Toyota gives the Toyota Avanza another facelift!

Toyota Avanza Facelift

Toyota has given the 7-seater Toyota Avanza a second facelift, after the first facelift that also debuted the 1.5 litre model in Malaysia, and it will be coming to Malaysia almost immediately right after the Indonesian launch this morning.

Five spec levels will be available in Malaysia – the 1.5S (RM78.5k), the 1.5G (RM74.5k), the 1.5E (RM70k), the 1.3E automatic (RM65.8k) and the 1.3E manual (RM62.5k). All the 1.5 litre versions only come with automatic transmissions. These are estimated prices for Peninsular Malaysia private registration.

The changes on the exterior are mostly aesthetic, while on the interior you get a new dashboard colour that is a mixture of grey and beige that Toyota calls “greige”. The 3-spoke steering wheel is also now a 4-spoke design while the center dash area where the air cond controls and head unit are is now done up in a colour called “smoke silver”.

It seems that the ceiling of the car also gets slightly reshaped with little guidelines that help guide the air conditioning from the front blowers to the third row. There is also added insulation in the roof to reduce the noise that raindrops make when it hits the car’s roof.

In Indonesia, the S-spec model gets a 2-DIN head unit instead of a 1-DIN versions as well as a gated shifter, but a quick glance at the preview specs of the facelifted Avanza posted up on UMW Toyota’s website shows we still get a 1-DIN version. However, all of the automatic models in Malaysia get the gated shifter, not just the S-spec model.

Another change that’s quite obvious from the photo above is a new colour – white. It’s a very basic facelift, minor changes that are done just to extend the lifespan of this model that has been around since 2004 and facelifted once in 2006. If you follow a 5 year model lifespan it should be retiring next year but it looks like the Avanza will be around for quite sometime.

Toyota Avanza Facelift

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 10:10 pm

Yeah..as long as there are many toyota fans and loyal customer why they bother to build a new one.

• claxxion (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 10:12 pm

looks almost similar to the current one. slight bodykits and stickers?
    rode in the old avanza once, built quality is so terrible!

• Keepthepace (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 10:24 pm

STILL SO UGLY

• awak (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 10:26 pm

if you have simmilar budget, just wait for proton mpv,
    why?
    if you know what is ‘DRIVING’ than proton has it.

• nyte_skater (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 10:47 pm

well, at least the reliability and resale value is still there.

• arie1968 (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 10:49 pm

bored, old model new make up.

• rufus-x (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 10:55 pm

aiyoh..
    true la wat ppl said about toyota…n their stepson…p2….
    that oso can call facelifts aa..?

wats the old price for avanza 1.5 huh?
    does this ‘new’ one priced the same or add a couple of thousand more for stickers only?

ishh…pls stop this la…
    its cheating man…

but if its sold at the same old price, then its ok la..i guess..
    they didnt put any effort on it wat..why sell it at higher price rite?

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 11:10 pm

another boring stuff from Toy-otak….

no.1 car manufacturer? so WHAT ????!!!

just care about profits, sucks….

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 11:29 pm

got change meh? I see it’s still d same. Izzit too minor till it’s hardly to be identified?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 11:34 pm

is thr anyone here actually geting 1% excited ?????

wat a bore……..even a modest proton MPV in the previous post beats it for actually designing sting nice to look at…..geeez

• 9166 (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 11:36 pm

going by their recent face lift on their imv vehicles. I would not bother going to look at it. Just another model and opportunity for the great toyota to rip you off. Let me take a guess, you will some cheap plastic interior, under powered engine, well, it is a toyota after all.

• l3ryan (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 11:37 pm

“greige”!!! lol wtf is with these people…

• csv (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 11:48 pm

sorry but it’s still fugly as hell.

and the Nissan Grand Livina WHOOPS its ass anyday anytime.

do yourself a favour, save a little more extra and get a livina. you’ll wont regret it.

or the Proton mpv if you can wait.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 11:59 pm

This car ride worse than a kancil with rusted absorber.
    Screw it I wouldn’t want to sit in it if I have a choice.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 12:15 am

just wait for the proton mpv. toyota is not smart enough to refresh their inventory and thinks the consumer doesnt know about google and all. time to change, toyota

• shamel (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 12:37 am

Don’t ever blame TOYOTA actually our typical mentality of buyers forced Toyota to do this. Simple mah, adjust a little and you’ll get better sale than anything else. I rather buy Naza Rondo than Livina, a daylight robbery for that price. No point of talking reliability and quality too much if substandard product offered. Unless Toyota sell AVANza in USA, Europe too then no point buying this overpriced VAN.

• ignas (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 1:50 am

I’ll stick to Nissan Livina.

• 9211 (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 5:25 am

Like Rush, Fortuner & Innova, Avanza is another scrap Toyota design from a 3rd world country for another 3rd world country. Bumping ride, worst handling, road noise, loud engine, questionable safety features, ‘sardin tin’ & sub-standard body & chasis, ugly design..even the Japanese will not allow them on their road. But yet pitty Malaysian will chase for it and the blood sucker UMW will only think more profit will overprice it because of the T marque. This time lets give UMW the hard lessons, go for another model which is reasonable price and first class design. Show them we have enough bitter exprience with Altis and Camry..overprice. Unless they bring down more advance design from Japan and THE MOST IMPORTANT IS AT THE RIGHT PRICE.

• EnochKeng (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 8:30 am

Facelift? Drop this dump idea..make a new model out of it toyota..stop recycle.

• Keepthepace (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 8:34 am

Avanza?? What a “good” car with good name A-Van-zai, it’s not worthy to own with ugly design and overpriced. Imagine toyota use rear of a van + front of a watever model in their company recycle bin to build this car

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 8:42 am

awak said,
    October 14, 2008 @ 10:26 pm

why?
    —————————————————
    u seem to know “more: than other people around here about P1 MPV and what so different about avanva and the P1 MPV?

• xstan (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 8:58 am

At least it doesnt look much like Myvi Butt Extention.

The current outgoing version is typically Myvi clone but with a boot. Clumsy van.

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 9:00 am

the front lights look more like AVY/VIVA which is inpopular with its gear box problems

• ericfoong81exe (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 9:07 am

It doesn’t appear to be much changes, just another re-packaging product and they just changed an ugly Innova look steering to Avanza.

• SY0H (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 9:38 am

Hi,

Many years ago, I still remember when the first Avanza comes out (the underpowered version of 1.3cc). My office colleague boasted she has a good mpv. I actually pity at her. At one glance I knew Avanza is NOT even a decent mpv to start with. The design is so hideous and very out-dated. Furthermore, the quality is in par with our Proton (at that time, don’t bash me yet). I’ve read somewhere in PaulTan.org that it was the Sales and Accounting Departments of Toyota which designed the Avanza and Innova. If this is true, no wonder Toyota end up with really boring mpv designs. But it must be very interesting for Toyota to allow people from non-technical departments to participate in the technical process of manufacturing. Unfortunately, they should have let the car designers and engineers do their jobs for customer’s sake. I can’t imagine the very same car manufacturer which has produced the famous Toyota Celica, Toyota Supra, Toyota AE86 (Initial D) and etc. could be the very same manufacturer producing the hideous Avanza, Innova and Toyota Dugong (Vios).

Just my 2 Ringgit and 30 Cents (after revised fuel subsidy)

• alihms (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 9:48 am

A bit off topic, but well…

I see lots of Toyota bashing nowadays. A stark contrast from what I saw a few years back.

I’ve been following the local motoring blogs / websites in the past 5 years and I do see a general shift in perception over that period. In 2004 – 06, Proton took most of the beating. Wajunk, Sawi, Gentut, Alfadana, plotong, CamtakPro, Mahaleel, Kak Pidah, Malangsial, Bodohland were the buzzwords back then. The Waja’s power windows problem was a favorite punching bag of the day. The duel between Myvi and Savvy was especially intense and name-calling / mudslinging were rampant. Even things that were remotely connected to Proton get bashed. I remember Proton Electronics Ind. (a Taiwanese co.) was also being hit – simply because it has “Proton” in the name! Toyota, Honda and other foreign manufacturers were almost like godsend then.

In 2007 onwards the tide began to turn in Proton’s favor – helped by the introduction of Persona, the New Saga and Campro CPS / IAFM. Perodua began to receive bad publicity – mainly due to its higher than expected price (notably Viva and then Nautica). Now, Toyota’s endless cosmetic changes and perceived profiteering start to get the hit also.

What comes around turns around

• db8 (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 10:00 am

wat to say..our ppl like to bash..lol

• indigo (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 10:05 am

Don’t blame UMW for pricing it expensive. All of the overpriced cars here are due to G. Duty here and there. Mampus

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 10:06 am

what can i summed up is… hard to find something perfect to each and everyone, not only proton have a weakness but other manufaturers too. and not only other manufaturers who have done a good job but proton tu. All in all, in this case, this avanza open our eyes that it is about mentality. therefore, discuss more on good and bad of a car so that buyers can choose the best one depends on the budget
    hehe

• edperdana (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 10:08 am

Pity that Toyota so-called GOA does not extend to the Avanza ..the Japanese seem content to pass cars with tidak apa QC levels in third world markets such as ours.. hey why bother when you have a dominant market share right?

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 10:16 am

We have to be critical because we play a significant role in the market – collectively we’re the ones who feed the big bosses at Toyota, Nissan, Mitsubishi, Proton, Perodua, Naza, Ford, Mazda, so on and so forth…
    Tanpa kita, siapalah mereka… =D

• msmar_453 (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 10:50 am

Nice job Toyota! well done UMW! (Greedy one!)
    After all, people will always say, it’s Toyota – mah!

• ignas (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 11:01 am

bash bash! :P

• ntsc (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 11:05 am

Not again…. Facelift again….

• Roti Naan (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 11:31 am

toyota, please…no more facelift….or people get fed-up.

• abtm (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 11:39 am

facelift means sales is dropping…looks sorry and too expensive, it should be worth around rmRM20k less than the asking price, and gate shifter is pointless if no tiptronic

• awak (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 12:09 pm

awak said,
    October 14, 2008 @ 10:26 pm

why?
    —————————————————
    u seem to know “more: than other people around here about P1 MPV and what so different about avanva and the P1 MPV?

maddy,
    what i refer is DRIVING,

if you drive avanza, a tall car, considerably shorter track, considerably beefed long travel coil spring that sometime makes the car jitters, or bouncy bit,
    drivers have an unconfortable left foot due to its placement of the RWD gearbox, non adjustable stering cannot personalised ones confort,

the physical of the car limits some corner-ability,

although i do not stress how do the rear passanger feel sitting behind, almost vertical seat,

but,
    it will certainly different experience driving an mpv in proton chassis which is clearly shown to the public, you can tell it, if you care about an architecture of a car.

avanza is design for indonesia with cultural and context of indonesian, therefore you wont find avanza in japan, and malaysian need are different situation are different, lot of good road and highways, cars travelling at 110 or 120, we need the car that handles and proton mpv designed with this analysis,

so,,

i leave this for your own analysis to decide.
    im not promoting nor bashing,

• kodok (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 12:14 pm

give me grand livina anytime but not this ugly stupid mutha farker!!

• chee89 (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 12:46 pm

avanza worst car ever.
    7 seater that only can pull 3.
    pointless car. which is getting a new facelift to maximize the sales.
    bet avanza sales are practically 0 with people awaiting the Perodua and proton mpv and other mpv that can actually pull 7 people like Nissan Grand Livina.

at least old proton saga was still having sales until its lifespan.

• altimi (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 1:42 pm

indigo said,

October 15, 2008 @ 10:05 am

Don’t blame UMW for pricing it expensive. All of the overpriced cars here are due to G. Duty here and there. Mampus

———————————————————-

A fully equipped Suzuki Swift 1.5 (A) can be sold at 69,999……….go figure…..

• adunadun (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 1:43 pm

buy avanza , then got avanza laa
    if u buy livina,, then u got livina.
    or make ur own car…

• intermilan (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 1:53 pm

beli beli beli..!

toyota very good!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 2:28 pm

altimi said,

October 15, 2008 @ 1:42 pm

indigo said,

October 15, 2008 @ 10:05 am

—————————————-

dont forget, this is not a japanese import. its a car derived from indonesia, with probably parts from thailand. stuff coming in from these 2 countries today are taxed less than they used to be in the past. but yet the prices continue to climb up and up.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 2:54 pm

what facelift?

• ignas (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 2:58 pm

the G and toyota kronies.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 3:03 pm

The new bumper is refreshing. Reminds me of pugs. Now it looks like the car is eating the number plate with a wide grin. (lower intake = mouth)

• BlackJKX (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 3:19 pm

Company car is the best.Sometimes when i drive this car or van?,can drive like hell also.syiok.Before fully stop,push to ‘P’ like that.sorry avanzaer, this van is funny.

• torque (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 4:00 pm

Hahaha…ya la, agree with Db8! We “sometimes” like to bash wan, tukar angin maa…lol.

Still, if you ask me…THIS CAR OR THING SHOULD NEVER BEEN MADE IN THE FIRST PLACE! And SY0H, “I can’t imagine the very same car manufacturer which has produced the famous Toyota Celica, Toyota Supra, Toyota AE86 (Initial D) and etc. could be the very same manufacturer producing the hideous Avanza, Innova and Toyota Dugong (Vios).”…can’t agree with you more! :-)

• corollaaltis (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 4:08 pm

Nicer than last model…

• nazrin (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 7:03 pm

indonesian spec avanza.. apa yg facelift..???

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 7:35 pm

To those of people whom have two eyes can detect where are the facelifts done…. Its better than the previous looks…

• arie1968 (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 10:54 pm

avanza should be sale for clearence stock only….
    nearly 5 years for this model.
    Give a good discounts……..and low interest maaa…..
    next year will be Perodua MPV 2009.

• mytouch (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 12:02 am

Walao ehh!! another facelift? Toyota oii Toyota,i think they no need to propduce new model anymore,just keep facelifting the current cars in the market. They are closer to become the new POTONG of Malaysia…

• clover leaf (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 12:06 am

toyota continue to command top sales on its overpriced cars due to people over-demand buying its cars.
    toyota implements kaizen philosophy even on sales and marketing, its a norm to see any toyota salesman gone extra mile to well treating customers pre-sale and after-sale.

• ignas (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 1:13 am

5 years model expect to sell with higher price after cosmetic change? three words, wut a cheapo marketing move!

cars are getting more and more expensive with more and more cheapo quality. avanza is not a sport car btw, so wuts up wif the kits. better cornering perhaps?

if got money better top up a lil bit more for Grand Ribena.

• rwd (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 9:44 am

change their suspension setup first…just wonder they know what is the car’s problem or not? is not visual or cosmetic..but suspension is the biggest weakness of Avanza to compete with others…what is the purpose to buy 7 seated MPV? for loading right? imagine the suspension setup is worse until people “try not to sit” your car if they have choice(expecially 3rd row), now you should able imagine how worse is the Avanza suspension..good luck TYT…..

• intermilan (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 11:28 am

damn..

no amount of ugly truth will stop people (some with no choice, some actually GOT choice) to still buying this… apa nama..

• rsrulz (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 2:07 pm

Avanza sucks. Its an overpriced ugly poor quality piece of s*it.
    Don’t know why they sell it here. it is meant for third world countries we are a developing nation not third world. And do u know dat they sell inova and rush in Singapore.

• rsrulz (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 2:07 pm

Avanza sucks. Its an overpriced ugly poor quality piece of s*it.
    Don’t know why they sell it here. it is meant for third world countries we are a developing nation not third world. And do u know dat they sell inova and rush in Singapore.

• infinity (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 2:37 pm

haha…time has changed…last time, when got toyota posts, sure ppl will give good comments and then compare it with proton, then bash proton…now seems like the other way round..

anyway, about this avanza..it’s a practical car..price also ok ma…it’s the cheapest mpv around, so wat r u complaining??i know tat it’s very basic, but it serves the purpose of being an MPV right??at least they take the trouble to facelift..better than just leave it as it is…agree??

• tec96248 (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 5:04 pm

hahaha…….lots of bashing the mpv with nonsense. some compared this mpv with a car. what overpriced, really don’t know? may be related to the tax structures. actually to facelift again in 5 years is ok since car also can stay more than ten years by facelift only.

infinity, have to agree with on the facelift since not a car and the volume of production is less compared to car.

• gods twin (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 5:29 pm

Maddy-Kun,

i totally agree with U
    Which car company offers an MPV with twin air blowers and a seven seater for the price of 65k-75k(Avanza & Vios), and at the same time has a second hand value of atleast 70% from the value of a brand new car . Even the new honda stream comes with on dash air conds. These cars are targeted to lower middle income earners,ie goverment servants and more. Its not at all targeted to boy racer and to joe’s out there who think that this is an “ugly mother Fac##r” and also for those out there who thinks that BMW and Honda’s are the best car makers. Feel sorry for them tough. I am not in any way complaining about BMW’s and Honda’s, in actual fact i drive an E46 Beamer.

Before bashing a car company, we should look at the target market its targeted to. i personally feel that the car is actually more than you can ask for if your income is in the range of middle class earners and with 3 kids.

A vios cost 56k(cost of persona) in langkawi, check the site!!!, camry cost almost 100k Civic cost close to 80k, in Singapore a camry is only 96k, if your are earning a salary of SGD3500, the camry looks possible. but back here in our beloved soil? The amount of taxes that are imposed to non national cars is attrocious. Our G policy is 1 sided. We are actually paying more than 1st world countries just a decent problem free car.

As far as i am concern, the Avanza is a perfect car for those ppl out there who needs a cheap solution to thier finances, growing fly and a good resale value. Beauty lies in the eyes of beholder, not passer by’s.

My 2 cent opinion.

• rsrulz (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 5:32 pm

its so sad that most of the people who realize that the avanza is rubbish is only on this website. if only other members of the public knew and were willing to wait for proton mpv. most people don’t even know that a proton mpv is coming out soon.

I think i will rather gat a proton than a toyota now. last time proton used to cheat us with overpriced useless cars but now it is toyota who is doing that and proton who is trying to improve its car price and quality, even car reviews from overseas are praising the new proton cars more than the new toyota cars (read some singapore car reviews).

Being a Malaysian i have to say that i am very proud of proton for what it has done. I used to be a proton basher but now i am a proton praiser.

• rsrulz (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 5:38 pm

gods twin said
    October 16, 2008 @ 5:29 pm

Maddy-Kun,

i totally agree with U
    Which car company offers an MPV with twin air blowers and a seven seater for the price of 65k-75k(Avanza & Vios), and at the same time has a second hand value of atleast 70% from the value of a brand new car . Even the new honda stream comes with on dash air conds. These cars are targeted to lower middle income earners,ie goverment servants and more. Its not at all targeted to boy racer and to joe’s out there who think that this is an “ugly mother Fac##r” and also for those out there who thinks that BMW and Honda’s are the best car makers. Feel sorry for them tough. I am not in any way complaining about BMW’s and Honda’s, in actual fact i drive an E46 Beamer.

Before bashing a car company, we should look at the target market its targeted to. i personally feel that the car is actually more than you can ask for if your income is in the range of middle class earners and with 3 kids.

A vios cost 56k(cost of persona) in langkawi, check the site!!!, camry cost almost 100k Civic cost close to 80k, in Singapore a camry is only 96k, if your are earning a salary of SGD3500, the camry looks possible. but back here in our beloved soil? The amount of taxes that are imposed to non national cars is attrocious. Our G policy is 1 sided. We are actually paying more than 1st world countries just a decent problem free car.

As far as i am concern, the Avanza is a perfect car for those ppl out there who needs a cheap solution to thier finances, growing fly and a good resale value. Beauty lies in the eyes of beholder, not passer by’s.

My 2 cent opinion.

i agree that our taxes are high in malaysia but people in singapore also have to pay alot for their cars. they have to pay to park in their own flat car park and road tax is crazy, for 1.3L car it is SGD300 plus just for six months. so singapore isn’t such a great place to own a car either.

• rsrulz (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 5:39 pm

as a follow up to my previous comment i would like to say that i know what i am talking about as i am a malaysian living in singapore.

• gods twin (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 6:34 pm

rsrulz,
    I do agree with you, as i frequently travel to singapore on business and find the parking rates and not to mention ERP charge. You see the cars there is cheap (if you compare on the salary wage SGD), but the catch is they pay high parking rates,ERP and many more. But back in our beloved country, Cars are freakin expensive, Fuel is expensive(if you compare on the salary wage MYR), Insurance, Toll Charges and also parking charges (ask those who work in jln ampang, yap kwan seng,jln pinang, b.bintang and more).
    I am not saying proton is bad nor toyota is good either(if you guy have time pls revisit the thread on one of the new city reviews by paul-. My friends Civic 2 years old newly changed Fuel injectors and ECU. Another friend of mine, 5 years ago, bought a brand new 5 series, the cars ABS and traction went haywire resulting in him wacking the divider along N-S expressway at 160km/h. All car manufactures are not perfect, we should see their positive side more than the negative, but many of us only see the aesthethics. There is more to it.

http://paultan.org/archives/2008/09/22/2009-honda-city-set-to-hit-the-european-market/#comments

We have to give credit where its due, and currently PROTON is doing a fantastic job.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 8:10 pm

What is amazing is that they are all doing this Special Editions all in the space of a few weeks. Methinks Toyota is learning from what Proton did; various facelifts while increasing price. So who’s learning from who?

Remember the Dugong? It’s more expensive and more ugly. I thought when you pay more, its supposed to be better? At least the old Saga Aeroback was better than the old ones with lighter bumpers and nicer dashboard.

Hmmmm.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 16, 2008 at 8:54 pm

who is the desginer of this car? GIORGIO GIU GA DO?

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 12:13 am

mcm kering idea je toyota….
    maybe their senior designer dah tahap veteran
    klua jelah dgn idea2 mcm ni
    sorry of topic…
    design new corolla like they scracth and sharp
    the headlamp and rearlamp from previous model…
    & the pillar just they took from yaris…
    new vios dah klua…
    bile agaknye toyota nak ganti
    avanza gen baru?
    mmm…

• God.of.War (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 1:33 am

i agree that our taxes are high in malaysia but people in singapore also have to pay alot for their cars. they have to pay to park in their own flat car park and road tax is crazy, for 1.3L car it is SGD300 plus just for six months. so singapore isn’t such a great place to own a car either.

—————————————————————

not all is right, they buy house at JB and park at JB with no cost. marry JB girl or man and can get PR for malaysian. but i don mind. sorry SG people, but many of the SG people is so cocky, dono why… but not all…

• tec96248 (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 9:22 am

rsrulz said,

October 16, 2008 @ 5:32 pm

–can’t agree with u, because is an irrelevant comparison and too earlier to praise a car if is not yet on the market. Tax structures also different applied to the cars. Read singapore review? what about Europeans? Is not easy to judge it, dude.

• awak (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 4:13 pm

do you have a brochure, now in your hand
    one of the brochure by UMW toyota , avanza. and i dont know about other model,

go to dimension and weight,
    look for
    wheelbase/jarak roda 2655mm
    tread/bunga 1415mm 1405mm

so what is tread/bunga.

so toyota please correct this quick, its ———– T R A C K not tread/bunga

• erichigc (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 12:05 pm

rsrulz,

I am also living in singapore. I wont mind paying extra if I am secured from thelf and crime if we compare to what happened in malaysia. Police running away from Chow Kit road. What a shame.

Cost of living in Singapore is much higher than in malaysia, do not forget that we have much higher buying power. Ppl here are afford to change car at least five years once with a good decent income. It really depends which class you are in. Understand that “poor” ppl oso suffered. But generally, graduates from Singapore are enjoying much more than Malaysian Graduate. My advice is work hard and work smart. The world is yours when fairer system is applied here.

My aim is porsche in next 5 years…Haha All the best.

• generalbersara (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 2:55 pm

why don’t u guyz at TOYOTA put in K3-VET engine,
    Rear disc brake, DVD player, RECARO seats, MOMO steering wheel on the Avanza?
    eventhough the price is high everybody will be very happy..
    no more bashing…

• j_hafiz on Mar 04, 2009 at 5:39 am

still look like same with the old one rite? whatever, but still my mother but it..

have no choice. grandlivina? out of budget lorr :(

• j_hafiz on Mar 04, 2009 at 5:41 am

anybody have ideas which one to choose? this is for my own soon.. seems 2 be odessey i think…

• I just recently brought TOYOTA AVANZA 1.5E, it just only one mount passes. Now I find out that my car didn't have any control for lock the Automatic Gear. the Main Security issue which I have from this car is the Automatic Gear can be change anytime without press the break or any control button.

Anyone have similar problem with me.

• Fase6478 on May 03, 2009 at 9:55 am

I have 2009 Avanza 1.5G..Is it ok my fuel consumption for in average 90 km per day costly RM 60 for 4 days..please comment if my avanza not good…by the way my average speed 120-130kmph..

• Orang Sederhana on May 17, 2009 at 2:55 am

Rich people condemns this car… Poor people appreciate this car…

Poor people pretending to be rich: criticise this car

Rich people pretending to be poor: didnt even look at this car…

My point is: you keep on commenting la… still got so many people buy… i'm gonna buy one soon…

• john persie lee on Aug 03, 2009 at 9:41 pm

stupid to buy toyota avanza. originaly is daihatsu car.

in sg this type of car is under daihatsu manufacturer

• john persie lee on Aug 03, 2009 at 9:43 pm

stupid.

• khairul on Dec 04, 2009 at 6:42 am

it gon a be a bumping ride.

– change rear absorber to smooth type.

• 'Mamoisi on Jan 14, 2010 at 5:39 am

please guide how to buy a new avansa from overseas

• taxfreecitizen on Jan 17, 2010 at 8:14 am

cakap English pun tunggang terbalik.

Grand Livina bukan bagus sangat pun, beli la hari ni, next 2 years (or less), problems will haunt you, it's a promise.

• Billy on Jun 01, 2010 at 6:43 pm

i tot avanzas are very oil consuming? but i dunno how consuming it is la…

any car got power but only consumes 30litre oil per 300km? any MPVs?

• libon on Jun 11, 2010 at 12:41 pm

question to those say -ve abt avanza. Do you guys have or drive avanza?.. if you dont…. then its just like you are saying that lemon is sweet..

• For Avanza 1.5G – 1 litre – 12 to 13km and Avanza 1.3manual – 13 to 14km per litre, proven already

• jason on Dec 09, 2010 at 11:44 am

Yes totally agreed with u azmi. i pump RM50 and got 26liter. then i can drive for 320KM. any comments?

• i agree, i have one avanza 1.3l, it runs 13-14km a litre

• Am buying an mpv and looking for comments,
    so u all are saying…
    if got money, better buy livina instead of avanza ?

• lam ling on Aug 21, 2010 at 8:13 pm

macam kereta angkat sayur!

• joe-ngang on Oct 13, 2010 at 4:31 pm

Aku guna Nissan B13 dan juga Toyota Avanza….2 2 aku suka.

Grand Livina kureng sebab duduk macam dalam kereta serupa Nissan B13 aku juga dan etc.

Bagi aku NGL / Alza tu dalam kelas Station Wagon bukan MPV. Exora / Avanza memang kelas MPV cuma beza Exora Ori siza MPV klass dan front wheel drive, guna belting utk injin, Avanza medium saiz klass dan back wheel drive, guna chain utk injin.

• i just bought 1.5E Avanza for last 1month. i don’t know yet the real cosumtion on this MPV. but until now i relise that each time i top up RM50 i could drive in the city around 155-160KM before the fuel alarm accour. My question is it it my avanza had been set wrongly , i meant maybe timming or other …because what i heard before this MPV is damm save i nono. please advice.

• and what best absorber can be fix in this to make it handling more better than original conditon..