Peugeot 308 GT: 175 PS 3-door hatch tested!

308 GT
Click for enlarged image

With the arrival of the Peugeot 308 GT last year on Malaysian shores, Malaysians now have a cheaper way to enter the world of European turbocharged hot hatch motoring.

The MINI Cooper S is a bloody fun car to drive and many will be looking at the 308 GT as a cheaper way (RM159,999) to experience something close to the Cooper S. This is because the Cooper S and the Peugeot 308 GT share the same engine. It’s also way more practical in the sense that the 308 can seat 4 comfortably while the Cooper’s rear seats aren’t a very nice place to be in.

The 1.6 litre Prince engine with direct injection and a single twin scroll turbocharger, producing 175 horsepower and 240Nm of torque from just 1,500rpm. That’s a full 25 horses and 40Nm less than the Golf GTI, but surely the 6-speed manual will make up for it in terms of driving experience?

Find out my thoughts on the 308 GT after the jump.

308 GT Headlamp

The exterior design of the 308 is pure Peugeot. It’s a hit or miss thing because of its rather unorthodox looks. Many people are used to a more conventional face on their car. The 308 has a completely unique feline look with large headlamps that sweep far backwards. Look at the 308 from the side and the headlamps actually extend behind half the length of the front bonnet. And then you have the Peugeot badge on the nose – there’s no separation between the radiator grille and the lower bumper grille – it is just one large grille with a thick brace through the middle.

From the side you get a sleek 3-door profile which looks way better than the more practical 5-door. The doors are not frameless though, which would have added a nice touch, but it’s not something you miss. The large 18 inch wheels suit the car in the sense that they do not leave you wanting for something bigger, you might get the urge to slam the car lower though.

308 GT
Click for enlarged image

The car has a nice rear end though far from as radical as the front and, and I find that it’s pretty odd Peugeot decided to keep the car’s exhaust tail pipes hidden when this is a sporty model. Malaysian Peugeot distributors Nasim probably agree with me as say they are working on a bodykit that includes some visible tail pipes at the rear.

308 GT Seats
Click for enlarged image

The driver’s seat is a very nice place to be. In front of you are some of the best-designed instrument clusters around. The dials have a white face with a red needle and the individual gauges have a classy chrome ring surrounding them. At night, the dials light up in entirety instead of just the numbers being backlit.

If I were to be fussy, perhaps having the speedo and RPM needles start from the 6 o clock position would make them seem sportier, but if that were the case it would not be possible to fit the various indicators, clock and odometer in the 5 to 7 o clock area of the two main dials.

308 GT Meter Panel
Click for enlarged image

Between the two main dials is a little red multi-info display with various information such as fuel consumption and above that are two little dials that show the fuel gauge and most importantly the temperature, something that is slowly disappearing from alot of modern cars.

308 GT ICEThe rest of the interior is also nice, with a soft touch dashboard and a decent feel to the various controls. It’s all very classy somehow. The dash leans towards the front of the car and ends near the windscreen with a little LCD display that displays various in-car entertainment details, including a graphical display of the front and rear proximity sensors that shows how close you are to objects near you. You can also access various configuration settings of the car from this display, such as follow me home lights timing, auto-door lock and etc.

Also, notice the CD changer? It isn’t really a “changer” per say, there are dedicated slots for each CD! Looks kinda like an air cond vent to me at first. There is also the JBL Hi-Fi system. The audio controls are mounted on a separate stalk and that needs getting used to a little at first but it was a quick learning experience for me. Steering wheel looks a little bland though.

That aside, somehow everything just seems to have some kind of nice flair about it which invokes a happy feeling, like this car wasn’t just made to make money but to please the owner too. The cabin feels very airy and nice thanks to the massive panoramic moonroof, which can be covered up with a shade in case you’re driving in too hot a day.

308 GT
Click for enlarged image

And now to the driving. After all, isn’t that what one would have in mind when one buys a turbocharged hatchback with a manual transmission? Well for one the 308 GT definitely does not feel as fast as the Cooper S. As you row through the gears there is a massive push when you start off because of the turbocharger’s 240Nm of torque kicking in so early but the engine somehow goes a little out of breath towards the upper edges of the redline, like the kind of torque curve best mated to an automatic.

308 GT Shift Knob
Click for enlarged image

The shift knob feels nice in your palm and the gears click in nicely though I wouldn’t call it one of the best slick-feeling shifters I’ve ever used. The clutch is set way too high with a short range of travel. This combined with a snappy accelerator pedal means it will be a tad frustrating to drive the 308 GT smoothly at first, but this is something you’ll hopefully get used to. There is also no foot rest.

The ride is a little firm but still pliant. There’s lots of grip afforded by the very nice 18 inch Pirelli tyres, and the steering tightens up at high speeds to provide the driver more precise control over the steering angle.

308 GT Boot
Click for enlarged image

Open the rear hatch and you get access to a pretty deep boot but it’s not very tall. The headlamps are a real dream to drive with at night, they are so bright and clear and a passenger actually commented that they might be a little too bright and was afraid we were offending oncoming drivers.

On the interior the front seats are decently sized and they fit my big bulk quite nicely. It doesn’t have super aggressive semi-bucket-like side bolsters. Most importantly they look reasonably upmarket, along with the rest of the interior, which is really a nice place to be in. The rear seats will fit 2 comfortably (see legroom and headroom shot).

308 GT Headroom

I feel Peugeot tried a little too hard to appeal to too wide a spectrum of customers with the 308 GT. They should have left that job to something like the Turbo. Despite 3 doors and a 6-speed manual the car somehow still feels a little too soft. Like it doesn’t have enough hot hatch DNA. Or is that a job that Peugeot delegated to the 207 GTI? Is a 308 GTI coming later?

308 GT Panoramic Roof
Click for enlarged image

But it is because of all the soft edges that makes the 308 GT a practical enough yet fun car to be used everyday, even if you regularly have to take in rear passengers. The interior is far from cramped, the ride is pliant enough and operating the front passenger seat to allow access to the rear bench is not cumbersome. Heck, the huge moonroof makes the interior such a nice place to ride in that I’d pick hitching a ride in this car over a sedan in the same segment anytime, if its not a very long journey!

It’s a decent daily or weekend car to have, especially with the potential tweaking that can be done to that turbo engine. On top of the base price of RM159,999, potentially over 200 horses could be unleashed if you spend a little money.

Only problem is if you spend that kind of money to solve its imperfections to suit your needs will it push the overall cost to that of a pre-registered Golf GTI?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• turboKEV on May 26, 2009 at 11:44 am

308 rocks! i had decided for the 308THP, good enuf for me.. best for both world.. everyday use plus a little bit wild when needed ~ spacious,safety,gorgeous,sporty = 308

• darkskies on May 26, 2009 at 2:03 pm

Any test drive for 308THP and 308vvt?

• Kok Choon on May 26, 2009 at 2:18 pm

m… last year I personally go to the showroom to see this nice car, but after trying to sit on it, not really practical.

The back seat is just for show, not suitable for adult.

Think about it, the pricing at 160K is just too close to preregistered Golf GTi, I wish they can lower it. From what I see, it only worth $135K ~ $140K…

Golf GTi on the other hand is more refine and value for money, just too bad the price is considered too high for most Malaysian.

• lifeinside on May 26, 2009 at 3:32 pm

what is the PRICE??!! you forgot to mention the most important detailed.

• lifeinside on May 26, 2009 at 3:34 pm

*detail. sorry.

• motosonic on May 26, 2009 at 3:42 pm

NICE CAR! Good for young executive..

• mkrafz on May 26, 2009 at 3:43 pm

a moonfoof?…

maybe in france…

here more like human-baked roof..!

• lifeinside on May 26, 2009 at 4:06 pm

owh i found the price! is it the same with the one u posted before?

http://paultan.org/archives/2009/01/29/peugeot-30…

• Paul;

Please do compare the VTi vs 308 Turbo THP vs Focus vs Civic 1.8S in term of OWNERSHIP; to be precise-power, FC, parts price and maintenance for the first three years if not longer.

I test drove the Turbo in Kemaman few days ago and so impressive for that price though more affordable 1.6VTi maybe targeted to be more mass than turbo-ed sibling. RM96k for the French car can save about RM24k compared to CBU 307 with less dramatic engine as the newest 308 share Prince engine with MINI Cooper (not One).

Hopefully Nasim can convert more buyers if their cars really affordable to purchase and maintain. Price-wise is cheaper than poorly featured Japanese counterparts though we've no idea about the real life maintenance. According to my friend, her Naza 206 doesn't cost her an arm and legs so far, especially with 10000 service interval though l'm very much OK with my Japanese ride even though nowhere compare the ride and handling with the French despite of close price gaps.

Thank you Paul and Nasim, both deserved credit for bring affordable French relationship (in initial price at least). Many skeptics will get rid their doubt THOUGH that's not the end only the beginning of their love or loathe with French WAG. Doing a Honda, displayed the maintenance service schedule and reasonable price parts as well as having more 3S is a PLUS point for NASIM-Peugeot. A newly open 3S in Kemaman is smart move for all.

• scottloeb on May 26, 2009 at 4:34 pm

If I have to chose, I'll stick with pre-registered Golf. Capable of beating Type R and have all the necessary gadget in M3. Best of both world.

• Paul, No night shot pictures???

• azrai on May 26, 2009 at 4:39 pm

Wow. A panoramic roof. nice one. By the way we have one thing to be learn from this. Even big cats are sharing their engine development to cut cost. how about those small fry? Still willing to develop own engine and took forever to break even?

• droll on May 26, 2009 at 4:39 pm

scottleloeb – don't think the pre-reg golf can beat a type-r (both in stock form) unless you mean for comfort.

this is a pretty good value for money performer. the equipment list is decent. but mods are expensive!

• k-rol on May 26, 2009 at 5:14 pm

u guys shud try this 308GT!!it is much much much much fun compare to 308turbo!with manual gearbox,u can feel the car lifted up!

• lowprofile on May 26, 2009 at 5:33 pm

i think this car is not for modders. probably best suited for those who prefer stock performance – less worry with warranty and also reliability and serviceability in the longer term.

• tikus on May 26, 2009 at 5:35 pm

Sexy car…. with full glass roof. Drive at nite much nicer.

• CRUDE on May 26, 2009 at 5:59 pm

WRC 308! nice plate number on a nice car!

• scottloeb on May 26, 2009 at 6:14 pm

[quote comment="241296"]scottleloeb – don't think the pre-reg golf can beat a type-r (both in stock form) unless you mean for comfort.

this is a pretty good value for money performer. the equipment list is decent. but mods are expensive![/quote]

the horses is up for Type R (by 10-20 horse) but the torque is definitely GTI – 280 Nm at 2000 rpm – character of turbo, just like 308GT + the DSG which is very slick. If we are talking about 1.6 FSi then the 1.8 single cam is much better (with extra boot hehe)

• mohdjiman on May 26, 2009 at 6:17 pm

Love the roof!!!

• the stik on May 26, 2009 at 6:36 pm

yeah the roof cam menarik.. tunggu laa buah kelapa jatuh atas tuuuuuuuu hehehehe

• Paul,

Please advice and enlighten us about cost of ownership of PUG since Nasim took over. If the cost is slightly dearer than Japanese I'd like to have this beauty. Perhaps, Nasim should follow Honda, display their car's maintenance costs.

Displaying spare parts also good as according to my friend, she has no problem of high cost for Naza 206.

Thank you in advance dude.

• [quote comment="241295"]Wow. A panoramic roof. nice one. By the way we have one thing to be learn from this. Even big cats are sharing their engine development to cut cost. how about those small fry? Still willing to develop own engine and took forever to break even?[/quote]

i am not totally disagree wit u, but, if the small fry joining the sharing without any proven job, i think it will be more like buying than sharing….

before the big cat willing to joint-develop the engine, the small one must show that they are actually capable of what the big cats doing… so, there will be a mutual respect on both side- win-win situation rather than boss-worker relation…

just my 2cents…

• bella 147 on May 26, 2009 at 6:59 pm

how much is this baby?

• thats a nice frenchy…….hope to see 1 loaded on the road soon….big 18 or 19 wheel bodykit and kick @rse performance…..its always nice to see many conti cars on the road…..160k is not too bad…..Proton…bila nak cps R3 TURBO??? hahaha…..

but really, the 308, if u drive it around your neighbourhood or saturday night pub crawl, its like out of 10ppl, 8 will glance and wonder wat car it is…especially ladies……u know wat i mean……

:)

• Wisdom on May 26, 2009 at 7:10 pm

Very nice review

Somehow your writing on the driving experience kinda mixed up when you turn the point back to the boot. Should've clear all the exterior & interior + headlamp first, then all out on the driving part, and closing with your nice verdict.

Kinda not satisfied with the driving experience in detail but that'll do. Thx

• unknown on May 26, 2009 at 7:46 pm

nice car but since naza is the distributor, i'll just have to forget it. had a very very bad experience with all their service center and their warranty claim. haii….wait for them to check my car n only to tell me that i had to claim warranty after having their 2hrs lunch, somemore no one even called me since i've made a claim since 2006.

• [quote comment="241335"]nice car but since naza is the distributor, i'll just have to forget it. had a very very bad experience with all their service center and their warranty claim. haii….wait for them to check my car n only to tell me that i had to claim warranty after having their 2hrs lunch, somemore no one even called me since i've made a claim since 2006.[/quote]

That was terrible man, you didnt complain to HQ??

• Any one know how much is the weight for all 308 variants?? I cant find this info :(

• azrai on May 26, 2009 at 8:31 pm

Paul, where's the Golf Estate story?

• EricG on May 26, 2009 at 8:34 pm

DUDES! i dunno whether u guys noticed the hand brake looks like a sagging loin. haha!

• protonkid on May 26, 2009 at 8:49 pm

integra ,accord etc type R no doublt is worth compare to this car .( same price) , but civic fd type r is more exp rm200,000/

0-100kmh also sure win.

• Paul Tan on May 26, 2009 at 9:12 pm

In any case I think its very refreshing to see a high-spec car offered for just RM160k. We've been having to buy empty-ish Japanese cars for a very long time.

• turboKEV on May 26, 2009 at 9:23 pm

[quote comment="241346"]In any case I think its very refreshing to see a high-spec car offered for just RM160k. We've been having to buy empty-ish Japanese cars for a very long time.[/quote]

"empty-ish Japanese cars" ~ I totally agree!!

• turboKEV on May 26, 2009 at 9:28 pm

one thing here, I really dun like peugeot Door closing sound, it's very Loud! did anyone notice this??

• lowprofile on May 26, 2009 at 9:34 pm

[quote comment="241353"]one thing here, I really dun like peugeot Door closing sound, it's very Loud! did anyone notice this??[/quote]

you're not supposed to slam the doors as in a japanese car. a gentle shove will do. japanese cars have lots or rubber to make u believe that their doors are as solid as the european doors.

• firdausasri on May 26, 2009 at 9:49 pm

[quote comment="241318"][quote comment="241296"]scottleloeb – don't think the pre-reg golf can beat a type-r (both in stock form) unless you mean for comfort.

this is a pretty good value for money performer. the equipment list is decent. but mods are expensive![/quote]

the horses is up for Type R (by 10-20 horse) but the torque is definitely GTI – 280 Nm at 2000 rpm – character of turbo, just like 308GT + the DSG which is very slick. If we are talking about 1.6 FSi then the 1.8 single cam is much better (with extra boot hehe)[/quote]

CTR with stock final drive ratio almost race spec-ish can even keep up the pace of R34 GTR. Stg 1 Golf GTI can only keep up with it (barely). Figures doesn't tell the whole story at the end of the day

• [quote comment="241353"]one thing here, I really dun like peugeot Door closing sound, it's very Loud! did anyone notice this??[/quote]

Only thing l'm not pleased in 308, simply LOUD.

• bmpower on May 27, 2009 at 1:37 am

the look is so so.. bored, sorry, in my eye.. maybe i just think it was about Naza

interior so so.. exterior so so.. not have any wow factor.

but luckily that was a wow engine and..

superwow! for 6th gear.

but this car still look bring in my eyes..

• bmpower on May 27, 2009 at 1:38 am

typo!

but this car still look boring in my eyes..

• Urani on May 27, 2009 at 2:27 am

i stared the design carefully.. what type of concept they use.. is it from animal… yeah i found it..

Exterior Design look kinda … a Frog..

PiGeo Froggy..

Interior superb!!

Dont like:

1. RPM meter,speedometer…..why use old techology? just use totally digital better, drive by wire!!

2.handbrake look like.. joystick..

like most.

1. WRC 308, nice number..

Rating

——

interior 4/5

exterior 4.12/5

go PiGeo Froggy.. go…

• mystvearn on May 27, 2009 at 2:55 am

Paul, can I suggest you place star rankings at the end of your review? Or are you reluctant to do that due to relationship with car manufacturers? Give a bmw 1 star, and you will never ride BMW again:P

• The other alternative is to buy a 2nd hand Mk5 Golf GTi, they should cost around that price as well

• Imagine Volkswagen Malaysia follow the same route taken by NAZA, make affordable car. Previous 208 RM118k, now RM96k. Golf RM160k now RM120k.

Government should allow more competition from European marque through more competitive pricing like Peugeot otherwise not many will buy European.

Golf 1.4TSi next, or need to wait Naza take over from Euromobile?

• Mazri on May 27, 2009 at 3:33 am

Volkswagen Scirocco…Volkswagen Scirocco…Volkswagen Scirocco…

When will you come to bolehland.. plez la..

Volkswagen Scirocco…Volkswagen Scirocco…Volkswagen Scirocco…

• Paul Tan on May 27, 2009 at 4:08 am

[quote comment="241393"]Paul, can I suggest you place star rankings at the end of your review? Or are you reluctant to do that due to relationship with car manufacturers? Give a bmw 1 star, and you will never ride BMW again:P[/quote]

I feel it is not the time to do that because I am not established enough to be able to gain access to all test drive cars from every company (maybe to them online readership is much less valuable than a magazine's), so I have limited scope to experiencing what is 1 star and what is 5 star. Not sure if you get what I mean. What if because of my limited experience I give something 5 stars and later find that there is something even better than the 5 star car… then suddenly add a 6th star? That would be weird.

BTW it so happens that the situation you described won't happen because I bought an old 3rd-hand BMW so I can drive it everyday :P

• mitlanevo on May 27, 2009 at 4:58 am

sweet thing!!!!

too bad it comes with manual only….

• that moonroof is sweet. but if i were to buy it, i would go for the base version. more affordable.

this one here is stepping abit into golf terrority. and with the new golf and scirocco lauching soon, expect 2nd hand unit price of golf gti's to drop.

get your downpayments ready!

• Chris Chong on May 27, 2009 at 6:25 am

No driver-side footrest? What the hell were they thinking???

• turboKEV on May 27, 2009 at 8:54 am

yes. new batch of 308THP does come with the breath-taking Moon roof! i'm getting it

• Wisdom on May 27, 2009 at 6:53 pm

By the way… when will your detail test drive report of the Exora will come out?

• Hassan on May 28, 2009 at 7:21 am

Not bad at all, full featured but kind of pricey.. like that roof glass..

• Paul,

RM 160k for this segment of car were sightly pricey but with my opinion it gives you more than good power to weight ratio ride but packed with essentials stuff like audio and the 'romantic' moonroof. But some might think again to sign up for the Mk.5 Golf instead of this.

• intermilan on May 29, 2009 at 1:32 am

Hi,

RM160K for a fully-imported GT with tons of kits (that PT didn't managed to give good detail insight), classy executed, warm turbo engine, rich in practicality (for a 3-doors) with more than adequate performance shouldn't be classified as slightly price. its fairly price, fair asking by Nasim. if its rm10K less, then its quite cheap. Rm160K is what you almost need to fork out to buy a 138bhp 206GTi with 2.0L N/A engine back in 2003. Beside name three (3) fully imported warm hatches (e.g. 160bhp n above) that we can buy in M'sia with RM160K that have full warranty and backing by its manufacturers?

I dont think Nasim targeted to make a handsome profit out of the 308GT. This is obviously a 'halo' model, just to attract people attention to the 308 model in general (almost all who like it will end up buying the more sensible 308 turbo or affordable vti). That why Nasim is having a 'nice' problem when the 308Turbo waiting list stretch to up to 4 months(?), with growing numbers of disillusioned buyers moaning about it almost endlessly – go read Pug AW forum.

Comparing apple-to-apple, the extra RM40K+ that you had to fork out to get a CTR, Megane/Clio 197 or Golf GTI (easily bubble to RM50K+ when compound interest is taking into consideration) is somewhat not really is fair value for the extra umphh than you'll get from all three (the Megane 197 is a little pricey). RM40K+ is not small sum of money. So 308 GT is placing itself slightly more than fair n square in the GT category, never it claimed itself as a direct competitor of GTi or Type-R kinda of car.

Want to see a hotter 308? Wait for the up n coming 308RCZ. same engine, with 218 bhp. but its a 2+2 coupe… and Nasim seem to be willing to bring it in, when its available. And if Peugeot release a proper 308 'GTi' with that engine too, only then we can speak of the 308, Golf GTI and CTR in the same breath. But i doubt they'll do it. want a Pug GTi? .. 207GTi is the only choice, so far.

Coming back to the GT, from all 3 hot hatchs above, perhaps only the Golf GTI able to match the kits you'll get with the 308GT. Of course the Golf is the benchmark in build quality (but i'm just focusing about level of kits here). The rest is rather 'empty', relying purely on performance as bait to lure potential suitors.

Therefore, for me, the 308GT appeal to anyone who couldn't afford a RM200k hot hatch or want such a high performance-oriented hatch (sedan in case of CTR), but find RM160K warm hatch (i.e. 308GT) suffice, within their budget range and would want a car that is perfectly normal for every day use.

If you want the 'superst' and can afford a RM200K hot hatch, of course, by all means go for CTR, Golf GTI or the Renault. Because having the fastest car is everything for you. The rest can think later.

If second hand Mk.V Golf is preferred due to close proximity of the cost, buying second hand always had its own disadvantage, as maintenance of a RM200K car can be outlandish, more so with hot hatch as it is surely have been frequently trashing by its early owner(s). The probability of secondhand owners to pick up first owner maintenance bills could be higher than normal sedate second hand car.

I am a little perplex by this article as PT don't really put his comments on the 308GT performance & handling. It is as if PT done a rather short test drive thus have no in depth feedback to share or perhaps find it not up to a GT standard at all.. but decided to be nice to Nasim and choose to be silent. I don't know. But i surely do appreciate more feedback since its the most powerful Peugeot available in M'sia for quite some time. Even the 405GTi or Mi-16 couldn't match it outright power. Beside we have more than enuff of journalism over CTR, Golf GTI, Megane 10 97/R26, Evo, Scooby etc, sometime it is nice to hear about others too, especially when it is officially available here in Bolehland.

:)

• Paul Tan on May 29, 2009 at 1:36 am

perhaps if you can give a better insight on the amount of kit, you are welcome to do so in the comments for the benefit of all readers/consumers.

i do not see why you missed my comments on the car's performance in the story. i've already said rowing through the gears somehow feels lacking… and as for handling, maybe you are used to other kinds of stories and expecting more insight on the handling… i am not the type to go on and on about how the car behaves at its extremities because i never push test cars that hard, don't want to end up in a ditch. where am i supposed to drive like that safely anyway? i got the car on thursday to saturday i think… returned it on saturday morning, so i did not have a chance to try out some nice far away roads because it is hard to get away during week days. i think the 308 gt has a very nice balance between a slightly firmer ride to remind you that you're in a slightly performance-oriented car but the ride remains quite pliant on crappy malaysian roads. it's a nice balance that i would like to try to achieve on my old 5er. i also like how the steering weights up by itself nicely at high speeds to give the driver abit more confidence – i hate the ultra light steerings in Japanese cars. but i really did not push the car any further to be able to judge anything beyond this. i know nasim uses WRC 308 for alot of sales activities so I think they would be pissed off if i put it out of commission for awhile!

• Andy214 on May 29, 2009 at 8:18 am

This is a CBU (fully imported) from France and it's very surprising that of the price, but it's a good move to shake the auto industry, bring more competitiveness. Check our neighbour country how much is the "normal" Peugeot 308 fares against other models.

Anyway, this GT comes packed with features; Imagine the owners who bought the normal spec 206GTi (smaller car, only 138bhp) at around RM150K last time! This 308 GT has so many quality stuffs, check out the JBL Speakers, the "Directional" Headlights (it can turn left or right according to your steering), Moonroof, etc. All these are not cheap stuff but comes with the car in a package at such price. Paul Tan also didn't take any pictures of the MFD, it's colour screen which is something many "normal" car owners don't see everyday, not to mentioned the usual MFD available in european cars is already something "new" to many "normal" car owners. Check out the VTI MFD, and the features it has, then check out the THP with more powerful and detailed MFD, then check out the 308 GT with COLOUR SCREEN MFD and with additional features. It's like when we switch from a non-colour screen handphone to coloured screen, and later smart-phone and so on. As we "upgrade", our demand increases and it's hard to look back.

Anyway, the car is rich in features and it's very nice to have, but of course, some people prefer raw power or purely performance and less electronics, then it simply not a car for those people and no point telling others that he/she is not interested or rather buy xxx car as if everyone wants to know. I think interested people/buyer would want to find out more about the car, rather than reading through comments that are not contributing or talk about how someone prefer to buy another car.

Lastly, I totally agree with Paul Tan on the clutch, it's very high and it can delay your shifting time and not-smooth gear change, but actually you don't have to press fully. I was told by one of the previous SC Manager the clutch can be adjusted, while when I googled around, I come across "Clutch Stopper" from Scooby and BMW forums. But the gears slide it smoothly though, compared to the older Peugeot models, it's consider a big improvements; except the clutch are still the same. Another nice thing is the steering and the gear, they look great, sturdy, feels great and nice to hold/grip. The meters are actually pretty nice in the night as I read some comment which hasn't seen the real thing but judging plainly on the description.

I guess Paul Tan could've take more pictures or probably even better videos. But nonetheless, it's still a job well done. If the readers are really interested, they would've automatically googled for more information or watch some videos from YouTube anyway.

• intermilan on Jun 01, 2009 at 5:31 pm

PT,

i wished not to list .. it is quite a long list. Beside, andy214 has sort of did it. Perhaps readers will find it out on their own if it is in their interests.

And on the ride n handling portion, as a reader, i was expecting something more from an independent reviewer. Beside i am quite positive a Golf GTI Mk VI, Megane R26, CTR or other hot hatches test drive will generate beefier paragraphs about these two aspects. The test feedback here is unfortunately rather short which disappoint, as i believe this is one of the outstanding value-for-money, best-priced warm/hot hatches around.

Until you consider its lesser sibling, another warm hatch, the 308 Turbo.

• Paul Tan on Jun 01, 2009 at 5:44 pm

I believe the feedback given is enough, given the fact that I was given the car over weekdays where I am not free to drive it around much. It is not easy spending enough time with a car when you are running multiple jobs to survive in these bad times. Requesting for weekend time is hard because from my experience, the management are not very interested in coverage from this site, they are more interested in the newspapers. It is as if to them 20 online readers are equal to 1 newspaper reader. And they mentioned the cars are used by the sales dept during the weekends.

As for handling, perhaps the car is simply not exciting enough to spark much say about it. Nicely balanced and accurate yes but steering is devoid of feel and honestly that is really all there is to say, or at least what I found I could say. Yes the level of equipment makes the car amazing value for money but I think perhaps you are expecting it to be showered with too much praise. I have a feeling the 308 Turbo will be more impressive to me taking into account equipment, experience and price point but unfortunately no chance yet.

• intermilan on Jun 01, 2009 at 7:44 pm

okay.. think there is a little 'misunderstanding' there .. just want to hear feedback from independent reviewer about the R&H and don't mind whatever, so long its true. and am not expecting it to be showered with too much praise in the R&H department. from what i heard elsewhere, in fact it shouldn't get too much praise. just want some more bits and details (if any) from other source. look like the short duration with the car doesn't help.

ok PT, hope made myself clear. don't take my feedback in the negative way. most probably, i'm asking too much anyway. And due thanks for the additional inputs in your last comment.

Have a nice monday…

• paul, i hope for more in-depth coverage for this interesting warm hatch, as many other hoped too.

• guest on Jun 02, 2009 at 9:27 pm

assembled in kedah.

there's no such thing as a good deal in malaysia.

• guest on Jun 02, 2009 at 9:38 pm

assembled in kedah

• namidub on Jun 07, 2009 at 7:56 pm

[quote comment="242881"]assembled in kedah[/quote]

did u even read?

this 308GT is CBU from France.

308VTI and 308THP are assembled in Kedah.

get your facts right.

Have a nice day!

• lowprofile on Jun 10, 2009 at 1:10 am

gosh still got ppl responding in this thread! :) hahahahaha

• intermilan on Jun 10, 2009 at 5:49 pm

mesti got lah!

its quite an interestng car… very interesting if the price is deem right by potential buyers.

but i heard Nasim will not take a 2nd batch of the 308GT to Bolehland?

So when the 1st batch finish, which i heard is no more than 15 units, then that about it? No more 308GT?

• Alan Wong on Jun 16, 2009 at 4:50 am

Interesting….

Intermilan, heard there is only 10 units in Malaysia. Not many left.

• lowprofile on Jun 17, 2009 at 8:53 pm

no more 308 gt after the 10 units. alan's car will become collector's item! :)

• Alan Wong on Jun 18, 2009 at 9:02 pm

Lowpro, wow… damn lucky then!!

• ERIC YONG on Jul 18, 2009 at 1:29 am

My DReam Car…Now I driving 206… Good Car…I Plan To Change To 308 After Five Years.

• mb3300 on Jul 21, 2009 at 1:20 pm

Whats with the protruding backside, and the visibly ugly 6 cd slots?

• newfanofpug on Jul 22, 2009 at 12:16 pm

Was looking for a car for my kids but after a test drive, I bought the 308Turbo (A) with panaromic roof for Rm113888. Have been driving big SUVs and cars for so long and this hot hatch is really a wif of fresh air and I am enjoying the car during the weekends (need to borrow from the kids tho). This car comes equipped with everything including rear air vent, ipod connetor, 17" rims except navigation/ bluetooth for phone. The 3 year warranty will give me a peace of mind. Now must find out how to up the boost.

• Ramcam on Sep 09, 2009 at 4:31 pm

Hi there, can anyone tell me the part number for the JBL speaker kit, specifically looking for the sub-woofer as I already have RT4 HDD system/satnav. Cheers.

• 308GT – same engine ? but with 6-speed.. but 50K more.. ?

hmm..

1.8T will be nice though..169K oso can ;)

• izaman on Oct 26, 2009 at 9:58 pm

CK, same engine with different output. even RCZ also using the same engine and with the same capacity but with 200++ hp

• Anybody knows that how much it cost for the car plate number 308 in KL ?

• Alan Wong on Nov 20, 2009 at 11:37 pm

Joey, depends on the bid… and demand…. maybe RM 500 or more…

• Hi Alan , I have ask around recently .. I think the price is about rm 500 to rm700.

• desmond on Nov 23, 2009 at 10:30 pm

for as long that i am still driving, we've been deceived by the attractiveness of design or cosmetic changes done on a car which is the forte of japs make. basically this is my first encounter to had own a pug recently and i must admit that with the specced list of the vehicle it is a stealing. just make a comparison btw japs or korean make with same engine capacity or lower and evaluate the differences. also the safety of the driver and occupant is of paramount and the vehicle is equipped with latest braking gadget which is similar to or nearest to those big premium car. where else with this pricing what are the specification can you get in return from japs or korean make

• carbuss.blogspot.com on Dec 10, 2009 at 5:59 am

this is my dream car, excelent…but price is too expensive for this segment

• David on Dec 18, 2009 at 7:43 am

Attention to Car Buyer

I agree Honda car is good in terms of look. Other than that, a car buyer must also pay close attention to service and warranty policy. I had shock of my life when I was told Honda cars must be serviced every 3 months or else the 3 years warranty will be void no matter you are using mineral or synthetic oil. Meaning to say, you have got to send your car for service every 3 months even though your car has traveled a short distance since the previous service.

For those who already bought a new Honda car, make sure that you get all the 3 free services promised done within 6 months no matter what your car mileage is or else it will be void.

Recently, I sent my car for the 3rd free service and was denied the privilege. My car at that time was only 8 months old, mileage at 10 100. The problem is that, I was unaware of this policy when I got the car. The sales person did not highlight this policy when delivering the car. To make things worse, it is not mentioned clearly in the service booklet. I called up to the Customer Relationship Department (CRD) but to no avail. They strictly hold on to their policy. They are not helpful at all. No leniency practiced. Customer is not given priority.

As I also own a Toyota, I can say that Toyota is way much better in the area of customer service. Customers are treated with care and concern. For Toyota, customers do not have to follow the service schedule strictly as long as they send their cars for service after the recommended distance. (10 000 Km for full synthetic oil and 5000 Km for mineral oil)

In summary, Toyota cars are cheaper to maintain even though Honda may claim that their charges per car service is lower. My next car would definitely be a TOYOTA, for sure. I regretted buying a Honda indeed. Think twice before buying a Honda!

Sincerely,

Malaysian

• my first car… is proton wira… using 3 years….after i promise myself i never buy proton again… give me a lot of problem…waste my time.
    now when i buy car i will think toyota,honda,peugeot… my advise is buy car dont see exterior… must see structure of the car and engine…all of us hope buy the new car with less problem…

• Julian on Nov 04, 2011 at 8:00 am

I was just curios to find out as to why are there so many 308 for sale in the market. Some of these cars are less than 1 year old.

• becos they are rich.

for you, if the car is problematic, and if you would to sell it, you need to pay bank rm20000, can you afford to sell it?

my take it, you’ll suck it up and send to repair. i seriously do not think anyone will be able to pay bank rm20000, and then get another rm10000 to book another car, simply because the car has problem. and no repair needs rm20000.

and its under warranty, so its free. and you can always take taxi, which is cheaper than 20000.

conclusion, they sell the car because they can affrod to, and they wanna change to some other car, like golf gti and so on.

peugeot car owner are seriously loaded. unlike vios/city/civic owner. 9 years loan just to own the car, cannot afford to sell before 9 years time, cos need to pay bank extra.