TM opens last mile, Jaring first customer

This is something which I’ve never thought would happen. Telekom Malaysia, recently rebranded as TM has opened up it’s last mile POTS access. This means other broadband providers can offer internet access through areas covered by TM phone lines instead of just being limited to Streamyx and sometimes unreliable wireless broadband service.

From The Edge Daily:

Under the terms, TM will provide DSL ports, a new high-speed last mile access technology that transports data and multimedia over the last mile of copper telephone lines.

“Being our first customer, DSL Wholesale Service will provide JARING an instant nationwide broadband access and opportunity to bundle an independent service package in the shortest time and at minimum cost.

“This will assist JARING and other potential service providers to overcome the high levels of investment, capital cost and other obstacles to capture the potentially large broadband market and drive the take-up of broadband access line to meet the objectives of the National Broadband Plan (NBP),” said TM chief operating officer Datuk Baharum Salleh.

TM Wholesale has posted an announcement on it’s website.

I am a happy Jaring datacenter co-location customer. Let’s wait for Jaring to offer it’s residential DSL packages and see how they fare in comparison to Streamyx. This actually happened last Friday… I wonder why there was no posts about it in the blogosphere.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• auyongtc on Aug 24, 2005 at 5:21 am

Then there will be so much competition in the already choice-packed areas like Subang Jaya, TTDI, etc and still having tons of blind spots in rural areas… yawn…

• Horray!… horray!…

Now where is my 2Mbps @ RM25 monthly internet???!!

• Chi An on Aug 24, 2005 at 6:33 am

the issue was discussed in lowyat before. finally it came true :)

• MutantTomato on Aug 24, 2005 at 7:37 am

So wait… does this mean that it will be available in areas where the landlines are Maxis e.g. BU 11 & 12? Right now I'm using Webbit. Not bad la the service! Only gets diconnected when there is a really bad thunderstorm. The ionic activity possibly disturbs the signal broadcasts.

I heard a lot of complaints about Streamyx so I didn't want to change even though they started offering it in my area. Price wise however, it is definitely more worth it getting Streamyx as compared to Webbit.

Can somebody clear up this issue for me? Thanks my brothers and sisters! :D

• MutantTomato: doesn't apply in your case as your landlines are Maxis landlines.

This is TM opening its landlines to other ISPs. Not other telcos opening it's landlines to TM.

• hokkien lang. on Aug 24, 2005 at 8:44 am

is too good to be true……

i've been waiting for these thing……

speed up to.. 155mbps… walao….. can you imagen it….

• 2centstot on Aug 24, 2005 at 9:00 am

…crap…i'm still using dial up….because my area does not have copper telephone lines…i've been on Streamyx' waiting list like forever!!!…i was told there wasn't enuf people in my area for TM to rectify this problem…and opening of the last mile thing still runs on copper…more crap…..btw i'm from JB…you guys from central region are soooo lucky…Streamyx…Webbit……

• hisyam on Aug 24, 2005 at 4:00 pm

oh my, tm and telstra. big monopoly

• AlexC on Aug 24, 2005 at 4:50 pm

Is this some marketing gimmick??? I thought Jaring was bought over by tm already… so, in this case, same company selling same service to the consumers under different brand???

And if the land lines are so lousy or unavailable in many areas, how are we to get anything better from jaring??? tm monopolize the whole thing, nothing wrong with opening up its resources to other isps… i see this opening up mainly due to the reason streamyx could not cater to all the consumers… afterall, the cake is that big, no problem for them to share it out… they're under fire oledi now for their lousy service… not sure if you guys read other blogs, but you might find some new update about streamyx from www.jeffooi.com about streamyx recently…

• AlexC: at least now if I get sick of TM's intl link going down from time to time I can switch to Jaring wired DSL. but I wonder what is Jaring's intl traffic capacity.

• Wilfred on Aug 24, 2005 at 5:27 pm

Good then….

then i should on hold my plan…

probably we will get a at least 2Mbps with price lower than RM50 soon!!!

• sad malaysian driver on Aug 24, 2005 at 5:57 pm

I think price will be same… TM opening up to other service providers using their landlines… for sure they have some sort of agreement about pricing… some more JARING is supposed to be own by TM also… so talk of competition may just be rubbish!!!

PS… my housing in KK does not even have landlines… sucks!!! Lousy TM, still reluctant to install landlines after 2 years of complaints!!!

• AlexC on Aug 24, 2005 at 6:31 pm

Dear Wilfred and all those who are hoping for cheaper price:

Do you think they will reduce their price??? Or at least, drastically as you mentioned??? a mere cents or few dollars maybe, but dont expect too much… our local telcos are making big profit here… that is why foreign telcos are not given permits to operate in malaysia… its a lucrative business…

Take TM; how many telcos that operate in their homeland only manage to earn billions every year and even buying assets all over, lately in singapore??? comparing our prosperous and more developed country with thailand, our mobile network coverage sucks big time… australia is selling phone dirt cheap for plans and very cheap phone call rates too, not to mention Optus australia offered free first 20mins call from 8pm-12am everyday since 1998… what do we consumers here get??? still paying access fee… we still have to pay for phone rental (increased too) even though we dont need or use it… being given a cheap phone even we can afford high tech wireless phone… live up the fact, we're living in a controlled market… its a lucrative market, just like ap, its making the rich richer…

• Stingray on Aug 24, 2005 at 8:04 pm

that's interesting… I don't know much about the ISP market, but I know Telekom used to be rabidly anti-competition. I guess the rebranding is more than just a cosmetic exercise in this case!

Lookin fwd to see what happens next. Hope this dosn't mean a big rush to market to urban areas and no budget to build rural infrastructure….

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 24, 2005 at 8:14 pm

Japan is using Boardband 8M to 12M even 100MB already. Malaysia just start to use 2MB. Anyway it is better than 56kb. KAMPAI!

• cyder300 on Aug 24, 2005 at 8:35 pm

The telco monopoly will always be there is the nature of this country. But hopefully we can get higher speeds and maybe not getting service breakdown so often. Bolehland…..boleh surf faster.

• Quite the same thing that happened in Australia, where the big boss Telstra had to open up its landlines for other ISPs.

8MB or 12MB? I was using the same in Melbourne. But think about it, with 2MB the intl links already dying. What will happen if the traffic patterns increased by 4 times?

• peter on Aug 25, 2005 at 4:48 am

Hey J,

I will appreciate it if you let us know what happened in Australia after Telstra opened up its landlines for other ISPs? Did they rush to provide DSL service

and increase their bandwidth to compete each other? or what happened?

Thanks.

• hokkien lang. on Aug 25, 2005 at 8:45 am

2centstot or who ever you are..

not all place in central region got cooper wire…

my brother frend live in very good place in K.L. also NO got cooper wire…

also,

i heard that if that don't have cooper wire you can be the host.. then you get paid… you can ask TM for more details…

• LotusGT1 on Aug 29, 2005 at 1:39 am

Don't ever use Jaring wireless boardband !!!! cannot use BT to downloading. if i not misstaken they have firewall. why i say that? once i sign up it have perfect download rate but noe not even 1K/s. Use streamyx batter.

• i'm a Malaysian student studying in South Korea. over here the cheapest broadband package they offer to residents is 4 Mbps. and we only have to pay 40,000 Won per month. fyi, 40,000 Won converted to RM equals to RM 120++ .. but Koreans use 40,000 Won just like we use RM 40 all the same. imagine having 4 Mbps at RM 40 instead of streamyx's 1 Mbps at RM 88? or even worse if compared to streamyx corporate ADSL 2 Mbps line at RM 1188? this is absolute nonsense!

• romie on Dec 09, 2005 at 8:21 am

Well i'm tired with these TMNuts offerings. Calling themself "Broadband Terunggul". Better call themself "Broadband Tunggul".