Proton Vendors Want Protection!

The Proton Vendors Association wants AP holders to be barred from importing cars that are in the segments of markets that Proton is in.

It’s president Dr Wan Mohamed Wan Embong outlines what they want to be implemented in the National Automotive Policy.

They hope the government will consider it.

1. Vehicles with engine capacities less than 2 litres should be barred from being imported, regardless of whether it is new or used.
  2. Approval letter should be seeked from Proton and Perodua before cars are allowed to be imported.
  3. Cars more than 5 years old should not be allowed to be imported, regardless of engine capacity, other than those classified as vintage cars.
  4. Declared price should be based on open market value decided by a council formed by the government.
  5. Excise duty must be continued indefinitely.
  6. Implement Vehicle End Of Life, where vehicles older than certain age should be declared not road-worthy, or have increased tax and other miscellaneous fees. This is to encourage new car sales.

This really sounds like a big joke doesn’t it? Ridiculous. Especially the last point. Do those rich people really think the rakyat is living a happy life rolling in cash? A lot of people have to suffer 7 to 9 year loans just to own the Proton Wira SE. You don’t have to talk about the Korean cars which is so-called cutting into your market segment. By the vehicle’s end of life, you would probably have just finished paying your loan! This will also destroy the second-hand car market.

Dr Wan Mohamed said Japan deregisters 5 million cars annually in it’s Vehicle End Of Life policy, where cars are chopped up and sold as half cuts for spare parts. These half cuts end up in Malaysia so that we can get quality Mitsubishi parts to replace the rubbish installed in our Proton cars when they fail us.

How can you compare with Japan? That place has a super efficient public transportation system. There, citizens have a choice whether to use a car or use the public transportation system. Here? Please, Dr Wan Mohamed. Go try taking the public transport system one day and you will change your mind.

The National Automotive Policy will be unveiled by the government in September. We will see whether the current government is concerned for the rakyat or is only interested in filling selected people’s coffers.

Source: StarBiz

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Keith on Jul 21, 2005 at 3:52 pm

some people are just talking through their ass with no thought for long term consequences. and no, we won’t have 20,000 jobless people if proton folds, because they are not existing to serve proton exclusively. Idiots.

• Whatever it is… we are still loosing, not worth our money if we buy a car… damn…

• niasing… there goes my plan to get a 2nd hand BMW. If this shit gets passed I'll be damned.

• Sad Malaysia Driver on Jul 21, 2005 at 11:54 pm

Anyone thinks that proton is a bit yo-yo? So, they want only proton cars?!!! No other cars except for super rich people. Ya right!!! Go figure, just think how the country would look like to foreigners… South Africa during apartheid? Proton should just change their business and upgrade all public transport in malaysia! Everybody must get AP for BUYING cars, if not, take bus!!!

• soowm on Jul 21, 2005 at 11:54 pm

It's a snydrome. Asking for handout's. No initiative for process improvement and reinvesting profits into the business. Agree with you on the last point, money doesn't grow on trees.

• wtf?!

oi, he think this one is some game is it?

it's like using GODMODE, innit?

• WTF? This is too much man. It's like if I wanna open a burger stall, and ask the government to ban McD, Burger King, Ramlee, KFC (Burgers) etc. They are only allowed to sell Chicken wings and soft drink.

The last point IS a good measure to bring down usage of cars, but it can only work in a metropolitan like country like Singapore and Hong Kong. With so many rural areas, the last point is pure BS.

In the words of Jeremy Clarkson, "This is all rubbish!"

• Matt: the public transportation system here is not good enough to implement vehicle end of life. VEOL is fair in countries where people who choose to own cars, not people who HAVE to own cars. citizens in countries like Japan and Singapore with a super efficient transport system can afford to go about life without a car but not in Malaysia.

• I think if this guy opininon is implemented ah, people will start buying only perodua or korek dompet dalam dalam to buy foreign car because of disgust. Let these people bankrupt and show what people's power is all about…

• Michael on Jul 22, 2005 at 12:26 am

I feel disgusted that such pea-brain is put in high position. Is this another product of so-called 'meritocracy is unfair' claim I am not sure. But I would surely hope someone with more merit and brains sitting in his position.

• bUttsHAk3r on Jul 22, 2005 at 12:26 am

that's about the most ridiculous shit i've heard all week.

there goes the 30 year financing plan, then.

• bikerwannabe on Jul 22, 2005 at 12:48 am

This is the consequence of "pampering" these vendors and our so called national car mfg. They start asking for really stupid things.

If the proposal is implemented, one thing I can pretty much guarantee, our national car mfg and vendors will not have ANY incentive left to improve quality.

Imagine being in a school where you are the ONLY student. Study or not, you're still number 1….

Blardy narrowminded morons….

• alansm on Jul 22, 2005 at 12:50 am

Here is another explicit proof for what I think everyone out there is seeking all this while; PROTON really think they are the Ruler here in our automotive market. They are growing into a monster, a thug. As bad as the gangster. It's sad to see the kind of steps this crazy people will take in order to protect their own s. Ignore this rubbish and their efforts.

• Cyder300 on Jul 22, 2005 at 1:03 am

Its so rubbish and juvenile thinking,……Malaysia Boleh?, ya, total bollocks all right.

• terrence on Jul 22, 2005 at 1:09 am

it's jsut like marie antoinette telling the plebians to eat cakes if they can't afford bread. does this guy really knows how much we are earning a month? doe he know how it is a struggle for most ppl already to bloody pay off a kancil?

is this not a matter of forcing crap down our throat?

cheers

• Zainal Abidin on Jul 22, 2005 at 1:19 am

Please tell them to SHUT UP! After years making profit, again want to POTONG LEHER!

• terrence: as i said, those priveledged people at the top of the social pyramid do not really know what the rakyat is going through.

• Cloud on Jul 22, 2005 at 1:55 am

That is Bullshit!! What the hell are they thinking? Got a loose of a nut in their brain? With that kind of points, it's darn blardy obvious they are going to monopoly the whole car business in the country.

• bumboy on Jul 22, 2005 at 2:02 am

perhaps i shall start applying for that green card lottery…

• I am very very tired with this crab.

why don't they say "remove all car on the road except Perodua and Proton".

By doing that, it is making them monopoly the market. And when this happen, there is no quality anymore in the car we drive, probably they will launch car with carburator again, why, you have no choice.

Look back before 1997, the proton car sales that was so so good that they do not even improve on the model & quality, everyone knows the wira front signal light will drop out, but nothing was done, leaving car buyer to seek accessories shop, and who will complain as everyone is making money except car buyer.

AS I SAY IN OTHER COLUMN, LET THE BUSINESSMAN RUN THE BUSINESS, and POLITICIAN RUN THE GOVERNMENT & COUNTRY.

• Mango on Jul 22, 2005 at 2:13 am

It is a good idea from a different point of view. Rakyat will drive "only" new car (age not more than 5-10 years).

But does Gov willing to put down all Proton price into Kancil alike, where rakyat pay 20,000++ can get a v6 Perdana? After 5 years change to Perdana (maybe) v12?

Haha….!! Either one of them will happen….!!!

• ANOTHER CLEAR EXAMPLE OF ROBINHOOD — "ROB THE POOR TO GIVE THE RICH"

• Well, consumer should ask for protection from the government too.

1) Car sold by proton must not make nett profit more then RM1,000 per car , and all tax abolish, thus car price MUST drop to "pre-proton" days.

2) Car warranty extended to 5 years full warranty, engine, gear box and accessories.

3) Car buyer have a 2 years "satisfaction" guarantee, otherwise FULL refund of the car price plus interest and cost.

4) Car must be equipt with the latest state of the art technology, without increase on the price of the car.

I need help, everyone help me with more buyers "protection" listing.

• 5) toll collection to abolish, Plus to be de-listed.

6) petrol price to remain at RM1.30/liter for the next 10 years, and any increase to be below 5% every 10 years.

7) Road condition must be smooth like sepang circuit, damage in car due to pot hole will be fully repair by proton at no cost.

8) Tyre only one supplier (to follow the tyre supplier to F1 cars), and price to be fix by consumer group only.

• suanie on Jul 22, 2005 at 2:50 am

makes me as a proton user feel like a hand-me-down

• moo_t on Jul 22, 2005 at 4:05 am

If the f*cker can help boost Malaysian average GDP from USD 5000 annually to USD35,000 , than we can talk about it. Otherwise, whoever proposed the idea should go home and f*ck themself.

• ManInGermany on Jul 22, 2005 at 4:09 am

There you see, Proton and all it's Vendors have same mentality – asking for protection, subsidy and spoon feed attitude, furthermore over more than 20 years. They don't bother about us, the consumers, but only about their profit.

To the Vendors may I say this:

Wake up and see the actually business world. There's no Bumiputera privilege in the global industries. Don't talk about World Class or Go Global when you keep asking for the "TONGKAT" (someone in this blog uses this word and seems an accurate term).

• Fabian on Jul 22, 2005 at 4:17 am

The vendors themselves should consider other business…like selling scrap metal cos' so many proton cars are left rotting out in the field.

I mean, what the F**K is Wan Mohd is talking bout???????? Even if proton gets this type of F**KING protection they still eventually lose out to Perodua since the lil' bro has better after sales services & better reliability.

And about the Vehicle End Of Life, Matt was ABSOLUTELY right. U cant expect rural folks to own a F**KING brand new car every 5 years. Where r they going to get the F**KING cash??? Look at Sarawak & Sabah. 20 year old Land cruisers are still the king of the off road. The road conditions here are simply, in one word, FUBAR (Fucked Up Beyond All Recognition). And I like edw's comment no. 7 (make all roads like the Sepang F1 circuit).

Anyway, i don't give a damn since im getting a myvi. Perodua rules!

• ManInGermany on Jul 22, 2005 at 4:26 am

To the Vendors again:

All the problems are due to your incompetent, don't blame others for your lousy products.

The truth may be hard to digest..

• Fabian on Jul 22, 2005 at 5:08 am

ManInGermany is right. Buck up, man. Not fork up. See what level Perodua has gone through already. That's why the general public prefer Perodua when it comes to local cars. Look at all the kancils (and now kelisas) on the road. Like cockroaches. Luckily Perodua has a bigger brother apart from Daihatsu, which is Toyota.

And about the road conditions in Malaysia, I totally agree with edw's comment no. 7 (road must be smooth like the Sepang F1 circuit). Then the general public will not moan the maintenance costs of their beloved vehicles.

I hope the government will consider the rakyat's concerns more than just a handful of hopeless entrepenuers.

Anyway, I dont care much bout proton anymore cos' im getting a myvi. Yahoo!!

• akari on Jul 22, 2005 at 5:26 am

BullShit! Go To Hell!!!

• Why we need to spent large amount of money to build up a national car "assembly" plant? Why not learn from Singapore, print "COE" and get a quick cash and tax? Why bother about 20,000 jobless and Proton Vendors? Are they going to die if Proton not exist?! Is suppose ppl. down there should be dynamic and not resist to change?

• F-up Country on Jul 22, 2005 at 6:36 am

ALways want protection……tell them go get Durex . First of all….you can't get pregnant that way…..so….no children …no future…..forget about growing up. It will never happen.

• eAthena-Seir3n on Jul 22, 2005 at 7:17 am

Dare to change..PUI! Better be dare to threaten and rob people in the light dammit!

Brainless retarded a$$hole…Take LRT for once ya bum! or even better , Take a BUS!

• wa sea hokkien lang on Jul 22, 2005 at 8:29 am

now proton life at the end of egde sword.. move a little, 'mati'….

they scared already now makes alist to the imported car?

why they don't makes a quality on their car?

fuel price are increasing they must try a hybrid engine or feul cell technology

if any happen they can improve by now, not wait other county perfect it then they take their technology to here,but can't do it because no pengamalan….

can't you belive that………..

and to 'edw' you forgot 1 thing FREE LABOUR SERVICE for proton and perodua

car for 10 years……

• Gov or Proton that s on Jul 22, 2005 at 8:51 am

However we grieve here wouldnt do a shit… its the government that protects them… imagine if this is a non-bumi firm… see the point??? sometimes i wonder if bumi really cannot stand without protection from government… education must have quota, in addition to that need help those 'bright' that cant get into uni into diploma or something lately… listed companies must have 30% bumi at least… 100% monopoly from for bumi on telekom (any of u satisfied with phone or streamyx???)… any bumi firms that are striving for the better when they're successful??? any that you guys out there know of??? please enlighten me…

I really do pity those bumi that are really in need… how much protection that they get compared to those already rich??? we non bumi strive for the better in order to stay afloat… people like proton managements seek government to cover their asses… these are the bumis that are still needing crutches to stand… you guys there need viagra to stand at night??? if these whole issues goes on, i wouldnt mind voting for the opposition, any party at all…

• AlexC on Jul 22, 2005 at 9:00 am

petrol engine also kenot make properly wanna make hybrid??? i guess ppl in umno just know how to voice their empty thoughts… they lived in a world of their own for too long, forgetting about the rest of the world… remember afta, you assholes on top??? if you're ignorant, let me tell you malaysia is sued by thailand for dragging this ap issue liau… guys, anyway we could boycott proton???

• littlemin on Jul 22, 2005 at 9:33 am

Fark u lah!!!!

The Proton Vendors Association = moron association

Dr Wan Mohamed Wan Embong = super duper damn idiot!!!

Wat a ridiculous request!!

Ask the so-called "Dr" Wan to give me money every month then i will buy plotong n change it every 5 years….

But… can plotong lasts for 5 years mah??

How bout change after 2 years lah???

Stupid ppl!!!

Or someone hv 2 stupid baru can become plotong's vendor???

Hahahahahaha…..

• Man, all these comments are great. But it's true that Malaysia do not actually need an automotive industry. The initial supposedly benefits from having such an industry is non-existance. If anything, consumers are overpaying for their wheels and taxes are invested in an undeveloping and useless corporation.

It's a 20 year old corporation and industry and where does it stand. Nowhere. Still at the bottom of the heap. Technology transfer? BS!

Regarding the list of consumer protection from government. I think just one point will do.

1. Ban Protons

• What is the idea from this man? In Malaysia, 50% of automotive market is from 2nd hand cars. Other 50% from new cars. Imagine if no 2nd hand can be sold, who want to buy the new car. Economy will be harmed. No one to buy your car, then you want to buy a new car? No, no, no.Beside that, I think open AP's they only bring in luxury cars and sports car like Lexus,EVO, Impreza, recond Mercs and BMW. How can all these marques affecting Proton sales? Not even in the same leauge. Proton vendors, lower the parts price, increase quality; that's the important point here.

• Dr.Hate Proton on Jul 22, 2005 at 4:55 pm

Good comments!! u all speak all in my heart.

they still think 10 years back where they can control wat they wan to sell not what we (consumer) wants.

lousy rims, lousy stereo system, lousy stickers – pasar malam can buy all in rm500 and they force us to buy at thousand of dollars. they think us all Malaysia Boloh.

coz they still needs protection for 10 more years from govt. i think Proton R&D already invested MILLIONS into making new bumper, new front grille and new tail lights. they will use it on our beloved Wira in years to come.

• Accord Kia on Jul 22, 2005 at 5:16 pm

what i can say to these idiot people is 'stupid brain with stupid position'. it's time to change the management system

• Fabian on Jul 22, 2005 at 5:34 pm

About the VEOL thing…If the govt give us BIG subsidy to change car after it's VEOL then i want lor. Only then Malaysia can encourage new car sales, provided that Proton has increased their quality.

But the bottom line is that ALL roads in Malaysia should be like the Sepang F1 circuit. Then can implement safe driving too.

p.s. Im getting a Myvi anyway…. ;-D

• "2. Approval letter should be seeked from Proton and Perodua before cars are allowed to be imported."

OMG!

• MachangUnited.com on Jul 22, 2005 at 6:41 pm

HAi Guys! Why you ppl condenm proton like hell and proud of perodua very much? Both are cheating our own MONEY. If ppl at neighbouring country pay less RM 15k from what we pay for Avanza.

Guess who much they pay for MyVi there if perodua/daihatsu/toyota plan to export 'em. LESS THAN RM 35k???????

WHY STILL DRINK A GLASS OF SIRAP IF WE CAN AFFORD A CUP OF STARBUCK!!

slap your chest ask your appetite

• DOG THE WAN on Jul 22, 2005 at 7:20 pm

Hallo everyone here I AM DOG THE WAN,

SOrry FOR Giving such kind of STUPID IDIOT IDEAS.Actually I miss some comments above therefore make you all CONFUSe loh, I total agreed with your all! I have someting to add….be patient LAH.

Atually My ideas will only works fine with the conditions below:

1) All RAKyat must be F***king KAYA. Income over USD4000 per month as average, or if possible is your nett income.

2) POTONG will give you 50% discount when you buy the 2nd models after 5 years. And on and on if continue buying POTONG & PARO2 or PARO3..soon. I am discussing with TM now, but don't put HIGH hope okay. I try my Beass.

3) Buying POTONG or PARO2 car will be gurateed by them for life time, which means lei Any KES Aksidan due to F***King road or Parts quality will be 100% covered by GOVERN. One condition only If POTONG agreed. I will try my Beass too.

4) Public Transiporttortatioin lei, Kalau boleh use TAXI or BUSSES it WILL BE IMPORVE By someday, TAxes will be reduced and must Keep the resit for rebate. I hope too.

5) Only Trunk and Buses can be imported from OVERSea must need APs. MUST ALSO ASK POTONG or PARO2 approval. This is miss sorry.

6) Buying MOTOBAK??, could be affected POTONG & PARO2??, maybe I think so, Therefore MOTOBAK must be renew every year and all Old MOTO lei sell to POTONG or PARO2 and export to Afica or Indo to gain INcome.

6) Still thinking,,,,….give me some time. Okay!

Akhir sekali, Buy POTONG & PARO2 no RISAU, RAKyat will know the BANAFIT soon. PLease support me! I will help you all to achieve our MALAK..ccseR BOLEH plans! SANKQQQ! From DOG THE WAN.

Sorry forgot to say this: Boleh YEAH! Kalau boleh extend to 200200002 year! Baru Boleh lah!

Sekali lagi from DOG THE WAN

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Jul 22, 2005 at 7:36 pm

yeah machang..

like fabian = thus fanatic to myvi .. :p

and remember.. p2 is not a local car anymore..

BTW, it's sucks and fork up all the vendors!..

for me, now it's a PAYBACK TIME!..

u make money with proton wihout care the quality.. now it's back to you!

REVENGES frm the cheated customer all over the years.

nway.. i dont think to compare Car price between JIRAN malaysia is a good comparison.

Sgpore = car is cheap, park is exensive like hell.. also the petrol . Yeah.. driving BMW with sickos head.. nothing to proud with.. and the car must be demolish if reach 10 year usage, if i not mistake. Uhhh..

Thailand, yeah. hell cheap too!.. but in their country percentage of CAN BUY A CAR citizen is realy low. maybe not reach 30% yet. hard to find job, hard to save money etc2.. even buy a new or second car..

FOR ME.. Hujan emas dinegeri orang, hujan batu negeri sendiri.. baik negeri sendiri .

Percentage pemilik kereta dimalaysia adalah sangat tinggi berbanding jirannya.. Sebab itu jugalah banyak syarikat luar mahu masuk pasaran Malaysia!.. Padahal negara indon nuh lagi ramai gila RAKYATNYA!.. pasal apa sana tak hot sangat? = sebab tak ramai miliki kereta.. Seprtimana kita Malaysian..

No matter how.. Sometime we must admit it. Bersyukurlah dengan apa yang ada.. :)

• Fabian on Jul 22, 2005 at 7:51 pm

We will see which car is much more on the road…proton or P2…

The little bro is smarter if not better than proton.

U guys have to admit it: its a fact.

Read this story (ripped from a forum):

The story of Perodua & Proton

Once, there was a family known as Malaysia. In1985, they were blessed with their first born, Proton. The family loved Proton all they can. They gave Proton everything. They protected Proton from the bigger boys in kindergarten. They told Proton, "You're young, you need protection from them. It's okay to make mistakes, you're young. Even if you don't learn from mistakes…it's okay…you are young."

Proton became spoilt. He always depended on parents and used up all his allowance on useless things. When he had to do his chores, he paid people to do it and the work is lousy, causing the parents having to call repairmen to fix all the mess that he made.

Anyway, when Proton was 10 (but he still acted like he is 1 or 2 years old), he had a younger brother, Perodua. At first, everyone thought this younger brother will be like Proton. Anyway, this new baby was more handsome and looks smarter than Proton. Malaysia knew there is a possibilty Perodua could be smarter than Proton. Since they loved Proton so much, they decided that Perodua can only learn a few things. Cannot learn the same thing as Proton. This is so that Perodua wouldn't beat Proton at what Proton is doing.

Although Perodua was also protected by Malaysia, he learn to be independent very fast. He made good friends with Daihatsu, who had an elder brother called Toyota. The two of them helped Perodua in everything. Perodua, being independent and smart, learnt a lot and in a short while,was becoming as good as, if not better, than Proton.

Malaysia realized that Perodua was becoming better than his brother. Although proud of Perodua, they still love Proton best. They paid Lotus (which is older and well known worldwide) to be friends with Proton. Using this advantage, Proton mentioned Lotus everytime he wanted to tell people about himself. On this own, he was still the same. Moreover, Proton is always not updated. When doing his work, he still uses the typewriter and refuses to use the computer. Perodua, so much younger,used the computer, with broadband for his work. Perodua was improving so much that Toyota has assigned him with his work codenamed Avanza.

2005. Proton is 20 years old, Perodua only 10. Itwas obvious that Perodua was the more successful of the two siblings. What is worse, Proton said he still need his parents to help him for another 10 years. He still need to protection from the bigboys. In May 2005, Perodua was about the show Malaysia his best work so far…codenamed Myvi.Proton, being jealous…quickly came up with an unprofessional remark about Perodua's work and show his work at the same time as Perodua codenamed Savvy. But it was obvious that the Savvy was slow to catch on with other people since Proton's bad reputation has preceeded him…

The future of Malaysia and her two kids are still unknown. But it would be obvious that Perodua will shine, leaving Proton crying. It would be a wonder if in 2015, Proton will ask Malaysia for another 10 years of help and protection…maybe this time…protection from Perodua as well………..THE END

Oi proton freaks…bangun lah

• Pei Mau on Jul 22, 2005 at 7:56 pm

Guys u better dont compare our country to others like Indon, Thai & Singapore. They are different. Focus on our own problems here first. That's why we give comments here on Paultan.org so that we can see other ppl's opinion. Let's have an open mind.

By the way Fabian, best jugak cerita itu. Mana u cetak rompak that story?

• Fabian on Jul 22, 2005 at 8:13 pm

Check this link for the story:

http://www.peroduamyvi.com/viewforum.php?id=9

have fun

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Jul 22, 2005 at 8:19 pm

tanya dekat fanatik myvi mmg laa..

cube tanya kat fanatik proton plak..

pikir la sikit…

to be a judge with a gooooooood and fair play..

we must stand with the fact.. trueee fact.. not FANFACT.. ok?..

waiting for list of 5 mitsubishi now!.. huhu.. mitsu is back to onroad.. catch one later!

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Jul 22, 2005 at 8:24 pm

p2 banyak kat jalan = MURAH..

proton mahal sikit..

orang malaysia takde duit banyak,..

napa tak compare p2 mana lebih banyak dengan motor kriss?..

la laaa..

myvier always like that..

kerajaan pun prtoect p2 sebelum nih ape..

STATISTIK KEMALANGANMAUT JENIS KENDERAAN TERTINGGI. = Perodua Kancil!..

Tiap2 kali raya, balik kampung, gong xi, deepavali.. eksiden = 4 orang maut sekali gus.. 5 orang mati katak langgar antara bas dan kancil..

bla bla bla.. Paper jer taknak kluarkan statement.

kalau ada yang bising.. lama dah kancil kene haram..

tapi takper laa.. nyawa rakyat ae la sangat.. kereta tuh pun murah.. standard la tu..

this is not flaming.. just to make some of people remind.. do not FANATIC too much.. ;)

• Fabian on Jul 22, 2005 at 8:43 pm

I agree with mitsu_galant_2000 on the local car scene. Have to admit: Good to remind most of us not to be too fanatic with somethin. Thanx man.

Btw, baguslah if mitsu make a comeback to m'sia. Mana tau trade in kereta lama dengan evo 9 ;p

• itulah masalahnya… keta dekat 30k, eksiden jer hancor mancor…

tapi takleh nak salahkan orng yg beli, anak ramai gaji ciput, mampu beli kancil jelah sumbat penuh2 pastu handling terketar2… brek pon mcm berenti tak berenti…. tak dpt nak bayangkan….

belilah setakat yg mampu…. takyah fanatik lebih2… pis

• MachangUnited.com on Jul 22, 2005 at 9:15 pm

Mitsu_ ur right. LAin PAdang LAin Belalang. Bkan fanatik. Kalu ada duit lebih macam blh buat. If we can delegate OUR MONEY buat menda lain selain KETer kan bagus. Sikit beli keter, skit lagi buat beli rumah, lepas tu beli tanah.

They want protection, RAKYAT????

FAmily FIrST!!!!!!!

• AlexC on Jul 22, 2005 at 9:59 pm

Read this guys, from The Stars…

UMW Holdings Bhd chairman Tan Sri Asmat Kamaludin, who is also chairman of Perodua, which is 38% owned by UMW Holdings, was commenting on APs and the under-declaration of imported cars. Asmat said if the Government did not have sufficient means 'to protect us (because of under-declaration), then we are not getting the protection that we deserve.”

What the FUCK is the protection that they DESERVE??? We PAYING citizen have the RIGHTS to purchase what we want, and we WANT protection against proton and p2. Compete if you are capable, stand out if you're not. PUSSIES!!!

• Mr_Mitsu on Jul 22, 2005 at 10:10 pm

sell your local made car to an import car dealer for a recond jap car.

I dont mind paying rm 1200 per mth for a mitsubishi chariot. Japan spec. Low interest some more. Better than paying rm1800 per mth for a perdana. Higher interest. And what for? As long as u got the money to pay and u enjoy what r u paying for, guys

• Fabian on Jul 22, 2005 at 10:15 pm

Pakai mountain bike turun kerja lagik best…save the environment man. No traffic jam hassle. Can jaga badan some more. If got air pollution then buy one air respirator lah…;p

• sekot on Jul 23, 2005 at 5:21 am

AlexC,

What Tan Sri Asmat said was right. The problem is with under declaration. Do you really understand our tax structure? The real cost for Vios is 49K, after tax it become 85K, and the Gen2 is 38K & after tax is 55K whereas for "certain Korean cars" the "cost" is 11K and after tax is 78K? Why? can you bulit cars with BOM cost of 11K? bullshitting arnt you? how much you pay for the tax? the normal rate is about 40% excise and 10 % import tax. Is this we call level playing field? You want to tax, why dont you just tax everyone? Proton & Perodua are National Car, currently they are manufacturing their car here & they dont import much of the component, you might give certain tax break for the imported raw material than for providing the job here. Same can be applied to either toyota or honda or any other car company here, provided they manufactured here, not just a mere assembler. Use all those AICO, CEPT or whatever shite scheme than it should be OK. But If you are importing CKD, assemble using Multi sourcing parts from other country, and selling at 0% tax, than fork off from our country, you are just making money even the govnt cant make money from you, we dont want our ringgit to devalue again you nuts!

• woshye on Jul 23, 2005 at 5:41 am

Hey does anybody know what this fool is making every month?

Or does anyone know if this fool is rejected for AP application? it seems likely that he has shares in plotong and he is trying to make sure that he can a yacht ASAP.

• gegaoff on Jul 23, 2005 at 8:35 am

what the f*ck??! again asking for protection? ello!! look back your history books!! 20 YEARS spending on that 'masak' car? what we get after all? car export to UK, now to western asia, that so call improve? now somemore those stupid dump dump Proton Vendors Association's ppls want more protection with those brainless ideals?? u go to eat SHIT lah.

we know the AP issues is the hot news now, but don't try to think we consumers are stupid to support your su*k ideals just becoz we sock with that AP cases. TOTALLY different!! oK?? go back and use your ass brain to think twice. else go to HELL!!

• gegaoff on Jul 23, 2005 at 8:42 am

hei guys, tell u one thing, i been in a potong's car body parts manufacturer company before, u know how much a potong padana's bumper cost? RM20-RM50!!!!! guess how much damm they earn? go to HELL lah, protection… protect your own ass better.

• wa sea hokkien lang on Jul 23, 2005 at 8:49 am

jika ada orang masih baca komen ni wa nak komen beberapa orang ni

1.mitsu_galant_2000

2.Fabian

3.dan sebagainya

kemalangan kat jalanraya adalah sikap kedua–dua pihak you know i did'nt drive acar but i know what there think when they drive….

for small car, middle car, luxury car ,sport car , some of them think i'm a king of the road…. tekan pedal minyak sampai habis…. then tunjuk their skill was fearless, over take the vehicles when they saw a in coming vehicles,tak cukup lagi spring baik-baik potong spring lagi… taruk 'bolw up valve' jalan 2 -3 km panjang terus tekan pedal habih tak cukup taruk torbo, lagi turbo timer, intercooler lagi. Bila tak sempat brek or brek tak makan bye-bye,mati katak,phin thua chuan khui, khee khua ghiam long ong,

for lorry(all kind of lorry include 'ghost lorry'tthat take sand ilegally),busess,truck and all kind of big vehicles.. a lot of them think i'm big WHO CARE…. if kena not my family…. . also when they are manuvering they all don't want to hit the brake when they see a class 1 car infronof them,the worst they can over take a bigger lorry ON THE ROAD…. look in all highway,accerate on high speed in fast lane… and more alot more…. i don't want to type any more you all think…… (sorry to all if i makes you mad)

• stupid person saying stupid things. they seem like wana forcing our citizen to buy proton now. another stupid opinion – implement Vehicle End Of Life. how can we compare with other country? their citizen can easily finish loan a car within 2 or 3 years. in malaysia, some person need to loan until 9 years. on the day u finish loan, that is end of the day of the car oso. stupid idea.

some time i think tat, certain group of people in malaysia are very "kia su" oso. so that they always come out with many funny idea to prove malaysia boleh. at last, only our poor citizen suffer from it.

• wa sea hokkien lang on Jul 23, 2005 at 9:29 am

rph you are right…. loan a car up to 9 years…. think wat happen when you oberhal the car…. other cuontry can finish their loan in 1 – 2 years …. MAY BE their interest are low and if tghey wat longer ,interest are higher but WE AT HERE ARE TERBALIK………

• Fab_Integra on Jul 23, 2005 at 2:10 pm

Wooo….someone is getting pissed to the point of typing other user's names here…

• Fab_Integra on Jul 23, 2005 at 2:12 pm

Just use bus or taxi lah. Help support the bus & taxi driver's income guys! That's another good way to boycott the local car vendors. Help the poor rakyat.

• December on Jul 23, 2005 at 10:16 pm

its like killing all the foreign monkeys in the zoo, coz we have out very own, fugly, lazy, but ugly orang utans

jesus, these people are blunt..

*slaps forehead*

• December on Jul 23, 2005 at 10:18 pm

wa sea hokkien lang, type in decent english man, we cant understand nuts :D

• pomen_kete on Jul 23, 2005 at 11:15 pm

wa sea hokkien lang ..

no.. it's not both side SIKAP..

it's the hell small but cheap Kancil car. That everyone car they said.. Fuckoff perodua..

i've PINJAM my friend kancil car..

the fac is.. it;s not a car anyway..

it's a car body with a motorcycle engine.. yeah!..

i near by death at twice by this carwithmotorcycleengine..

not very fast for me at 80 – 100KMH (althought can reach by 130KMH) ..

it's about 3 in the car.. just to potong the lorri 12 tyre or some thing.. in the straight road.. but sadly.. change to gear 3 ! but still not have picukp to potong the lorri!.. in the 30 scnd i still cannot past the lorry that i think about 80kmh.. then coming a car from other side.. but luckily i not a kind of panic person.. i can passed it with a little gap between kancil and lorry bumper..

DAMN!.. stupid kancil car.. !

The another thing is..

the small tyre of the car..

cannot break emergencylah!. Fuck Off.. like jumping2 in behind. Not enough to GRIP the road.. and maybe more bad on the rainy day.. So = should be drive delow 20kmh in the raini day? 40kmh in the wet road?..

IT's the car fact.

Kelisa is better.. enough power

• Philip on Jul 23, 2005 at 11:27 pm

PROTECTION from MARTIANS??!?!?!? Hey, PVA, grow up, you are already 20 years old. This industry is already 20 years old…why why why can't you learn.

• cbljkkj on Jul 24, 2005 at 4:54 am

This is seriously bollocks, with the recent unpegging of the US dollar. I was right about foreign car prices dropping (when cow, pigs and men fly) I guess this is Malaysia's remedy to protect "Potong" from extinction.

Its bad enough that everybody here has to resort to buying a Proton, they are so greedy that they go to the extent of banning foreign companies from selling goods Malaysian citizens want. This is ludacris and unacceptable. Still being spoonfed Proton?? Time to stick it up the other hole

• Fredo on Jul 24, 2005 at 7:56 pm

Just makes you wonder if he got his Phd based on merit or bought it. Monkeys they are!!

• AlexC on Jul 25, 2005 at 12:58 am

Dear Sekot,

I'm no economic student but do you really think by buying all imported cars can devalue our ringgit??? proper scale of economies from the government should balance the import/export of our country… Do you understand the point being said here? its about AP protection for proton… there wouldnt be any fuss from everyone today if the quality of national cars are up to par… under declaration is the work of the forking people who already benefit from getting the AP from government and wanted to make more bucks, thats all… in the spirit of afta, this damn import tax for ckd or cbu shouldnt even be exercised now, but still extended till sept 2005 just to protect proton… how many death accidents involving local cars for disregarding safety issues??? dont tell me about cars proportion, even if you scale it accordingly proton MUST improve their quality, thats the whole point… i wouldnt care if its local or imported if there is the least of quality in it…

• KiLLersHik on Jul 25, 2005 at 7:09 am

i used to think proton deserved another chance but seemingly, as if it wants the rakyat to suffer more than its proton has already done previously.

now, wit these ridiculous proposals. i hv no qualm tht proton shld go down, whether or not a country brainchild or wht. its totally ignorant of the rakyats pains and suffering all these years.

at least, microsoft is elevating lifestyle and delivering good qlty prdt [subject to individual opinion] to its customer while proton? excuseme.

• KiLLersHik on Jul 25, 2005 at 7:13 am

do these ppl stil think they own the world huh !? yeah, ill show them wht when i cast my ballot tis year. yeah, ull own a mf instead.

• KiLLersHik: you should remember that this is not Proton's request but Proton Vendors Association's request. it's the bunch of monkeys who manufacture the low quality rubbish that Proton has to fix into their cars.

• AutumnAshes on Jul 25, 2005 at 10:44 pm

hai……with this kind of attitude, no wonder our country dont advance. is bullshit man, after all this years of producing lousy car, and they dare to have the balls to come out with this National Automotive Policy? wtf?1

• This sounds like racketeering.

I thin there's a law against racketeering somewhere in the books…

• sekot on Jul 26, 2005 at 4:05 am

AlexC,

I'm no economic guru either, but perhaps you could see the point that i try to bring-up here. When you buy a car, let just say 40% goes to the govt, 10% goes to the dealer/franchaise holder and the rest 50% goes straight to the car manufacturer, which might be in Korea/Japan/States. Don't you think this doesn give any impact to our economy? When you buy a local product (provided it has a really high local content ) you started to spread the money to all the people in the chain (the rubber tapper-middleman -felda/felcra/rubber board-the company/dunlop/sime/conti – proton/perodua/toyota/honda/nissan ). So almost everyone in the whole chain is getting the bussines. I'm not trying to be too patriotic but I really agree with your point that we as the consumer need a high quality and safe car, not just another 6 face metal box that can move you from point A to B. In deed, the G should regulate the market to follow certain Intl std so every one in the industry (esp P1 & P2) forced to provide us with cars that on par with the ones that is seling at EU countries or Japs and Aussie. Even GCC got their own std! We, the Asian pariah at SEA are the world dumping ground for auto product. Look at your old Innova. New car with chassis. 3rd world car at premium price? Don't ask me about Proton or Perodua. They are even worse. Nissan Vannate. Oh, Don't you pity yourself? Regulate and promote the industry, thats the way to go .

• sigh... on Aug 05, 2005 at 9:52 pm

Utterly disappointed, govt advise us to be a smart consumer and boycott bad vendors due to petrol price hikes recently.. I wonder if they are also hinting us on Proton cars too…

• BIG_Mistake on Aug 06, 2005 at 10:21 am

I think it was a big mistake to make our own car in Malaysia.

Who decide to make national car last time?

BECAUSE of the stupid idea, we are now very hard to own a really good quality car from the REAL car maker!

• epalhead on Oct 03, 2005 at 10:35 pm

big_mistake: dude…i agree wit u dude,….

guys…imagine malaysia without proton……

huh…..maybe i can drive my own Jazz……(sighs)

• haroldz (Member) on Nov 03, 2006 at 11:29 pm

Pak Lah is not a big supporter of Proton.

he help to launch several made in malaysia cars (not proton) already.

These statements/demands made by Proton Vendor showed that they want to monopolize the market.

However AFTA will still be implemented n Proton will has less protection.

• fiveruz (Member) on Nov 13, 2006 at 1:01 am

next year VW will takeover proton,

we'll see is it gonna improve or else.

proton try to produce quality car but

each of their product must be approved

high rank people (politician).

what VW will do is there will ensure proton

to reduce employess and numbers of vendor.

It is not a big mistake….our country to produce own car.

it's like when VW beatle were produced….(kereta untuk rakyat).

Our DR M want this concept on Proton.

Rather condemming it is better discuss how to improve our national car.

have any of u guys wonder how Toyota survive untill now….. ?????