hahahaa..
    cool brother…

i dont know bout other but i like the fresh approach proton bring with this kind of demo.

but maybe that’s just me..

• afroiq (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 11:28 pm

at least..we can see that its not easy to make and assemble car..

i think proton want to teach basher..not to bash them anymore..heehe if you want bash..then make your own car..

haha i can see my pic..ermm actually its my gf there..heehe

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 11:37 pm

afroiq said,
    January 6, 2008 @ 11:28 pm

at least..we can see that its not easy to make and assemble car..
    —————
    But I can assemble the 4 tyre! He, he, he, ….. difficult yet I also can act like “engineer” to fix the wheel with cordless Bosch tool in demonstration.

• afroiq (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 11:42 pm

haha no la..its my gf in 14th pic..not wearing tudung..me in white shirt..back to topic..

heehe i also can fix all car if there are all tools ready in the shelf..heehe

i think more people want to give proton another chance..there are people want to upgrade their saga and wira with this one..

• cecibo (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 11:44 pm

so…is this mean that proton will also sell this BLM as a kit car??? like caterham hahaha…

• IsaacVky (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 11:50 pm

Paul do you think the engineers assembling the car gives you the confidence to buy the car?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 12:07 am

At last Proton is doing better, they also starting to use direct ignition coil. Good job compare to last time Campro Kosong.

I think this car will sale well due to the VIM. As i suspected, is really a stretch Savvy. Hehe.. :P

Anyway no air-bags for m-line? Huh?!? No seen any word like ABS, Air bags in the sales paper.

• enginerd_2008 (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 12:17 am

3000 booking within 5 days….i just heard from nightline tv3…
    GOOD JOB PROTON…. i will book too:)

paul… i think you play a BIG role in promotin this model… so, PROTON should give 1 for you:) am i right? :)

• fastcx (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 12:18 am

Good,the steering is now looks like neo’s, not savvy or gen2’s, i believe this car can be a good restart for proton, new SAGA begins…again :) I’m happy with proton, but they cant stop, and please dnt maintain the speed, run faster in research will bring proton better tomorrow

• VPowerRacing (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 12:23 am

no free gift ke? LCD 42″ ke? plasma ke?

• fastcx (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 12:28 am

wow, if they do free 42″ LCD gift away, it would be great news for kampong area! -.- can u imagine kampong house with TV bigger than ur average crt cheap TV?tat would make them proud by buying the car ;)

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 12:31 am

individual coil on the top of each plug, means campro really serious about sparking the low end torque combustion,

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 12:35 am

Haha a creative ways to introduce the new saga to the rakyat…

The price around rm30000-37000 is gonna kill myvi, viva and savvy itself

I think this new saga is gonna sell like hot cake…

so it’s a re-engineered savvy platform… will it be strong as savvy platform??? anyone???

in the brocher or pricelist they dint state there is any airbag… haizz… maybe its hard to produce economical car with airbags… it seem like…

lets just that the interior quality not to plastic-kie

well good job proton…

• nanashisan (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 12:36 am

aiyaa… thats it for this week.
    i cant wait to see what parts will be added.
    let me guess the possible parts…
    maybe seat? dashboard? front and rear lamp? f/r bumper?? gear console? carpet? spare tire?
    lcd tv heheheh??
    arrghhh!!!!

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 12:39 am

lets just *hope that the interior quality not to plastic-kie

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 12:43 am

No official specs on the engine at the moment, but Proton managing director Syed Zainal himself noted that he had personally test driven the car and throttle response was quite spritely, unlike the lethargic feeling you get at low revs with the original Campro engine.

——————————

-maybe got cps…sssss…(i say maybe dont attack me)

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 12:48 am

it seems the spark plug cable hav sensors for each spark plug…very different to the original campro…using the waja campro airbox design rather than the one in gen2….i tell u wat…thrts a very clever marketing team behind this build up campaign…..

• seperlinky (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 12:52 am

is there any type with the price list? the insurance sum insured is more than the car?!?!?

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 12:59 am

the engine room is quite spacious… MAYBE can fit with campro 1.6… for those mat rempit… is the R3 team gonna tune this car also???

• nanashisan (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 1:04 am

yeah, the insurance sums is higher from b-line to m-line model. i believe it is typo made by the proton representative named Wilson lee. i believe it is for persona model price list. i also had the price list since ive already booked the car however the sum value is in correct value and not like Wilson’s one.

• dulujualkereta.com (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 1:06 am

ihiks. my 1st comment at this blog… I like all the new ideas brought by Proton thru this BLM.. just wonder what they will call this model… in 4 days to come.. Proton Saga Neo ?? ahaks ;)

• leongylun (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 1:10 am

how about safety features in this model?
    hope proton not to ignore safety aspects in order to bring the cost down.
    live of malaysian also priceless..hehe!!!

• si-fu (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 1:11 am

Hi guys and Hi Paul….
    Sorry for being gone missing for quite some time. I have driven the car and i can say that i totally agree with Syed Zainal. For everybodys info, the benchmark for BLM in terms of engine performance was the ever famous VIOS. I stress here that proton uses it as a BENCHMARK ONLY. I am not suggesting that it is better then vios in terms of engine performance, but its for all of you to judge. Personally i think its on par and better then VIOS in certain aspects. In terms of low end torque and response, the BLM is VERY RESPONSIVE and ‘TORQKY’. Thanks to its IAFM module and new transsmission set up. the manual version uses the Achikikai (AK) Nissan five speed transmission where the gear ratio for the first and second gear is much better compared to the previous Mitsu’s. The AT is from Mistu, but an upgraded version where there ratios are much better and a better TCU mapping is used. Wat i can say, BLM has the ‘KICK’ or PICK UP that VIOS has in the low end and also the power in the high end range (above 3800 rpm) which the VIOS lacks. Thx to the IAFM! For everyones knowledge the IAFM is different from the VIM. VIM is ONLY used together with the 1.6 CPS Campro engine. The difference between VIM and IAFM is the geometry is slightlt different and the working mechanism for both is different. The IAFM uses a vacum solenoid to SWITCH BETWEEN the LONG-RUNNER and SHORT-RUNNER whereas the VIM uses a motorised actuator. The IAFM SWITCHES FROM long runner to short runner at APPROX 3800 rpm. Hope u guys appreaciate wat proton has done and also my info. Cheers!!!

• topgunthang (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 1:19 am

cool. i am expecting a live crash test right after they finish building it.

no need r3 to tune. already tuned by lotus. unless r3 is better than lotus.

• leongylun (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 1:25 am

ya..wait for crash test first. but i personally don’t think it will be tested in NCAP for this moment because it won’t be sold in europe..haha

• mzfnd (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 1:33 am

New Proton BLM package. RM5000 on the road. DIY.
    …Nah, just kidding :)

• si-fu (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 1:50 am

Hi Guys and Hi to Paul.
    I totally agree with Syed Zainal’s comments. I have driven the car and I can say the car was LIVELY. Just some info on the engine performance of BLM, the BLM uses the IAFM (as everyone knows) and an upgraded transmission. The manual version uses NISSAN’S ACHIKIKAI 5 SPEED TRANSMISSION. This trans has BETTER FIRST AND SECOND GEAR RATIOS compared to the previous Mitsu’s trans. The AT version uses the MITSU TRANS BUT AN UPGRADED ONE WHERE IT HAS BETTER GEAR RATIOS OVERALL AND THE LATEST TCU MAPPING. For everyone’s info, BLM’s BENCHMARK IN TERMS OF ENGINE PERFORMANCE WAS THE EVER FAMOUS VIOS. As we know, VIOS has great low end torque and it’s a great city driving car. Proton has made the BLM similar, where it HAS GREAT LOW END TORQUE AND ‘PICK UP’ (THX TO IAFM) AND GREAT POWER AND TORQUE IN THE HIGH END’S (THX TO THE IAFM TOO). I can say in terms of HIGH END, THE BLM ENGINE PERFORMANCE IS BETTER THAN THE VIOS. However I’ll leave this perception of mine to be judged by u guys once the car is launched and test driven. Just a little bit info on the IAFM, the IAFM IS NOT SAME WITH VIM. VIM IS ONLY USED IN THE 1.6 CPS CAMPRO ENGINE. The DIFFERENCE between both of them is their GEOMETRY AND WORKING MECHANISMS. The IAFM HAS A SLIGHTLY DIFFERENT GEOMETRY COMPARED TO VIM AND IT SWITCHES FROM LONG RUNNER TO SHORT RUNNER VIA A VACUUM SOLENOID. VIM however uses an ACTUATOR TO FUNCTION. The IAFM SWITCHES FROM LONG RUNNER TO SHORT RUNNER AT APPROX 3800 RPM. I hope my info is useful for u guys out there to understand the car better. Cheers!!!

• BW (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 2:02 am

Hmmm… Looks and sounds interesting… Can’t wait to see it launch… Hope the car wont be disappointing…

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 2:05 am

black satria neo steering,,

engine looks purposeful,

for who indulged in rim and tyre, can go for 205 45 16,

• ezralimm (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 2:08 am

According to a Proton engineer, the Proton BLM has been designed to accomodate an NGV system for taxi usage without compromising too much boot space.

this is interesting. NGV for the masses?

NGV conversion isnt expensive but most ppl dont use it because the boot becomes quite useless after teh huge tanks are stuck in place.

• Paul Tan on Jan 07, 2008 at 2:34 am

si-fu: so you’re saying the manual transmission for this car uses an Aichi Kikai gearbox and not the old Mitsubishi gearbox? Aichi Kikai supplied the new twin clutch automatic in the Nissan GT-R.

• sunsilk (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 2:38 am

Hi Guys and Hi to Paul.
    I totally agree with Syed Zainal’s comments. I have driven the car and I can say the car was LIVELY. Just some info on the engine performance of BLM, the BLM uses the IAFM (as everyone knows) and an upgraded transmission. The manual version uses NISSAN’S ACHIKIKAI 5 SPEED TRANSMISSION. This trans has BETTER FIRST AND SECOND GEAR RATIOS compared to the previous Mitsu’s trans. The AT version uses the MITSU TRANS BUT AN UPGRADED ONE WHERE IT HAS BETTER GEAR RATIOS OVERALL AND THE LATEST TCU MAPPING. For everyone’s info, BLM’s BENCHMARK IN TERMS OF ENGINE PERFORMANCE WAS THE EVER FAMOUS VIOS. As we know, VIOS has great low end torque and it’s a great city driving car. Proton has made the BLM similar, where it HAS GREAT LOW END TORQUE AND ‘PICK UP’ (THX TO IAFM) AND GREAT POWER AND TORQUE IN THE HIGH END’S (THX TO THE IAFM TOO). I can say in terms of HIGH END, THE BLM ENGINE PERFORMANCE IS BETTER THAN THE VIOS. However I’ll leave this perception of mine to be judged by u guys once the car is launched and test driven. Just a little bit info on the IAFM, the IAFM IS NOT SAME WITH VIM. VIM IS ONLY USED IN THE 1.6 CPS CAMPRO ENGINE. The DIFFERENCE between both of them is their GEOMETRY AND WORKING MECHANISMS. The IAFM HAS A SLIGHTLY DIFFERENT GEOMETRY COMPARED TO VIM AND IT SWITCHES FROM LONG RUNNER TO SHORT RUNNER VIA A VACUUM SOLENOID. VIM however uses an ACTUATOR TO FUNCTION. The IAFM SWITCHES FROM LONG RUNNER TO SHORT RUNNER AT APPROX 3800 RPM. I hope my info is useful for u guys out there to understand the car better. Cheers!!!

————————————————————-
    wow….then it will be a hot cake in the market…

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 2:40 am

almost 2 40 pagi,
    my last tought
    saga name should be SAGA NEMO
    NEMO= (NEw MOdel) just in my dream, …..nite

• afroiq (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 2:44 am

if use vios engine performance benchmark..then can we call it the most powerfull budget 1.3l car in the world..heehe quite interesting here..

si-fu..if you compared this saga engine performance to waja mitsu performance..which one is better??..need input

just name it to saga..it will sale well..no need to put neo..

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 5:32 am

lets not overhype the car..be reasonable…at this price range..i tink thrs too much expectation…..somehow ppl tend to forget the idea of (wat u pay is wat u get)…..

• droll (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 7:41 am

excellent! Kudos to Proton for finally retiring the saga with this replacement model. however, i reserve my praise for their aftersales support and quality of the final car. only time will tell if that has improved.

• pengawas (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 8:01 am

wah… i thought i can see this saga interior…. waaa…..

• White Jack (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 8:05 am

Is Proton really fixing up a complete car on the spot (day by day) ?

I thought they will not fix the detail.

Hopefully the end product will look beautiful !

• arcana (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 8:29 am

a very good marketing strategy to lure ppl into this kind of demo.
    since the price is the cheapest around, its been the talk of the town.
    hopefully proton is already making huge number of cars to cope with the surging demand and not let buyers wait too long for their rides.

• normaluser (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 8:29 am

Paul Tan said,
    January 7, 2008 @ 2:34 am

si-fu: so you’re saying the manual transmission for this car uses an Aichi Kikai gearbox and not the old Mitsubishi gearbox? Aichi Kikai supplied the new twin clutch automatic in the Nissan GT-R.

============

Well, IMHO what Si-Fu says is probably true, since the Savvy platform originates from the prev. generation Renault Clio, which accomodates Renault-sourced gearboxes. Nissan is part of Renault, and I’m not sure if they also supplied gearboxes for the latter. Correct me if I’m wrong.

• shaif (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 8:59 am

Wah, very interesting news with this BLM, aichi kikai transmission and of course consumer oriented price. I can say that Proton did a very good marketing job. Its not only attract people or buyer-to-be, but it sparks interest on the automotif engineering side which perhaps youngster can dream to be automotif engineer. Looks very interesting.

• Infinitt (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 9:17 am

Very nice idea by Proton. Si-fu thanks for the info. at least i know a little bout blm engine..

• ltlee (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 9:47 am

well done! Proton…!

Keep up good work… May buy one for wife/kids in future after long time avoiding Proton cars.

Hope quality is proven good. I think most importantly the car must be lasting, Fuel Economic, and fun to drive….

• Dogster (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 9:53 am

What is the offical launching date????

• Niceguy (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 9:53 am

It will come with 1 single driver airbag for M-line. This airbag and passenger seatbelt are reengineered base on the new car structure. I can see that is Satria Neo steering wheel, not Persona.

• ganz (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 9:57 am

congratulation to proton…

but all buyer pls do not put high expectation on the interior… it just a basic car..

BTW.. if 400L can only be consider as spacious luggage area.. then only few 1.3 car aving this size of boot..

:D

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 10:16 am

Something very strange with the price list. Zero excise duty and sales tax but look at the sum insured figures. RM29k for base model but it climbs up to 43k, 46k, 47k and 53k.

• yippi33 (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 10:19 am

thanks for clarifying the diff btwn iafm and vim sifu..and also all those extra infos on this model..is proton going to make the same approach as honda that is to put iafm for low FC models =iDSI, and VIM+CPS for high performance models = VTEC???just wondering though…

• Xoomie (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 10:57 am

Sum insured for the M-Line are rm53k !! whoa !!!

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 11:06 am

Ummm…. how can the sum insured be more than the cost of the car itself? Like this everyone buy the car then crash it, get rm53k. Hmmmmm…..

• hypermount (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 11:27 am

Paul Tan said,
    January 7, 2008 @ 2:34 am

============

Well, IMHO what Si-Fu says is probably true, since the Savvy platform originates from the prev. generation Renault Clio, which accomodates Renault-sourced gearboxes. Nissan is part of Renault, and I’m not sure if they also supplied gearboxes for the latter. Correct me if I’m wrong.

——————————————-
    That would explain some AMT mechanisms on Savvy are sourced from Jap instead of Franch.

• tanasi (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 12:03 pm

Note that the steering wheel now has a tilt mechanism, unlike Savvy.

Also that the front stabilizer bar is of direct acting design (connected to the shock absorber body), unlike most small cars which have the stabilizer bar connected to the lower control arm. This makes for a better stabilizer bar to wheel motion ratio.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 12:30 pm

anyway how they call it, its a tune-able intake,

for IDSI 8valve engine, its economy because the engine was design to extract torque as low as 2000 by having 1 intake valve and 2 plug sequentially fires at lower rpm for thorough combustion,

for campro the approach is having normally16 valve but the intake is tuned to have a character of a 1 valve intake which also swirls air batter for batter combustion,
    and to answer to dual plug of the IDSI ,the campro have individual coil each plug which is having greater spark (25 to 30 percent batter spark than pack arrengement) ignition to have a thorough combustion at low rpm in extracting torque,

so campro not bad,

• chap_de_x (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 1:31 pm

wah wut si-fu said about this BLM is so promising…sound like it will be a very good car…hope it was true and the car serve malaysian well.hope the quality of the car is good and hope quality prob about p1 before this is become history.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 1:54 pm

BigFish said,
    January 6, 2008 @ 11:12 pm

This photo is specially for certain readers – it shows Proton did not just weld on a butt to the Savvy platform, but properly re-engineered it.
    ———
    1st to comment, so it is not “butt job aka kerja punggung”, but proper engineer term is “re-engineered”! Good job!

—————————————————————

Luckily u realized this is for u.

• kaizou (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 3:50 pm

Guys correct me if i’m wrong.
    The sum insured should be at least the same as total amount of the loan.
    the car price maybe 37k but when u add in interest from bank. it will be up to 53k for ur total repayment. so, it should be insured for 53k lar.

• Xylan (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 4:09 pm

y this car too small?

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 4:18 pm

This car width increase by 26 mm compare to Savvy, so don’t expect spaciousness.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 4:20 pm

For my opinion, if this car demo can’t reveal the exterior and interior, it shall emphasize on the features, like safety EBD, ABS or VIM, etc. Not show like “Lego Fixing” for nothing.

• GTI (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 4:23 pm

very intresting indeed..

so far so good.. eager more improvement from proton..
    for fulfill the Malaysian hopes..

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 4:41 pm

Does this mean folks at Proton actually reads our comments, and make us their focus group? How much of our input they use, u think?

• ganz (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 4:50 pm

the car is more likely without abs, ebd..

and why so small??
    mmmm… it not that small compare to viva. (with similar price range)

• gonggok (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 4:52 pm

Bigfish said

“This car width increase by 26 mm compare to Savvy, so don’t expect spaciousness.”

It’s going to be wider than MYVI so that spacious enough…plus a 400 liter boot is pretty good – it’s hilarious watching people trying to squeeze their weekend grocery shopping from Carrfour into their MYVIs ;)

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 4:56 pm

the rear suspension same as savvy ?? but the engine 1.3 campro look nice .. how is the FC of the engine ?? it is they showing what’s meterial they r using ?? haha … hope no more milo tin … GOA body !! hehe 1.3 manual 31k ?? but the old saga also 30k … but something wrong with insurance sum ?? 39k cover with 50k !!! P2 have to plan for new price for viva i think …

• Infinitt (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 5:09 pm

MYVI need to add extra “buntut”.

• Hikaru (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 5:24 pm

Just like the Yaris/Vios, proton seems to be moving at the right direction albeit at least one generation later than the major players. I have always believed that this is what Proton needs to do to cut costs, increase their targeted market but at affordable price.

These days the rakyat are squeezed very badly. This, like the Myvi, might just be the saviour of the rakyat.

• metallic_car (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 5:40 pm

I think their price list has a typo-error or the sales person n their manager overlooked.Or they wanna mark-up the sum insurred to make their own revenue. So proton marketing people should look to this as a seroius matter.

• armandd (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 5:41 pm

#
    mukhri88 said,

January 7, 2008 @ 4:41 pm

Does this mean folks at Proton actually reads our comments, and make us their focus group? How much of our input they use, u think?
    ———–\

i think they did..

• si-fu (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 5:49 pm

Hi Guys and Hi to Paul.
    Thx everyone for reading my comment.

For Paul’s Question:
    YES! Paul, the manual transmission of the BLM is from AichiKikai (AK), becuase of that, BLM has the ‘kick’ in the low ends. Only the AT uses the trans from Mitsu, but an upgraded one where it has better gear ratios overall. The manual trans from AK is similar to the one used in Nissan Sunny, but of course this the LATEST VERSION of it.

For Afroiq Question:
    I can that this BLM has more ‘KICK’ then the Waja Mitsu. As we know the Waja Mitsu ‘suffered’ a bit in the low ends due to the trans and weight of the car.

For yippi33 Question:
    Proton is planning to make IAFM standard on all production cars soon. That means that all models that uses the Campro 1.6 and 1.3 engine in the future will have the IAFM as standard. Currently the CAMPRO CPS which is only available in 1.6 WILL BE ONLY USED in the Gen-2 Facelift and Waja Facelift MC-3. This two model will be launched soon in the local market. Proton is currently working on a ‘NEW VERSION’ of the Campro engine to be used in the MPV project and most probably in the Satria Neo GTI project. Just to tease u guys, :-p…the “NEW VERSION’ of the Campro engine will have about 170HP!!! Have a Gud Day and Cheers!!!

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 5:52 pm

Infinitt said,
    January 7, 2008 @ 5:09 pm

MYVI need to add extra “buntut”.
    ———–
    In this thread I learn one term, no more play-play with “buntut” the engineer proper term is “re-engineer” lah, dude.

• kingglim (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 7:05 pm

Hah, check out the pricing sheet, the Insured Values are some rm10k higher than the OTR prices…

Hmmm, the boot is a very weak stretch…I can already imagine if the car get rear-ended, the entire rear end will be total!!!

• ezralimm (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 7:26 pm

… thus saving the occupants by absorbing crash energy…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 7:45 pm

Good advertising campaign.

• skywalkers (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 7:56 pm

Still doubt with Proton..due to its WIRA !!!
    Looking forward to see the actual unit during launching.

Anyway, WIRA, ISWARA, GEN2 & PERSONA doea not attract me in term of design/quality/price.

Good luck to PROTON BLM…. don’t let us don’t again and again.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 8:05 pm

the insurance value is typo error…the price sheet is different for every
    salesman…i took one from an indian salesman …the spec differences is more detail than paul one.

• proton_sales@bangsar (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 8:12 pm

as i concern, the sum insured is wrongly written…. from my calculation for the insurance premium…

Insurance Premium Sum Insured
    RM 963.20 RM 29,000.00
    RM 1,041.20 RM 32,000.00
    RM 1,119.20 RM 35,000.00
    RM 1,171.20 RM 37,000.00

• Smallfish (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 9:33 pm

CAMPRO engine is quite powerful. So, car must be fit with more safety feature such as airbag, ABS+EBD+BA, some crumple zone. In other words, SAFETY first. Price off course need to be cheap, because we need to pay higher petrol later. Then, the engine should be design for fuel effeciency, so that I can go to cameron highland always, with less petrol.
    Trunk space must be large, so that my wife can put a lot of orchids (buying at cameron highland). Then going back time (cruise down hill) can off engine but still can control the stearing. The roof should put solar cells to generate electricity for light, fans and CD Player. This type of car design is very economical. Anyone from P1 can use my ideas so that the car can be sold like hot pisang goreng. Go luck.

• kei9 (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 10:08 pm

Ah…new innovative approach evrytime.. =P

• Paul Tan on Jan 07, 2008 at 10:10 pm

misterbenjo, mind scanning your pricelist for us?

• happymeal (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 11:23 pm

interesting to note so many updates on the cosmetic of the engine….
    plastic intake manifold…
    RESIN valve covers!!!
    and the individual spark plugs controller (no sotong distributor la…) like what Proton GL mentioned..

Honda did make a big deal about having its latest L series engines having plastic/resin valve cover…so im mightily impressed that proton managed to do this too… apparently even in the SOHC L series, honda claimed to save about 1kg weight….so with a twin cam arrangement, could even save more weight.

having said that… this could just a ‘fake’ engine with plastic top to con all of us… :)

si-fu, from what u mentioned about IAFM n VIM, they seem to work in the same principle (2 different length of runners) for flatter torque curve.
    thanks for the info anyway. just hope it doesnt fail….

• intermilan (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 11:46 pm

emm, everybody loves raymond!

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 11:47 pm

i dont have the scanner
    but maybe i can list one by one hold on
    about the insurance roughly minus -+rm2000

N-Line 31,500 carpet mat,plate holder,central locking,cd player,Solid white only.Manual only

B-Line 34,548-37,988 Coil Mat,Plate Holder,Central Locking,Alarm system,Front power window,Cd player.Solid red,met black,met gray,met blue,met green,met silver.Manual and auto

M-Line 37,048-39,998 Coil Mat, Plate Holder,Front fog lamp,Central Locking,reverse sensor,Alarm system,Single airbag,Front power window,Electric door side mirror,Cd player,Alloy rim,Solid Red,Met Black,Met Grey,Met blue,Met green,met silver. Manual and auto

anything else just asked maybe i can answer.

• hypermount (Member) on Jan 07, 2008 at 11:52 pm

Hah, check out the pricing sheet, the Insured Values are some rm10k higher than the OTR prices…

Hmmm, the boot is a very weak stretch…I can already imagine if the car get rear-ended, the entire rear end will be total!!!
    —————————————————————-

I’m pretty sure the highlighted yellow safety structural beams is not complete.

There should be a horizontal beam in this picture just like the one found in Savvy. (There is rear beam as well behind the rear plastic bumper and BLM should have this as minimum safety requirement).

http://images.paultan.org/images/proton-blm/Proton_BLM_Build_Teaser_15_Large.jpg

Collision bar/front bumper beam in front of the radiator.

Viva, I bet myvi’s look puny like this too hehe.
    http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/881/vivacompressorwt2.jpg

Savvy
    http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc187/zairulsalina/IMG_1186.jpg

White stuff polystyrene materials for pedestrian protection.
    http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n137/mohdhaizi/nik%20accident/Image549.jpg

Look at the importance of the metal “front bumper beam” which is found on a 3-year old Renault Modus( like Savvy) when it was crashed head on with an old school Volvo.

http://youtube.com/watch?v=k3ygYUYia9I#

P2 cars are death trap without the beam.

That individual coil on a plug/plastic valve cover/plastic intake manifold is not new to Proton. Savvy has all these features ( which contributes a lot to its low FC characteristic)

• Paul Tan on Jan 08, 2008 at 12:06 am

yes, but the savvy’s engine is a renault, while this one is a campro. so the new engine features you mentioned are new to the campro.

• waja2000 (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 12:06 am

New SAGA CD player support MP3 playing ?

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 12:12 am

waja2000 said,

January 8, 2008 @ 12:06 am

New SAGA CD player support MP3 playing ?

————————————————————

this question is to much detail..i cant find it on the price sheet
    hehehehehe

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 12:29 am

haizz… got no ABS even for m-line… haizz and got only single airbags… :(

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 12:33 am

wahhh… this BLM price soooo gonna kill viva la… and myvi sales might also die… BLM also gonna kill it’s brother… the savvy…

• engtia (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 12:53 am

Guys! I am currently owning a Waja Campro for about 1 year. Quite like it so far. But just don’t like the low end torque lar! Can I actually send it to be fixed with a IAFM since it is still a campro engine. I get really frustrated particularly when the RPM is just above 1000 and on an up slope. Can do any modifications ar?
    Si-fu, Paul, anybody: can comment on this?

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 1:04 am

cole planet said,

January 8, 2008 @ 12:29 am

haizz… got no ABS even for m-line… haizz and got only single airbags…

============================================

okayla…30k++ only ma

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 1:07 am

wahhh… this BLM price soooo gonna kill viva la… and myvi sales might also die… BLM also gonna kill it’s brother… the savvy…

this one is correct i dont know how the gonna reposition the savvy..

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 1:17 am

Got no ABS? Hm……even wit the M-line, there’s still quite a number of niceties missing…..which makes me wonder, will they make a H-line version say…..in the next 6-months? They can price it just a few thousand short of the H-line Savvy, n I think ppl will pay for it. I would.

But I’ve been fine driving my 17-yr-old Saga wit no ABS or airbag. So long the driver is disciplined and alert, crashes can be avoided. I’ve driven while sleepy and tired before, and I can definitely say, if ever I crashed, no amount of airbags or super-duper-ultimate-omega ABS can save me. Safety is ALWAYS more about the DRIVER rather than the car. Since then, I’ve been more careful n would stop by to rest when I feel tired before getting behind the wheels. Accidents happen and -may sound cliche, sorry- unavoidable cuz it’s God’s willing, but crashes, CAN be avoided.

So stop blaming until the cows return, start by changing yourself on how you drive and always make sure the car is in tip-top condition before each trip. Safety feature is always nice, but don’t ever be disillusioned into thinking “I’m weaving around 3 different lanes like a lunatic without signalling but it’s ok, cuz I hv airbags n ABS, so I won’t die”.

• cetait (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 3:16 am

Yes driving safely and alertly is of the highest importance, but at the same time don’t be disillusioned into thinking “I’m a careful driver so I don’t need safety features.” You can be very careful but still be hit by someone else, or make a momentary mistake.

• king (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 3:43 am

gonggok said,
    January 7, 2008 @ 4:52 pm

Bigfish said

“This car width increase by 26 mm compare to Savvy, so don’t expect spaciousness.”

It’s going to be wider than MYVI so that spacious enough…plus a 400 liter boot is pretty good – it’s hilarious watching people trying to squeeze their weekend grocery shopping from Carrfour into their MYVIs

dats right…this car got a decent boot not like myvi’s pathetic 200 litre boot space that even p2 is so ashamed of that they hide it /deleted it from the spec sheet.

• si-fu (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 4:37 am

Hi engtia!

Modifications can be done on ur Waja Campro, but sorry to say it gonna cost u a bomb. The reason is because, when u fit in the new IAFM module, u need to change the sub harness (wiring) for the engine so that the IAFM module can receive signal from the ECU. Then, u need to change the ECU it self because it uses a totally new mapping. Then another thing which many ppl dont know, when the IAFM and VIM was designed, the starter motor had to be changed to a smaller one because of space constrains. So if u fix IAFM, u need to change the starter motor too. So if u do all this, its gonna cost u alot but however i would remind u, its not possible because this type of convertion is quite commonly done in Proton R&D for testing purposes. Hope this info helped u. Cheers!!!

p/s – The new starter motor gives a good sound while starting, similar to Japenese cars like Toyota, Honda, and Nissan. This is solely based on my opinion!

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 7:09 am

Put abs,dual airbags,and rear power window will cost around 43k i think, i am scared they will clash with persona price.Like the famous viva/myvi clash.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 7:45 am

Bigfish said

—————————————————————

maybe he compared with S class

• White Jack (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 8:06 am

Paul, do we get everyday update from daily assembly of the BLM ?

• paxter (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 8:58 am

yeah well 3 billion worth of investment went down the drain (VW goes to thailand or indo post) they better buck up with more blm type hard work… wonder if the persona will get this engine upgrade too….

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 9:49 am

SiFu: Just to tease u guys, :-p…the “NEW VERSION’ of the Campro engine will have about 170HP!!! Have a Gud Day and Cheers!!!

Si-Fu, 170 hp? So you’re saying a coupe is coming? A Satria Neo Sports Coupe with traction control and ESP? That’ll show the Koreans and their mid range sports cars..

• The Unicons (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 9:53 am

hypermount said,
    January 7, 2008 @ 11:52 pm

I’m pretty sure the highlighted yellow safety structural beams is not complete.

There should be a horizontal beam in this picture just like the one found in Savvy. (There is rear beam as well behind the rear plastic bumper and BLM should have this as minimum safety requirement).

Collision bar/front bumper beam in front of the radiator.
    —————————————————————-
    Yes. Actually, I wanted to ask Paul regarding the “REAL SAFETY STRUCTURE” not only on this new Proton Saga, but also Satria Neo and Persona. Do they have horizontal beam across the front and rear which located at the bumpers area?

Besides that, I thought there should be a vertical safety beam at each side of the car structure which is located at front (just behind / next to the front to the rear wheel, which is actually attach/welded together with 2 middle horizontal beam as shown by Paul). – Sorry, don’t know how to attached the image which I can highlight. Is that it?

How about the roof beam located horizontally? Not the one from A Pillar to C Pillar as I can say that is Vertical location. Satria Neo and Persona got that?

The Viva’s front horizontal safety beam is so much smaller than the Myvi’s.

I just curious to know those information. Thanks if someone can tell me about it.

• car_key99 (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 10:12 am

barang murah quality rendah, design 80’s…..proton designer no idea ke??
    Balik2 suruh org. lain buat……ke mana pergi engineer proton yang hebat2 tu.
    Nanti letak le by lotus…. pasti gempak.

• Bigfoot (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 10:25 am

Sifu,

I believe they have to use a new starter motor not originally because of space constraint. The supplier of the inlet manifold purposely create the space constraint issue so that they can grab the opportunity to wrest the supply of the starter from APMAE. However, they lost the bid because APMAE counterattack quickly by designing a smaller starter, hence defeating their newly proposed starter.

• theking (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 10:49 am

Bigfoot,

APMAE should give Bosch a good lesson.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 11:33 am

Nanti letak le by lotus…. pasti gempak.

————————————————————-

Takde idea baru? Nanti i suruh proton buat kapal terbang
    Mas MH-1234 Handling by lotus

• car_key99 (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 11:53 am

cannot la..benjo nanti manyak MH crash…stock mau simpan itu plane tak de
    tmpt ooo.. sbb talak laku…sama mcm kereta proton la.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 12:49 pm

Ape susah negara China kan ada….

• Realeyes (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 1:00 pm

car_key99 said,
    January 8, 2008 @ 10:12 am

Nanti letak le by lotus…. pasti gempak

• shaif (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 1:24 pm

Aiye..before BLM launch, already being speculated even nobody, except some expert or maybe test-driver, has even touch it or drive it. Proton should reveal it fast, don’t let us waiting too long.

• mohdjiman (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 1:25 pm

94hp for 1.3 liter. can ‘cucuk’ honda city 1.5 kott!!

• VPowerRacing (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 1:41 pm

dont talk about honda city vtec 1.5…it’s damn power if u compared to VIOS…
    some more want to compare with this 1.3L….haiiyooo…

• ezralimm (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 3:34 pm

does anyone have access to the rpm/torque graph for the new 1.3L IAFM Campro?

si-fu, you seem to have alot of insider knowledge. Are you a proton employee? O.o?

• 1st Gear (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 3:52 pm

Good job proton, when the people angry with your way of marketing, proton know their strategy works! Malaysian people that condemn proton actually proud of it, n plus some of ‘dengki’ for their good job …isn’t it? :)

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 3:52 pm

Tamiya and Audley racing kit (much bigger size, lol~)

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 4:44 pm

As usual, there are load of supporters and blind defenders give all kind of congratulatory and patriotic statement!

Booking-here-and-there few K within few weeks, but when come to actual register on the road, it may 50% of the booking figure only.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 4:47 pm

So what is the wieght of this BLM? Persona utilize Gen-2 body in B-segment is around 1.20 tonne compare to same segment Vios around 1.0 tonne. I hope BLM shall be around 1.0 Tonne or less since it is also in B-segment.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 4:53 pm

shaif said,
    January 8, 2008 @ 1:24 pm

Aiye..before BLM launch, already being speculated even nobody, except some expert or maybe test-driver, has even touch it or drive it. Proton should reveal it fast, don’t let us waiting too long.
    ———–
    1. Speculated date for launch is 11 Jan 08. It is obvious now the earliest date shall be at least 17 Jan 08 or beyond. Delay in launching is the “trademark” of P1, it may be due to “some last minute nitty-gritty on the car”, or they can’t get appointment with PM to rasmi BLM on 11 Jan 08.

2. Proton should reveal fast? If they are fast, it shall be done in 1990 (5 year cycle for new model), not 2008.

• gonggok (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 5:02 pm

Bigfish said

“As usual, there are load of supporters and blind defenders give all kind of congratulatory and patriotic statement!

Booking-here-and-there few K within few weeks, but when come to actual register on the road, it may 50% of the booking figure only.”

So what are you? You simply make statements like “it’s not going to be spacious” and so on when you yourself haven’t been inside it. When it’s pointed out that it’s wider than the Myvi you move into another line..So people who book the car will change their minds? What basis do you have for saying this? So of people like the car they are blind supporters? What about you? Trying to twist and turn, start by saying it’s just a Savvy with a butt job, but when Paul pointed that it’s not you say it’s just changing of terms to ‘re-enginered’ only. Never mind that it’s longer with longer wheelbase, wider, has a different engine bay (campro won’t fit the Savvy) with different engine and gearbox.

So go ahead, read the fine print and find further things to twist…

You ARE a blind basher.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 5:19 pm

Dude, watching these guys at work is like watching American Hot Rod on DRT. Putting the pieces together like that. Making the thing turn part by part into a 550horses mean musclecar dragster thingy. Izzat Chip Foose in the Proton jumper…? Hic.. Somebody make this into a reality show. Include the ‘almost deadline and suddenly crap happens’ part too. Hakahaks ahaks..

• metallic_car (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 5:43 pm

On 1st Jan when I heard this new model will be launch by proton, I went to their showroom and they said waiting period about 2-4 mth. I wonder what ie the waiting period after read at metro P1 already got booking 5k until now.

May be Bigfish already booked one..hehehe
    What is P1 capacity for this model?

Just want to predict mine.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 6:08 pm

You ARE a blind basher.
    ———–
    If I am blind basher, I only own Proton car up to today?

• hsbc (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 6:11 pm

BigFish….
    u think other carmaker doesn’t facing deficit as well?maybe u’ll be shocked to know that the one i mentioned is actually MERCEDEZ.please read readers digest december issue(or nov issue-i forgot) about how mercedez had been toppled its CEO in 2006 because of problematic parts and electronic and SEVERAL models.in 2006, they experienced their first deficit instead of profit(same as proton right-deficit)…so pleaseeeeeeee dont think only proton having this kind of shit.afterall, i confident this BLM will exceed in term of quality.besides,mercedez is one of the oldest carmaker in the world….u dont know this because u’r not using new mercedez especially W211(E class) model.additionally,im also know about this with added fact that my mom’s friends is using that E200K year 2005 which she had sent it back for recall…

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 6:15 pm

————–
    This may take place only after go to showroom to see the BLM and check-touch-knock-press all over with “engineer-precision”, look at the spaciousness, build quality, bang the door hard (shall sound “thub”), consistent gap between door & body, big glove box, etc. This is also book on behalf of my friend, not me. Me will book Hilux and smoke out all these “small lawnmover on the road”.

• si-fu (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 6:22 pm

Hi Everyone!

Mr Big Fish, i dont know who you are but its very obvious that u are an EMPTY GONG THAT MAKES A LOT OF NOISE!

1) There is NO OFFICIAL STATEMENT FROM PROTON telling that its gonna be launched on the 11th or 18th….So dont blame Proton for that! The only official statement from Proton regarding the lauching is that they gonna launch mid January, mid January can be the 15th, 16th, only they know when it is. So why not U just wait QUIETLY!

2) If u wan a car every 5 years, or every 5 months, why not U BUILD IT YOURSELF! Nobody is stopping you from doing that! If you cant build your own self, then you should just APPREACIATE, or give CONSTRUCTIVE comments when OTHER PEOPLE BUILDS IT!

CHEERS!!!

• hsbc (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 6:23 pm

BigFish….
    i dont know about u but i think u r not as good as u think..please read readers digest december issue(or nov issue-i forgot which one)about MERCEDEZ parts & electronics quality issue(& it happens on several models).they actually facing deficit 1st time-instead of profits, at 2005 before they replaced their CEO in 2006.well,i dont need to talk further more since u’ll understand more if u read the book.i just wanna say proton problem is not unique & can happen to any carmaker(mercedez itself is one of the oldest carmaker & can i say one of the prestigous?).maybe u dont know about this since u dont owned a brand new mercedez.u should ask those morcedez owners also,are they satisfied with their car?additionally, my friend’s mom also using E200K year 2005 & she also complaining about her car.Have u open a website called wreckedexotics.com?it shows that brand new ferrari 599GTB caught fire because of its wiring fault?& also featured new lamborghini murcielago LP640 that also having the same wiring problem(or engine overheated,i dunno)..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 6:36 pm

Bigfish,
    you should stop speculating already la. you are starting to sound more and more ridiculous everyday.

you continue to make a big deal of your own speculation that proton will launch 11th, but if proton announces its 18th, you say proton is late. but proton never announced the launch as 11th, thats purely speculation with no proof at all. so how can you say proton is late?

“2. Proton should reveal fast? If they are fast, it shall be done in 1990 (5 year cycle for new model), not 2008.”
    you should be judging proton based on current performance and what the new management is doing during the time they have taken over. what has 1990 to do with today? and where did you get your “5 year cycle” for new models? are you a car manufacturer?? most cars out there today work on a 7 year or more schedule. yes. proton has been late in the past, but i think you have to judge based on today’s context. but if you want to look at history, 2005= savvy, 2006 =neo, 2007= persona, 2008= BLM.. 2009=mpv? thats not too bad actually.

• engtia (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 6:39 pm

Sifu,
    thanks for the advice! Just not my luck though… anyway would it be at least do some tuning to the ECU to improve the torque a bit. Is it possible. Can I do it now? Will it void the warranty? Where should I get it done?

• chap_de_x (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 7:10 pm

let big fish become big fish talk big but meaningless talk so many but pointless…this guy is very proud when getting negative attention from all of you…nothing is good from p1 for him … just ignore him,he will never shut his big mouth like a bass fish and lets wait for this new baby born…if its good praise it with honesty but if its not critic it with constructive critics ok.

• nocrid (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 7:53 pm

Big Fish Dude…

Bro, this is new car for all the fans out there since the butt job car… I mean reengineering job. This is the moment to be proud of in a while. Negative critisicm despite constructive or not are evilish. You will be called names. I suggest you stick with positve speculation comment rather than negative constructive comment.

Anyway, the marketing gimmick is powerful! Can’t wait to see the end thing. Even the pathetic good sellling car of the year Myvi don’t have such marketing gimmick. Way to go proton. Hidup proton. This is a positve comment…just in case you don’t know… :-)

• IsaacVky (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 8:16 pm

I hope his new Hilux got stolen on the 1st night of delivery.
    By the way, Hilux is the worst 4X4 pickup you can get on the market now, in terms of looks power comfortability and such and so on.
    So actually he’s not that neither smart nor clever. Haha!

• nanashisan (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 8:22 pm

lol…. last time littlefire85 kena sound, now bigfish turn. are u guys sibling or what?

sorry for being OT, anyway, let him be him but i believe not him only needed to be warned. i also don’t like short pointless comment posted either positive or negative. wasting time to read.

back to topic, according to sifu statement, i think the blm will no longer sound like proton gen2 1.3L campro since the starter sounded more japanese and the improved version of campro engine will sounded differently than current campro.

sifu, this 1.3L IAFM campro is 94hp or 98hp rated engine?? im confused now. my friend told me it is 98hp due to IAFM and 94hp for normal 1.3L campro. 98hp is so big that it almost mathched 1.5L toyota, nissan engine.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 8:23 pm

I agree with many of you, namely few latest post here such as gonggok, BanyakMasukWorkshop, chap_de_x and nocrid.

To BanyakMasukWorkshop, based on Proton’s plans, Proton will launches the MPV and also Perdana replacement model in 2009. This year, I hope they will launch the Gen.2 CPS and Waja CPS…. I don’t mind they delay Satria Neo facelift or even the GTi models. For now, Proton needs models which can generate more profits to the company.

To BigFish. I don’t care you call me “cocky parrot” or whats so ever as you don’t feel sorry because you don’t know me and LUCKILY I DON’T KNOW YOU EITHER. When the BLM spy pictures with minimal disguise speculated on the Internet including in Paul Tan’s Blog, people who seen the picture already knows this is NOT SAVVY WITH BUTT JOB. However, you still say it is. Proton doesn’t and never say they will launch the car on 11 January 2008. Proton only say this model will be launch in middle of this month. You were the one speculate the rumors about the launch date. Now, you say Proton delay again……as usual. Bla bla bla…..

You don’t agree with people but you want all of us here to agree with you? Who are you anyway? If you want to buy Toyota Hilux, buy lah and smoke out all these “small lawnmover on the road”. I like to see those MINI, SMARTFORTWO, MERCEDES BENZ SLK which are consider SMALL to smoke you out.

Happy Motoring, drive safe and keep safe everyone…

• The Unicons (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 8:27 pm

IsaacVky, he should get the Mitsubishi Triton.

• Paul Tan on Jan 08, 2008 at 8:37 pm

BigFish, you have been put on moderation because of repeat offences even though you have already been banned once before. Any comments you post will first have to be approved by me.

You are welcome to criticize all you want but please criticize constructively based on FACTS instead of speculation. Criticize the car and the car company, NOT fellow readers who have the right to their own opinion.

I do not want to get a call one day from some lawyer requesting for your IP address so they are able to track you down and sue you for defamation.

If you behave properly for 2 weeks, I will remove the moderation on your nickname.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 8:51 pm

Sorry, out of topic. To tokmoh…. how are you doing? Long time no hear. Hope you read my message here.

Wondering where is kei9 and Mr. Proton.

To hsbc. Yes. My uncle’s Mercedes Benz E Class (W211) less than 5 years, suddenly no brake crash on other car. Before he owned the older generation E Class also, electrical shock!!!! Perhaps bad wiring. Sold get this W211… problem too!!!!

Last time some people say bashing Proton so that they will do better. When they do a bit better, they start to curse so that Proton not going to do well. You know who is that guy!!!!

• radd (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 9:39 pm

can anyone explain more about that “aichi kikai” thing?

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 9:48 pm

mpv is somewhat been sketched by now,

perhaps proton is preparing/tuning its campro to pull an MPV,
    definitely its torque that counts,

hopefully campro evolve for batter for various specs and purpose,

• GlowJo (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 10:36 pm

BigFish said,

January 8, 2008 @ 6:15 pm

————–
    This may take place only after go to showroom to see the BLM and check-touch-knock-press all over with “engineer-precision”, look at the spaciousness, build quality, bang the door hard (shall sound “thub”), consistent gap between door & body, big glove box, etc. This is also book on behalf of my friend, not me. Me will book Hilux and smoke out all these “small lawnmover on the road”.
    —————————————————————-
    Hilux is not a car… it is a PICK UP… different class Maaa….

• pengawas (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 11:09 pm

proton.GL.. said,
    January 8, 2008 @ 9:48 pm

——————————————-
    -and i hope it will looks like toyota wish or honda stream..

• pengawas (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 11:33 pm

i think this proton’s marketing strategy is good…. at my opinion, proton not just want to sell this car, but it will attracts peoples especially kids to see how cars is made… and proton give the excited’s mood for ours as a customers.. this is a good strategy.. so.. who says proton didn’t have any fresh ideas..?? now proton is prove it..

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 12:42 am

To Paul Tan and all fellow bloggers, with my honesty, if my comments are deem unnecessary and un-constructive, I offer my apologize and the only thing I have to do is to imporve myself by coming out more relevant and constructive comments.

Thanks for the feedback!

• si-fu (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 1:03 am

Hi everyone! Here i am again!

To Engtia’s Question:
    Sorry to say again, the ECU (from SIEMENS VDO) that Proton uses cannot be altered even by Proton Engineers. The type of ECU that is used in production cars in Proton are production ECU’s. This ECU, once the mapping is flashed on to it, its permanent. So there is no possible way of changing the mapping or using a piggy back ECU. However, there are some claims from local aftermarket tuners that they can remap the ECU. Maybe u should hunt for them and see what they can do. But once the ECU is modified or ‘disturbed’ the warranty voids. For testing and calibration purposes, there are another 2 (Series and Application) types of ECU that Proton has. This ECU can be remapped as many times as you want but its not for commercial purposes.

For Nanashisan Question:
    Proton’s 1.3L Campro (S4PE) only produces 94bhp. IAFM DOESN’T INCREASE the hp of the engine. It ONLY helps in the torque of the engine. The Campro (1.6L and 1.3L) basically was designed to be a high powered engine, so in that case the low end torque was sacrificed (there was a torque dip in the low end region aprrox at 1000rpm – 3000rpm). In order to overcome that problem, IAFM and VIM is used to get a better and smoother torque curve (the torque dip was removed and high torque at low end region approx at 1000rpm – 3000rpm). For hp and torque comparison:-

Campro 1.3L (S4PE) – 94 hp , Max torque – 122 Nm (Without IAFM -120Nm)
    4G 13 (Mitsu 1.3L) – 83 hp , Max torque – 109 Nm
    4G 15 (Mitsu 1.5L) – 91 hp , Max torque – 127 Nm

Hope this info is helpful. Cheers!!!

• king (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 2:02 am

IsaacVky said,
    January 8, 2008 @ 8:16 pm

I hope his new Hilux got stolen on the 1st night of delivery.
    By the way, Hilux is the worst 4X4 pickup you can get on the market now, in terms of looks power comfortability and such and so on.
    So actually he’s not that neither smart nor clever. Haha!

_________

exactly, it only shows how shallow is his knowledege of cars.
    Hilux = low power, high FC , high price in 4×4 pickup category

• king (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 2:07 am

BigFish said,
    January 8, 2008 @ 6:15 pm

Me will book Hilux and smoke out all these “small lawnmover on the road”.

even my satria 1.3 last time can smoke hilux anyday…so i think BLM with 97 odd hp won’t have any problem smoking it as well

• mohdjiman (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 9:34 am

Campro 1.3L (S4PE) – 94 hp , Max torque – 122 Nm (Without IAFM -120Nm)
    4G 13 (Mitsu 1.3L) – 83 hp , Max torque – 109 Nm
    4G 15 (Mitsu 1.5L) – 91 hp , Max torque – 127 Nm

sweet…can play with 4G15…it’s time to leave behind my old saga?hmmm….

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 12:17 pm

its number of valve thats count,

• Bigfoot (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 4:07 pm

Si-fu,

You sure know a lot about CamPro IAFM. Tell me, is the rattling problem caused when IAFM flap hit the PA66GF35% runner has been solved permanently? Don’t tell me the engine still sound like a diesel engine. Clank, clank, clank.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 4:24 pm

cetait said,

January 8, 2008 @ 3:16 am

Yes driving safely and alertly is of the highest importance, but at the same time don’t be disillusioned into thinking “I’m a careful driver so I don’t need safety features.” You can be very careful but still be hit by someone else, or make a momentary mistake.
    ——————-
    >>>Nonono, I’ve never been against putting safety features, it’s just that if it can’t be provided, some kind of makeshift have to be equipped: the driver. The driver would hv to improve his driving skill. I’d rather advice ppl to be a better driver than rant how socially irresponsible some car manufacturers can be.

Besides, your example can be considered as an accident, which I put as “unavoidable” and “God’s willing”, it is outside your range of capabilities. Mistakes happen, but if you nvr learn from it, how wasteful is that? I’ll owe up that I used to scratch someone’s car while reversing AND answering a phone call, so I learnt an expensive lesson (the owner was there, so I had to compensate him RM250 on the spot for cost of ketuk n paint T.T), so if I do the same mistake, then I hv no one to blame except for myself.

Then there’s crashes, which are some obvious faults avoidable: not wearing seatbelt, not giving signal, high beam other vehicles, never replace botak tyres, never service brake, etc. Get my drift? Before one starts blaming others for being cheapskate enough to not give ABS n twin airbags, one should “ukur baju di badan sendiri dulu”. Islam also teach its worshippers to “berusaha sedaya upaya sebelum serahkan kepada Tuhan untuk menentukan usaha kita”.

Besides, one can always get the Persona H-line if they are that desperate for twin airbags n ABS.

@IsaacVky,
    Check this out:
    http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles/article_1224/page_m.asp

Hilux is the best seller truck last Nov wit 9962 units. Even Honda City can oni sell 8965 units!!

Before u start thinking anything weird, no, I dun like it either. The last time I read Autocar, Hilux was pretty expensive, which puzzled me why ppl want to pay so much for it. If ever, I think Ford Ranger is the best truck overall wit an attractive price tag in comparison to its rivals. I think Triton is more expensive than Ranger, but at least Triton is better than Hilux.

@The Unicons
    Heheh, I’m doing great. It’s been awhile, eh? Been busy working?

Back in 2004, I remember Merc used to make a major recall to E-class W211, Maybach and some other models that come with their sensotronic electronic brake apa ke benda ntah org German ni bagi nama pelik2. I’d always thought Merc was a bit too ambitious wit their electronic brake sensor on the pedal rather than the conventional hydraulic on most other cars basically. Not oni it’s complicated wit fragile electronics, it also lacks brake feel when u press the pedal. Just like how power steering kills the steering feel we used to experience in a Kancil (Iswara for some ppl) when getting our license. Worse still, it failed. Merc not oni lost millions (or billions) wit that recall, it also lost the reputation they’re trying to build back of how they used to be very reliable. I guess the Mercedes engineers hv been playing too much PS2, they’d thought it’ll work for a REAL car in the REAL world, lol. How wrong they were.

Even Germans make mistake. The grass will always be greener on the other side, but I guess “hujan batu di negeri sendiri” is always better.

I hv an interesting article about supercars, I guess it can correct the people’s perception about Ferrari, Lamborghini, Porsche etcetcetc:
    http://driving.timesonline.co.uk/tol/life_and_style/driving/news/article1358351.ece

Heh. Think supercars are created by God? Think again……no means to insult the supercars, but just as a warning that good things come with a price. A very, very expensive price. And it’s not just the money as the price tag, if you get what I mean.

Happy motoring everyone.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 7:18 pm

aiya just not online for 2 days i missed many things! Including BigFish being attacked and warning from paul….i never saw a blog that update as fast as chating room.

• si-fu (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 9:30 pm

Hi BigFoot!

I always thought that u were from Powertrain Dept, but i guess if u r from there, u wouldn’t be asking that question rite…hehehehehehe. But for sure i know u r from Proton R&D! :-p

The was no rattling, just the flap switching sound. The problem has been rectified by putting dampers on the flaps. It helps in dampening the sound, however it doesn’t eliminates it 100%. We should keep in mind that the flap switches at arnd 3800rpm. The sound is only prominent, when the car is stationary, and rammed up to arnd 4000rpm, with the front lid open. With the dampers, and the car stationary, and the front lid closed, the sound couldn’t be heard at all, from outside as well inside the cabin. So i guess the problem is solved. I dont think anybody is gonna wind down their window, jont their head out, and listen when the car is moving at 4000rpm….hehehehe.
    Cheers!

• The Unicons (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 9:33 pm

Hello tokmoh, nice to hear from you. Busy is good as long as not too stress. Agree with you and thank for some info and the news. Yes, I didn’t read few accident involved supercar and the driver and occupants died inside such as burned to death etc.

All the best to eveyone here. Drive safe and stay safe.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 9:39 pm

Sorry typing error. My sentence Yes, I DIDN’T read few accident involved supercar and the driver and occupants died inside such as burned to death etc should be read as Yes, I DID read few accident involved supercar and the driver and occupants died inside such as burned to death etc.

• Smallfish (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 10:07 pm

We should be proud of Proton achievement lately. The quality level is much improved. Looking at Persona acceptance by our Malaysians, definately this BLM will also receive the same result. However, in order to maintain trust from people, after sales service is very improtant. The customer service must handle delicately all customers’ voices.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 1:10 am

ok please leave bigfish alone for now…i was surprised he said sorry and apologized..

cool man…finally u changed…apology accepted…

this blog will be boring without you..so please do write after this…

to sifu…

what i heard from my friend who is working in proton,the mpv is goin to be a super charged version of campro and and a new campro 2.0 is on the way..is that true?

even the satria gti is going to be super changed version fully tuned by lotus…lauching sometime this year??

is the 2.0 version of campro based on the 1.6 ??or its an all new engine?

do keep us update sifu..thanks

• DrA (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 1:43 am

Such brilliant marketing!!…

• cetait (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 2:10 am

Tokmoh:

Yes but seeing how you agree that accidents are inevitable no matter the driver, wouldn’t you want a new car you bought to have the most safety features possible? Bad/unsafe drivers will always exist unfortunately, but what about the good/conservative drivers who also find themselves in accidents? I’m sure they’d rather have airbags than your idioms in the split second before impact.

And why do “anti-airbag” people always say to just buy (more expensive model/mercedes/whatever) if you want safety? the whole point is that people in other countries don’t have to! it is included, for the same price or LESS than what you pay here. Are foreign lives worth more than yours and your family?

Why not be for both better driving AND safer cars when all else fails? The two aren’t mutually exclusive, you know.

• normaluser (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 9:42 am

Dear si-fu:

A relative of mine who’s also working with P1 told me that the new MPV is undergoing lots of testing on P1 oval track, with tons of electronic sensor equipments attached to its body. But he mention that it will be small sized, like the Hyundai Matrix. Since he’s not R&D staff, he never had the chance to see it close, only from far away. Just to confirm from you whether that’s right? (Just on the size)

About the Waja MC-3, I remember reading it from a local daily more than a year ago (yess its quite long time already) where Datuk SZ revealed that its engine will be a supercharged one with technical assistance by Bosch. A supercharged campro CPS? How true is that report?

By the way, I thought the Waja is to be retired. 7 years in the market, and it is in the same market segment as the Persona.

===================
    si-fu said,
    January 7, 2008 @ 5:49 pm

Hi Guys and Hi to Paul.
    Thx everyone for reading my comment.

For yippi33 Question:
    Proton is planning to make IAFM standard on all production cars soon. That means that all models that uses the Campro 1.6 and 1.3 engine in the future will have the IAFM as standard. Currently the CAMPRO CPS which is only available in 1.6 WILL BE ONLY USED in the Gen-2 Facelift and Waja Facelift MC-3. This two model will be launched soon in the local market. Proton is currently working on a ‘NEW VERSION’ of the Campro engine to be used in the MPV project and most probably in the Satria Neo GTI project. Just to tease u guys, :-p…the “NEW VERSION’ of the Campro engine will have about 170HP!!! Have a Gud Day and Cheers!!!

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 10, 2008 at 11:00 am

probably in the Satria Neo GTI project. Just to tease u guys, :-p…the “NEW VERSION’ of the Campro engine will have about 170HP!!! Have a Gud Day and Cheers!!!

i thought any car manufacturer cant use GTI name anymore because it is belong to VW? I remember i read an article regarding this before….maybe have to put R3 name

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 12:03 am

Ain’t the GTi name been around for a looooong time? Besides, Peugeot oso got 206 GTi I think. Takkan the VW be soooo greedy wanna trademark the name oni to themselves? Unless other car manufacturer oso name their models Golf GTi la.

• endy (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 12:18 am

Normaluser,

I think it shoudn’t be the size of Matrix as I read somewhere, its a seven seater full size mpv with the third row seats can fit 2 adults comfortably. Based from this, the seats configuration should be 2+3+2 which is the same as typical low roof-line type mpv such as wish, stream and grand livina. If its an 8-seater mpv, then the shape should be as the high roof-line type mpv such as innova, naza ria or alphard.

Besides, IMHO, 170hp is more logical for the 7 or 8 seater type. Not the 5 seater type such as the Matrix.

I expect the exterior design cues are based on the lotus apx as its a working prototype & ready for production but maybe a whole lot toned down for a practical people mover.

How about Mr. Si-fu confirming on this?

• farghmee (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 11:45 am

http://malaysianbikers.com.my/forum/index.php/topic,27402.220.html

someone posted some pics in forum above..

• mkland3 (Member) on Jan 11, 2008 at 12:25 pm

si-fu said,
    January 7, 2008 @ 5:49 pm

Just to tease u guys, :-p…the “NEW VERSION’ of the Campro engine will have about 170HP!!! Have a Gud Day and Cheers!!!

————————————————————-

That’s quite impressive.. How you going to push the specific power to more than 100 hp/litre unless if you super-charged or turbo-charged the engine.

I presume there’ll be a lot of mods on the cranktrain, block and head.

Looking at current oil price, turbo-charged engine is not a good solution.

• tepung_cap_sauh (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 1:22 pm

pengawas said,
    January 8, 2008 @ 11:09 pm

proton.GL.. said,

——————————————-

———————————————–
    i read at one malay forum, proton have done the development of proton mpv.. it’s say the design like a toyota wish and will launch at the end of 2009…

• tepung_cap_sauh (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 1:32 pm

pengawas said,
    January 8, 2008 @ 11:09 pm

proton.GL.. said,

——————————————-

i read at one malay forum say, the mpv from proton design like toyota wish.. and will launch at the end of 2009.. the writer of that thread have cousin at proton r&d if i not wrong..

• Peter on Mar 04, 2009 at 5:16 pm

I wanna know new saga what price now?

D/P how much?

Loan how much?

Now got any promotion?

Got discount?