Toyota to build Camry Hybrid in Thailand

Toyota Camry Hybrid

We may see a second hybrid vehicle being introduced into our local market soon as a Thai CBU model, the Toyota Camry Hybrid, as Toyota Motor Corporation will begin assembly of the hybrid D-segment vehicle at its Thai Gateway plant in the Chachoengsao Province southeast of Bangkok next year.

The Chachoengsao plant current produces Toyota’s monocoque vehicles such as the Camry, Corolla, Vios, Wish and the Yaris, while its two other plants produce IMV vehicles such as the Hilux and Fortuner.

“Thailand is the first ASEAN country to build hybrid vehicles. As the Camry has
received a warm welcome from Thai customers, we are sure these customers will be satisfied not only with the product but also with its environmental performance,” said Toyota Motor Thailand President Mitsuhiro Sonoda.

I’m not really sure whether the Camry Hybrid will use Australian Aurion Presara styling (ASEAN Camrys use this styling) or the funkier American Camry styling. There is a Camry Hybrid in the US that uses the American styling. It uses a 2AZ-FXE engine, a 2.4 litre VVT-i Toyota Direct Injection engine that runs on the Atkinson cycle, producing 147 horsepower at 6,000rpm and 187Nm of torque at 4,400rpm.

This is paired to a 30kW (40 horsepower) electric motor that can produce 270Nm of torque from 0 to 1,500rpm. This hybrid powertrain sends power to the front wheels via an electronically controlled CVT gearbox.

Toyota will later add another assembly base for the Camry Hybrid in Australia in 2010.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 5:51 pm

Wow! I’m the first write this!
    Hybrid Camry is definately good for Thailand considering that it’s less fuel consumption and it’s environmental friendly. But talking about Hybrid cars, if M’sia bring this in, then there will be alot of hybrid cars getting in as well. But i do not sure what kind of rules and regulation G is going to implement this time. But as well as i remember we do have a honda civic hybrid system vehicle used here right! What happened to is anyway, i hardly saw one on the road.

• abtm (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 5:59 pm

with the fuel price at around AU$1.55/L, aussies are finally tempted to give up their Commodore SS….

• muscle car (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 6:22 pm

where is Proton gen2 EVE ???

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 6:25 pm

no point coming here… maybe the price will be very close to $200k as Civic Hybrid currently around $160k… not so many ppl can buy… with the current fuel hike & the possibilities of everything going up, average joe would tend to be thriftier than ever… to take a risk with something that quite expensive to them will probably not happen… yes, u can save fuel but no one knows exactly what will happen to other goods… unless the G willing to do something with the taxes… nah… i don’t think so

• fashraf (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 6:30 pm

Dear the government,

Please abolish the duties & taxes of these hybrid cars to help Malaysian afford these kind of cars and thus survive with the current petrol price!!!!

• azrai (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 6:34 pm

Another result of the failing NAP. TQ.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 7:27 pm

hahaha…….do you REALLY think the GOVT willing (and dare) to abolish the duties & taxes of importation of hybrid cars to help Malaysian to survive with the current petrol price??

The Govt & cronies, AP kings are ONLY interested with their own pocket la….
    If the above gonna happen, bid farewell to Proton…

Sorry to be dissapointing, but this is the fact.

• bam (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 8:08 pm

The Camry hybrid has a flaw like NGV cars: it has reduced trunk space. Other than that, it’s quite a good car.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 8:54 pm

How much will this cost? Will it pay itself over 5 years time. That is something that must be taken into account

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 12:47 am

petrol mahal, hybrid car lagi mahal, in addition of our stupid tax….

• King Samurai (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 8:20 am

bam said,
    June 11, 2008 @ 8:08 pm

The Camry hybrid has a flaw like NGV cars: it has reduced trunk space. Other than that, it’s quite a good car.
    Hello bro…do you what is a hybrid car? Hybrids do not use extra ‘Tong’ in the trunk to store alternative fuel. Do some research first before making a statement.. Check this out for reference though hybrid system may differ from each car maker.

http://www.honda.com.my/models/civicHybrid_technology.cfm

• tikus (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 9:08 am

I will hope the G serius consider hybird car.Pak Lah make us love you this time!

• n8cky (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 3:04 pm

Why they always imply Hybrid on expensive car-_-?…
    Stupid strategy, rich ppl who can afford Camry/Accord/Civic/Altis never think of Subsidy dude..

Kinda weird and another kind of joke..

Just imply Hybrid in City/ Vios, or even worst, Waja, Kancil, Myvi~
    Noob G + Noob Manufacturer + Noob systems..

I don’t give a shit on shrunken trunk space!!

• n8cky (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 3:26 pm

tikus said,

June 12, 2008 @ 9:08 am

I will hope the G serius consider hybird car.Pak Lah make us love you this time!
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    Why u ask this favour from PakLah?
    Sorry to say, he can’t make this decision, or should i say “ANY DECISION” ?

• bam (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 3:54 pm

King Samurai said,

June 12, 2008 @ 8:20 am

Hello bro…do you what is a hybrid car? Hybrids do not use extra ‘Tong’ in the trunk to store alternative fuel. Do some research first before making a statement.. Check this out for reference though hybrid system may differ from each car maker.

http://www.honda.com.my/models/civicHybrid_technology.cfm

———

Come on.. I know what a hybrid car is.. This is not Toyota Prius, the hybrid from ground up. This is *Camry Hybrid* http://www.toyota.com/camry/specs.html
    Find it yourself, under capacities, 14.5 cu.ft. for normal Camry, 10.6 cu.ft for Camry hybrid (less than Corolla’s 12.3 cu. ft. trunk space). Why on earth are you giving me the HONDA’s hybrid link? It’s totally irrelevant in this context.

Trunk space may matter to some people, especially for a family car.

btw, I’m not anti-Toyota, I’m just sharing information.

• Jie (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 3:54 am

prius in london gets discounted road tax and exemption from congestion charge (around 8 pounds a day if you drive into central london), plus the car price itself is reasonable (20k pounds brand new). this is how the govt can help rakyat…

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 3:22 pm

Jie,

obviously G don’t want to help ‘rakyat’.. they prefer helping ‘others’ in much more needed situation such as APs holder etc.