Suzuki Swift now with keyless entry and start

Suzuki Swift
Click for enlarged image

Suzuki Malaysia Automobile Sdn Bhd have updated their Suzuki Swift for the 2009 model year. The locally assembled Swift retails at RM 73,788.00 OTR with insurance and comes in 5 colours, including Bayside Blue, Silver Grey, Supreme Red and Tranquility Black as well as one new colour – Superior White.

Suzuki has basically added 2 features – a keyless entry and start system, and auto-retractable side mirrors with integrated signal indicators. The keyless entry system allows you to open the door via pressing a button on the door handle, and the keyless engine start is not unlike Latio’s where you turn an ignition knob, not as sexy as a start button but it works. Its primarily to allow you to access and start the car without having to take out the key fob from your pocket or in the case of ladies, your handbag.

The rest of the car should remain largely the same – a 1.5 litre DOHC engine with variable valve timing producing 101hp at 6,000rpm and 133Nm of torque at 4,000rpm mated to a 4-speed automatic transmission, good cute but perhaps now dated looks and one of the best handling and fun factor in its class.

Look after the jump for more shots of the Swift.

Suzuki Swift

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wuttaheck on Mar 09, 2009 at 2:33 am

1st!

hehe

• Coyotito on Mar 09, 2009 at 2:35 am

I like this car. Looks sporty, but the cabin space of the car spoils everything. Hopefully Suzuki will come out with a bigger ones.

• Looks like the car has been updated with nice improvements, but the model has been going on for a good 5 yrs, anyone knows whether an all new model will be introduced in 2010?

• Paul Tan on Mar 09, 2009 at 2:38 am

With the world economy in its current situation you can expect Japanese manufacturers to begin emulating European 7-year model lifecycles.

• Paul, i read that Naza could bring in Kia Forte and sell it under the Naza brand. Does it have a 5-speed auto trans.? With price range of Rm70k to 90k, the only model I know of with 5-speed auto is City, any other 1.5/1.6 models with 5-speed auto?

• Paul Tan on Mar 09, 2009 at 2:48 am

This is a story about the Suzuki Swift, please discuss the Kia Forte here:

http://paultan.org/archives/2009/03/07/more-new-m…

• [quote comment="218508"]I like this car. Looks sporty, but the cabin space of the car spoils everything. Hopefully Suzuki will come out with a bigger ones.[/quote]

sports car mostly lack of cabin space maa

ferrari also…

haha

cheers~

• Paul,

do Swift Sport also got this function is it?

• Malcolm on Mar 09, 2009 at 3:01 am

A bit confused at how the keyless entry works. I suppose you need the remote nearby and pressing the button on the car door would remotely check the nearby remote and then allow the door to be opened ?

• Littlefire on Mar 09, 2009 at 3:16 am

Malcolm, is almost what u mention.

When u want to open the door, it will automatic check are u the valid person to open it.

I have tested with Latio sport before, if you don't have the remote beside you. The door wont open!

• osh_kosh on Mar 09, 2009 at 3:59 am

what if u accidently left your remote inside the car… most likely happen to ladies, forgot their handbag which is where they put the remote/key?

• Malcolm on Mar 09, 2009 at 4:07 am

LittleFire: Thanks for explanation. Clearer now.

Osh – Could that happen ? I mean the remote would be in the ignition to start the car right? So it won't be just "left" inside a handbag in the car.

Btw does that mean that the door would automatically lock when you close the door or do you still need to press a button to do that ?

• baby_t on Mar 09, 2009 at 4:10 am

out of range = unlock

in range = unlock

• shan0025 on Mar 09, 2009 at 4:11 am

""and the keyless engine start is not unlike Latio’s where you turn an ignition knob, not as sexy as a start

emm..Paul, u mean 'like' Latio's…

if i remember correctly, Latio's is to turn an ignition knob as well…

• Edwin on Mar 09, 2009 at 4:12 am

its a girls car..

• _xXx_ on Mar 09, 2009 at 4:12 am

Never learnt. Still no MT version.

• jansej on Mar 09, 2009 at 5:02 am

osh_kosh:

what if u accidently left your remote inside the car… most likely happen to ladies, forgot their handbag which is where they put the remote/key?

still can be open because is in the range.

• osh_kosh on Mar 09, 2009 at 5:03 am

[quote comment="218543"]

Osh – Could that happen ? I mean the remote would be in the ignition to start the car right? So it won't be just "left" inside a handbag in the car.

Btw does that mean that the door would automatically lock when you close the door or do you still need to press a button to do that ?[/quote]

not sure what this Swift keyless entry & start system work.. but AFAIK, keyless start mean when he or she sits inside the car, need to press an "engine start" button (or some sort) to get the car going without physically turning a key. As long as they have the smart key somewhere in the vehicle, the engine will start. Right?

• its exactly the same at the nissan latio.

you need to have the remote near and then press the button on the door to unlock it. then when you wanna lock it, press the button again.

its more hassle free as in no need to dig out the remote in the pants anymore.

• osh_kosh on Mar 09, 2009 at 5:06 am

so there's a higher chances of accidently leaving your remote/key/smart card inside the car…

• osh_kosh on Mar 09, 2009 at 5:09 am

[quote comment="218562"]osh_kosh:

still can be open because is in the range.[/quote]

then someone would just jump inside the car & speed off?

• mystvearn on Mar 09, 2009 at 5:13 am

I thought some time back, Nissan introduced this keyless entry for their cars only to recall the remotes back as the remotes sensor are easily destroyed when it comes into contact with TV remote control, face to face. hmmm

• Coyotito on Mar 09, 2009 at 5:19 am

[quote comment="218518"][quote comment="218508"]I like this car. Looks sporty, but the cabin space of the car spoils everything. Hopefully Suzuki will come out with a bigger ones.[/quote]

sports car mostly lack of cabin space maa

ferrari also…

haha

cheers~[/quote]

Yea, it's true. Nice car always lack of cabin space, but not all I mean…..XD

• [quote comment="218566"][quote comment="218562"]osh_kosh:

then someone would just jump inside the car & speed off?[/quote]

been wondering about that too..

• [quote comment="218566"][quote comment="218562"]osh_kosh:

then someone would just jump inside the car & speed off?[/quote]

IF you left the key inside, how you close it ?

this kind of sensor range is very limited , the sensor only work in front of the driver door, front passenger door or the trunk door with limited range , so no worry about you forget the key inside the vehicle . INside the cabin will have another sensor for checking the validity of the key

btw, the nissan i key problem have been solve long time ago

• osh_kosh on Mar 09, 2009 at 6:40 am

i.c… thank for the explanation bro.. :)

• Paul Tan on Mar 09, 2009 at 7:44 am

[quote comment="218546"]""and the keyless engine start is not unlike Latio’s where you turn an ignition knob, not as sexy as a start

if i remember correctly, Latio's is to turn an ignition knob as well…[/quote]

actually "not unlike" means "like"

• yY-Lamborghini-Yy on Mar 09, 2009 at 8:45 am

[quote comment="218597"][quote comment="218546"]""and the keyless engine start is not unlike Latio’s where you turn an ignition knob, not as sexy as a start

actually "not unlike" means "like"[/quote]

then ar why not just type "like" 4 letters only instead of "not unlike" 9 letters plus one more 'space' in between "not" and "unlike"? so "not not not like" means unlike rite? aiyooo….pening

• Carzed (Member) on Mar 09, 2009 at 9:16 am

sweet

• aliBaPa on Mar 09, 2009 at 9:54 am

price is cheap, may consider.

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 09, 2009 at 4:35 pm

[quote comment="218508"]I like this car. Looks sporty, but the cabin space of the car spoils everything. Hopefully Suzuki will come out with a bigger ones.[/quote]

perhaps ask them to do a european version ..

so that the back can fit in 2 europeans ..

hahax ..

• [quote comment="218513"]With the world economy in its current situation you can expect Japanese manufacturers to begin emulating European 7-year model lifecycles.[/quote]

The Japs even longer Paul now. Then only four years currently they stretch over ten years; look at corolla since 2000-2005; new model [but more toward heavy facelift] 2006-2012. Honda also follow suit; Odyssey. Nissan 370z too.

• Paul;

off topic. Is exora also sports this feature?

• keyless entry? what if the remote is out of battery? without a key how are we going to open the door/ignition? any1 knows how keyless works?

• dookie on Mar 09, 2009 at 6:14 pm

if the remote is out of battery, just slide out the key that is embedded in the remote and unlock using the key.

• benz lover on Mar 09, 2009 at 8:39 pm

swift sucks!.nissan latio sports is 100 times better compared to suzuki swift.come on,nissan is obviously better,suzuki like to copy other car makers………and whats so great about the auto retractable side mirrors with integrated signal indicators,its just a signal mah………..i think many cars nowadays have it.

• shan0025 on Mar 09, 2009 at 9:52 pm

[quote comment="218609"][quote comment="218597"][quote comment="218546"]""and the keyless engine start is not unlike Latio’s where you turn an ignition knob, not as sexy as a start

actually "not unlike" means "like"[/quote]

then ar why not just type "like" 4 letters only instead of "not unlike" 9 letters plus one more 'space' in between "not" and "unlike"? so "not not not like" means unlike rite? aiyooo….pening[/quote]

time to bring maths negative positive rules here…hehe…n sorry paul, misunderstood tat particular sentence..

• BlackJKX on Mar 10, 2009 at 1:26 am

keyless entry is 5~7 years technology.We here still arguing 'how if….'

c'mon..we need to learn and move forward..fast!

• hazxkh on Mar 10, 2009 at 6:05 am

[quote comment="218851"]keyless entry is 5~7 years technology.We here still arguing 'how if….'

c'mon..we need to learn and move forward..fast![/quote]

yeah also daihatsu '90 also have it …in term of 'keyless start' remote control..

go google it to believe it…

• yY-Lexus-Yy on Mar 11, 2009 at 3:48 am

my jaguar dun hav it, but mostly my driver chauffeur me around, keyless entry for me to the cabin anyway..

• It's the same as the keyless entry & start system on the 4×4 Grand Vitara. If you leave the key inside, you won't be able to lock the door.

• With keyless entry, how do you know the is locked..?

• Everyone is concern about how the key works, how about the performance of the car? Is it worth forking out RM$73,788? I am very interested in knowing.

• baby eunice on Oct 15, 2009 at 5:49 am

ya. i oso want to know about the performance. Any swift owner out there? pls comment. tq

• I got both a Latio Sport and a Swift. I can say that in terms of Handling wise…the Swift does a totally awesome job….in terms of Space and comfort….the Latio Sport wins.

Overall… Swift is a fun car to drive where it gives you that itch to push a little harder on corners just to feel the G…you'll love the round-a-bouts on a swift. Consumption is good about 16cents per KM (they way I drive – could be less).

I would recommend this car… it's really worth the buy. Best part is the spare-parts are now not that hard to find. Oh did I mention the interior finishing on this car…superb to every tiny detail.

In short… Swift is great…same goes to Latio Sports. Btw, I got my Latio Sports first then I got my Swift.

Cheers*

• blueswiffy on Dec 30, 2009 at 1:21 am

i got a Bayside blue for almost 2 years now. it was the 1st batch of CKD. 2 days ago my clock reset itself. so, it is time to replace the battery. when i checked the battery this morning, i realized it is only a 40R non-MF. my friend who got the CBU before me said hers came with 60R MF. now i know where one of the cost-cutting are. :(

well, i'm going to change to a 60R MF for juicier ride! swooosh…..

• shani on Nov 23, 2011 at 12:56 am

i want suzuki swift keyless programming,
    my remote is not working,

• jamal on Oct 28, 2015 at 9:52 am

How far can someone drive off in your car if they don’t have the smart key